BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of John Elway Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

John Elway Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram

Phone: (970) 506-9777 Fax: (970) 534-2004 2501 35th Ave, Greeley, CO 80634 http://www.elwaydealers.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Auto dealership selling new and used, full repair shop, auto leasing

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that John Elway Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for John Elway Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for John Elway Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on John Elway Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 18, 2010 Business started: 11/18/2010 Business started locally: 11/18/2010 Business incorporated: 08/03/2010 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Auto Division-CO
140 W 6th Ave Rm 109, Denver CO 80204
Phone Number: (303) 205-5696

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Todd Maul, Managing Partner/Pres
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Todd Maul, Managing Partner/Pres
Business Category

Car Dealerships Automobile Dealers - Imported Cars Used Car Dealerships Tire Dealers Car Air Conditioning Suppliers Car Alternator and Generator Repair Stations Auto Accessories Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electricians Auto Leasing Companies Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair & Service - Airbags Auto Emission Check Shops Brake Shops Engine Repair Rebuilding Companies Car Lubrication Shops Auto Transmission Suppliers Auto Services Engine Starter Suppliers Auto Air Conditioning Equipment Suppliers

Products & Services

Chrysler, Jeep, Ram, car dealership, used car, auto repair, auto leasing, auto brakes, oil and lube, transmission

Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

John Elway Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2501 35th Ave

    Greeley, CO 80634 (970) 506-9777

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to the John Elway Dealership in Greeley, Colorado to puchase a new car. I traded in a 2013 Honda Civic for a 2014 Dodge Journey. About a week after having the dodge Journey I started noticing paint problems as well as a spot in the roof that woudl of started peeling with in time. I contacted ****** ******* about the issues and they had me BUY touch up paint. My concern was that over time the spots on the Dodge Journey would start to peel and there would be more of an issue. John Elway dealership wanted me to take out claims on all three of the spots that I had spotted, and file them against my warranty. I thought that this was a bit ridiculous considering ****** *******, and the sales representative had stated "We will fix these problems". They never did. My mom and I took matters into our own hands and contacted the bank and told them we were returning the car. We took the car back to John Elway dealership on memorial day of 2014. I handed the keys over to ****** *******, who is the sales manager of the dealership. The Honda Civic was in great condition when we traded it in. On June 24th, 2014 ****** told my mom that everything was cleared and that she could come get the 2013 Honda Civic. The Honda Civic was bottomed out and has damage on the undercarage of the vehicle that was not there when we traded it as well as one of the windshield wipers. There were also an additional 400 miles put on the car, and we were told that the car was going to be parked in the back of the dealership in their parking lot PARKED until the deals were undone completely! The honda was traded in with 8,866, and now us 9,277. Obviously this is not the case. Also, the financing for the Honda was reinstatded as of June 1st, 2014 nobody called to inform my mom. So, technically they were driving around a car that wasn't theirs. We called them the morning of Wednesday June 25th to inform them of the damage and ****** told my mom that they were not going to fix the Honda with the damage that has been done.. We have tried to contact them to get a Used Vehicle Inspection report (UVI) and nobody will contact us back! Their Journey was returned in the condition it was bought. They are rude and totally inconsiderate! My mom was told by ****** that everything was cleared and done with. this meaning the Journey was no longer in my mothers name. On Wednesday June 25th my mom contacted ****** ***** **** ****** and they informed my mom that the **** for the Journey was still in her name. The ****** ***** **** ****** told my mom that they have tried contacting John Elway Dealership and nobody will answer or return the ****** unions call. This is not ok after on Tuesday June 24th we were told everything was taken care of and was done.

Desired Settlement: I would like my 2013 Honda Civic to be fixed at the location of my choice.

Business Response: On May 10th Mrs. ******* purchased a vehicle for her daughter and traded her 2013 Honda Civic, she bought a 2014 Dodge Journey.  About a week later she noticed a spot about the size of a pin, brought it in, we looked at it and sent it to Chrysler to get approval to get it fixed, in the meantime the guest got upset and wanted out of the car deal, which we said ok.  It is not our policy to allow people out of contracts after owning the vehicle for 3 weeks, and because of that we had already paid off the 2013 Honda Civic, which required us to get that **** reinstated.  The dealership was willing to unwind the deal for the guest, the dealership was willing to pay the $149 fee to reinstate the loan, the $569.03 cost of sending the 2013 Honda Civic through the shop in preparation to be sold on the lot, the $175 detail paid again in preparation for the lot.  All of these fees were waived at the dealerships expense in an attempt to show good faith and take care of the customer.  In addition to that the Colorado State law allows the dealership to charge $50 per day and .50 per mile while the vehicle is off the lot, and again, this fee was not charged to the customer.  All of these were done in good faith with the customer in mind, even though the complaint never originated at the dealership level and was agreed to be solved by the manufacturer .  Any miles that were incurred on Mrs. ******* vehicle came from reconditioning  the car and preparing it for the lot to be sold.  The dealership did have legal documentation for ownership at that time and therefore were not putting miles on Mrs. ********* vehicle.  To the best of our knowledge the damage that customer complains did not happen on our lot.   Based off this information we believe John Elway Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram has gone out of it's way in an attempt to satisfy a customer tha cannot be satisfied.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I traded in my Volvo to buy a Jeep on 5/19/14. The dealership said that they would pay off my Volvo as soon as they received funding for my loan. I talked to **** ****** on 5/22/14 and was told that they received funding for my loan and would overnight the money to ******. I called ****** on 5/28 and they had not received any funds nor did they know that the dealership was planning on buying my volvo. I immediately called **** and left him 2 messages as well as sent an email without hearing back. I called the next day 5/29 and was told by **** that they had received the funding for my loan and we're overnighting the check to ******. As of Today ****** has not received any money and when they contacted the dealership the dealership told them they were unsure if they were going to purchase the volvo. I left **** * the general manager, and **** a message today and did not hear back from either. My Volvo has been for sale on their lot and website since 5/28, if not earlier, yet they do not own this car or have a title. Myself and ** **** have both tried multiple times to contact this dealership and no one will return our phone calls. When I can get **** to answer my calls he lies and says they have sent a check, which ****** has never received. In addition, after having only 400 miles on this brand new jeep the check engine light is on.

Desired Settlement: I need for my Volvo to be paid off and the payment to be posted by 6-9-14. I also need for the addition trade in costs that they charged me to be refunded. They told me that ****** would charge me the buyout price plus $10 a day until the car was paid off and therefore they charged me an extra $100+ to cover these fees. When I talked to ****** they said they do not charge $10 a day or any additional fees. If there is no way the dealership can payoff the entire amount of my car before I receive a late payment fee and am forced to make another car payment they will need to pay my next car payment due June 9th.

Business Response: The issues were resolved with the guest with in days of complaint being sent.  The amount collected for the payoff was correct and the payoff was made by the time we had originally stated to the customer.   We refunded the maintainence contract per her request.  Everything she asked of us was completed.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchsed a vehicle from this dealership on 05/10/14 and stated to the dealership I had recently filed for bankruptcy however I had an ok credit score they did run my credit and asked two questions 1. Did I have my trustee meeting which i had 2. Would you possibly be able to provide a letter from the trustee at which I stated i was not sure probaly not I dont know. With that said they sold me a 2014 Jeep Compass I drove off the lot no problem. I called every week after that to see if they had found a lender which they had not found the day i took the vehicle home. They stated to me we are looking no problem I called them today 05/28/14 to see if they had found a lender and aagain they stated they were looking about 3 minutes later they call back to say it wasn going to go through and i need to return the Jeep and they would give me my trade in back . This was upsetting in every aspect considering they let me drive it home for 3 weeks this will now cause embarrassment as people know i purchased the vehicle seeing me driving my old car after consulting a family attorney he said under no circumstance should they have let me drive off the lot without a lender. The two finance gentleman were rude **** (?) and ******* and made me feel like this was my fault . Now not only do i have to return the car i will have to explain to my children and co workers why i am drving my old car it was not fair and this will cause me great grief, dont sell a car then ask for it back when you knew the situation about my bankruptcy from the start.

Desired Settlement: I want them to personally finance me because this was thier error or allow me to at least lease a vehicle.

Business Response:

Unfortunately we were unable to obtain financing and the vehicle was returned.  We did work closely with the customer and tried to resolve the banks issues with financing the deal.  Wyoming has a different way of discharging a bankruptcy which was the majority of the confusion as to what was needed and what would work for our bank lenders.  Even though we did not complete a transaction - the customer was satisfied with the results

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The main information center was not working properly The radio would shut off riding down the road. The vehicle was taken in five times for the radio problem. When picked up on 12/3/13 there was 336 unexplained miles put on the vehicle and was empty of fuel. The paint on the left outside of the box had been scratched. Try to speak with the dealership manager, ******** *******, who would not discuss the issue and became very rude. At the top of invoice # 69313 is the correct mile, 2796 that was on the vehicle when picked up on 12/2/13.

Desired Settlement: Payment for the mileage put on the vehicle.

Business Response:

Mr. ******* brought in his vehicle for a warranty issue on his new truck - as he described the "The radio would shut off riding down the road" As we worked through a diagnosis we did drive the vehicle several times trying to recreate the situation the customer described.  We did finally recreate the problem and identified the part failure through a process of elimination as outlined by Chrysler.  Unfortunately we did scratch his vehicle in this process and have since fixed the scratch at our expense.  I am sorry about the gas issue but we did fuel the vehicle at our expense before the customer took delivery and after he expressed concern.

Please let me know what else I can do to resolve any issues not yet resolved.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  I do not feel that it would take 336 miles to correct this problem.  If I had take a new vehicle that number of miles for a test drive, I would be paying for the miles.

Regards,

******* *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased this vehicle in good faith from John Elway dealers in Greeley Colorado with the understanding that it is a used vehicle and when I purchased the vehicle at that time the dealer attempted to fix the undercarriage of the vehicle but it was no time at all when the repair that was done did not hold and all the protection from under the car fell back off.. I had the vehicle back in for this repair and nothing was completed then I had the car in to fix the hail damage and repair the head liner and all the undercarriage protection again but they only fixed the hail damage and did a oil change.. no other repairs were completed I was told that they had to order parts and would call to schedule an appointment. I then waited several weeks for this call and to no surprise a phone call for a appointment never came. so I took the car in again for the third or fourth time to get this fixed still no appointment. I get a call to drop the car off even though no one communicates between departments to have this issue fixed the car again sits for three weeks while I only get one phone call that said I would have to pay all the money of over several thousand dollars to fix it. Sales would not authorize the vehicle to be fixed. I talked with one of the sales managers and he assured me that he would get to the bottom of the issue and call. after a week and a half of no word I called to see what the status of the vehicle was and they were going to call me back to let me know and I still received no return phone call. I then picked up my vehicle tonight with none of the repairs completed and I informed the sales manager of my decision to inform the Better Business Bureau of this incompetence and lack of customer service for a just purchased vehicle. I have not even put 3000 miles on the vehicle since purchase. it has been at the dealership more than with me.. I have owned it since August 15th 2013 and I am still dealing with the issues.

Desired Settlement: I would like a vehicle replacement of the same type or at the very minimum the vehicle repaired at a different dealership with the Elway dealers paying the bill.. I am not insignificant as a customer.

Business Response: Mr. *********** purchased a vehicle from John Elway Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram on
August 15. 2013.  When he purchased the
vehicle we agreed to repair the front chinstrap on the vehicle.  It was made aware this would be a fix not new
components.  We did not see the vehicle
again until October 28th when he stated the front end had come lose
and fell off.  According to my service
manager,  Mr. *********** told him he had ran into a curb and it came off
again.  The front chinstrap on the
vehicle is not a mechanical item or safety item and would not be covered by the
dealership or any extended warranty.  
However Mr. *********** did not mention that the finance
institution would not approve the loan with out the hail damage being fixed so
John Elway CJDR fixed the hail damage at the cost of $3450.00 not charging Mr.
*********** a cent for the  additional hail
repair.  

John Elway CJDR will not be paying for any additional
repairs on his used vehicle unless clearly stated in his extended warranty
agreement.

 Sincerely,

******** *******

John Elway CJDR
General Manager / Partner

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  Although the business has stated that they did not see the vehicle till the 28th of Ocotober I had it in there mutiple times to have them look at the issue during the month of September. as well as during the time of the required fixing of the Hail that I wa not to be charged for. due to it being a requirement from the Finance company. I was continually pushed off and the service department would not take my complaint or even look at the issue. I even had the vehicle in for a oil change right after the vehicle was returned from the body repairs and they were suposed to look at it then and never did. when the repair was attempted on the 15th there was no mention of new or used parts.  but as a consumer of a product that should have been inspected throughly before even setting on the lot for sale and any major defeciancies fixed. I should not have had to point out to the sales staff that the front of the vehcile did not look right. I can not help their incompitance of not fixing the issue properly in the first place. and as to the suposed quote of me saying that I hit a curb is a false statement. I never said I hit a curb..  I did state that while driving down the road I hit a bump and all the undercarriage protectiong with the chin strap fell down so I removed it the rest of the way to prevent further damage. but it has nothing to do with the safety issue of the wiring harness that was previousely damaged due to previous owner of the vehicle. I do not think that a member of the dealership calling me during this complaint and demanding that the dealership is not responsible for their product and that it is a used vehicle. I really do not care if the vehicle is used when I purchased the vehicle I did so in good faith that issues such as this would be resolved with in a timely mannor and not give me the run around.. I have not even put 1500 miles on this vehicle since purchased. as well as the supposed repair made to the vehicle was reported to the sales staff the day after the thing fell back off before I brought it in for hail repair.  If the repairs would have been made approperiately in the first place the front bumper cover would not need to be replaced unless that is the reason that all this is falling off and should have been caught before I took posession of the vehicle.



Regards,

******** ***********

Business Response: ***** ******** ******* *************************** *** ******************** ***** **** *** ** **** ** **** ** ******** ******** *********** *** *********

To whom this may concern

Attached is a copy of the 60day Warranty that John Elway CJDR does provide with the sale of any used vehicle.  It discloses all items covered and if not listed it is not covered.  The body work that is being requested is not covered under the warranty.  In efforts to assist Mr. *********** Jelway CJDR would be willing to perform the work at the dealerships cost and this would reduce the amount need for repair significantly.

Thank you,

******** *******
John Elway CJDR
General Manager/Partner
************************* ************

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Although I respect the atempt at resolving this issue, I am not satisfied with your dealerships abilities to fix the problem or at still having to pay a large sum of funds even at your cost for something that should have been fixed appropriately in the first place.. Not just try. when you tell me on the warranty that it has been inspected that means someone doing the inspection should have been able to say hey lets get this fixed before it is put on the lot. It is not my falt that when it was brought to your dealerships attention that it could not be repaired or fixed in the appropriate mannor so the parts would not fall off the vehicle the first time it drives over a bump. Further problems of this is that if I was not ignored in the first place and given the run around it would have been fixed right.  I am not now nor have I ever expressed that I needed new parts just that if that is what it takes to fix the issue then that is what needs to be done. I respectfully decline your offer to have this fixed at your dealership as I will not be bringing the vehicle there for any work I respectfully request you have the work preformed at a dealership of my choosing and you pay the expences to them.   

Regards,

******** ***********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My 2013 ****** BRZ was delivered without the radio working AT ALL. I was told me ***** ***, Salesman, that it was not working because the cars battery died and had to be jumped. When it fact it was due to there being no SD card in the radio. I contacted ***** about the situation and he said that they would "make it right". I contacted ****** and asked if I could buy a card from **** and they said no. ********* ****** Dealership in ****** **** ******** told me to call ****** Helpline. The card is $620 retail. They ordered for me wholesale ($520) and paid for half of it and it was not there fault at all. When it came in, **** Elway Chrysler Dodge refused to pay the other half. I talked with ****** ******* and he said they would pay for "NOTHING". He said one of the owners, **** *******, told him to call me. This is wrong.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to honor what their salesman, ***** ***, told me. He stated that he would "make it right". I have no radio capability whatsoever because the car was delivered without an SD card. The salesman told me that he would make it right. I have ordered an SD card for $560 and ****** has agreed to pay $280 so ALL I asked for was half of it.

Business Response: **** Elway CJDR is not disputing what has been said and will be sending a check to the customer in the amount of $280.00.  Typically used vehicles are sold as-is but in this case where it seems apparent the salesperson promised the customer something that was incorrect we will be correcting the issue.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I hate that it came to this but EVERY effort was made on my part to resolve this issue.

Regards,

** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/31/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Can't get new car product fixed has been 4months once a week calling with no resolution New jeep grand Cherokee has broken gromet on back deck lid with wires now no water seal to head liner

Desired Settlement: Some one needs to fix the problem or termanate the lease

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2012/12/19) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* Contact Phone: XXX XXXXXXXX Contact Email: *****@elwaydealers.net Please accept our apologies, our difficulties in locating the parts needed for your Grand Cherokee took much longer than expected. I am happy that our Parts Department and *** in our Service department were able to locate the necessary parts and schedule a time that was convenient for you, to have your vehicle repaired. Please contact us if there is any other issue.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/18/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/2/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/15/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/3/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues