BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Halladay Motors Nissan?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Halladay Motors Nissan meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Halladay Motors Nissan include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Halladay Motors Nissan
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 06, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1944 Business started locally: 01/01/1944 Business incorporated: 01/01/1944 in WY
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wyoming Department of Transportation
5300 Bishop Blvd, Cheyenne WY 82009
http://dot.state.wy.us
Phone Number: (307) 777-3840

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tim Joannides, President Mr. Jim Casey, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tim Joannides, President
Business Category

Car Dealerships Used Car Dealerships Auto Repair Services

Alternate Business Names
Halladay Motors Inc
Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Additional Locations

  • 1880 Westland Rd

    Cheyenne, WY 82001 (307) 432-2015 (888) 425-5232 (307) 634-1511

  • 2100 Westland Rd

    Cheyenne, WY 82001

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (307) 432-2015(Phone)
  • (888) 425-5232(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took my pickup to get exhaust manifolds replaced, when I picked it up I had dash warning lights on and no horn or steering wheel controls took my pickup in on 6-10-2013 to get the exhaust manifolds inspected, they found they were leaking and would cover them under warranty, they also did a courtesy inspection which I appreciated, a week later they got me in for the exhaust manifold replacement 6-17-2013. the repair was made and when I got in my pickup to leave I noticed the airbag warning light was flashing on my dash. I asked the service manager to look at it for me, so he brought out a scan tool and found a code for driver air bag open circuit, also he found that I had no horn or steering wheel controls (cruise control, radio control, handsfree bluetooth)I asked him what could have caused this to happen and he said it just happens sometimes. I asked him if they could get it looked at and he said to bring it in the next week, when I left the car lot and got onto the road the slip warning and traction control light both came on at the same time, I then called him back and notified him what happened, at this point it was obvious to me that my pickup never got test driven after the repair which upset me. I brought my pickup back to them the following week 6-24-2013. They looked at it and found I had a broken spiral cable in the steering wheel, when I asked how this happened and again he told me it just happens, he then said he would cover labor for the repair but I had to buy the 300 dollar part, I did some research and found that if the steering shaft is removed from the steering box and the steering wheel is turned without being connected the spiral cable will break, I talked to the general manager *** ***** and he told me he would take care of it, he never called me back and as I am busy with work my father in law went in to talk with them about it, he found out the steering shaft was removed and they are denying they caused this issue and don't want to honor their workmanship warranty, I have the courtesy inspection form that shows my horn was working

Desired Settlement: I don't trust this dealership to work on my vehicle so I got my pickup towed to fort ******* CO ****** dealership because I didn't feel safe driving it there because of the airbag and traction control issue, when I have ******* ****** in fort ******* repair my pickup I would like reimbursed for the repair and the tow bill

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am a service technician at a ******** dealership and have 6 years' experience working on semi-trucks, not quite as much as *****, but as a technician I know that sometimes people make mistakes because were human. I'm not at all trying to mock ***** for the work he did, I just wish Halladay ****** had some kind of workmanship warranty. I believe that it is the responsibility of a master technician to warranty the work he performs, and I don't believe that there are two unrelated issues because removing the short shaft from the steering rack and over rotating the column will cause the spiral cable to fail. It offends me that Halladay motors treats me like this and tries to pull the wool over my eyes by saying these issues are unrelated and this was just a coincidence. I bought this pickup about nine months ago and it was the first vehicle I have owned that wasn't a ford, I had no issues what so ever up until now. I was really starting to trust ****** in their ability to provide a very reliable product, but if I can't trust the service behind the name how can it hold up to its reputation? I took my pickup to ****** ****** in **** *******, I told them to give me an honest opinion as to what they think happened, how it failed, and how often spiral cables fail in general. They looked into it and got ahold of me. The service writer spoke with me and told me that his maser technician informed him that 60% of the time they break in a car accident and the other 40% of the time they break when someone removes the steering shaft and the column rotates. He also told me that because of "legal reasons" he could not note that in the narrative on my copy of the R.O. Now I understand that two ****** dealerships don't want to start pointing fingers at one another because it makes ****** look bad and is very unprofessional, but I guess what I want to know is how two dealerships have totally different views on this issue, that to me is very unprofessional.
When all of this happened I was very busy with work so I asked my girlfriends father to help me out with this and see if he could help work something out, after all I'm the kid with 6 years of service technician experience, a far cry from 36+ years dealership tech experience like *****, why would *** ***** general manager believe me, the customer. So that is why I got him involved.
When I first brought my pickup in to be inspected they did a courtesy inspection and the only thing "noted" was the tire size and the fact that my front differential had a bad carrier bearing and needed replaced, nothing about the lift and how it might affect my steering system. On the courtesy inspection it was also noted that the horn operation was good which means that the spiral cable had no issues. But ***** already explained how everything was fine after the test drive and the pickup was parked and just from sitting in the lot not moving from the time he left the vehicle to the time I picked it up the spiral cable failed. Sounds like way too much of a coincidence. I wasn't happy with the offer set fourth because the fact was, my pickup had no issues prior to them working on it and now it has issues, all related to the work performed. I would like you guys to stand behind your work and make this right with me.

Business Response: I have included below an explanation from our technician ***** ****** the details of the work completed by Halladay Motors. It is our belief the work performed had nothing to do with the subsequent issue. In spite of the fact the two issues are unrelated, Halladay Motors offered to provide the labor for the additional repairs at no cost with the customer supplying the part. The customer was unwilling to accept this offer and chose to take the vehicle elsewhere and have the repairs performed at his own expense. My name is ***** ******. I have been a Nissan master technician for more than twenty six years and a A.S.E. certified master technician for more than thirty four years, dealership technician for over thirty six years. I inspected a Titan pick-up for noisy exhaust and found both left and right exhaust manifolds to be cracked and leaking. These manifolds contain a catalytic converter and are covered under Nissan warranty for a period of eight years or eighty thousand miles. I performed a routine visual inspection of the vehicle. I noted that the vehicle has an aftermarket suspension lift kit and oversize aftermarket wheels and tires. These modifications can alter the the factory steering geometry and adversely effect vehicle handling. I noticed the front tires rubbed the inner fenders when the vehicle was turned left or right causing vibrations through the steering and entire vehicle. These modifications may void portions of the factory warranty. The necessary parts were ordered and the vehicle was scheduled for repair after the parts were in. I replaced the left and right exhaust manifolds along with necessary nuts, bolts and gaskets per the service manual. Test drove the vehicle and rechecked the vehicle for any manifold leaks and found none. Parked the vehicle in the lot to be washed and vacuumed. I found the vehicle to be in the same type of condition as when previously inspected. Several days later I spoke with a gentleman that said he was the father of the truck owners girlfriend and wanted more information about the repair. He asked if the steering shaft was removed during the repair. I replied that the short shaft that attached the steering rack to the steering column was removed to allow access to the left manifold but the steering column was not moved. He implied that the column must have been rotated during the repair causing damage to the spiral cable. I assured him that I did not move the steering column during the exhaust manifold replacement. I told him that the vehicle had normal operation of all systems related to the steering column controls when I finished with the vehicle. I attempted to explain to him that a spiral cable can have an open circuit and fail to function due to a number of reasons including vibration or shock, impact or over rotation of the steering wheel by several revolutions. It seemed he did not want to hear that explanation of possibilities. He left the dealership by stating that "the vehicle had to be fixed but it but it wouldn't be here" and "I have more money that time" and to tell the service manager "I'm all in" , whatever that means. It is my belief the solution offered Mr. ***** was more than fair. Sincerely, *** ***** VP/General Manager


Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
*** ***** and I sat down to discuss this matter. we did not come to a resolution and I am filing papers for small claims court on Monday, please leave this case open until the case is settled in court and I will update you guys with the decision made by the judge. If the judge makes a decision in favor of Halladay Motors then we can close the case, but if the judge makes a decision in favor of me I expect the bbb to bring down their bbb rating

Consumer Response:

Hi my name is ****** **** case # ********, I would like to arbitrate this please let me know when my options are as far as dates and where I go from here.  Thank you


Sent from my iPhone

Business Response:

In regard to case ID#********, I have attempted to contact ****** **** to discuss a possible resolution and have been unable to reach him. Although, I do not agree with Mr. ****s conclusion of the situation with his ****** *****, I would like to discuss the issue with Mr. **** and see if there is a mutually agreeable solution. Mr. **** and I have not discussed the situation rather a third party brought Mr. ****s concerns to my attention. I am not interested in discussing the issue with anyone other than Mr. ****. 
Sincerely,
*** *****
General Manager/VP

Consumer Response: Mr. **** indicated via telephone that he does not wish to further pursue binding arbitration through BBB. He indicated that he intends to participate in the small claims court proceedings he has already initiated.

BBB's Final Determination: Business agreed to arbitrate the complaint but the consumer declined.

9/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1