Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Fort Collins Dodge Chrysler Jeep

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 226-5340 Fax: (970) 266-8719 View Additional Phone Numbers 3835 S College Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80525 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fort Collins Dodge Chrysler Jeep meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fort Collins Dodge Chrysler Jeep include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Fort Collins Dodge Chrysler Jeep
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 25, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1987 Business started locally: 01/01/1987 Business incorporated 02/12/2009 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Auto Division-CO
140 W 6th Ave Rm 109, Denver CO 80204
Phone Number: (303) 205-5696

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Michael Downey, Vice President Mr. Steve Hardy, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Downey, Vice President
Customer Contact: Mr. Steve Hardy, General Manager
Business Category

Car Dealerships Used Car Dealerships Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service

Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service Research Key in Buying New Vehicle

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Fort Collins Dodge Chrysler Jeep has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3701 S College Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80525

  • 3835 S College Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (800) 933-5340 (970) 226-5340

  • 3870 Byrd Dr

    Loveland, CO 80538 (970) 267-5072


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my vehicle to this dealership a number of times to fix. Each time, they kept my vehicle for extended periods of time without contacting me in a timely manner. Each time they said they fixed it, however, I continued to have the same problems with the vehicle, except for the first time they did repairs. I requested they address the following issues: - Cruise control kept cutting out on the highway - Sometimes when I would punch the gas the RPM's would go up but it wouldn't accelerate and it was shuddering - Lack of power - I purchased front and rear oxygen sensors from the dealership and paid for installation from the dealership - I also requested they fix my rear end because it was shuddering, and the dealership insisted that it was not my rear end and that it was something else. I asked them to do the rear end three times. The first two times they said it was something else, on one occassion ***** told me it was my transmission but *** said it wasn't. The third time I took it in they said it was the rear end and would replace it (that they would rebuild the entire rear end). Once it was completed, they said some parts looked good, so they did not change them. Prior to this, each time I took my vehicle in, they insisted it was something else and billed me for other work that was unnecessary, as each time I got it back after repairs I continued to have the same issues. Before having the rear end done, I had the sensors installed. When I picked it up after having the rear end done, I found my vehicle had been vandalized with dings and dents. When I talked to the dealership they repaired the dings and dents, after the General Manager, *** ***** looked at it. After the vandalism I decided I would not return due to the vandalism and the continueous failure to correctly diagnos the problem/s. Up until that point I was going to them, not only because the repairs were under warranty but also becuase I thought they knew what they were doing because it was a dealerhsip and are supposed to know a ***** better than anyone. They never addressed any of my problems. Among the times they had my vehicle the following occured: One one occassion they kept my vehicle for 5 weeks, another time for 3 weeks, and another time for over a week, and each time I was left without transportation. I was taking my vehicle to the dealership from November 2013 to November 2014. Recently, it broke down in my driveway and I had it towed to another establishment to be fixed. As I read the repair receipt, they found the following: Spark plugs were dripping with fuel, vehicle is severly flooded. Need to replace spark plugs, found 2 ignition wires installed incorrectly, causing the firing order to be wrong. The computer is adding 35% more fuel due to faulty oxygen sensors. I was forced to replace both the front and rear oxygen sensors and my spark plugs. When I talked with the manager at the dealership regarding the issue and gave them copies of the information of the work I had to have done at the other establishment. He said it was "bullshit" and would was not going to honor anything.

Desired Settlement: I would like the dealership to pay for the additional parts and work I was forced to have done by the other establishment.

Business Response: The vehicle is an extremely high mileage ******* in poor condition. We have worked with Mr. ****** over the last year performing various repairs at his direction to attempt to improve the reliability of the vehicle. The issue for which Mr. ****** is requesting a reimbursement for may well have been covered by a ******** warranty valid at the ******** Dealer of his choice. We did not find a repair order documenting the installation of genuine ******** replacement parts. However, if Mr. ****** had purchased these parts from a ******** Dealer which we installed, this repair would have been done at no charge to him other than the cost and installation of the spark plugs. Because he chose to take the vehicle to an independent service facility and not use the ******** warranty available we cannot issue a reimbursement.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I am insulted by this response! Wondering what happened to, "You have a great running vehicle from front to back, top to bottom." I took my vehicle to the ***** dealership because I believed they were the best and would know how to fix a ***** better than anyone else. ***** ******** **** worked on my vehicle for months, always trying to figure out why I was lacking power. They continuously charged me for unnecessary parts and repairs that did not fix the problem. At the same time I was having a shuttering problem. I told them it was my rear end and asked them to fix it. They always told me it was something else. On one occasion ***** told me it was my transmission, which would cost me $4000, however, *** told me there was nothing wrong with the transmission. The last time I took my vehicle to this dealership I bought front and rear sensors and paid for them to install them. I recently found out that these were installed incorrectly which caused other problems. Also, the last time they had my vehicle it was vandalized. I did not feel comfortable returning to this dealership after that, as the vandalism occurred while in their care. I even made a police report. I lost my faith in dealerships due to the way I was treated and the poor work that was done at this dealership. I called some other dealerships, however, they all knew the people at this dealership, which did not ease my comfort about going to another ***** dealership. I have *** and they towed my *** recently and I used one of their preferred mechanics, they were able to correctly diagnose the problem, now my vehicle has power and is running the best it's ever run. I have every receipt from the ***** dealership detailing the work that was done, including the parts and labor I paid for. I paid an outrageous amount of money to this ***** dealership over the time I took my vehicle to them. All I want is what's right, due to this experience I don't feel comfortable going to another dealership, particularly due to the vandalism and the incorrect installation of simple parts, and because people at other dealerships know ***. I am concerned about continuing to have issues if I take it to a dealership. I have other warranties from the work this dealership did and am concerned about not being able to use them due to this experience.


*** ******

Business Response: Unfortunately, I cannot reimburse Mr. ****** for repairs that he had performed at another service center. His vehicle had over 200,000 miles and with that age of vehicle there are many items that need attention. Mr. ****** claims that his vehicle was "vandalized while at our dealership. He pointed out 2-3 minor dings that probably did not occur while in our shop but in the interest of customer satisfaction I had them repaired to his satisfaction.

***** *****

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I am wondering about the kinds of records this business keeps. When my girlfriend takes her car the the ***** dealership, they know exactly how many miles the car had when it was taken in because they keep good records. ***** ***** may be confused about which vehicle he is talking about, my ******* doesn't have anywhere near 200,000, they would know this if they were a reputable business. If they thought my vehicle needed too much work, they should have been upfront with me from the beginning, instead they continued to take my money and keep my ******* for extended periods of time. Also, when I asked if they had security lights and camaras at their business after my vehicle was vandalized, ***** ***** told me they did not have security camaras. After that I did not feel comfortable returning my vehicle to that place of business. Additionally, the security light in my ******* has been going off since June, I spoke with ***** about this multiple times. I was told many time it had been fixed, however, I continue to have the same problem. I also did not feel comfortable taking any vehicle back to them when they couldn't even fix that light.


*** ******

3/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my truck in for repairs. It was leaking anti-freeze. It ended up needing a new heater hose. They fixed the repair and we picked up our vehicle after service center was closed. Once we got into the vehicle the back passenger door panel and door handle had been taken off by this repair shop and left on the floor board/back seat. Now the power lock and window does not work which did when we left it there for repairs. We went in to talk to someone about it since it was not like this when it was dropped off and the gentlemen said there is nothing they can do about it cause he doesn't work in the service department. We left called Chrysler to make sure we didn't need to have someone look at it before we drove 300 miles home. Eventually we got it arranged with this dealership to take it to our local Chrysler Dealership to diagnose the situation. Before getting our truck into our local dealership for the appointment to diagnose the door our truck started to leak anti-freeze again. We took it in to our local dealership and the repair work done wasn't tightened enough which caused the leaking. Our local dealership had discovered that the wire harness had been cut and that's why the Power lock and window are not working. The dealership doesn't know why our door was taken apart during repairs and could care less that the power lock and window does not work that will now cost several hundred dollars to fix. They refuse to do anything to compusate us for their mistake not even an apology!!! It's not right to take your vehicle in for repair work and get several hundred dollars of damage done to it by their service crew and for them to not do the right thing and fix THEIR MISTAKE!!!!

Desired Settlement: To fix the door so the power lock and window fix. And repayment that was made to our local dealership to diagnose the vehicle for a mistake that was made by this dealership during repair work.

Business Response: The vehicle was brought to us to repair an antifreeze leak. When the truck was brought in the shop the technician rolled down the windows to avoid locking the keys in the vehicle. The leak was diagnosed and repaired as coming from the hose to the heater core at the back of the engine. The service advisor was informed that the driver's side rear window would not go back up. The next day the advisor checked the master control switch to see if there was a loose connection. He discovered that the master control panel was not fixed in place. After checking the connections the window rolled back up. At no time did the tech ar advisor remove the door panel.

We also contacted the current repair facility that has examined the truck for the coolant leak and they told us that it is a totally different leak at the front of the engine.

We decline any assistance at this time as the new repair is different from the repair performed by us and we did not remove the door panel.

***** ***** 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: The back passenger door panel was too taken off at your repair facility. Door panel, door handle & bolts were laying in the back seat when we picked up the vehicle. Now the window and lock does not work on this door and we've never had a problem with it until we picked up our vehicle from you servicing it. We went it to the dealership to notify a manager of the issue and we were told it's the service departments problem and they were closed. It was not like this when we dropped it off at this repair facility for the leak. We worked it out with your facility to take it to our local dealership to diagnose the door and the antifreeze leak. They fixed the leak at no charge and they told us that it was the clamps that were not tight enough on the heater hose that you repaired. They contacted you guys to make arrangements to fix the door and you refused responsibility. They did charge us $63.00 to diagnose this door that was taken apart at your repair facility.  

I don't understand how its right to take your vehicle in for a repair and pick it up to find that the door panel, door knob and bolts had been disassembled and that your windows and locks no longer work on that door.


******* ******

Business Response: I have talked to the tech again that worked on your truck as well as the advisor and Service Mgr. All have denied taking off the door panel. I am certainly not saying that the door panel was not off I just can't confirm that it was done here. The problem with the window not functioning properly has been an issue on the trucks but the problem is in the wiring harness which is NOT behind the panel. If the tech had been aware of the problem he would have inspected the harness which does not require the removal of the panel. That being said the tech has offered to repair the problem without charging you any labor. You would only be responsible for any parts necessary to complete the repair. If you wish to have this done let me know and I will be happy to schedule the repair appointment.


8/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my 2006 Elantra from the Lithia Hyundai Dealership in Fort Collins in 2008. It was sold as a "Certified Used Car" and still has the 10 year warranty in effect. When I purchased my car, I was also given lifetime oil changes from the dealership. After my last oil change I was told that I would need to replace the oil pan at my next oil change. I was confused why I would need a new oil pan; my car had NEVER leaked oil. I was told that several oil changes ago, the dealership mechanic had "stripped out the old bolt" and replaced it with an "oversized bolt". However this time, they couldn't get "a good seal" on the oversized bolt and now it was going to cost me over $400 to repair. The next day, I noticed a HUGE OIL SPILL under my car. I called the dealership service department to report it and they told me that was because they couldn't get a good seal on the bolt. I was shocked at the amount of oil that had leaked out and cringed at the thought if I had waited 3 months or 3,000 mi for my new oil pan! The service department told me this was a typical repair, even though I don't know a SINGLE person who has had to have it done. Especially, on a car less than 10 years old. Now, I must pay for a mistake the dealership themselves made. They refused to acknowledge that this repair is their fault (even though they admitted their mechanic stripped the first bolt and somehow stripped the second as well). They would not even give me a discount or help pay for the damage. I am especially disappointed in the service I have received and the now pricey repair I have to make due to their mistake. Now, I have to add oil to my car every other day and keep spare quarts in my car. I have never had another garage change the oil or make repairs on this car, but you better believe I'm not going to give them the business for this repair. Product_Or_Service: Oil Change

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I believe the correct thing to do, is to have the dealership reimburse me for the $400 oil pan repair.

Business Response:

Ms. **********,

I apologize for the experience at our Hyundai dealership. I will try to explain the situation and then make you an offer to resolve the situation.

When your oil is changed the mechanic removes the steel drain plug from the aluminum oil pan and then replaces the drain plug. Because the oil pan is aluminum the threads will sometimes wear out over time. If the drain plug is over tightened it can also strip the threads on the oil pan. I do not know if your situation was caused because it was over tightened or due to the fatigue of the aluminum threads. Either way since in our history I have confirmed that you have indeed had all of your oil changes done in our shop I will be glad to replace the oil pan 100% at our cost. We value your business and certainly want to retain your business.

Please call me when it is convienient to have this repair performed and I will get everything arranged. I would appreciate a few2 days notice so I can verify that we have the correct part in stock.

Steve Hardy

General Manager

Crossroads Hyundai

**** ************

7/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: They damaged the dashboard of my vehicle while attempting a repair. While attempting to alleviate a rattle noise in my dashboard, the technician damaged the bezel near the radio. It appears he used a screwdriver to remove a coin tray to gain access to screws/bolts that hold the bezel in place. I took my truck to another local Dodge dealer (Greeley)where they inspected this damage and agreed that it was unacceptable. Fort Collins Dodge has declined to repair the damage that they caused during the course of my repair. I have pictures of the damage and Greeley Dodge even tried to broker a repair deal with Fort Collins Dodge on my behalf with no success.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to replace the damaged part. Shouldn't cost them a lot. I had a very bad service experience with them so I'm sure this is a retaliatory move on their part since I gave them a bad score on the service survey with Chrysler Corp.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/07/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Gen Mgr Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ****** I have visited with both the Service Manager and the Service Advisor that was involved and they do not recall this issue. Our policy is that if we damage anything we repair or replace it. Please have Mr. ****** see me so I can see the damaged part and I will get the matter taken care of. I would also like to know whom Mr. ****** or Greeley Dodge talked with that denied to resolve this issue