Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Spradley Barr Motors Inc

Phone: (307) 638-3335 Fax: (307) 632-3716 View Additional Phone Numbers 2200 Westland Rd, Cheyenne, WY 82001 http://www.SPRADLEYBARRCHEYENNE.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Spradley Barr Motors Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Spradley Barr Motors Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Spradley Barr Motors Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 10, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1975 Business started locally: 01/01/1975
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wyoming Department of Transportation
5300 Bishop Blvd, Cheyenne WY 82009
http://dot.state.wy.us
Phone Number: (307) 777-3840

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Robert Womack, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Womack, General Manager
Business Category

Car Dealerships Used Car Dealerships Auto Parts & Supplies - New Tire Dealers Auto Body Repair and Painting Auto Renting & Leasing Auto Repair

Alternate Business Names
Quick Lane Tire & Auto
Products & Services

Cheyenne Automotive, Inc. provides financing services for Spradley Barr Automotive Inc.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service Research Key in Buying New Vehicle

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Spradley Barr Motors Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2200 Westland Rd

    Cheyenne, WY 82001 (307) 638-3335 (800) 447-3673 (307) 773-0340

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/9/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Spradley Barr Cheyenne (Ford Dealer #******) used false information to get out of selling a 2017 Ford Mustang Shelby GT350-R I had on order. On 6/10/15 I placed an order (#****) with Kevin H***** (Sales Manager) for a 2017 Ford Mustang GT350-R at an agreed $10,000 markup over MSRP. I placed a non-refundable $1000 deposit, configured my order and set a customer delivery to ****** ***** **** ** ****** ****** **. Was informed on 7/19/15 that they could not sell me the car because of ** emissions claims, contacted Ford Performance and they confirmed there was no reason they could not sell it to me since the GT350-R is 50-state emissions legal. 7/22/15 Mike E**** (GM) ignored my rebuttal about their false emissions claim and then informed me they cannot sell the car to me because of dealership "policy" stating that I had lied to them and that the car was going to be registered in Wyoming, even though every piece of information they had from me regarding my order and where it was going to be delivered to, pertained only to **********. I hope the Better Business Bureau can file this complaint against the dealership and it's lack of integrity and false claims. I have already filed a complaint with Ford Customer Service (Case# ************).

Desired Settlement: Would like to take delivery of the 2017 Ford Mustang Shelby GT350-R I had ordered at the price agreed upon.

Business Response: A phone call came in from **** *** requesting a GT-350R Mustang.  Our Ford Sales Manager, Kevin H***** received the phone call and Mr. *** informed him he would like to put a deposit on a GT-350R Mustang.  He also mentioned that he would be titling the vehicle in *******, if we were able to secure one.  Mr. H***** took the $1,000 deposit on an **** CC and explained to Mr. *** that there was no guarantee when or if Spradley Barr Motors, Inc. would receive an allocation for a GT350-R Mustang.  Mustang GT350R's are a limited commodity with Ford Motor Company (total manufactured is estimated to be around 250 vehicles).  Chances are Spradley Barr Motors Inc. will be extremely fortunate by the year 2019, to be allocated even 1 of these vehicles.  Sometime after the original phone conversation, Mr. *** emailed our Fleet Manager, David S********* and indicated his intentions were to have this GT350R (when and if allocated) shipped directly to **********.  Once we learned of Mr. ***'s intention to take the GRT350-R to ** we notified him that we would need to rescind the transaction and refund his $1,000 deposit.  Regardless of Mr. ***'s interpretation of ** emissions laws, Spradley Barr Motor's Inc. does not sell new vehicles into the state of **.  If and when Spradley Barr Motor's Inc. is allocated one of these vehicles our intention is to bring it here to Wyoming.  We received notice from **** on 07-27-2016 that Mr. *** had cancelled his deposit with ******** *******.  We consider this matter to be resolved.  Best Regards, Robert W***** 

2/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Dec 11, 2015, I completed ONE credit application with ****** ***** Credit Company (****). My credit was ran TWICE, hit TWICE, once by **** and once by Spradley Barr, resulting in TWO hard hits against my credit. Why is this an issue? My credit report now shows that I have applied for two different auto loans, when in fact, I completed one application for ****, two hits against my credit requires TWO separate applications, which Spradley Barr does not have, as I did not complete them. I did not apply for a loan with Spradley Barr. All previous vehicles and motorcycle loans have had ONE hit from the company I applied the loan with. How can Sprdley Barr, whom I was not applying for a loan with, submit a credit application on my credit? This is why with each application, there is one hard hit. What is to stop Spradley Barr from continuing to hit my credit if they don't have to have a separate credit application with each hit? I have requested Spradley Barr make this right and remove the hit from Spradley Barr (whom I did not apply for credit with) from my credit and was told that is standard practice. So this gives Spradley Barr full reign to run as many credit applications on their customers as they wish. This is unacceptable and illegal. One credit run per credit application.

Desired Settlement: To have the unauthorized credit application check that Spradley Barr conducted removed from my credit report. I completed one credit application with ****** ***** Credit Company, not Spradley Barr.

Business Response: Spradley Barr Motors Inc. can not remove anything from a credit report.  ****** ******* has written us requesting this action and was told the very same thing twice.  During the process of purchasing a vehicle from us we run several credit inquire so we can help the customer find the best "Credit Interest Rate" available for them.  We go shopping with different fiancĂ© companies who will also run several inquiries.  This doesn't harm the customers rating or scores in any way shape of fashion.  She has written asking us to remove a "Hard Hit" that simple CAN"T BE DONE BY US.  I must say in the past twenty five years I haven't had a single customer worry about the inquiries we do helping them find the best rate to finance their vehicle.  Today, I'm not sure why this is an issue, but can say can you imagine a company being able to go into some ones credit report and adjusting it.  I can't. 

7/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Repairs were done at this location for my truck. After the repairs were done the truck has had the ch ck engine light on ever since and now has been informed that the engine in the truck is blown. At the time I picked up the truck from them I was informed that they never tested drove the truck but cause the truck only had 30 miles left to the tank. They repairs that have been done since receiving the truck back were said to be nonaccident related. But how can this be when driving less than 10 miles from them the truck looses all power and the check engine light turns on and never shuts off.

Desired Settlement: Explanation of why neglected to verify be fore receiving vehicle back they had not done proper testing and when notify about this situation they claim it was not impacted related problem. Would like vehicle fixed to way it was prior to the accident.

Business Response: Tell us why here...Spradley Barr Motors worked directly with *********** Insurance and repaired all damages deemed related to accident Mr. ****** was in.  Body repairs were performed as well as suspension damage to the rear of vehicle and a lower radiator hose.  This vehicle has been inspected by another facility (possibly 2) and determined that the engine problems being experienced now are internal (lack of compression) and not related to the accident. 

7/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 2002 Ford Escape to Spradley Barr Motors in Cheyenne, WY to have a check engine light assessed. The technician told me that I had leaking valve covers causing a misfire in Cylinder 1 of my engine. He asked for $947 to fix the problem. I told him that the quoted price was very high and that I did not want the service done. The technician then charged me $106 for looking at the car. I was not informed when I dropped off the car that there would be a charge to get an estimate. The $947 estimate pricing seemed very suspect to me, so I researched the price of the parts to fix the issue. At ********, the gaskets to seal the leaking valve covers were a total of $66 and new spark plugs were around a total of $25. Thus, the total parts for this repair would be less than $100. This means that Spradley Barr was going to charge me $847 for labor. I believe they were attempting to take advantage of me by not giving me a breakdown of the parts and labor and assuming that I would not look up the actual price of the parts. Additionally, I have since discovered that only the left valve cover in my engine was leaking, which Spradley Barr did not tell me. They seem to have been attempting to trick me into paying for an additional repair to the right valve cover when no repair was required. I was able to refuse the work, but my concern about this company is that this type of practice can take advantage of less knowledgeable people in terms of auto repair, such as single moms, who may not know that the price of the work is too high or that they are recommending repair of working engine parts.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the $106 Spradley Barr charged me to look at my car, as I was not told there would be a charge for an estimate and since I chose not to have the work done. I would also like a refund because they seem to have attempted to vastly overcharge me for labor and convince me to pursue unnecessary repairs. I would also like the management of Spradley Barr to be aware that these types of practices can take advantage of less knowledgeable individuals who need a car for work and/or family and thus are prone to fall for these types of schemes.

Business Response: ********,
Thanks for bringing your 2002 Ford Escape with 133,000 miles into our service department.  As I read your comments both to our folks and the BBB I can't help but think this is no more than a lack of communication on both of our parts.

The repairs needed to your vehicle in our technicians opinion were the complete set of valve cover gaskets along with spark plug seals and spark plugs.  This operation was recommended due to mileage and age of the vehicle along with the comments in the write up during your vehicle drop off.  The oil from my understanding is leaking into spark plug seals and fouling out the plugs.  Under standard operations using flat rate manuals the time to replace all these seals and spark plugs is five hours.  Parts and labor should be around $865.60 plus shop supplies and taxes.  My service advisor **** ******** would be more then happy to give more detail to you if you would like to stop by the store.  You may also ask for ***** ********, our Service Manager for detailed information.  The $106.00 was used to pay the factory trained technician for diagnosing your vehicle so you would know what to fix. The $106.00 would be deducted from your bill if you chose to have repairs done at a later time.

I realize this was your first trip into our store and you don't know us but as a man who was raised by a single mother with six kids during the sixties and seventies she learned the hard way it was her local new car dealership that always had her back. We can't know if you are single or any other status as a customer only diagnose your vehicle and recommend repairs as we see it.

Sincerely

****** * ******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Unfortunately, you have not satisfied my claim. On the first note, although your quote of $865 to make the repair has come down from the original quote of $947, it is still far too high. I have researched the parts required to make this repair and the gasket and spark plug seal kit is around $67. Replacement spark plugs are around $25. This is less than $100 for parts. You cited that your technicians require 5 hours to do this job. So, taking into account the $92 for parts less the $865 total charge quoted, this means that your technician's hourly rate is $154. Unless you are using lawyers or surgeons to make car repairs at your facility, this hourly rate seems quite inflated. In a small town such as Cheyenne where there are a limited number of Ford Certified technicians, the price you are charging for your repairs is tantamount to price gouging and is unacceptable.

On the second note, regarding the charge of $106 to diagnose the issue with my vehicle, of course your technician should be paid for her or his time. However, a customer should be told up front that there will be a $106 charge to look at and diagnose the vehicle. I object to not being told about the fee and request a refund be mailed to my address by the end of next week. Otherwise, I will take the issue up with my credit card company.

I should also let you know that I have owned 5 Ford cars and trucks in my life and have always enjoyed Ford as a product. I have likewise had good experiences with Ford service in other states. I have had a disappointing experience with Ford in Cheyenne, Wyoming and will be writing a letter to your parent company, Ford Motors explaining in detail my experience with you. Nevertheless, I will continue to buy Ford products until such time as I have a similar experience with a Ford branded company in the future. I regret to inform you that I will not be able to recommend your company to people I meet or have conversations with in Cheyenne in the future.

Regards,

******** *******

1/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my Ford truck into Spradley Ford to have some repair work done on November 1, 2103 which totaled $2,948.92. The invoice number is 266826. I had driven the truck about 100 miles and was on a hunting trip with my daughter when the brakes went out. Fortunately, we did not get into an accident. I looked at the brake line and could see it had been broken and glued. When I called Spradley Ford, they spoke with the mechanic who had worked on my truck and confirmed he broke the line by mistake, glued it, and had not told anyone. Their final offer to make the situation right was a free oil change. They didnt even offer a discount on the original work. If a vehicle can come into their shop and go out worse than it came in, and they feel an oil change rectifies that, then they have severe customer service and safety standards. I am requesting that they reimburse me for half of the labor charge on the invoice, which comes to $520. Thank you for your help with this situation. Sincerely, Dan Healey

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that they reimburse me for half of the labor charge on the invoice, which comes to $520.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Spradley Barr Motors Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart