Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hudson Auto Source

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 468-0391 Fax: (970) 468-9458 441 Blue River Pkwy, Silverthorne, CO 80498 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.hudsonautosource.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Hudson Auto Source is a Cadillac, GMC, Chevrolet, Buick , and pre-owned car dealership with full automotive services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hudson Auto Source meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hudson Auto Source include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Hudson Auto Source
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 18, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1974 Business started locally: 01/01/1974
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Auto Division-CO
140 W 6th Ave Rm 109, Denver CO 80204
Phone Number: (303) 205-5696

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mrs. Lynne McMahon, Dealer Principal Mrs. Billie McMillen, Customer Service Marilyn Miller, Comptroller Mr. Ronnie Mondragon, Body Shop Manager Mr. Tim Weiers, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Lynne McMahon, Dealer Principal
Customer Contact: Marilyn Miller, Comptroller
Business Category

Car Dealerships Used Car Dealerships Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service Auto Services

Alternate Business Names
Jim Hudson Chevrolet
Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service Research Key in Buying New Vehicle

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Hudson Auto Source has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 441 Blue River Pkwy

    Silverthorne, CO 80498

  • Po Box 23049

    Silverthorne, CO 80498

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a **** commander on September 2014, 2 months later it broke down. I got a warranty for it when I purchased it saying that it will fix anything if it was under certain mileage , I called Hudson auto source to tell them about the whole situation and bill told me to have the car towed to ***** since they were short staffed, he seemed like he wanted to avoid the whole conversation, he then said to send it there because they have "**** specialist" who can fix it even though we bought the car there, he said it wasn't their problem. We talked to him about providing us a rental/ loaner car and he avoided the whole situation saying it was our responsibility to call the warranty to provide a rental car because Hudson didn't have to do anything with that . The car has been at ***** for 2 months and they haven't fixed it, these 2 months we have been struggling to get a vehicle and Hudson company has not provided anything or help in any possible way! We talked to the General manager at Hudson and he said their was nothing he can do. I have many friends who's cars have broken down on them and the dealerships immediately provided them with loaner car since the repairs were going to even take a day . The problem is that Hudson made the car breaking down on *****s problem because they have not provided help in any way !! For me it seems like they Do not care in any way about their customers satisfaction. The Manger from the service department at ***** told us that the car that Hudson auto source sold us with junk because it wasn't running the way it was supposed to be. He found it very strange that we bought a car under 100 thousand miles and ending up having eternal engine failure, the **** tech found it very odd to see a problem like that on an engine like that. This situation has been very stressful because the car is still in the shop and it's been really hard to get from place to place without a vehicle. We have had the worst experience purchasing our first car with a dealership who cares less about their customers satisfaction.

Desired Settlement: I want to get my money back so I can purchase something reliable !!!! I don't how well the car is going to work after being fixed! It's ridiculous that I was only able to use the car 2 months after been purchased.

Business Response:

Ms. ***** *****
Better Business Bureau
8020 South County Road 5; Suite 100
Fort Collins, Colorado 80528
 

Dear Ms. *****,
 
On July 30, 2014 we sold Mr. and Mrs. **** a previously owned ****; with that purchase they included an extended service policy.
 
A couple months later they were experiencing problems with their vehicle. Based on the information we were provided, the symptoms the vehicle was presenting we believed, as it was, the vehicle would be covered under the **** manufacture powertrain original warranty.  We unfortunately are only legally able to provide General Motors original warranty repairs for the manufacture, because we are a General Motors dealer.  Just as a ****, ******** dealer is the only legal entity that can provide repairs for **** or ********’s original manufacture warranty.  That doesn’t mean we cannot repair other vehicles with different makes, it just means if repairs are covered by the original manufacture (*********, ***, ********, *****, ****, ****, and ******** etc.) warranty they must be repaired by those same dealers.  We referred them to the **** dealer down the street because they were the closest **** dealer to Mr. and Mrs. ****.    It never behooves us to send our customers to have work done at another dealership, it costs us; we lose the amount of the repairs; as well as our technicians and service writers don’t get paid for the hours completed; our parts department won’t get paid for the sale of the parts; and potentially the customer may decide they like the other dealership better and continue to have all of their future work completed by the other dealership; ultimately purchasing a vehicle from that dealership instead of us when the time comes.  Therefor we never want to refer a customer to another dealer but ultimately in this situation we were required to do so.  As well we would always rather have control of the situation instead of “avoiding the conversation” as Mrs. **** believed.  Regarding the rental car Mr. ********* was referring to **** “they” would orchestrate the rental car because the powertrain warranty pays for the usage of a rental car.  **** would not allow us to orchestrate the rental for them, because we are not a **** dealer.
 
Days had gone by since the vehicle was taken to ***** Mr. and Mrs. **** came in to the dealership to express that they were not getting anywhere with ***** on the repair of the ****. We called ***** and discussed their situation.  We had confirmed with the provider of the extended service policy that the actual failure was attributed to and covered by ****’s original manufacture powertrain warranty.   Mr. and Mrs. **** again came into our dealership in December to let us know how unhappy they were with the repair process.  They had told us at that time that parts were ordered and they were just waiting for them to get there so the vehicle could then be repaired. They wanted to know what they could do to the trade the **** into get a more reliable vehicle. We then told them that we understood and would be happy to trade them out of the vehicle.  We ensured them that they wouldn't be out any money on the trade in considering the mechanical problems they had faced.  They also told us that they have not had a vehicle for a month or so because of the repairs. 
 
When they left that day were under the impression they were satisfied with the conversation and information provided.  Since this notification was received we have spoken with Mr. **** and he explained that he believed the Mrs. **** sent this letter because of her frustration level and that they in fact understood our position and were not expecting nor requiring any further action from us at this time.
 
Regarding the Service Manager at ***** speaking out of turn and associating his brand of vehicle being “junk”, the problems faced by this vehicle are a known problem.  **** wouldn’t cover this type of repair if it wasn’t a reasonable issue.  As the technician stated in Mrs. ****’s letter it was an internal engine failure, those failures are unable to be seen or predicted unless you tear down the engine it is not something that can be seen otherwise.  If in fact the vehicle was junk they would not cover the repair and would refuse service because the vehicle hadn’t been treated well.  Does every **** face it of course not however until the sound or the symptoms appear you are unaware that this particular **** will need to be repaired.
 
Based on this situation we will sublet this type of work to the other dealerships instead of allowing our customer to be on the back burner while at other dealerships.
  
Lynne A. McMahon
Dealer Principle
Hudson Auto Source
PO Box 23049
Silverthorne, Colorado 80498
 
 

1/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: charged $750 got 10 miles same problem made it home called them want me to tow it back. truck wont make it back on its own

Desired Settlement: $753.48

Business Response:

***** ************************ *** ********************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** ***** ** ******** **** ******* ****** 

*****,

Mr ******* dropped off the his 2004 ********* *** *** pickup in was in limp mode. Service wrote a service repair order to find out why his truck was in limp mode
Tech scanned this truck and found a P0102 code failed and current and when checking there was 0 volts to mass air flow sensor part failed. Replaced with new part and test drove for 10 miles.Check for codes no codes in the system unit repaired and running great. After the repair
**** called and said this truck was running the same when he had it in service. ******* ******* asked **** ******* to bring the truck back to us to see if the part we installed was
a bad part Mr ******* said we would take it to Denver for repairs. ******* said that if the
part was bad that GM warranty would replace it at no charge.


Sincerely,

*** ******
General Manager
Hudson Auto Source
441 Blue River Parkway
PO Box 23049
Silverthorn, CO 80498
***** ************
*** ************

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

**** ******* took the truck to ********* ********* they found the problem and fixed it. mass airflow sensor may have been bad but was not the real problem. they took me for 750.00 dollars want my money back told them check engine light was on don't worry about that  when they told me it was mass airflow sensor did not think so but trusted them. cant just replace parts until you fix problem should be better than being a gm dealer

Business Response: Monday, January 5, 2015
 
 
Ms. ***** *****
Better Business Bureau
8020 South County Road 5; Suite 100
Fort Collins, Colorado 80528
 

Dear Ms. *****,
 
 
On 11/10/2014 Mr. ******* presented his vehicle to us he stated that while climbing **** **** his vehicle went into limp mode and was running at 10mph.  As the technician followed the GM diagnostic chart for a limp mode concern he found the vehicle was presenting a P0102 error code, which would present the vehicle in a reduced power mode, with our General Motors scan tool, he performed symptom code diagnostics performed circuit checks.  This code points to a faulty mass air flow sensor.  Instead of just throwing new parts at the concern and hoping it fixed the problem, to verify results of diagnostic flow chart the technician found a vehicle with like build to test using its maf sensor that was working in perfect condition and replaced it with Mr. ********* sensor.   Immediately the code was removed and did not return which further confirmed the mass air flow sensor was faulty.  When a mass air flow sensor is faulty the code will show immediately after scanning the vehicle.  Once the code was cleared and did not return, confirming their concerns that the mass air flow sensor was faulty they replaced the mass air flow sensor with a new one from the parts department, again the code didn’t return, and no other codes presented themselves during the entire visit.  This confirms that in fact the mass air flow sensor was faulty.  The technician then drove the vehicle for 10 minutes the vehicle ran as it was designed, no symptoms resurfaced and no codes returned suggesting that any further problems with the vehicle would be found.   There would be no reason to ignore any problems that would surface that’s how the technicians make their living. Per GM diagnosis chart the code was determined, a cause was found, fixed and then the vehicle was returned to the customer and explained what had been found.
 
The next day or a couple days later Mr. ******* called explaining that the vehicle was running in limp mode again.  He stated to our General Manager, *** ****** that the vehicle wouldn’t make it to the tunnel once he left our dealership which is at most 10-15 minutes away in normal conditions.  He stated to our Service Manager, ******* ******* that he made it to the ****** exit off of **** which is 30 minutes away and then in the same conversation stated he was only able to make it 10 minutes before it fell into limp mode. ******* explained to Mr. ******* that we would be happy to look at the vehicle.  Mr. ******* requested that we paid to have the vehicle towed to our dealership Mr. ******* explained that we would pay for the tow if the part was found to be faulty or the repair was found to be faulty.  Instead Mr. ******* decided to have the vehicle repaired in the city. 
 
Mr. ******* took the vehicle to ********* *********, when they scanned the vehicle they found the following error codes P0202 and a P2149.  The P2149 would be responsible, at this time, for the vehicle running in limp mode.  Like Mr. ******* explained in his letter to the Better Business Bureau that the Mass Air Flow Sensor may have still been faulty.  It was faulty otherwise not only would the code not have presented itself but it would not have disappeared once the part was replaced had it not been faulty.  It is reasonable that should Mr. ******* had taken the vehicle to ********* and had they found the P0102 error code as we did that they would have made the same repair since it is per GM diagnosis and repair standards that we repair vehicles as we do.  It is also reasonable that he could have left their dealership to find the vehicle found further problems 10 minutes, 30 minutes, an hour, a day after he left the dealership.  That is one problem with highly technicial products a number of problems can surface at a multitude of times.  That is why General Motors and other manufactures create standards and diagnosis charts to create the path they wish repairs to begin and be completed, offering the most comprehensive fix.
 
Either way at the time that we saw the vehicle we fixed the problem that was presented to us.  Had all 3 codes shown there would have been no reason for us to not fix all 3 problems on the vehicle that is how our technician makes a living and how our dealership continues to keep their doors open by repairing vehicles as they break down.  There are several codes that will represent several symptoms or the same symptoms it doesn’t mean there aren’t several parts or problems that need to be fixed.  We can only fix what is presented to us we cannot always see what will happen in the future.     
 
 
 
***** ** *******
Dealer Principle
Hudson Auto Source
PO Box 23049
Silverthorne, Colorado 80498
 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: they did not fix the truck.

Regards,

**** *******

1/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I drove my 2007 GMC Canyon truck 90 miles to the dealer to replace a bad anti-theft switch and fix brake lights that were not working. The brake light problem was due to a faulty brake light switch. The mechanic replaced the switch. When I left the dealer, I noticed that the brake pedal was harder to depress. Then the brakes seemed fine until after I drove 90 miles and down a mountain pass. As I drove into town, the truck started jerking and I had trouble accelerating. Then, I heard a noise and smelled burning brakes. I pulled over, and the front wheel area was hot. I let the vehicle sit over night to cool down. The next day I took it to a local mechanic. He looked at the front brakes and said the brake pad was badly burned, like I was using the brake hard going down the pass or that I was pulling a load. Neither is true. I ended up replacing the front and rear brakes. Prior to this, there was no sign that my brakes were wearing out. The mechanic gave me an Isuzu (GMC)service bulletin that stated if the brake is moved during installation of the brake light switch, it can cause brake drag.

Desired Settlement: Although I provided the dealer with a copy of the service bulletin, the details of the incident, and a photo of my brake pad, they still deny having done anything to cause it. They insist my brakes were bad when I came in. I want reimbursement of the $651.16 I spent for new front and rear brakes. Obviously I have gotten nowhere with them because I can't absolutely prove that my brakes did not need replacing beforehand.

Business Response: After talking to both Mr & Mrs ******** on this mater and having the repair shop in Steamboat send me the copy of there repair order.
On the repair order states that the front brakes needed to be replaced and the rear brakes are paper thin with nothing on the repair order stating
that Four Star Repair in Steamboat Colorado changed the brake light switch or modified it and if they didn't the brake would be badly over heated again.
The ******** s would not wait for Hudson Auto Source to do there 27 point safty Inspection they said that they needed to leave.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  The business is still making the same lame excuse as they did before, plus, what they say is nonsensical.  The only reason they now say that if they had done the 27 point inspection, it would have shown that my brakes were bad to begin with and that would cover them.  First of all, they had to have driven the vehicle from the parking lot into the garage and back out again.  If my brakes were that bad, they should have been squealing when the brake pedal was depressed and the brakes would have had trouble grabbing.  Secondly, and my husband agrees with this, they never offered to do the inspection.  True, we needed to get home before it got dark and had to drive over a mountain pass with possibly icy roads.  We were already delayed by Hudson two hours past the promised time.  They told us at 2:00 pm that it would take just about 20 minutes to install the new brake light switch.  They finished at 4 pm.  Why did it take 1 1/2 hours more?  As far as the repair ticket from Four Star is concerned, of course it showed that I needed new front and rear brakes after the brakes were dragging for 90 miles over mountain roads.  That was after I had the brake light switch installed at Hudson!  For the first 30 miles or so from the dealership to Kremmling, my husband drove behind me to make sure that the brake lights were working.  He said he did not see my lights go on until I was slowing down going down the hill into Kremmling.  That's because I downshifted the engine on curves and hills to slow down.  The same thing for going over Rabbit Ears pass.  Also, I do not understand why Hudson even mentions in their response about Four Star doing any work on the switch because Hudson already did it.  I provided Hudson with a scanned copy of the Isuzu (GMC) Service Bulletin regarding installation of the brake light switch.  I also confirmed on the Internet that Isuzu and GMC partnered on production of the GMC Canyon and Chevy Colorado from 2006 to 2008.  That is why it is my strong conviction that what applied to the Isuzu trucks also applied to GMC.  I am fairly certain that Hudson did not contact anyone from GMC who was knowledgeable about this.  In fact, I have agreement from two Four Star mechanics and another independent mechanic who all agreed that if installation of the switch is not done properly, it can cause the brake to drag.  I am absolutely shocked that GM certified mechanics would have less information on this than an all around mechanic.  Not only that, but the Hudson service manager took what the Four Star mechanic said and twisted it around to suit their purposes.  I have been totally frustrated in my dealings with Hudson.  I have provided them with all sorts of information and all they have done is keep stating that they should have done an inspection.  They have not disproved the information in the service bulletin.  In addition, they have been rude to me and the Four Star mechanics they spoke with.  I truly doubt whether they will ever reimburse me, as they stubbornly stick to the same old excuse.  I would like to see their A + rating with the BBB downgraded so that other potential customers are forewarned that they are not as competent as they seem and have terrible customer service.

Regards,
Ellen Standish