BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Ghent Motor Co?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ghent Motor Co

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 339-2438 Fax: (970) 339-9120 35th Ave & Hwy 34 Bypass, Greeley, CO 80634 http://www.ghentmotors.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ghent Motor Co meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Ghent Motor Co include:

  • 22 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Ghent Motor Co include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 22 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 11
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 22

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ghent Motor Co
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 01, 1989 Business started: 04/01/1989 Business started locally: 04/01/1989
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Auto Division-CO
140 W 6th Ave Rm 109, Denver CO 80204
Phone Number: (303) 205-5696

Business Management
Mr. Robert D Ghent, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert D Ghent, President
Business Category

Car Dealerships Used Car Dealerships Clutch Suppliers Tire Dealers Car Air Conditioning Suppliers Car Alternator and Generator Repair Stations Auto Body Shops Auto Detailers Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Brake Shops Engine Repair Rebuilding Companies Car Lubrication Shops Auto Transmission Suppliers Auto Services

Alternate Business Names
Ghent Chevrolet-Cadillac
Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I believe there adverting is crooked. They are offering 4500.00 for cash for clunkers. They won't tell you the price of the vehicle if they know you are trading in a clunker. Example the vehicle we were looking at blue books for 13148.00 they told me the price was 19999.00 , over sixteen thousand with our car which was a clunker for 4500. I feel this is false advertising. I told him the Tahoe was not worth 20000.00. He told me my car wasn't worth 4500.00. They were the one running the ad. He told me to lower my voice,which I was not yelling. He was just caught up in his lies and got frustrated. To me this is false advertisement. I don't think it's right to rack the price up to where their getting your vehicle for free plus adding more on the price of the one your buying. The floor supervisor was very rude, and I must admit we're we're not nice after he pretty much told us off.

Business Response:

I have received your complaint, and appologize for the inconvience. I will discuss this with the General Manager who is in charge of sales/advertising, after which I will respond accordingly. 

Thank you,
*** *****
Finance Director
Ghent Chevrolet Cadillac

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:your floor supervisor  accused me of yelling and also told me my clunker wasn't worth the 4500.00. Which I knew but you were the one offering this.  He just the same as said you raised the price of the Tahoe to make up for it. I think this is very dishonest. I  don't believe this is the way to pull people in. I can't believe people fall for this scam. I blue booked this Tahoe and it blue booked for 13,148.00 explain this then I will be satisfied.

Regards,

***** ****

Business Response: Dear *****,

I understand that you are unsatisfied with your experience with Ghent Chevrolet Cadillac, we use a third party advertising company that helps us come up with different advertising ideas. I appologize that you did not like the experience you had here, this is definetly a rare occasion. We have a good rating with the BBB and strive to be better each day. We understand that we can not make everyone happy, but we strive to resolve every disagreement that is brought to our attention by the BBB. Hind sight is always twenty twenty, looking back it sounds like we both could have handled things better.

Values of used cars both on retail and trade in are based on a number of different variables, but at the end of the day it comes down to an opinion. It sounds like our opinion and your opinion are different. At this time I think it is best to agree to disagree, I would be more than happy to send your information to our advertising company and have you removed from their mailing list. Let me know if there is anything we can do to help you further.

Thank you
*** *****
Finance Director
Ghent Chevrolet Cadillac

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To Whom It May Concern, I went to purchace a car between mon.2/24/2014 thur.2/27/2014 when i left Ghent they told me i was approved for the loan and they let me take the car home with me. I had to put ins. on the car before i could leave with it. Ghent did not put gas in the car so when i returned it there was a half a tank of gas in it. Ghent called me on sat. 3/8/2014 to tell me i had to return the car cause i did not get approved for that car witch was a 2003 Dodge Stratus with 40,000 miles. so i took the car back and they showed me a car that that i was approved for and that was a 2008 ford focus with 60,000 miles on it. it had no power windows or locks the only nice thing about it was the 4 doors which i had wanted. The ford focus to me was a down grade compared to the stratus. When I had told the gentleman I was working with that I didn't like it at all because I wanted powered windows because my son could just roll down the windows the focus had at any time because you couldn't lock them and the car didn't have automatic locks to make it easier to get the car open with my son he didn't seem to care what I needed to suite my needs. He kept trying to tell me that I have to build my credit before I get a car that I wanted, but in reality I don't want to be stuck with a car that I hate for 2 years just to build my credit. with that i went to another place to look at cars and i was told that they didn't put my paper work in till the fri.2/28/2014. Along with that, I had told the gentleman I was working with that I wanted a chevy cruze, he wouldn't look in to it. I found other cars around the ghent lot that may have qualified for a loan because they were newer cars and had less than 100k miles on them. Every time I went to the gentleman I was working with, with the make model year and miles on a car he shot me down before even looking in to seeing how much I would be paying for the car a month.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for gas and the ins. and a car that I atleast like and is safe for my child.

Business Response: Customer was in the dealership with her grandmother ? on 3-3-14 and did sign paperwork, with the understanding that the loan was not, in fact, approved. This fact was spelled out twice, once to Ms. *****, and once to ********* *****, who both intialed and signed the "Disclosures Required as Part of a Motor Vehicle/Powersports Vehicle Sales Contract", in all required spaces, including line "E" which states "You and the dealer have agreed that the vehicle will be delivered to you prior to the purchase price being paid in full.  If financing cannot be arranged at the terms stated in the contract, and the contract is cancelled, you agree to pay the dealer $60 dollars per day an 60 cents per mile for your use of the vehicle from the date of delivery until the vehicle is returned to dealer....." 

The financing was conditioned at terms other than we originaly thought,by 3-7-14, which meant that the Dodge Stratus could have been purchased with additional monies as a down payment.  We contacted Ms. ***** and asked her to come in to discuss her options.  The option of her providing addtional down payment was declined by Ms. *****, and at that time the car deal was unwound, and she was not charged any bailment monies.  She did, however, express a desire to purchase a vehicle, and discussed other options with the salesman and the finance manager, who has continued to pursue options for her, and has repeatedly called her and left additional choices for her, with no return calls.

This type of financing is very hard, based on Ms. ***** not having any established credit, and grandmother's credit being limited, at best, this was also communicated at the beginning of the deal.

We would be more than happy to continue trying to find a vehicle, that not only fits the lender's criteria for this type of credit, but also takes care of Ms. ***** automotive needs, should she desire for us to continue working the deal for her.

Please find the enclosed disclosure document, with initials and signatures.

Please contact us with any other questions.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am very sadden and dissapointed. This is now 2x service and repair has lied about service needing repair. I had my inner shaft replaced there due to recommendation when I had my oil change done. Since then I have heard the same noise when I turn and asked them to please relook at it. They did again when I was there for oil change and I was told that inner shaft needed be replaced due to rust that it was old. I said you all just did that. Then I was told well we did (can't remeber what to it) and if you hear it again let us know. I went again just recently to have my oil change. I was told this time that by time come again for next oil change I will need new front brakes. I took my car to Brakes Plus for inspection and was told brakes are prefectly fine. I can't believe that they have lied about services that are not truly needed

Desired Settlement: I would like a call back from manager/owner of this company to notify them of this being done at their place of business. I would like to let them know how disappointed I am. I thought they were a fair and honest company.

Business Response: I have contacted our customer ******** *** ***** on 3/6/2014.  We have set up an reavailuation appointment of her vehicle on 3/24/2014 or posible later depending on her schedule.  I will be roadtesting with her for the noise.

Thank You,

Jim Hoehn
Service Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I tried to purchase a vehicle end of March,2013 from Ghent and we were told it was financed and approved and we drove the car of the lot and had it for 30days plus.In the time we had the vehicle,I am giving them more info and talking to banks etc. Not once was I told after giving them more and more info that we were not financed.I even gave them the name of a bank that we had another vehicle all ready thru. That company approved us but not for the vehicle we were looking for and driving for over a month. So at this point in time, we took the vehicle back and was going to get our old vehicle back. They then charged us over $800.00 for the time we were driving the vehicle as we were told it was ours. We also believing it was ours had to put $300 into the vehicle because of the powering steering,which we had to pay for.Then as we are doing the paperwork to get our old vehicle back, it is repossessed by *** **********, who had the loan on the old vehicle. Ghent states they knew nothing about this, which I do not believe. I have been trying since May of 2013 to work with them and now I am mad as they state they did nothing wrong.All I want back is the money and I will go away but not until then.I have talked to our attorney and he wants us to do this ourself as he does not want to charge us after the money we lost thru Ghent and the repo at *** **********. What is also funny about this, is we got a newer vehicle with no downpayment thru one of the banks Ghent stated would not finance us. We also received letters from banks into May,2013 stating they could not help us. We no longer had the vehicle. I want the money back and the issue will be resolved.I have talked to several people that state Ghent is very shady in their deals and I understand that now. Thank you, *** ****

Desired Settlement: $800.00 they charged us.

Business Response: I will look into this immediately, and get back to you today.

Thank You,

*** *****
Sales Manager
Ghent Chevrolet Cadillac

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

*** ****

Consumer Response: **** ********* **** *************** *** ************************ ************************ ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** *** *** **** * *** ******* **** *** ********* ********* ********
 
I made a mistake when I read this and stated everything was resolved but it is not. They are talking to me but no resolution yet. Please reopen. Thank you, *** **** 

Business Response: I have reviewed your file and spoke with **** in our Finance Department, please bring in the cancelled check for your repair and we would be more than happy to reimburse you. 

Thank you

*** *****
Sales Manager 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: it is not all I am asking for.

Regards,

*** ****

Business Response: Dear ***,

I have uploaded the Rescend Agreement that you signed, total usage for the vehicle for the time and miles you drove was $2,715.00.  It looks like back on 04/24/2013 that you agreed to a $500 refund of your $1,000 total down payment and in lieu of the repair aswell (please see attachment).  As an act of goodwill we would be more than happy to now reimburse you for the repair, please bring me a copy of the cancelled check and we will get you a check asap.

Thank you,

*** *****

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: GHENT made me feel like I had no other options at the time and we had lost so much money in not working during this ordeal that I was under pressure and upset and signed just to get this miserable experience to go away but after talking and checking  with other people, who had the same experience as we did, I figured  I am not satisfied with them taking my money. I have also talked to our attorney and he says we have a valid claim. So I will go away when I receive  $800.00 from the business.Very high pressured people at the business.   

Regards,

*** ****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

1/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Sept. 14 2013, my fiancee and I purchased a vehicle. After overlooking the contract for the vehicle, we decided to have the Service Contract to be canceled and refunded back into the loan. After a few days of phone calls and back and forth driving between the dealer and the assignee where we go for our car loan, the final agreement was that the Service Contract would be canceled and refunded within 4-6 weeks from the week of Oct. 14, 2013. We checked in the last couple of days with the assignee, but they showed no sign of the amount that was refunded and also left messages with the dealer but had no returned phone calls.

Desired Settlement: What needs to happen is for the amount of $2300 to be refunded from the car loan amount including interest occurred from not being refunded within said time.

Business Response:  Dear Sir,

I am looking in to your case, I will respond back shortly. I wanted to make sure you knew we are looking into this. My name is Tim ***** if you have any further questions you can contact me directly at ###-###-####. Again I will respond back here shortly.

Thank You,

Tim *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently purchased a truck from your dealership and I feel the need to share this experience. I write this letter in hopes that Ghent Chevrolet can make things right and to ensure that no one else has to go through the same experiences that I have gone through. I would like to say it has been a great experience, but I would be lying. I am certain that my experience is not the norm but rather a regretful stand alone incident.On April 6th of this year, My wife and I came to Ghent Chevrolet in the hopes of trading in our 2006 Ford Explorer for a used truck while at the same time lowering our monthly payment. We were aided by **** ********* from the used car sales department. We were pointed towards a 2007 Chevy Avalanche. Not something I had considered but I was willing to entertain the idea. We went on a test drive and the vehicle was instantly a hit with my wife. I had noticed a tick in the motor which I was told was just one of the lifters which I was ensured could be taken care of through the vehicles warranty as it only had 98k miles. We were also ensured that the truck had been through a 132 point inspection and was in perfect condition. **** stated that he would not be able to offer an extended warranty had it not passed inspection and been certified. It was also agreed that other items would be fixed under a We Owe contract. We were informed that the lifter did not need to be on this list as it was mechanical and covered under the warranty. We were ensured that the following week our truck would be picked up and all work completed.We went back to the office to discuss financing with **** *******. We worked out a deal that would have us paying $449.00 a month. A little more than we originally wanted to pay but it seemed that the vehicle would better fit our needs. Our daughter Barrel Races horses and we needed something to pull a horse trailer. We signed the papers and believed that everything was all set. We gave **** a $500.00 check which he was to deposit the following Friday as agreed.The following Friday came and went and we had noticed that the check had not cleared the bank. I made calls to *** (used car sales manager) and to **** in financing to see what was going on. I left multiple messages but never received a call back from either. Then weeks two came and went and still no response. Then week three came and went still with no response to my calls or messages.On April 27th I finally received a call back from **** *******. He stated that we needed to sign some more documents and apologized for the delay as he had been out on maternity leave for the past 3 weeks. When we arrived at **** office he explained that no one had taken care of our paperwork in his absence and that he was very sorry. It was at this point that he explained that the financing originally agreed upon had not gone through. He was however able to get us financing at a rate of $533.00 per month. **** then further explained to us that if we decided not to go with this deal that we would owe rental fees for the past 3 weeks plus mileage. It was also not clear whether or not they still had our vehicle or if it had gone to the auto auction. Needless to say we felt that we had to take the deal. **** also explained that he still had our check and wanted to make sure that he could still deposit it. We told him the following Friday we would ensure that the money was available.The following week I called the service department and spoke to *** *******. I called multiple times about getting the truck in for the work that was promised. *** said he was still waiting for the paperwork from Sales and as soon as he received it he would call us. The following week **** called us let us know that our check had not gone through. We asked **** if he had deposited the check on the date that we had agreed. I offered to bring down a money order and **** said that it was not necessary. **** just needed to know when he could deposit it again. We told him the following week and at this time he ensured me that the paperwork would go over to service. Two more weeks passed when we found out that the check had again not been deposited on the agreed upon date but instead it was posted a week and a half later. I did upon finding this information out come down with a money order as I wanted things to get rolling.The following week I called up service and spoke with *** ******* (Who, by the way is an outstanding ambassador for your service department). We scheduled to have the car picked up the following Tuesday in order to get the We Owe work finally completed. When we received the truck back we were told that they would need to order the parts and it would need to come back in the following week. The Oil change and service were however completed with a note that all fluids needed to be serviced along with the air cleaner. I called *** back only to find out that the truck had never been in for a safety inspection. My wife and daughter had been driving around in a truck from your dealership that had never been deemed safe to sell. I find this to be inexcusable, especially since we were told by **** that not only had it been through a 132 point inspection but that it was a certified used truck. I am sure that this is not the practice of your dealership. It has also now been determined that the rear air shocks are bad and need replacement at a cost of $1,200.00. Another item that would have been discovered, had a pre inspection been performed.It took a total of three visits to get most of the We Owe items taken care of. We are however still battling with one item. It was promised that the front bumper would be repaired. It has since been determined that it will take replacement of the whole front bumper to repair what was promised. The used car manager is refusing to complete the contract. I would like for this deal to finally be over as it has been a nightmare that just never seems to end.

Desired Settlement: I would like the contract "we owe" completed, the lifter repaired as promised, the air shocks replaced and the vehicle refinanced at the original amount agreed upon. I feel that this was a "YoYo" sale and would like it made right. This includes bringing the vehicle up to "Sale condition" and refinancing it at the agreed upon rate.

Business Response:
    Mr. *******,

    I am very sorry that your visit to Ghent was less than satisfactory, as we hold ourselves to a standard of excellence. We would be more than happy to secure the black molded piece on the bumper of your vehicle, which would complete our do bill  (We-Owe) in which we agreed upon at the time of the sale. A safety inspection was preformed on August 29th and the shocks and lifter were not diagnosed with any issues at that time of inspection, however the service contract that you purchased with the vehicle may be able to cover those items and concerns. We would be happy to set an appointment for you to bring in the Avalanche so we can diagnose what the problems are and how we can assist in resolving those issues.

    I understand your concern for the time it took for us to obtain financing for you on the Avalanche, however I would like to stress that banks have tightened up lending over the past few years and obtaining financing for each individuals situation has become more challenging. We do pride ourselves on, if anyone can get you financing on a vehicle it's Ghent. We work very hard in finding an avenue to go as far as financing for each individual and their unique situation. I do want to stress that this was an isolated incident (in timing), and apologize for the delay that you experienced. We value your business, and would like you to stay with Ghent for your future needs. Thank you for your patience and understanding.

    Sincerely,
    ****** ******
    GSM Ghent Motor Company

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: It is not addressing a remedy to the complaint.  I do feel that this response provided by the GM was just to appease the BBB 

I have had the vehicle in 2 times for repair of the front fender and both times I was told that they would not replace it as they have deemed that the part can not just be fixed but must be replaced. 

I am also curious as to why I received 2 phone calls from the salesman attempting to sell me another car but never addressing correcting the issues with this one. 

I am totally unsatisfied with the explanation as it addresses financing.  I checked with the credit bureau's as to the amount of times my report was pulled by lenders during this time and the total number was 3.  I do not feel that 3 out of the 30 financial institutions that they said they had at there disposal is adequate.  This shows me that Ghent did not attempt to find me a loan amount at the agreed upon rate but instead (after the error in letting my application sit idle for 3 weeks while there employee was on maternity leave) just took the first option and did not continue trying with my best interests in mind. In conclusion, I am willing to work with Ghent to try and reach a mutually beneficial solution.  However, to date they have not attempted to do anything.

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response:

 

Dear Mr. *******,

I want to make sure you feel we have addressed your concerns. Please see my comments below in Green

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: It is not addressing a remedy to the complaint.  I do feel that this response provided by the GM was just to appease the BBB 

I have had the vehicle in 2 times for repair of the front fender and both times I was told that they would not replace it as they have deemed that the part can not just be fixed but must be replaced.  As written on the We-owe at the time of purchase we can secure the plastic piece underneath the vehicle.  We would need to set up an appt. to have it secured.

I am also curious as to why I received 2 phone calls from the salesman attempting to sell me another car but never addressing correcting the issues with this one. I apologize, our intent was only to give you options.  Trading the vehicle is an option that sometimes helps when a Guest is not happy with the vehicle they purchased.

I am totally unsatisfied with the explanation as it addresses financing.  I checked with the credit bureau's as to the amount of times my report was pulled by lenders during this time and the total number was 3.  I do not feel that 3 out of the 30 financial institutions that they said they had at there disposal is adequate.  This shows me that Ghent did not attempt to find me a loan amount at the agreed upon rate but instead (after the error in letting my application sit idle for 3 weeks while there employee was on maternity leave) just took the first option and did not continue trying with my best interests in mind. In regards to the number of Lenders we spoke to about securing your loan, we try our best to keep the number of inquiries on your credit bureau to a minimum.  Inquiries can affect your credit score if the financing contract you signed is not acceptable you are more than welcome to seek re-financing options. Your loan does not contain a prepayment penalty and interest is charged per day (per-diem). We do not have the capability to refinance an existing loan.

In conclusion, I am willing to work with Ghent to try and reach a mutually beneficial solution.  However, to date they have not attempted to do anything. Please feel free to contact me directly and I would be happy to set an appt. with our Service Department to have the plastic piece secured and also diagnose the vehicle for any addition concerns.

Regards,

******* *******

Sincerely,

*** *****

Sales Manager

Ghent Motor Co.

Direct-************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/14/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ghent Motors uses stolen information to send personal notes in the mail with ads attached. I have never purchased a vehicle from this company nor have I ever done business with anyone associated with this company. I have called to complain about this before and have asked four different people to have my information taken out of their system. Not only were all of these people very rude to me, but they dismissed my complaint as something not worthy of their time. One person gave me information for the advertising company to which they sometimes use so that I could contact them instead. This information was faulty, the number was dead, and when I tried to call back to get accurate information, I received the same rude, time-consuming run-around. It is absolutely ridiculous that no one has any idea how they have my information, why I'm receiving these personal notes, or how to make them stop. Someone at this company needs to actually do their job and address this issue.

Desired Settlement: Remove my information from your system and cease sending me ANY further mail or making ANY further contact. After this ordeal, I would never consider giving this company any money anyway, so someone's (though no one seems to know whose) effort is just going to waste.

Business Response:
    Dear * ****,

    I am writing you to apologize for not getting you removed from our mailing list as you have requested. All I need to have this done is the full name of the individual who the mail is coming to and the address that the mail is going to. Is this **** ****** *** the correct address that the mail is going to? 

    Unfortunately we do not mail these advertisements directly, so I will pass your information forward to our mailing company and have them remove you as soon as possible. sorry for any inconvenience.

    ****** ******
    GSM Ghent Motor Company

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ghent Motors sent out a flyer for an upcoming event. Within the flyer was a scratch ticket. Winning on the scratch ticket stated that you won the prize shown (In my case, $25000). Attached to the flyer was a number which confirmed that I won the prize shown. When I arrived at Ghent Motors they took the flyer from me and refused to show me on the flyer how I didn't win the prize shown. Within the small print of the flyer there was nothing to refute that I had won the 25,000 dollars. Nowhere on the flyer did it state that winning you had to go in to find out what you won. In fact, the flyer stated that you won the prize revealed by from the scratch ticket.Ghent Motors lured me to their event under false pretenses. They were not able to show anything within the fine print of the flyer to refute that I had won the prize shown.

Desired Settlement: I would like the 25,000 dollars that the advertisement stated that I won or an explanation of how they can legally use false pretenses to lure you to a sale.

Business Response:

   Dear Mr. ******,

   At Ghent we want every person attending the sales event with a mailer invitation to register, so we can verify who they are and as it states in the disclaimer portion on your mailer" In order for the grand prize to be awarded, the randomly selected individual designated to recieve the winning mail piece must redeem the mail piece in person, and their name and address must match the information on file with grand prize promotions". Our job is to register each individual and assist in finding out what they have won. As a dealership we are excited to help each person register, because all of the grand prize winners are insured prizes. It does not cost Ghent anything to give the grand prizes away, and we would get all the good publicity.

   After registering each person attending the event and verifying identity, we then check your number on the flyer vs. the grand prize winning numbers. At that point we then determine what you have won. Since your number did not match any of the grand prize winning numbers, then your prize is a 1 troy ounce gold bar replica. However it sounds like we were not able to even get that far. I'm sorry Mr. ******, but the only way that we can check to see if you were a winner was to verify who you were by registering you at the tent event and then checking your winning number vs. the grand prize board. I appologize if our registeration process was unwelcoming or abrasive, but again it is required for checking prize winners. In the end it is our intension to make every persons registeration a easy fun process as we hope to get good exposure from our sale and promotions while looking for the grand prize winners as we look forward to awarding the winners as the prizes are all insured up front prior to the sales event.

   Sincerely,

   Ghent Motor Company

Consumer Response:

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: They flyer stated that I had won $25,000.00 and the disclaimer stated that you won the prize shown. No one at the event was willing to show me in the disclaimer how it negates the winning statement.

Basically, you wasted my time by making me attend an event on false premises. If the flyer had clearly stated that I had not won the prize shown then I wouldn't be filing a complaint. The front part of the flyer stated to attend the event to claim the prize that was shown (in my case $25,000.00) and the flyer did not say that the prize awarded would be something different.

How is this practice legal? You are tricking people into showing up to an event to get their personal information. How many would have shown up if you were being honest?

Regards,

**** ******

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: No one could show me on the form at the time. I didn't want to give out my personal information once I realized that it was a scam.

Regards,

**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Ghent Motors to trade my car in on a newer one and they told me I was financed and gave me the car and I had it for 6 weeks(August 8th) and on Monday September 23th, I received a call from Ghent Motors(Troy) and was asked to bring back the car and they would return mine and I did but When I got my car it had some problems with it that weren't there when I traded in and when I asked them if they were going to fix them they told me no and by them letting me think that everything was okay with the new car and that they pay off my old I did not make payments on it and now my old car has been repo by ********* ****** ***** and I have no car.

Desired Settlement: I would like be compensated for the lose of my car, due to them letting me think I had the new car and now I have no car.

Consumer Response: I financed a car with Ghent Motors on 9/8/2013 and gave them my car as a trade and I had the new for 6 weeks and then I got a call from Ghent Motors on 9/23/13 and was ask to return the car and I and I was given my car back but it had some problems with it that was on my car when I gave it to them and they said they would not fix them and since they had my car for that time and I thought I had the new one I did make the payments on my old car so it got 2 months behind and the loan company and repo it today and I fell it is Ghent fault because they let me think I had the new car and they would return my calls and talk to me. Thanks **** ******

I think they should help me with this issue

Business Response:

October 21 2013

Ghent Motor Company

2715 35th Ave

Greeley CO 80634

***** *****

Finance Director

 

BBB Serving Northern Colorado and Wyoming

 

Regarding complaint filed by Ms. **** ******:

 

On August 8, 2013, Ms ****** did agree to terms and conditions on a vehicle purchase, “W.A.C...(with approved credit.)”, on a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. She did trade in a 2002 Saturn sedan, registered under ********** and ***** *********. Ms. ****** signed an offer to purchase with the terms clearly written “W.A.C.”, in addition, Ms. ****** intialed and signed a “DISCLOSURES REQUIRED AS PART OF A MOTOR VEHICLE/POWERSPORTS VEHICLE SALES CONTRACT”, stating “... E. You and the dealer have agreed that the vehicle will be delivered to you prior to the purchase price being paid in full. If financing cannot be arranged at the terms stated in the contract, and the contract is cancelled, you agree to pay the dealer $60 dollars per day and 60 cents per mile for your use of the vehicle from the date of delivery until the vehicle is returned to the dealer.”

On or about August 10th, because of the fact that Ms ***** ********* was not in the dealership at time of consumation, we had to contact her to ask her to sign a P.O.A for the trade in. Ms ********* was contacted and she told us that she would not sign the form until the deal was done, at this time we informed her that it was not approved, and she told us that she would speak to Ms. ****** and make arrangements to come to the dealership and sign the requested form. She did not ever come to the dealership.

The deal itself was a subprime credit deal that required a great deal of time, phone calls, and work, based on speaking to several lending institutions, that initially we felt we could secure financing for Ms. ******. After several attempts, based on Ms. ******'s actual credit history, and a difference in income she listed on the credit application versus the paystubs she provided being actually lower, the deal was not approved for financing at the original terms.

We made several phone calls to Ms ****** explaining the process and where we were in the process, also asking if there was any additional income or if she had, or could use, the same cobuyer as she had used on the previous loan. Her answer to these questions were “No.”.

On or about September 17th, we made phone calls to Ms ****** informing her that her financing could not be obtained and that we needed the vehicle returned. Ms ****** called us approximately 6 days later (September 23) and we told her that we would need the vehicle back and that we would return her trade in and down payment, she was extremely cordial and understanding. When she arrived at the dealership, however, her attitude had changed and she was extremely aggressive and angry. We explained, again, what had happened throughout the process, and as a measure of good will, agreed to not charge her for the bailment monies due us. We also offered to fill her tank as a measure of good will, as she had stated that she just put fuel in the returning vehicle. She refused this, however, she did state to the Finance Manager, **** *********, that when she originaly traded in the vehicle, that she had missed a payment, (which explains why her original lender might be willing to reposess her vehicle).

Regarding her trade in, at the time of the deal, it was placed on our lot and there it remained, in a seperate holding area untouched, as all trade ins are, until the following deal would become funded by the new lienholder. After she signed and indicated her understanding of the “Agreement to Rescind/Enter New Contract” form, and we had agreed to not charge her any bailment monies (which were $5125.00), she left the dealership. Approximately an hour to a hour and a half later she called and complained of several problems with her trade in that she claimed we “must've” perpertrated. However, in her complaint to you, she admits that there were problems with it at time of trade in.

Pleae feel free to contact me with any additional questions.

***** *****

Director of Finance

Ghent Motors

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my vehicle break down on me on 9/10/13 on the highway where it would idle funny and die out, so I had the tow truck tow it to Ghent Chevrolet to see what the issue was. At first the service department told me it did not have any fuel but it did. I was the one driving it so I know. So they said the fuel pump was bad and needed to be replaced so I had it replaced since it was still covered under the warranty.Since I knew they would have the car a couple of days I went to pick up my parking permit for work and garage door opener from the car while they had it. The service technician walked out with me to the car to get my things when we both noticed the car was unlocked in the parking lot. I asked him if this was normal and he said no that it should have been locked. So I didnt think nothing at the time. Then they also said I needed a battery and new brakes on the front. Well I knew installing the battery there would be overpriced so I installed the new battery and was going to put the brakes on myself also since I knew how to do mechanical work like this. Well one day passed and it started to idle funny again so I took the car back and said when the vehicle is started the idle on the car (09 chevy malibu bought at this dealership) would jump and want to die. They looked at it and said the mass air flow sensor was bad and needed to be replaced. Ok I thought why it was not caught firs time but went on to let them replace it. They replaced sensor and car was fine. My issue with this is I left my oakley sunglasses in the center compartment that closes on the dash. They were given to me as a gift and when I went to pick up my car they were missing. I looked around everywhere in my house and all places I could think of and nothing. So I called service manager and told him the story and what happened and he said he would call me back. Two days later, no call back. So my issue is I am missing my sunglasses from my car after it was serviced by Ghent Chevrolet! Very upsetting!

Desired Settlement: I would just like to get my glasses back in the condition they were in or the amount they were paid for.

Business Response: Ghent Chevrolet Cadillac is in the process of contacting customer to get the price of the sun glasses and the year the sunglasses were purchased. After contacting customer and receiving receipts the Ghent management team will try to come to some resolution with the customer, thank you. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me only if the dealership wil reimburse me for the sunglasses that were taken during the service of my vehicle at their lot. I have yet to receive any phone calls and I have also left the GM a message at Ghent but no response.

Regards,

******* ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On their website vehicle is listed for sale for $28,340 but after I tested drove the vehicle they told me that was a mistake, the vehicle is $38,000. I have been researching cars for my family and found this Chevy Tahoe, vin #***********XXXXXX advertised on the internet for $28,340. I went to the dealership and was told that someone made a mistake and this was priced wrong. It was actually $10,000 higher than the price on the internet. I believe this practice of bait and switch to be illegal.

Desired Settlement: I want them to honor the price they have listed on the internet. I also want them to honor the price they quoted me for my trade in which was $12,000.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/11) */ I appologize for the mistake, please see the attached letter of retraction. As promised we have mailed a copy of this letter to the guest, per his request. Thank you for your understanding in this matter.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was was told completely different information by sales representative and financial advisor. Financial advisor refused to clarify contract On 1/31/2013 I purchased a 2012 elantra serial code GL5NPDH4AE4CHXXXXXX after doing a trade in for my 1995 ford ranger of 800 dollars and putting down 1000 in two separate payments through debit card purchase (Half was done on the first, the second half 2/14/2013). After doing so however I went to them the NEXT day and asked them to trade me into something as after insurance payment was much higher than quoted price (Insurance with ********* ********* were hesitant but agreed to help. I had to call once a week, and it wasn't until three weeks later after they asked me come in and put down the second portion of my down payment and have my verification of income they were able to even INFORM the financial team of my dilemma. At this point I had lost a source of income as well and I was begging the urgency of my request. I called then three times a week with none of my phone calls answered until I received a call two weeks later to come in on the 5th of March. They then cancelled an HOUR before this appointment and set me for the 7th. On the 7th of march I was told my monthly payment had gone down by both my sales representative (*** ****** ******** and financial representative (**** ************** my payment had gone down from 494 a month to 389 a month. I was also told by sales rep that XXXXX.70 was the total I'd pay all six years including interest on vehicle they were trading me into (2008 Toyota Yaris, serial code JHDBTXXXXXXXXXXXX) After convincing me for an hour this would be the right decision financially I agreed and signed into new contract, which after going over warranty and GAP insurance came out to 429.98. I drove with this car off the lot, and then received a call from the bank a month later I still owed my first payment for the 2012 Elantra. I called the dealership, informing my sales rep, ***, as well as ***** ****** and **** ********** I didn't get any confirmation from anyone until the next day *** called me to give me my spare key, and ask for 840 to cover the difference between the Elantras worth now versus when I received it because of damages assessed when they detailed the vehicle. I agreed and paid 210 of the full amount on April 11th, 2013 through my debit card. I asked then to speak to **** or ***** as I was confused as to why there was an additional 5400 on top of the value of my Toyota Yaris then if I was already paying 840 for the value decline in my Elantra. I then met with **** ********* April 16th to ask him this very question and he had no idea what I was referring to. He left and came back and told me the original loan was higher than what was on the paper work and that was the difference as he had not sent in the correct amount to the bank. When I asked the fee to be waived as he had made the mistake or the contract rewritten to show the correct value of my vehicle which was wrongfully represented as 15200 when I paid over 21000 for the 2012 Elantra, with a more reasonable value given for the trade in. He laughed and informed me he just put information in the computer and it told him what I had to pay. He couldn't explain why I was given so much less, why the information *** had given me was incorrect, or why I hadn't been informed the XXXXX.70. All he could do was blame *** for giving me wrong information as well as the computer for not making sense to anyone including himself. This was not only incredibly unprofessional to me, but it showed a level of incompetence and uncaring that I had never imagined I would witness from a BBB certified business. The fact that I was offered no compensation for all my wasted time and energy is not only personally offensive to me, I also find it to be morally outrageous. At the moment I have made my first payment to the dealership, processed by **** ********* for the amount of 429.98 by debit card on April 16th, 2013 as I was told that day that the reason the bank was calling me as the dealership was making the 1st payment to them, and I had to pay them back

Desired Settlement: I would like my contract to be properly priced as the Yarris had damage to the rear end and right side rims and I personally feel taking the time and effort I have given to this matter as well as the gross mishandling I received that my contract be rewritten and approved by the dealership giving my Elantra a value of at least 19,000.

Business Response: Consumer Response /* (-5, 2, 2013/04/22) */ -----Original Message----- From: **********@aol.com (mailto:**********@aol.com) Sent: Saturday, April 20, XXXX X:XX PM To: ****@wynco.bbb.org Subject: my recent complaint 4-20-2013 In my complaint filed against ghent motor vehicle company I had incorrectly stated that I would like the value of my vehicle to be raised to 19,000. I had actually meant 17,000 as that was the price of the vehicle after rounding the price up (439 for 72 months was actual projected payment) and before taxes were added unto price, not including my down payment which I will admit is fair, as the 1800 can be theirs for their work in communicating with the bank.I also did not include that that the 494 monthly car payment I was quoted at before signing the deal for the yaris was false as **** ********* even admitted it was actually 464 after adding in GAP insurance on April 16th, 2013. I also would like the unneccessary pressure that was put on me during point of sale on march 7th by *** ******** to be notated in my complaint as well as my request to work with any financial representative other than **** ********** Information wise as well I would like notated that the bank financing vehicle is premier members credit union and my contact there is Autumn at the phone number XXXXXXXXXX Sincerely, *********** ***** Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/05/03) */ Good afternoon, I have read the complaint on case ********* (ref#XX-XXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX) One thing I need to convey immediately is that the finance managers are not finance advisors as you have mentioned, however in our paperwork process we do advise if you feel you may need the assistance of an advisor or attorney you have that right to request it or have one present. This is the first line on the state discloser that was gone over and you initialed next to understanding it. Now in this case, the credit value was challenging and it was a little difficult. In fact, we needed the client to bring us in different stipulations the lender needed and was finally able to secure a loan for the customer. So the comment of coming in the NEXT day doesn't really make sense because we were still working towards financing at that point. However I recall a few days later, **** stating that the customer's insurance was more than he had thought it would be and let him know he was concerned with the payment and maybe a different car would be better. At this point the vehicle purchase was completed and the customer did call in to **** and stated he wanted a lower payment and either wanted to try a different car or he wouldn't be able to keep it. I advised **** that "he just bought that car" and that it was not an easy loan to land in the first place due to the credit and it would be really tuff to do it again so soon without proving a good payment history on this one first. The customer did call in frequently stating his want for a lesser payment, we explained how tuff it would but we would look for a vehicle that would work for the lenders and help him in his needs and get back to him. *** , "his salesperson" was actively looking for something for him, as well as **** in finance. Even though the customer called frequently we had to keep reminding him of the hurdles of his situation and that we would continue to look into an option. After a couple weeks we received a call from the customer stating that he had lost his second job and now the payment really was a concern. This is not something we like to hear as a dealership and it does concern us that a loan could possibly go bad. "***" his salesperson was asked to contact him and find out, "what happened and what is his income value now?" This is information we need to further assist him in "any" possible new loan. *** came in the next day and let us know that he was able to get a hold of the customer at his evening job and talked to him. "The job he stated he lost?". Two days later the customer came in and we spoke to him about this and he stated, "well, I'm going to cut back in my hours at my second job because, I'd like to do what I've been planning on for a long time and that is to try and finish my schooling". Instead of dwelling on the dishonesty of "I lost my job" to "well I'm just cutting my hours back", we chose to do what we try and do everyday here at Ghent and that is to find a way to help, if we can. There was a vehicle that showed up that was a perfect vehicle to accomplish what the customer needed. The payment could drop so we called him in to go over his options. The customer came in and drove the vehicle, he liked it so they went over all the numbers. Keep in mind this is approximately two months later not only was there a payment due on the current loan and there was taxes,. Dealer handling & Title fee's, that were now a part of his payoff in order to trade him out of that vehicle. The customer understood that he initially paid approximately $17000 for the vehicle and $2000 was the taxes, dealer handling & titles fees and we explained that though we could not give him a trade value that would cover all the fee's ($19000) however he would receive that tax credit from the trade value on the new car deal, hence the $1062 taxes on the first deal and $0 taxes on the second. Even though the customers initial concerns was the payment and we were showing him a new payment of approximately $389 per month which was $105 less than the current $494 per month. The customer thought about it for a while in fact he took around 4 hours overall to decide to go with it. The customer did decided to go with gap insurance and an extended service contract, "which is good planning" but ultimately left with a $429 monthly payment which was still less then his original payment of $494. The value difference of his trade was due to condition of the trade after the short ownership of the vehicle. The used car manager put a value of $15200 due to that. I understand the customer states "he paid over $21000" however after taxes, dealer handling, title fees, gap insurance and a service contract he paid $20681. Again I understand sometimes things get stretched when we're frustrated but as well as the job that was supposedly lost. The $840 that was requested was NOT for damages that we realized later on his trade during detailing it. It was the difference of the payoff amount that the customer provided and the actual amount he owed. We explained that contractually he was responsible for any differences as well as if it were lower than the stated amount that he would receive it back. He understood this and agreed to pay it. Now it appears the customer is upset that he has to pay it and is ultimately asking us to cover it by "over looking" damage on his trade in and taking a major loss because we diligently went above and beyond to help him in his payment concerns and got him in a new vehicle at a lower payment in only 2 months after a purchase. When most dealerships would bow out and just state, "were sorry we can't help you until you establish your credit after this purchase and pay on it a little while". It was difficult to obtain financing initially because of credit and it was extremely difficult doing it again within two months, Ghent went above and beyond to help. I apologize it took a little time, but with the credit value I believe we did a great job with the circumstances at hand and I am very sorry the customer does not appreciate it. Some people say "hind sight is 20/20" However Ghent will continue to help customers when we can because usually people see the difference in Ghent and appreciate it! As for the requested resolution,. The damages were on the Yaris when he spent 4 hours driving and looking at it then decided to buy it. I cannot put a value on a vehicle that was damaged in the two months of ownership that is unreasonable. I need to take additional money and repair that vehicle and run it through our shop so ***** can put it back in line on the lot and stand behind it. I apologize for the customers comments about his "wasted time". If were trying to help a customer here at Ghent we never consider it wasted time, my two months of efforts trying to obtain two loans for this customer was a success and whether he sees it or not he is now in a $429 monthly payment with the peace of mind of a service contract instead of $494 monthly payment. We truly don't know how we can help more here? Ghent Motors Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/05/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I had mentioned cutting back hours for schooling back before I had even lost my job. The time frame here is completely opposed to the truth, which can be verified by witnesses and voice mail messages I have on my phone. I did say that I may not look for another job again because I needed to finish school so I could pay for the vehicle in question sooner in the end, something I believed Ghent would appreciate in a first time customer. The 494$ was actually a lie as 464 was my real payment on the vehicle after I went back to question **** ********* regarding the 840 charge. I am just tired of being regarded with suspicion and instead of being an honest estimate of how much I would be paying I was instead manipulated by my situation into giving the dealership a bigger payout for asking for a favor. If the dealership was only going to demand the same payment for a vehiocle worth twice as much because they felt I was dishonest they should have disclosed such to me. Instead they used underhanded methods to get me into the payment. The fours I spent had actually only been a twenty mintue drive, while the other two to three hours had been me taking the time to make sure the car was insured, and listen to the salesperson (***)'s sales pitch on why I should purchase the vehicle. When I went to clean it for the first time I found a pile of shattered glass under the passenger seat that most assuredly did not come from any acitvity done while I had been in the vehicle. If a value cannot be put on it now, why can't a refund or higher price be offered for later? Why if my contract as the financial manager (****) puts it cannot be changed or altered in anyway to reflect the true value of my trade in am I still being asked to pay a full 840 dollars? I feel as if the dealership has been the dishonest one in this transactions, and only points fingers out of a guilty concious. The maturity has to asked to be placed into consideration here as well, all I would like is a straight answer and a resolution to all the hardship I've had to endure. The only time I was requested was when ***** wanted money from me. Not to verify with them their suspicions about my claim, not to provide them with what I personally wanted or needed for a vehicle. I was told that the Yarris was my only option and when I found out that not only was it almost the same option, it was also a worse one considering my sitaution, no one took responsibility. *** blamed ****, **** blamed ***, and meanwhile the only one paying for any of the blame, is ulitmately, me. I am dissapointed more than anything at the dealerships lack of assistance to my compaint, as I am an employee at Teletech, that has hired several employees every day that are not used to having a full time job and are looking to finance a new vehicle simply to accomadate their new income, as well as being a student with AIMS which has many both new young students who have just recieved their student loans and would cosnider a new vehicle a neccesity to their school career. I will take responsibility and pay for my vehicle whether I feel I have been outrageously taken advantage of or not, yet ***** will not even take respobnisbility for misrepresenting their information and intentions to me. If ***** isn't willing to at least admit their wrongfulness, then their reputation deserves to be trarnished, and their BBB sign they hang so proudly in their lobby should be taken down as a lie to what the institution stands for. Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/05/09) */ Thank you, I apprecitate your statements. We will work hard to learn from this and strive to improve in anyway we can. Our good rating with the BBB is important to us and we do hang our sign proudly. If there is anything we can do in the future please let us know. Thank you. Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2013/05/13) */ I have had some time to calmly reconsider my posistion with *****. And I just wanted to adjust my rebuttel accordingly. I have come to reealize now that trust and faith between business and consumer is something built over time, and I have been expecting much from ***** considering our short relationship thus far. I did not mean to sound inconsiderate of what ***** has done for me thus far. However, it is in the name of good business that I beg ***** to consider my posistion as well. Whatever they may believe is the case with my job posisition I am facing hardship in my vehicle purchase from *****. Miscommunication seems to have played a key role in the situation, as ***** not only seems to have misunderstood not only my appreciation for their help, but that I have been in no way dishonest about the loss of income I have suffered, and am willing to go through any process would have me complete to prove that I have lost my second job as I have told them. I as well seem to have misunderstood not only *** ******** and what he promised, but as well as **** ********** explnaitions on to what the fees were. I understood that computer systems can be slow considering the sudden changes in my financing, but I in no way was explained to way I completely understood as to why I was being charged a 840 dollar fee. Neither was I told about all the finances and taxes that went into the loan on my vehicle when they did my paperwork. I felt as if a child, being told to pay money when the adults asked me to, and never mind the reason why, which is the reason for my frustration and dissatisfaction now. It seems that ***** as well as I both do not understand neither each other, nor the process that is being handled in my financing. So I move that in mind to the fact that we still must work with one another until the vehicle is paid off I will first give ***** my sincerest apology that I seemed ungrateful to their attempted service. In return to ensure a polite and well established relationship I only ask that an official apology be made to me as well. I also would ask ***** to keep in mind, if there was a way to waive any of the fee that was "the straw to broke the camel's back" so to say, not only would they make me a loyal customer for all my vehicle finances, but an advovate for their sales team with all of my school and work colleagues. I only ask however, to work together that my apology is accepted, and that a sincere apology is made to me as well. Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2013/06/03) */ Mr. *********** *****, We are sincerely sorry for not being able to meet all of your needs, as that is what we look to do with each and every customer. In some cases we are caught between a customer and what a bank will provide for our customer, because of credit limitations. We did try and do our best with obtaining not only one loan, but also a second loan to try and accomodate you. We are sincerely sorry that we were not able to meet all of your needs. Thank you, ***** Motor Company Consumer Response /* (4200, 21, 2013/06/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The apology I had requested had requested had nothing to do with what ***** motor company could or could not do for me. It is for what they promised me. I would have been fine and more than happy with the original loan in fact if they had been honest in what obtaining the second loan would entail. They were dishonest in the way they presented how easy it would be, and how beneficial taking the second loan would be. I am not asking for an apology as to not being able to accomadate my needs, but rather an apology of not giving me proper and adequate presentations of the facts of the deal itself by both the financial team and the sales team. Consumer Response /* (-5, 26, 2013/06/10) */ I also did want to thank ***** for their original attempt to reconcile and apologize for not being more specific in the type of apology I desired. While I do understand now that the disception that was perpetrated was not intentionally done, it was in fact due to the lack of communication and empathy on Ghents part that it did occur. While the first loan was causing financial hardship this second one when all is said is done the price is the same, with lower payments due to the car being damaged and four years older, and as I'm just starting interviews now to seek out gainful employment for another SECOND job to cover the price of my current payment easier I cannot help but feel that had ***** tried just that much harder to understand my situation it would have saved us both time, stress, and left us both with a deal we would have been much more happier with, and it is for that I require apology on the inaccurate and financially damaging information they had given me

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spoke to ****. He was Sales MGR, and he would only say they wanted cars. Amount in Dispute: Unknown-Just know they were trying to scam me. He would not say how they got my address and info about the car, etc. My main issue involves: scamming the elderly and letting some foreigner have my info, address, etc. etc. This company gave my information to a foreigner ****** ******, it was mailed to me from ************ in their company envelope. It truly worries me that I am being "scammed" by a supposedly local area business----for what purpose--- why did or why would they give my info our. (just to get my car)???????????? When I talked to the man (****) he wanted lots more information from me (personal information) before he would take my name and personal info off their list-sounds like they mailed it to others or that they are planning to. Sure sounds to me like they are scammers, etc. Why would they do that to elderly women??????? I don't have the funds to hire an attorney and to sue them.

Desired Settlement: I believe that this business should be punished by publication to everyone that they are "scammers", etc. and that they are preying on the elderly (especially women). A copy of their letter is attached hereto.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/10) */ Dear ms. ******, The letter that you recieved from ****** Chevrolet and Cadillac was a true offer from us to purchase your vehicle (hence the reason you recieved that letter). We are one of the fastest growing dealerships in Colorado, and we are having a hard time purchasing the number of units we need to continue selling the amount of vehicles that we are selling. We have had customers asking for certain makes and models of vehicles over and over again; so we decided to check with public records of people who own and have registered those specific makes and models of vehicles that are in demand, and we decided to send the owners of those vehicles an offer to purchase their car from them whether they purchased a vehicle from us or not. That is the letter that you recieved. The letter you recieved was not a scam in any way, and we were and are interested in buying your vehicle if you are interested in selling it. Secondly my name is ****** ****** and I am the General Manager of ****** Chevrolet and Cadillac and the reason ****** my sales associate was asking you for your name and address was so we could identify you properly and remove your name from our mailing list as you were requesting. He was then forwarding your information to me so we could follow through as you had asked and remove your information from our mailing list. We have been the local dealer here in Northern Colorado for over 70 years. We do not prey on the elderly or women as you reffered to in your complaint. The letter that you recieved was a true offer to purchase your vehicle, and I am sorry if you did not precieve it as such. Please let me know if you have any other questions or if I can assist you in any other way in the future. Sincerely, ****** ****** General Manager ****** Chevrolet Cadillac

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dealership misrepresented the extended warranty On XX-XX-XX I purchased a vehicle from ******. It had many service issues to begin with. The dealer did fix those original issues at the time of purchase. They also stated they could "get me out of this vehicle and into a different one" if I wanted, due to all the issues I was having. I tried to do that, the dealer actually tried to raise my payment and put me in a vehicle I could not afford. That was not a good business practice! They should have found a comparable vehicle for me, that did not have so many issues if they indeed wanted to "make the customer happy", which they did not do nor even try to do. To my main complaint - my key kept getting stuck in the ignition. I took it in numerous times for this problem. I took it in the beginning of February and ****** in service was able to recreate the issue, while in the parking lot. I later found out this particular time I stopped in was never put down on the records. He told me and I quote "it will need to happen more often before we can fix it". At that point, I was very frustrated. I took my vehicle to Weld County Garage (WCG) - who found the problem as there was a bulletin. They (WCG) didnt stop there, even though it didnt recreate right then, they (WCG) took it all apart and were able to recreate the issue. They (WCG) never stopped trying for me!! They (WCG) were willing to fix it and I let them know I had an extended warranty. Come to find out the extended warranty was only good at ******. Here is where the misrepresentation comes in. I was NEVER told this was only good at ******. I was also told it was being "thrown in". I paid for it!! I also was flat out told by ****** they would not fix it until it "happened more often". I tried to cancel the warranty and was told the lien holder would have to do so. I called the lien holder, they said the dealer could or would have to do it. Everyone passed me off to someone else. Weld County Garage was completely AWESOME and went ahead and got my vehicle fixed on their dime since I was getting the run around. ****** refuses to cancel the warranty and says the "can't do it". Why would I ever want a warranty from a place that clearly will NOT help the customer! Then, to find out during all these issues, the part would not have even been covered by the warranty anyway. ****** the sales manager or GM, whichever he is going by, stated to me when I was asking about the "thrown in" warranty coverages and what was covered, prior to purchase of the vehicle, that it would cover and I quote again "everything except those things designed to wear out". His examples were such as windshield wipers, tires, brakes. Also on my warranty paperwork given at the time of purchase, the High-Tech (HT) was originally marked by the computer. ***** ****** the financial person, marked it out and marked the lower Base box instead. I was aware he changed it but had no explanation as to why, only it was "marked wrong". Again I would not know the difference as it was not explained to me. So clearly this warranty does not cover very much. It was clearly my own fault for not noticing I was paying for the warranty, even though I was told something else. Now, reading the fine print of the warranty, it does state it can only be used at ******. Again, I did not read the fine print at the bottom, I was assuming the dealer would be letting me know that very important detail about only using ****** with this particular warranty. I also had NO idea it was not a GM warranty and I believed that was what I was getting. If I believed that it was a GM warranty and was led to believe that the warranty covered almost everything, that is misrepresentation and grounds for cancellation of any contract I entered into being that I entered into it under different beliefs than it actually was. I will never use this warranty as I will never go back to ******. I believe I was mislead or not informed properly.

Desired Settlement: My settlement request is either refund or replacement. My first option: I would like to be refunded the $1699 that I paid for the warranty. My second option: I would be equally satisfied if the warranty was switched to a general GM warranty where I could use it at any GM certified dealer. At this point, I will NEVER use Ghent for any service what so ever due to these many issues. Its not about getting the money back, its about being able to take my vehicle to a dealer that I feel comfortable taking it to and who is willing to go above and beyond to fix it. Ghent is not and will never be the dealer I would choose. If it cant be transferred then yes, I want my money back as there was clear misrepresentation of such warranty.

Business Response: Consumer Response /* (450, 6, 2013/03/15) */ I was contacted by Ghent. Today I signed the new warranty which is a GM warranty and not strictly a Ghent warranty. They have done what I asked for as a resolution as far as the warranty part is concerned.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dealer didn't submit the loan documents to loan company for which I had brought in all the paperwork. They forced me to bring the car I was looking for a cheap used vehicle and contacted ******. They said they could probably make something work. After a week of not hearing back from the dealership, I took matters into my own hands and obtained my own financing. On 12/15/2012, I went to the dealer with the letter of credit from a finance company to purchase a vehicle. What I ended up with was a lot more than I originally wanted to spend, but was willing to buy the car because the lender had specific requirements. I understand this as they want to put me in a car that is going to be worth them financing. After signing all the paperwork and leaving with the car, supposedly everything was good to go. A month later I still had not received a payment book from the lender. Then after yet another month, about 2/15/2013, I receive a phone call from the finance department from ****** telling me that the loan couldn't be completed and I have to bring the car back. I contacted the loan company and they informed me that they never even received paperwork for the vehicle in order to finalize the loan, so the offer expired and was withdrawn. After talking to finance officers at other dealerships, they informed me that within a couple of weeks the paperwork should have been sent to the loan company so everything could be completed. Talk about getting screwed by a dealer. And the dealer expects me to pay 60.00 per day that I had the car and .60 cents per mile driven.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a letter that is notarized stating that I owe nothing on the vehicle they made me bring back and also would like a cheap used vehicle that they took in on trade. Around the 3500.00 range. This will avoid me taking this matter much further into district civil court.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/02/27) */ 02/21/13 We have already spoke to Mr ****** & believe that all of his questions and concerns were properly answered and taken care of on or around the 19th prior to receiving the letter from the BBB. However the information below is what we went over. The concern, "He was under the impression that we did not send the loan documents to the company he received a "pre-approval" from online" We did actually attempt to do business with that lender, however the fee's that the lender were requiring to do business were far to high and we could not utilize their offer. This is why we could not send them the deal. We did explain this to Mr ****** and this is why we tried a different vehicle, in an attempt to find a way for Mr. ******. It is not our desire to have a vehicle out on the road gathering miles without a possible way to finance. Because of this we felt it was not Mr. ******'s fault that the lender required such high fee's to do business that we could not use the approval. Mr. ****** didn't even know that they had such fee's. When Mr. ****** voiced his concern about the usage fee's that could be charged per day and per mile that he used it. I explained "how can we hold him responsible for something he had no control over?" He was under the impression that there was an approval and so did we. "That's why we allowed him to take the vehicle." We had no intentions on charging Mr. ****** for the usage because of the circumstances. Once I explained that to Mr. ****** he was pleased and set up a time to come sign a contract rescission and something that stated he had no outstanding balance due to ******. He then stated once that was done, he would like to see if there was something he could buy that was relatively cheap and that he could just pay cash for, I told him that we would see if there was something in our inventory that would work once he got here. Mr ****** has since missed 2 appointments to complete this transaction. We have already told Mr. ****** that we had no intentions on charging him before we received the letter from the Better business Bureau! We left a couple messages with him since to finalize this matter, it is now in Mr. ******'s hands to "just show up" so we can. Thank you for the opportunity so share this information.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased an SUV and have had nothing but trouble for the last 7 months. We can't get them to stand behind their sale. We purchased a 2005 Suburban in April of this year (2012) through a salesman named **** at ******, with an added warranty required by the lender, covering 20,000 miles. The day after the purchase I noticed 2 loud noises from the rear of the vehicle, and immediately returned to the dealership. One noise was the muffler, and the other was the Autoride compressor. They assured me that the compressors make that much noise, and I believed them (because I had no reason not to). They attempted to repair the muffler issue (a bracket or something) once or twice and then eventually replaced it at their expense, which I had to request. Within a few weeks or a month, I had a Service Airbag light appear. Presumably they fixed that on my dime ($90 something), but the light returned a month or so later, supposedly they fixed it again. About 5 months after the purchase there was a warning light to Service Ride Control, which turned out to be the compressor for the Autoride, it had died, and they wanted me to pay $800 or more to fix it, even though it was faulty from day 1. On top of that, now less than 7 months from the date of purchase we are looking at a transmission leak and a water pump that is cracked and leaking anti-freeze. I feel like this vehicle was sold under false descriptions and that it is not 100% safe or reliable for my family to ride in, but the dealer has been evasive to say the least.

Desired Settlement: I would like the repairs to be completed in a timely manner at their expense, or a comparable vehicle offered for trade at no additional cost. I believe that their actions were unfair and that they falsely represented the vehicle that they sold to me. I traded a brand new smaller SUV that had no issues for this Suburban, I expected to receive the same type of honesty and quality. On an additional note: this is the SECOND vehicle that we have purchased from them that had issues within the first month following the purchase.

Consumer Response: Consumer request for complaint closed resolved

To Whom It May Concern:

I recently submitted a complaint against Ghent Chevrolet (Ghent Motors) on the Better Business Bureau's website. At the time of my complaint I did not feel that I had received fair service from the dealership regarding my vehicle purchase.

However, they have agreed to assist me and repair the component that I complained about, out of generosity, as they had no responsibility to do so.

Therefore, I wish to amend my complaint or withdrawal my complaint from the BBB for Ghent. I am pleased with their response and appreciate all that they have done for us.

Any further information or questions regarding the initial complaint or this email, please don't hesitate to contact me:
*******@hotmail.com or ###-###-####


Sincerely,
******* ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/24/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/9/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/30/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues