This business is not BBB accredited.

Magnum Motors of Loveland LLC

Phone: (970) 667-4041 Fax: (970) 667-4061 5900 South College Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80525


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Sell trucks, specialty vehicles, classic cars & SUVs


BBB Accreditation

On 2/23/2015 this business's accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to its failure to adhere to the BBB requirement that Accredited Businesses meet and abide by the following standards:

  • 1B. Fulfill all licensing and bonding requirements of applicable jurisdictions; provide all license and bonding information upon application for BBB accreditation; and provide periodic updates upon request of BBB.
  • 4A. Upon request, provide BBB with all information required to evaluate compliance with BBB standards. This may include, but is not limited to business name, address and contact information; names and background of principals; business and banking references; licensing and/or professional accreditation; and a complete description of the nature of the business.
  • 6A. Promptly respond to all complaints forwarded by BBB by:
    1. Resolving the complaint directly with the complainant and notifying BBB, or
    2. Providing BBB with a response that BBB determines:
      • is professional,
      • addresses all of the issues raised by the complainant,
      • includes appropriate evidence and documents supporting the business' position, and
      • explains why any relief sought by the complainant cannot or should not be granted.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Magnum Motors of Loveland LLC include:

  • 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 6 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Magnum Motors of Loveland LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Magnum Motors of Loveland LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 03, 2009 Business started: 02/01/1991 in CO Business under new ownership as of: 08/01/2013 Business incorporated 01/31/2005 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Auto Division-CO
140 W 6th Ave Rm 109, Denver CO 80204
Phone Number: (303) 205-5696

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Clint Drake, Managing Partner Mr. Marc Mackie, Managing Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Clint Drake, Managing Partner
Principal: Mr. Marc Mackie, Managing Partner
Business Category

Car Dealerships Used Car Dealerships Truck Dealers Auto Dealers - Antique & Classic

Service Area
National
Licensing

On January 22, 2015 BBB confirmed that Magnum Motors of Loveland LLC voluntarily surrendered the necessary license to conduct business due to an investigation from the Department of Revenue Auto Division. Such a license is required in the State of Colorado for businesses offering vehicle sales. BBB encourages you to contact the following agency to confirm this information: Department of Revenue Auto Division, website: https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/enforcement/aid or phone number: (303) 205-5604. 

Industry Tips
Research Key in Buying New Vehicle

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Magnum Motors of Loveland LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of F.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5900 South College Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80525

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I traded in a 2011 ***** pick up for a 2008 **** pick up in the contract they were to pay off my ***** which they did not do and now i am stuck with 2 loans to pay and the sate went in and shut them down because they were not paying off the trade in loans. they sold my trade in 2 days after i traded it in and i cant get my old vehicle back now either . and the new owner is paying on a loan that cant be titled or registered

Desired Settlement: i want my trade in paid off and the extra i have had to pay to prevent credit damage reimbursed back to me. plus the interest my account has incurred due to them, and the fees for late charges and the bounce check fee i am being charged for the check they sent that didn't clear. plus the mental anguish we have endured due to this situation, lost time from work dealing with this, the insurance i have been required to carry on my trade in due to it being a loan requirement. pay off on loan was 12,400.00, insurance 750.00 to date, wages lost to date dealing with this 5424.00, difference between payoff and amount i was charged on loan 382.00, fuel for running 500.00, temp fee on new vehicle due to no title work being done on it 25.00, mental anguish 2500.00 total 21,981.00

3/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Well first off I bought a car from them for 40,000 and I was told the car was perfect. Bought it with very low mile (12000miles). Well I had to go get the emissions done and the car failed emissions so I called the dealer and I had to wait 3 days before their mechanic can take a look at it. So the mechanic finally checked it and had it for 3 days and I was left with no rental car so I had to find a ride home from ***** ******** when I live in ***** **** *******. I talk to the mechanic and he said the catalytic converter was bad so they replaced it. Well I'm drivin home and before I make it to **** ******* the check engine light comes on so I stop at **** **** to find out why and all my o2 censors are out. I call magnum the next day and their mechanic has it for another 4 days and I'm stuck finding a way back home well I get it back the second time and it finally passes emission but there is this loud grinding noise right under my driver and passenger seat so I call magun to have them fix it cuz when they sold it to me it didn't have that noise or else I wouldn't have bought the car. Well their mechanic takes it again for 2 days and says the welding had holes through gut where they welded the catalytic converter and said there are no more noises. Well I drive maybe 2 miles away and the noises are back again. So the next day I drive to magnum and get there half hour before it closes and the manager/business partner is there and says it's already closing time to come back Monday morning instead. So I takes car to my mechanic and he had to re weld the whole exhaust because it was pushed out 1.5 inches from where it should be and was full of holes still. So finally after spending 40k was not worth all the headaches at all.

Desired Settlement: Just want to refund all the time I had to leave from work to take my car to get fixed. Paying my mechanic 200 to re weld the exhaust also want them to pay for my deductible for the insurance company to fix my car properly already.

2/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Magnum motors did not pay off our loans when we traded in our vehicles for new ones. The check they sent the loan company was returned insufficient funds

Desired Settlement: Pay off the loans as the contract states.

2/19/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from Magnum Motors in March of 2014. It is a 2011 ***** *****. the truck has many after market accessories on it so Magnum motors told us we must purchase the extended warranty through them. In june i went to Magnum to look at another truck this time a 2011 ***** that I was going to trade my ******* on. I told Magnum motors I wanted to test drive this vehicle for a few hours and then we would talk about what kind of deal we could make. When I took the vehicle back and started to negotiate a deal they said they had already pulled my credit and summitted the request to the bank. I was furious that they had used the information from me buying my previous vehicle and started submitting loan requests on my behalf. I told magnum I would not take what they wanted to offer me for my Truck and I left. Several months later when I pulled my credit report and it had 6 hard inquiries from magnum motors and several banks wich dropped myu credit score a large deal. I never authorized nor asked magnum to submit anything on my behalf. I have sent letters to magnum and all of the banks from my lawyer that stated the inquiries needed to be romoved but the banks all replied with Magnum Motors Submitted on Your Behalf. Then in the end of december our ***** Broke down. We were in the middle of ******** and had to rent a room. We got it back to magnum and they refused to fix the vehicle under the warranty we purchased from them. I paid over 1000 to fix the vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I would like magnum to Remove the hard inquiries from my credit report and contact the banks to have the Hard inquiries removed as well. I would also like a full refund for the money I had to spend repairing the ***** that is still currently under warranty and I would like to be refunded for the price of the warranty we purchased.

2/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Magnum Motors falsified listed equipment on the truck I purchased to get the bank to loan. ie; they listed a $6,000 hydraulic snowplow on the truck that truck was not actually equipped with.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be paid back for all the negative equity caused by this issue.

2/19/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paying for a service warranty and they did not want to honor it.

Desired Settlement: We just want them to fix the problems were having with the truck.

1/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2004 Mercedes Benz from Magnum Motors and received transmission issues with the vehicle within the second month of owning it. I ended up trying to resolve the repairs with the warranty company they signed me up for and was getting the runaround with waiting for an approval to have the car repaired. Meanwhile I waited for over three weeks and not one repair was done on the vehicle. The owner, **** said he would make certain I was taken care of and would take the initiative of resolving the repair work. Each time I called the repair shop they said they never received a phone call from the manager, ****. Then Colorado was hit by a natural disaster with floods and the location of the repair shop suffered damage by the flood and my car was a total loss! Magnum Motors was sent a fax from my lender asking for a pro-rated refund request on my behalf for the extended warranty. It is now up to them to call the warranty company to cancel the warranty and receive a refund and send it to my lender so I can complete my GAP claim. It's now going on two weeks and no one from Magnum Motors is assisting me so I can complete the documents needed to finish my GAP claim meanwhile my lender is waiting for another car payment from me and I feel if Magnum Motors took value in assisting their customer's satisfaction and customer service this simple phone call on their behalf would of been taken care of! I've contacted Magnum Motors pleading them to please call the warranty company so I can complete my GAP claim. They say they will take care of it and then a few days later nothing was done. I have spoken to the warranty company asking if they have received any calls and they said no. This is why I'm sending in my complaint to BBB because I feel this company failed me with their trust and satisfaction because I will never buy another vehicle at this company ever again and want to prevent other customers from being mistreated.

Desired Settlement: I would like someone from BBB to investigate this company further and if possible to help me on my situation. If BBB can only just post my complaint I understand. I just want it to be noted that this company does not offer customer service in a satisfactory manner.

Business Response: We've been in contact with the customer, Bank, *** Insurance, & Warranty Company. We've explain to the customer that it isn't just a phone caLL to fix 
this. There's procedures and forms to fill out and there's of period of processing with the warranty company. The warranty cancellation has been processed and it will be disbursed to the bank by the 1st week of December, per warranty company - ***** ********. Here are the articles of paperwork we have and that has been faxed over to the *** Insurance Company and ***** ******** Warranty Company. we are handling this situation in a timely manner. Let us know if you have at questions, please? 


Thank You & Have A Blessed Dad, 

*****!

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Magnum Motors sold me an extended warranty that had to be filed as a cancellation because the vehicle had become a total loss. The company was faxed a letter to perform this service Oct. 7 2013. I called a week later and no one in the office was aware how to cancel the policy and played games back and forth with the finance department and manager because they claim they had never performed this before and didn't know how to do it. After I had reported the company to the BBB they finally said they are in the process of cancelling the warranty policy. It is now November 22, 2013 and they do not know when they will receive the refund nor have any knowledge of the amount. I have spoken to the credit union several times and they have told me that there is no reason why it has carried on now for over thirty days! I now am having to make another loan payment due to Magnum Motors not handling their customers with appropriate customer service due to not taking care of their customer! I bought a $28,000 vehicle from them and due to a total loss and being out now $2500 on a vehicle I will never be able to enjoy they are dragging their feet so I am financially at a loss of money! My credit is suffering due to their lack of caring for me as their client! The credit union said they could have easily called the warranty company and found out the amount being refunded and sent a check of their own until they receive the refund from the warranty company but have unfortunately have decided not to do this for me! The credit union said they have never seen such inconsideracy from a company before! I am shocked how Magnum Motors has treated me as a customer! I believe I should be refunded a loan payment for their lack of processing my warranty! Magnum Motors had knowledge of my car being a total loss since Sept. 16, 2013! They knew it was at their repair shop and got flooded by the river and created a total loss. It was their responsibility to cancel this warranty policy! I don't understand why it's taking so long!

If this was handled properly. I wouldn't have had to make a loan payment of $510.26 
Desired Settlement: Refund

Regards,

********* *** ******

Business Response: Please be advised that everything has been and was done to assist the customer with this situation.  Unfortunately, there was a lot of miscommunication between all the parties involved. Which, includes the Credit Union, the customer, us and the different branches of the Warranty Company.  With all that being said, it takes more than just a phone call to cancel a warranty.  There's procedures that have to take place and that was explained to the customer and the Credit Union. The procedure was started without any clue of any complaints.  We also explained to the customer that, any payments and all over payments of the payoff with the Credit Union paid by the *** Insurance, the Car Insurance and the Warranty Company will be reimbursed to her after it's all said and done.  That's a normal procedure with all banking institutes, when it comes to over payment of vehicle payoff.  All the funds of the warranty cancellation have been disbursed to the Credit union.  Unfortunately, it's going to take some patients.

Thank You!