Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Fort Collins Dodge Chrysler Jeep

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 226-5340 Fax: (970) 266-8719 3835 S College Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80525 http://www.fortcollinsdcj.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fort Collins Dodge Chrysler Jeep meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Fort Collins Dodge Chrysler Jeep include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Fort Collins Dodge Chrysler Jeep
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 25, 2009 Business started: 02/12/2009 in CO Business started locally: 01/01/1987 Business incorporated 02/12/2009 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Auto Division-CO
140 W 6th Ave Rm 109, Denver CO 80204
Phone Number: (303) 205-5696

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Downey, Vice President Mr. Scott Carter, Office Mgr Mr. Steve Hardy, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Downey, Vice President
Customer Contact: Mr. Steve Hardy, General Manager
Business Category

Car Dealerships Used Car Dealerships Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair

Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service Research Key in Buying New Vehicle

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Fort Collins Dodge Chrysler Jeep has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3701 S College Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80525

  • 3835 S College Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (970) 226-5340

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/16/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Presented with a specific list of options/colors to the dealership, was told the ONLY jeep that had what I requested and matched my budget was located in **********. Signed the financing papers and provided down payment on Friday, February 5th at 100 pm. Was told the vehicle would be available for pick up Saturday, February 6th at 1000 am. Upon arriving at the dealership, keys to my trade were taken, and after waiting for approximately an hour, was told that a $3500 stereo was now in the jeep, and although dealership was willing to 'help' with the cost, the rest was mine. The XM portion of the stereo didn't work, dealership pointed me towards a **** **** ** *** *******, who had installed the stereo. The missing module was $200 in order for XM to work. I feel as if this dealership performed a bait/switch on the vehicle I wanted, and was made to feel like I had no other option than to buy it, even though I was very clear on options/budget I had. In attempting to contact management at the dealership, have left 2 messages with no response. The salesman I originally dealt with, James, has been very condescending towards me when expressing concern/questions about not only being ripped off on the XM module, but at the time of the initial sale, and mechanical issues.

Desired Settlement: The original window sticker showed the vehicle was equipped with XM radio, which was one of the few options I had listed. Would like $200 or the module to be repaired in the ****** that the dealership decided to throw in to increase the price of the vehicle.

Business Response:

***** ***** ***** ***************************************** *** ***** ***** ********************** ***** **** *** ** **** ** **** ** ******** *** ****

Marcy,
I have contacted Lori and we have agreed to install the necessary module for her to be able to receive XM radio. She told me that she is very happy. The installation will occur at her home on Thursday.
 
Steve

1/15/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They sold me a car with body damage they did not disclose on any paperwork

Desired Settlement: For them to fix it or take money off the price of the car

Business Response:

I have contacted ****** and he is going to bring the vehicle by for me to inspect. 

12/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have purchased many ****s from this dealership over the last 10 years. We currently own a 2014 Diesel, **** ***** ******** that has been in the shop fourteen (14) times since February 2014. Each and every time we have called to make a service appointment at this dealership we have been told there is at least a month wait for a service appointment. While I certainly realize that service departments at **** dealerships are more busy than normal, it is unacceptable to buy a $50,000 car and then have to wait over a month for any service needs that come up, which happen to be almost endless with respect to this ****. Because of the total unavailability for service at this dealership, we have been taking our **** to another dealership in the area. Unfortunately, with the latest problem, our **** would not even shift out of first gear so we were forced to take it to this dealership. We have never, ever seen service this bad. On our other vehicles, it is no problem to get a service appointment (might have to wait up to a week for an appointment). I wish that the long wait time for service was my only complaint. However, the service advisor Melissa at this dealership has been incredibly unprofessional and outright rude to both my wife and myself. This last time we brought our **** in (on a Saturday), we were told that there were several ****s ahead of us and that they would call us during the next week with an update. We were never called. When I called on Thursday or Friday of the next week, I spoke to Melissa. I explained that over the last year we have been without our **** for extended periods of time (up to 30 days) and that I would really appreciate a tentative time-frame on when our Jepp would be looked at and/or fixed. Melissa refused to give me any sort of time estimate and acted like she could care less that I was, again, out of our vehicle. Finally she let it slip in a roundabout way that the wait was going to be at least 30-45 days before they could look at it!!!! When my wife dropped the **** off, and when she called to check on it during the next week, no one told us that the wait would be that long, and when the wait is 30-45 days, it certainly seems reasonable that the service advisor would set that expectation and not hide the ball. Like everyone, I've dealt with poor customer service before. However, what drove me to submit this complaint (my first ever) was a specific comment Melissa made to me. After I told her that a wait of 30-45 days to even look at my **** was unacceptable, particularly because we have been without our **** for months over the last year and it has caused us significant hardship due to the fact that both my wife and I commute everyday in opposite directions and have had to share one vehicle, she told me she couldn't do anything at all and that "IT IS A PRIVILEGE TO OWN A CAR, NOT A RIGHT." This is beyond unacceptable. First, our family has purchased well over $150,000 worth of vehicles from this dealership in the last ten years. This is not how you treat a repeat customer (or any customer). In light of all of the problems I have had with my $50,000 ****, a comment like that made my jaw drop. I did have a chance to speak with the manager of the service department, Bob, who was very friendly and offered several explanations for why the service department was so busy. I understood the uptick in traffic for the service department, but something is not right. Aside from explaining why they were so busy, Bob wasn't able to help in any way. We spoke for at least twenty minutes and at the end of the conversation, I was no closer to knowing when my **** would be looked at. People do not buy cars expecting that they will have to wait 30-45 days to even have your car looked at. What makes it worse is that this has been a problem with this dealership for at least a year. Something has to give. The service wait has been this way for well over a year, plenty of time to correct the issue. Viewed objectively, both the wait time and the rude treatment are unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: I need my **** back. ASAP. I do not want another "smooth-talk" phone call; I want the service department to followup with me when they say they will, I want my vehicle to be serviced within a reasonable time, but mostly I just want my **** back so that my wife and I don't have to spend several extra hours each day on the road because of having to share a vehicle.

Business Response:
We are distressed that Mr. ******** has felt it necessary to involve BBB in this concern.

In review of the details of his complaint, it is clear that the root cause of his dissatisfaction is the extended wait time to have his vehicle diagnosed, and ultimately repaired. We freely acknowledge that current wait times to be seen by our **** technicians are at an all-time high. This is not a situation unique to Fort Collins Dodge. In conversations with the other dealers in our market, we are all experiencing the same surge in business. This is largely driven by record **** sales and the current situation regarding the volume of recalls that have plagued our industry of late. We recently added 2 additional technicians to help reduce wait times.

When Mr ******** brought the vehicle to us, the service advisor clearly stated that we would have to work the vehicle in between other customers who had made appointments previously. Additionally, because his ***** ******** is equipped a diesel engine, the wait time could be considerable, as only 2 of our technicians are trained and certified by ******** to perform warranty repairs on that emission system. The service advisor, when pressed for a timeframe as to when the vehicle would be diagnosed, was careful not to set an expectation she could not meet. This is a common point of contention working with the backlog we currently have.

The actual time from when the vehicle was entered into the system to when the diagnostics began was eight business days. The condition present in Mr ********** vehicle is addressed in a recent service bulletin published by ********. The technician performed the procedures outlined in this bulletin on 11/25/2015. The installation of the revised software however has not resolved the concern. The technician is working with engineers at ******** to determine a course of action. Time of completion cannot be determined currently. Mr ******** has spoken with our service manager who has indicated he will contact ******** on his behalf and request a rental vehicle be provided for a predetermined time while repairs progress.

We are most definitely sensitive  to the extensive amount repairs that have been performed by the other dealer in the area, and the time Mr ******** has been out of his vehicle. We must, however, follow established repair procedures as outlined by the New Vehicle Warranty. We will assist the customer in every way possible to help resolve the issues in a timely manner.

Sincerely,

Steve H****
General Manager
Fort Collins Dodge

2/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my vehicle to this dealership a number of times to fix. Each time, they kept my vehicle for extended periods of time without contacting me in a timely manner. Each time they said they fixed it, however, I continued to have the same problems with the vehicle, except for the first time they did repairs. I requested they address the following issues: - Cruise control kept cutting out on the highway - Sometimes when I would punch the gas the RPM's would go up but it wouldn't accelerate and it was shuddering - Lack of power - I purchased front and rear oxygen sensors from the dealership and paid for installation from the dealership - I also requested they fix my rear end because it was shuddering, and the dealership insisted that it was not my rear end and that it was something else. I asked them to do the rear end three times. The first two times they said it was something else, on one occassion ***** told me it was my transmission but *** said it wasn't. The third time I took it in they said it was the rear end and would replace it (that they would rebuild the entire rear end). Once it was completed, they said some parts looked good, so they did not change them. Prior to this, each time I took my vehicle in, they insisted it was something else and billed me for other work that was unnecessary, as each time I got it back after repairs I continued to have the same issues. Before having the rear end done, I had the sensors installed. When I picked it up after having the rear end done, I found my vehicle had been vandalized with dings and dents. When I talked to the dealership they repaired the dings and dents, after the General Manager, *** ***** looked at it. After the vandalism I decided I would not return due to the vandalism and the continueous failure to correctly diagnos the problem/s. Up until that point I was going to them, not only because the repairs were under warranty but also becuase I thought they knew what they were doing because it was a dealerhsip and are supposed to know a ***** better than anyone. They never addressed any of my problems. Among the times they had my vehicle the following occured: One one occassion they kept my vehicle for 5 weeks, another time for 3 weeks, and another time for over a week, and each time I was left without transportation. I was taking my vehicle to the dealership from November 2013 to November 2014. Recently, it broke down in my driveway and I had it towed to another establishment to be fixed. As I read the repair receipt, they found the following: Spark plugs were dripping with fuel, vehicle is severly flooded. Need to replace spark plugs, found 2 ignition wires installed incorrectly, causing the firing order to be wrong. The computer is adding 35% more fuel due to faulty oxygen sensors. I was forced to replace both the front and rear oxygen sensors and my spark plugs. When I talked with the manager at the dealership regarding the issue and gave them copies of the information of the work I had to have done at the other establishment. He said it was "bullshit" and would was not going to honor anything.

Desired Settlement: I would like the dealership to pay for the additional parts and work I was forced to have done by the other establishment.

Business Response: The vehicle is an extremely high mileage ******* in poor condition. We have worked with Mr. ****** over the last year performing various repairs at his direction to attempt to improve the reliability of the vehicle. The issue for which Mr. ****** is requesting a reimbursement for may well have been covered by a ******** warranty valid at the ******** Dealer of his choice. We did not find a repair order documenting the installation of genuine ******** replacement parts. However, if Mr. ****** had purchased these parts from a ******** Dealer which we installed, this repair would have been done at no charge to him other than the cost and installation of the spark plugs. Because he chose to take the vehicle to an independent service facility and not use the ******** warranty available we cannot issue a reimbursement.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I am insulted by this response! Wondering what happened to, "You have a great running vehicle from front to back, top to bottom." I took my vehicle to the ***** dealership because I believed they were the best and would know how to fix a ***** better than anyone else. ***** ******** **** worked on my vehicle for months, always trying to figure out why I was lacking power. They continuously charged me for unnecessary parts and repairs that did not fix the problem. At the same time I was having a shuttering problem. I told them it was my rear end and asked them to fix it. They always told me it was something else. On one occasion ***** told me it was my transmission, which would cost me $4000, however, *** told me there was nothing wrong with the transmission. The last time I took my vehicle to this dealership I bought front and rear sensors and paid for them to install them. I recently found out that these were installed incorrectly which caused other problems. Also, the last time they had my vehicle it was vandalized. I did not feel comfortable returning to this dealership after that, as the vandalism occurred while in their care. I even made a police report. I lost my faith in dealerships due to the way I was treated and the poor work that was done at this dealership. I called some other dealerships, however, they all knew the people at this dealership, which did not ease my comfort about going to another ***** dealership. I have *** and they towed my *** recently and I used one of their preferred mechanics, they were able to correctly diagnose the problem, now my vehicle has power and is running the best it's ever run. I have every receipt from the ***** dealership detailing the work that was done, including the parts and labor I paid for. I paid an outrageous amount of money to this ***** dealership over the time I took my vehicle to them. All I want is what's right, due to this experience I don't feel comfortable going to another dealership, particularly due to the vandalism and the incorrect installation of simple parts, and because people at other dealerships know ***. I am concerned about continuing to have issues if I take it to a dealership. I have other warranties from the work this dealership did and am concerned about not being able to use them due to this experience.

Regards,

*** ******

Business Response: Unfortunately, I cannot reimburse Mr. ****** for repairs that he had performed at another service center. His vehicle had over 200,000 miles and with that age of vehicle there are many items that need attention. Mr. ****** claims that his vehicle was "vandalized while at our dealership. He pointed out 2-3 minor dings that probably did not occur while in our shop but in the interest of customer satisfaction I had them repaired to his satisfaction.

***** *****

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I am wondering about the kinds of records this business keeps. When my girlfriend takes her car the the ***** dealership, they know exactly how many miles the car had when it was taken in because they keep good records. ***** ***** may be confused about which vehicle he is talking about, my ******* doesn't have anywhere near 200,000, they would know this if they were a reputable business. If they thought my vehicle needed too much work, they should have been upfront with me from the beginning, instead they continued to take my money and keep my ******* for extended periods of time. Also, when I asked if they had security lights and camaras at their business after my vehicle was vandalized, ***** ***** told me they did not have security camaras. After that I did not feel comfortable returning my vehicle to that place of business. Additionally, the security light in my ******* has been going off since June, I spoke with ***** about this multiple times. I was told many time it had been fixed, however, I continue to have the same problem. I also did not feel comfortable taking any vehicle back to them when they couldn't even fix that light.

Regards,

*** ******

3/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my truck in for repairs. It was leaking anti-freeze. It ended up needing a new heater hose. They fixed the repair and we picked up our vehicle after service center was closed. Once we got into the vehicle the back passenger door panel and door handle had been taken off by this repair shop and left on the floor board/back seat. Now the power lock and window does not work which did when we left it there for repairs. We went in to talk to someone about it since it was not like this when it was dropped off and the gentlemen said there is nothing they can do about it cause he doesn't work in the service department. We left called Chrysler to make sure we didn't need to have someone look at it before we drove 300 miles home. Eventually we got it arranged with this dealership to take it to our local Chrysler Dealership to diagnose the situation. Before getting our truck into our local dealership for the appointment to diagnose the door our truck started to leak anti-freeze again. We took it in to our local dealership and the repair work done wasn't tightened enough which caused the leaking. Our local dealership had discovered that the wire harness had been cut and that's why the Power lock and window are not working. The dealership doesn't know why our door was taken apart during repairs and could care less that the power lock and window does not work that will now cost several hundred dollars to fix. They refuse to do anything to compusate us for their mistake not even an apology!!! It's not right to take your vehicle in for repair work and get several hundred dollars of damage done to it by their service crew and for them to not do the right thing and fix THEIR MISTAKE!!!!

Desired Settlement: To fix the door so the power lock and window fix. And repayment that was made to our local dealership to diagnose the vehicle for a mistake that was made by this dealership during repair work.

Business Response: The vehicle was brought to us to repair an antifreeze leak. When the truck was brought in the shop the technician rolled down the windows to avoid locking the keys in the vehicle. The leak was diagnosed and repaired as coming from the hose to the heater core at the back of the engine. The service advisor was informed that the driver's side rear window would not go back up. The next day the advisor checked the master control switch to see if there was a loose connection. He discovered that the master control panel was not fixed in place. After checking the connections the window rolled back up. At no time did the tech ar advisor remove the door panel.

We also contacted the current repair facility that has examined the truck for the coolant leak and they told us that it is a totally different leak at the front of the engine.

We decline any assistance at this time as the new repair is different from the repair performed by us and we did not remove the door panel.

***** ***** 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: The back passenger door panel was too taken off at your repair facility. Door panel, door handle & bolts were laying in the back seat when we picked up the vehicle. Now the window and lock does not work on this door and we've never had a problem with it until we picked up our vehicle from you servicing it. We went it to the dealership to notify a manager of the issue and we were told it's the service departments problem and they were closed. It was not like this when we dropped it off at this repair facility for the leak. We worked it out with your facility to take it to our local dealership to diagnose the door and the antifreeze leak. They fixed the leak at no charge and they told us that it was the clamps that were not tight enough on the heater hose that you repaired. They contacted you guys to make arrangements to fix the door and you refused responsibility. They did charge us $63.00 to diagnose this door that was taken apart at your repair facility.  

I don't understand how its right to take your vehicle in for a repair and pick it up to find that the door panel, door knob and bolts had been disassembled and that your windows and locks no longer work on that door.

Regards,

******* ******

Business Response: I have talked to the tech again that worked on your truck as well as the advisor and Service Mgr. All have denied taking off the door panel. I am certainly not saying that the door panel was not off I just can't confirm that it was done here. The problem with the window not functioning properly has been an issue on the trucks but the problem is in the wiring harness which is NOT behind the panel. If the tech had been aware of the problem he would have inspected the harness which does not require the removal of the panel. That being said the tech has offered to repair the problem without charging you any labor. You would only be responsible for any parts necessary to complete the repair. If you wish to have this done let me know and I will be happy to schedule the repair appointment.

***** 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

6 Customer Reviews on Fort Collins Dodge Chrysler Jeep
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart