BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Halladay Motors Auto Group?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Halladay Motors Auto Group

Phone: (307) 634-1511 Fax: (307) 778-7491 View Additional Phone Numbers 2100 Westland Rd, Cheyenne, WY 82001 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.halladaymotors.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Halladay Motors Auto Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Halladay Motors Auto Group include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Halladay Motors Auto Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 01, 1984 Business started: 10/01/1944 Business started locally: 10/01/1944
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wyoming Department of Transportation
5300 Bishop Blvd, Cheyenne WY 82009
http://dot.state.wy.us
Phone Number: (307) 777-3840

Business Management
Mr. Tim Joannides, President Mr. Jim Casey, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jim Casey, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Tim Joannides, President
Business Category

Car Dealerships Used Car Dealerships Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops

Alternate Business Names
Halladay Motors Inc Halladay Motors Pontiac Buick Cadillac & GMC
Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Additional Locations

  • 2100 Westland Rd

    Cheyenne, WY 82001 (307) 634-1511 (888) 425-5232

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 425-5232(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/5/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July 2014, I was approved for an auto loan by **** *****, your then ******* manager. The bank who approved me is ********* ******** ******* in **** ****** ***. My down payment was $1,000 and the loan amount was $375. I did not have a trade-in. The vehicle purchased was a blue 2012 ****** *****. While we were doing all of the paperwork, I was informed that a bumper to bumper warranty and gap insurance was being factored into the loan amount just in case the vehicle had any issues. I was told that if I ran into any problems, all I had to do was bring it back, pay a $100 deductable and whatever needed to be serviced would be taken care of. This information was given to me by **** *****. I live in ******, ******** but drove all they way to ******** because **** ***** had previously ran my credit and was able to approve me for financing. As soon as I left the dealership in the *****, after signing and paying my downpayment, the check engine light came on. Knowing a few things automotive related, I was able to figure out pretty quickly that the transmission was going out. I let both Mr. ***** and his secretary know that the check engine light came on and that the transmission was giving me problems. Both parties advised me to just bring it in for servicing using my warranty. I later found out that the heater didn't work either. Both of these issues fall into the categories of non-disclosure and affirmative misrepresentation. I never would have purchased the vehicle, nor agreed to "fix it later with the warranty" had I known this previous to purchasing. So I waited until it was convienent for me and I brought the vehicle back to ******** for servicing in mid-September. Bringing it back for servicing was a mistake. This is where all of the problems started to arise. The day I dropped the ****** off for servicing, I was provided with a rental car and was told that the rental car was covered by the warranty for the entire time my vehicle was being seviced. At this time, I was also confronted by an employee of Halladay about my downpayment. Apparently half of it went missing somewhere along the line. It was apparent that she didn't believe me that I paid the downpayment. I feel as though I was falsely accused of not paying the entire amount. If that were the case, why did I not hear from the dealership right away? I gave **** ***** $1,000 in cash. It was counted and recieved. Wherever it went after that is not my responsibility. After dropping off the ******, the service manager quickly called me to rudely inform me that it looked like the transmission had been tampered with and it had multi-colored fluid in it and some sort of funnel which voided the warranty. The transmission and most major service components on that vehicle are dealer service only. I explained this to him, but he was short, and rude, and didn't listen to me. Being dealer service only, I didn't have the capability to do any sort of maintenance to the vehicle, and the vehicle had these issues as soon as I drove it off of the lot. The service manager ended the con*****tion by saying that he would look into it some more, and that they could probably fix the heater. The rest of my statement is all hear-say. I will be repeating the information I recieved from **** ***** since nobody from the dealership bothered to contact me in any way. I was informed that my warranty was indeed void for the transmission. The service manager offered to replace the transmission with a new one and I was quoted roughly $3500. Which I could not afford, nor did I believe I was responsible for replacing something that was damaged at the time of purchase. I believe your dealership knew of the problem before, which is why the warranty was stressed at the time of purchase. I don't believe anyone knew that the service manager would find the warranty to be void. At this point, I decided to contact ********* ******** ******* to let them know what was going on and where the vehicle was. I didn't register the vehicle because at that point, I didn't have any intention of keeping a defective vehicle and paying for it. 3 weeks passed with no communication from the dealership. I was just being told by **** ***** that I needed to register the vehicle or the bank was going to reject the loan. I informed him that I didn't have the intention of keeping a defective vehicle. Another week passed and **** ***** informed me that I needed to register the vehicle or he was going to lose his job and that I needed to return the rental car or it was going to be reported stolen. I was also informed that the warranty only covered 3 days. So I was responsible for almost an entire month of rental charges. No communication from the General Manager or anyone else from the dealership except the service manger and **** ***** during this entire, 1 month long ordeal. I am now without a vehicle and do not have the option for a very long time to ******* another. I owe Enterprise Car Rental over $1,000 in rental charges. My already poor credit is further damaged to the point I will more than likely be filing for bankruptcy.

Desired Settlement: We need to come to terms that are agreed upon to solve this problem. Per this letter of demand instead of a cash settlement, I need a free and clear vehicle to replace the ****** *****. Free from any defects. Free from any cost to me. A 2013 or newer ****** ******, vehicle and title.

Business Response:

I have attached our response the complaint from ****** *****.  Please let me know it you have any questions.

November 21, 2014
Better Business Bureau
8020 South County Road 5, Suite 100 
Ft. Collins, CO 80528

Dear *****:

On July 5, 2014 ****** ***** did purchase a 2012 ****** ***** from Halladay Motors. The paper work indicated a down payment of $1000.00 however, we did not have a receipt for the down payment. Ms. ***** was asked if she had a copy of her receipt since we could not locate $500.00 of the down payment, Ms. ***** indicated she did not. Mr. ***** later confirmed had received the $1000.00 down payment in cash. I apologize if Ms. ***** felt she was being falsely accused the intent was merely to track down the receipt. Upon Mr. *****’s admission he had received the money we felt the issue was resolved. The vehicle was not sold or represented as having a “bumper to bumper warranty” Ms. ***** did purchase a 3 year 36,000 mile service contract. When Ms. ***** brought her vehicle in for service she was informed the service contract would cover three days of rental car. After diagnosing the vehicle Ms. ***** was informed we would need to order parts to fix the heater and she should pick up her vehicle until the work could be completed to avoid additional rental charges, Ms. ***** chose not to return and pick up her vehicle. Once the repairs were complete Ms. ***** did not return the rental car for a number of days thus incurring the rental bill with Enterprise. 

Halladay Motors inspected the ***** prior to offering it for sale and it was sold to Ms. ***** in good working condition with 38,600 miles on the odometer. Ms. ***** brought the vehicle to Halladay with 46,700 miles on the vehicle. During the inspection of the ***** it was discovered that someone had put improper fluid in the transmission rather than the prescribed ****** transmission fluid into the vehicle. Whoever put the fluid in left the funnel used in the vehicle with a red fluid in it which was also spilled in the engine compartment. The use of improper transmission fluid damaged the transmission and resulted in the repairs not being covered. I have attached photos taken of the engine compartment at the time of the inspection. 

While it is unfortunate the vehicle was improperly serviced, Halladay Motors bears no responsibility for the damage to Ms. *****’s vehicle, perhaps she has some recourse with the shop that put the wrong fluid in the transmission. 

Sincerely,
*** *****
Vice President/General Manager
 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The information in their response is false and they are not taking any accountability for any of the issues with how the situation was handled. The vehicle was advertised as having a "bumper to bumper" power train warranty. I did not take the ***** to any other shop or service it in any way shape or form. I would have no reason to pay a shop to put the wrong transmission fluid in the vehicle, knowing that I did indeed have a warranty.

Regards,

****** *****

Business Response:

*****,
I have attached our response to Ms. *****'s rejection.

Sincerely, 

*** *****

Business response:

November 25, 2014
Better Business Bureau
8020 South County Road 5, Suite 100 
Ft. Collins, CO 80528
Dear *****:
I regret that Ms. ***** does not agree with the information in our response to her complaint. Halladay Motors does not advertise “bumper to bumper warranties”. We don’t know who put the improper transmission fluid in Ms. *****’s car, whoever did was careless enough to leave the funnel they used in the engine compartment of Ms. *****’s car. Our service department documented their findings and I have provided photographs. While I sympathize with Ms. *****’s situation Halladay Motors is not responsible for the issue. 
Sincerely,
*** *****
Vice President/General Manager

 


 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
This isn't fair. Nobody is listening to what I am saying. I reported the issue with the transmission immediately after leaving your dealership. I reported it to both **** *****, and *******, the woman working with him. They both told me that the warranty I purchased would take care of the problem. I wouldn't have purchased the vehicle if I knew it had any sort of problem because it is so expensive to repair vehicles and I do not have that kind of money. I didn't wait 10,000 miles to report it. I reported it the same day. And I didn't have it serviced in between leaving your dealership and reporting the issue. 

And I wasn't told that it would take 3 days to service the car. I was told "Give me a day or two to diagnose everything, then we have to order parts and it will take a few more days for parts to come in." 
I have no reason to lie.
I'm not a serial complainer.
I am, as a consumer, tired of getting taken advantage of by big businesses who don't care about the happiness of their customers because there are 20 people waiting in line with cash in hand. 
The vehicle was defective upon leaving your dealership. And **** ***** can account for that. 
I can not afford to put a new transmission in the car. I couldn't even afford to register it myself as I lost my job shortly after purchasing the car. I am a struggling single mother of 3 kids who was sold a defective vehicle and all of the blame is being placed onto me. The consumer/customer. It doesn't matter to you because you have already been paid months ago by the bank. $14,000 is a very small drop in the bucket to you. But to me, it is everything. It means having a safe and running vehicle to drive my 3 kids to and from school in the winter. 
Regards,

****** *****

Business Response: November 28, 2014

Better Business Bureau

8020 South County Road 5, Suite 100

Ft. Collins, CO 80528

Dear *****:

I have attached the repair
order with our findings. We were able to fix an issue with the heater under
warranty however, the transmission is not covered as a result of improper
transmission fluid being used. I have also attached a copy of the Due Bill signed
by Ms. ***** indicating nothing was promised at the time of sale.

Sincerely,

*** *****

Vice President/General Manager

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Once again my point is not being received. The vehicle was faulty when it was sold to me. I let both **** and Brittany know what the issues were with the vehicle right after I drove it off the lot. I was told that the warranty that was purchased would fix the problem and to just bring it back for servicing. If the problem was brought up right away, and I was told that it would be fixed.

Although Wyoming does not have an expressly titled lemon law, it does have a statute(40-17-101) on the books protecting consumers against faulty vehicles purchased under warranty.Despite the lack of a conspicuous moniker, the basics of the law are quite similar to the lemon laws of most other states. The law essentially gives buyers an out if all else fails with their vehicles.

My vehicle was purchased under warranty.

Regards,

****** *****

9/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased used Jeep Liberty from Halladay Motors. Salesman said that check engine light would be fixed by dealer now they are refusing to fix. Purchased used 2005 Jeep Liberty form Halladay Motors on 1/17/13. Salesman *** ******* told us check engine light would be repaired if we purchased the vehicle. Took vehicle in to dealer service on 5 separate occasions to have check engine light issue repaired. The service department diagnoses the problem differently each time and finally determined that the heads were warped and needed replacement. Dealership is refusing to fix the problem and claims that they do not have to because we bought the car "as is no warranty." I never would have bought the car without the assurance that the check engine light would be fixed. In the three months since I have owned the car the dealership has had it in service for 5 weeks. This is a tremendous inconvenience as I travel for my job. Halladay sold me a vehicle under false pretenses. Despite all the aggravation, I really just them to do the right thing and fix my car.

Desired Settlement: I want my car repaired and in working order at no cost to me.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/06) */ Mrs. ******, has been in to the dealership and visited with ****** ******. We are trying to find a solution that satisfys both parties. We have different vehicle selected. When this vehicle hass been through inspection we are going to see if it will work as a suitable replacement to the original purchase. Sincerely, ****** ******

4/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service