BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Cowboy Dodge Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Cowboy Dodge Inc

Phone: (307) 634-5887 Fax: (307) 638-1025 1121 E Lincolnway, Cheyenne, WY 82001 http://www.cowboydodge.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cowboy Dodge Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cowboy Dodge Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cowboy Dodge Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 01, 1984 Business started: 07/01/1981 Business started locally: 07/01/1981
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wyoming Department of Transportation
5300 Bishop Blvd, Cheyenne WY 82009
http://dot.state.wy.us
Phone Number: (307) 777-3840

Business Management
Mr. Dennis Cauley, General Mgr/Co Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dennis Cauley, General Mgr/Co Owner
Business Category

Car Dealerships Used Car Dealerships Auto Repair Services

Alternate Business Names
Cowboy Chrysler Jeep Dodge
Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Additional Locations

  • 1121 E Lincolnway

    Cheyenne, WY 82001 (307) 634-5887

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Monday 8/5/13 Car was picked up by tow truck around 10:30 am. Late that day I had a message that the car had been delivered and they would be looking at it.Tuesday 8/6/13 I called around 2:00 pm to see what was going on and I was told by ***** that he was just going to call me. I was told that they had checked the bolts, etc but it appeared to be an internal engine noise and could they drop the oil pan. I told them yes.Wednesday 8/7/13 I called after lunch to see what was going on and was told by ***** that he was just going to call me. I was told that it was rod noises and there was metal in the oil pan and since it was the internal engine they had to file paper work with the warranty department to see if it was going to be a repair or a replacement. ***** had the paper work ready to file and would put it in that afternoon.Thursday 8/8/13 I had to call again to see what was going on. I was told that they were still waiting to hear from the warranty department. I called about 1:00 pm and left a message for the service manager. ****** the service manager called me back when he came back from lunch. I told him what was going on and asked if they provide loaner cars. He told me that they had stopped doing it a couple of years ago because customers kept totaling them. I told him that I needed my car fixed ASAP because it was costing me a fortune for a rental. He began to tell me that it was costing him a fortune to have my car there. It is costing me 110.00 an hour to have the hoist occupied by the car. I told him that I felt I was getting very poor customer service and wanted something done. He kept telling me that he understood and was right there with me. He called me about 4:15 and left a message. I called back and he told me that the warranty department wanted written proof of the oil changes that had been done on the car. I asked if he was kidding. He said that the warranty department wouldnt do anything until they had the documents.Friday 8/9/13 At 7:00 a.m.

Desired Settlement: The dealership had my car for 3 weeks. I would like for them to improve their communication with their customers, I had to initiate all the calls to find out what was going on. They should also provide a loaner car to customers they will have their car for an extended period of time. I would like them to cover the rental car I had during the time they had my car. The total for the rental was $399.22.

Business Response: from: ****** ****** <************@gmail.com>
to: ***** ***** <********************>
date: Fri, Sep 27, 2013 at 12:19 PM
subject: ******* *******
 
Hi *****

Mrs. ******* is correct when she said we had her car for 3 weeks and that we were waiting for the warranty department to ok the repairs. I understand that this is a long time and that Mrs. ******* needed her car back. 

About a year ago Chrysler changed the requirements needed to do major engine and transmission repairs. We now need proof of maintenance and in most cases we have to take pictures of the damaged components.We then send them to the warranty department along with a diagnostic sheet and repair vs assembly price comparison. They then take this information and make a decision as to what type of repair we can do or send a private adjuster to inspect the vehicle.

Again, I agree that we had Mrs. *******s vehicle for 3 weeks, however running through these procedures do take time and the repair itself was very lengthy. I don't feel that we wasted a large amount of time. There is a small amount of time that goes by when the technician does start work on other cars while waiting for the authorization from Chrysler. He then has to finish that car before going back to the previous car.

I would like to try and help Mrs. ******* with some of her rental cost. I noticed that she bought a service contract through her dealer, ****** ****** in ******* *******.
There is a possibility I might get 5 days at $35.00 a day refunded to Mrs. *******. This would total $175.00. What I would need is a copy of the rental invoice  that shows the cost and the days that were rented.

As soon as I get this information I will start the process. 


Thank You
****** ******
Service Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

from: ***** ******* <**********************>
to: ***** ***** <********************>
date: Thu, Oct 3, 2013 at 8:50 PM
subject: RE: Reply

I agree to their offer of 35.00 a day for the rental car.

***** *******
8:50 PM (12 hours ago)
to me
Images are not displayed. Display images below - Always display images from **********************
 
 
 
I agree to their offer of 35.00 a day for the rental car.
***** *******
8:50 PM (12 hours ago)
to me
Images are not displayed. Display images below - Always display images from **********************
 
 
 
I agree to their offer of 35.00 a day for the rental car.

Consumer Response: ***** ***** ******* ************************ *** ***** ***** ********************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** *** *********

I never received a refund.

Business Response: Dear *****

I am very sorry that this issue has not been handled. I am trying to find out how the ball got dropped. I will get with the Chrysler District  Manager on how to start the paperwork for Mrs. ******** request for her rental refund. 

Thank You 

****** ******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   I will await a refund from them.

Regards,

******* *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a brand new 2013 Dodge Ram 3500 from Cowboy Dodge on June 29, 2013. I traded in a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. Last week I received a bill from Cowboy Dodge for over $1800.00 for a back seat and a tailgate for the truck I traded in. I sold them the truck as is. I didn't sign anything saying I would provide a tailgate or back seat. They have harassed me and threatened to send me to collections. They have not provided any signed document saying I would provide parts for a trade in. Also, when I purchased the truck I had a fifth wheel travel trailer with me that I was set to deliver to CA. It was parked in front of the show room in their parking lot. They failed to inform me that the truck I purchased with a prep package ($500.00) for towing did not have any available fifth wheel hitch available to fit it. Because of the prep package I wasn't able to install ANY hitch on it. I was forced to find another driver to pick up the trailer and deliver it. I lost $1400.00. I waited over a month for Ram to send out a modified frame so that I could use a fifth wheel hitch. The dealership offered NO assistance with this. They also said they didn't know you couldn't purchase a hitch for it. They either blatantly lied or they don't know anything about the products they sell. I lost 50% of my business for a month. They offered NO compensation or assistance with this. I am prepared to send them a bill for this. This truck has been in the shop four times for check engine lights coming on. Now they think the transmission is defective and it will be in the shop for 3 weeks because the parts are not available. The front tire is also defective and bulges. I am wondering if instead of sending out bogus bills they would like to assist with this too?

Desired Settlement: Rescind this bill immediately in writing. Cover my lost wages resulting from them withholding known limitations of these trucks after they were released. Ram trucks corporate does have a copy of the letter that went out to all dealerships informing them of the hitch problem. It was sent out well before I purchased mine.

Business Response: Dear *****

We understand Both concerns that Mr. ******* has in reguards to the fifth wheel hitch and the seat and tail gate.

The truck did come with the prep package for towing. With that package an additional accessory is needed to be purchased in order for the hitch to be used. We did not have that part in stock and when we went to order it we found out it was on national back order. This means at this point in time the part is not available. We searched every place in town for something that would work but we were unable to find anything. At this time we called our Chrysler Parts Representative and explained the situation to him. He, through his contacts at Chrysler was able to fined the part we needed. The part was expedited and arrived shortly there after. We apologize to Mr. ******* for the manufacture not having the part needed and for his inconvenience. Please note that parts availability is out of our control. We do have empathy for our customers when this happens.

During the trade in procedure we noticed the back seat and the tailgate were missing. Mr. ******* said he had them in a storage unit in *****. He told us he would drop them off on his next trip through. We waited several weeks and made several calls to Mr. *******  as he had not been back with the seat or tailgate. We then offered to pay for shipping of the seat and tailgate as this would allow  Mr. ******* to incur no cost in bringing the seat and tailgate back. At this time he still would not let us have the seat and tailgate that he originally agreed upon. We then did send a bill to him for the seat and tailgate as we were going to incur the expense of buying them. We have not received payment at this time.

We still feel that we are entitled to the cost of the seat and tailgate,or the seat and tailgate themselves. However we do understand that the back ordered part did cause an issue for Mr. ******* and we do have empathy for him.

At this time we would like to offer a goodwill gesture and except the loss of the seat and the tailgate for the inconvenience. Mr. ******* has been through. 


Sincerely

***** ******
Sales Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 2008 into Cowboy dodge in Cheyenne Wyoming for them to diagnose my vehicle not having any heat inside. I was called and told my radiator was low and my radiator cap was the problem. So I ok'd that repair. They also told me my air filter was bad, my spark plugs were worn , and I needed a fuel system service. All nothing to do with heat issues. Later in the day I was called and was told I needed a new heater core for $690 plus labor. I told them I didn't think so and that I would drive the car and see what happens. I then took the car to my shop , where I work , and flushed out the heater core with water . Lo and behold , I have heat. My wife called Cowboy dodge and asked why they did not offer to flush heater core. She was told it was Illegal to flush out the heater core , that it could cause more problems or come back later with other issues. But they offer coolant system flushes , which last time I checked , the heater core is part of the coolant system. So for $ 185.29 I got a new radiator cap . My wife asked if they would give her half off on an oil change to settle this issue and was told no that we refused the service and it was our problem.

Desired Settlement: I am willing to pay for the diagnosis , for which I was told would not exceed $ 105.00. But because they did not properly diagnose the issue it came in for I would like the difference refunded.

Business Response: from: ****** ****** <**********************>
to: ***** ***** <********************>
date: Fri, Nov 8, 2013 at 11:49 AM
subject: **** *************** *******

Dear *****

After reviewing the customers concern with the technician, assistant service manager and myself, there seems to be a couple of inaccurate points being made.

Mr. ******* said we told him if we replace the radiator cap and add antifreeze to the low radiator level it would fix the problem.  This is incorrect. We told him the radiator level was low, the radiator cap did not pass the pressure test and advised there could be a problem with the heater core. We told him the cap and low coolant needed to be addressed  first before condemning the heater core, as these two items could cause heating issues. There was no direct statement that this was the problem as we would not know until the repairs are completed. After replacing the bad radiator cap, putting the coolant to the proper level, and making sure the cooling system was functioning properly we were able to continue the diagnosis on the heating system. Additional diagnoses showed the heater core plugged.

We called Mr. ******* and told him that he needed a new heater core. He elected for us not to replace the heater core and stated he would drive the car for a few days and see what happens. 

Then a couple of days later I received a call from ******* *******. She was very nice and polite and asked why we didn't offer to flush the heater core. I explained to her the reason that we did not flush it was that we are responsible for the repair. It is our responsibility for a repair to be complete and the vehicle not return for the same problem. The heater core has very tiny passage ways. The possibility of not getting all the dirt and tarnish out and having it plug up again is very possible. I explained to ******* if this would happen they would have been very unhappy and ironically, probably would have accused us of not doing a proper repair the first time. 

I firmly believe that we were clear and correct in our diagnoses and received proper authorization to perform the work we did. I believe there is no justification for a refund on this matter. 

However I will present a goodwill gesture and provide a free oil change for their Jeep Liberty.
Please have them bring this letter in any time before March 1st 2014 and I will honer this offer.  

Thank You
****** ******
Service Manage

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The brakes on my vehicle that I purchased went out two weeks after I purchased it. It was a 2005 but I had a service contract that said they would fix it for $100. I kept record that I called these people 14 times from 9/11/13 to 10/7/13. Two of these calls came from my parents. The new car sales manager told me I needed to speak with the used car manager. The used car manager was the biggest problem. They said he would call me and then he wouldn't or I get told he was outside or on a phone call that was lasting a long time, but yet when my dad called he could get on the phone. This seemed like he knew my name and was avoiding speaking with me. It took 3 weeks to get ***** ********, used car sales manager, on the phone. I finally talked him and he said he would call the next day when the mechanic came in so he could look at my brakes. Never called.I then had my mother call that Monday and ***** was "off". The new car sales manager told my father they would call me the next morning and when they didn't my father called them and they told him they tried to call me. This was however a lie because I have no phone record of it. However, before this I did talk to the mechanic and he said my brakes were at 50 and 70 percent when he looked at my vehicle but when my family friend had time to look at them the brakes were as thin as the thickness of a quarter. This should have never happened even on a used car and if cowboy dodge just looked at it when I called almost a month earlier it would have been a quick fix. Needless to say my friend is fixing it on his own time and I'm not letting those people at cowboy dodge touch my car.

Desired Settlement: Due to Cowboy Dodge never even looking at my vehicle, I would like payment for my brake parts. The cost of my brake pads and rotors were $143.90 and my calipers were $149.01. I have the receipts.

Business Response: from: ****** ****** <**********************>
to: ***** ***** <********************>
date: Fri, Nov 1, 2013 at 4:29 PM
subject: ****** * *****

Dear *****

After reviewing the used car technicians inspection sheet it clearly states that the front brakes have 70% lining left and the rear brakes have 50% lining left. ****** ***** also confirmed this information when she talked to the used car technician and he told her that the brakes were 50% and 70%. 

The New Car Manager, ***** ****** offered to inspect the brakes if she would bring the vehicle in. ***** said she never brought it in. Had she brought the vehicle in the issue could have been resolved.

We pride ourselves in doing a complete job and giving accurate information. If we do make a mistake we will make it right. However, if we can not inspect what is suggested, we are unable to complete that commitment. 

At this time we feel that the paper work and the technicians verbal statement are accurate information as to the condition of the brakes.

Sincerely
****** ******
Service Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: dropped truck off 6/6/2013 at 7pm. Dealer did diagnosis 6/7/2013 & noticed damaged fan belt at 7pm & electrical system damage at 11:30am on 6/8/2013 On 7 **** 2013 we took our 2005 Dodge Ram 2500 Cummins in order for Cowboy Dodge of Cheyenne, WY to diagnose the reason for the motor not running properly. We paid $117.66 for Cowboy Dodge of Cheyenne, WY to do a diagnosis on our truck. We received the following estimate from Cowboy Dodge; #4 injector $890, fuel filter (we just put new one in 1 week ago) $82.45, induction service $362.45, adjust valves $180, air filter 39.95, rear brake pads - rotors - axle seals - cleaner $585.87, exhaust manifold - gaskets - turbo gasket - hardware - miscellaneous $1142.05, tax $194.27, their Grand Total on the estimate...$3,432.04... Our grand total after adding correctly...$3,477.04. After paying $117.66 on 7 **** 2013 for them to diagnose the "motor" issues we were having with our truck (but instead they diagnosed everything else), we picked the truck up in the evening & the fan belt shredded off after driving the truck 2 feet within Cowboy Dodge's lot. Leaving us without a choice, we had to leave the truck at Cowboy Dodge & informed them that the belt was obviously fine before their diagnostics because nothing on their estimate stated that there was anything wrong with it, but they refused to fix it & said that it was old & cracked when we brought it in. They can determine that the air filter needs to be replaced, but the fan belt was not noticed until after it shredded due to their fault for not tightening the belt after they fiddled with it. We had to call a tow company to tow the truck home & after the tow truck driver placed our truck in the yard, I tried to lock the doors, but the horn did not sound like it normally does when you lock the doors with the remote. I contacted Cowboy Dodge & they told me that I could bring the truck back in so they could look at it...Are you serious?! They want us to have our truck towed back to their service center so they can tell us that the door locks were like that when we brought it in, but yet it is not on the estimate or their "diagnoses." ****** search, or go to **************** & search Cowboy Dodge of Cheyenne, WY and you will see their extremely poor ratings... If we had the money, we would sue them, but instead, we have to borrow a family member's vehicle until we can get our truck fixed by anyone other than Cowboy Dodge of Cheyenne, WY. We purchased our 2005 Dodge Ram new in the summer of 2005 from Cowboy Dodge of Cheyenne, WY & have received terrible service from them ever since, especially since our warranty ran out.

Desired Settlement: We want a full refund for their $117.66 diagnosis, the cost to fix the fan belt & any damage it may have caused when it flew off under the hood & the repair of the electrical system that no longer works properly since in Cowboy Dodge of Cheyenne, WY's service center on 6 **** 2013 when we dropped it off after their service center hours (7pm). A total of $2,500.00 in damages, diagnosis & now being without a vehicle until we can bring our 2005 Dodge Ram into a different service center is what we are asking for.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My wife and I have collected the following information about our 2005 Dodge Ram 2500's performance from 6 **** 2013 through today, 17 **** 2013.

The passenger side door locks have been removed and were not replaced properly. The electrical system is not working, i.e. the door locks do not respond to handheld/key ring automatic unlock/lock device, nor to the door lock/unlock switches on the inside of the doors.

The motor was replaced by Dodge due to manufacture defect and therefore the motor that is in the truck only has approximately 60 to 70 thousand miles on it and should still be covered under warranty, but without checking their information, Cowboy Dodge's Service Department informed us that is it not under warranty.

We will be contacting Chrysler Dodge Jeep Corporate Headquarters in order to receive proper care. If it is determined that the motor in our truck is still covered under any warranties, we will seek any and all further services from any other dealership than Cowboy Dodge of Cheyenne, WY.

We have our insurance adjuster inspecting the truck in order to determine fault, if any for damages/negligence while in the care of Cowboy Dodge of Cheyenne, WY.

It seems odd that we were able to drive the truck into Cowboy Dodge's Service department, but after Cowboy Dodge's Service department did their "diagnosis" and we returned to pick our truck up and were unable to drive it off of Cowboy Dodge's lot due to the fan belt completely shredding off within five feet from where the truck had been parked by a service employee of Cowboy Dodge, and therefore we had to have it towed home where it has sat since.

We brought the truck in to have a diagnosis in order to determine why it was running rough, but when we received a call about their "diagnosis" we were never informed that the fan belt, or the tensioner were in need of replacement/repair, but Cowboy Dodge's Service department informed us of everything else that was in need of replacement/repair, i.e., the air filter needed to be replaced and a new fuel filter, so not quite sure how Cowboy Dodge can say that the fan belt was okay when we brought it in, but now it was not.

Everything worked on our truck before we brought it into Cowboy Dodge of Cheyenne, WY's Service Department, but upon picking it up from Cowboy Dodge, it has been inoperable and in turn has forced us into bowering vehicles from family and friends in order to get back and forth to work and School.

Your offer of, "As a good will gesture," "labor free of charge" if we pay for the parts is an insult and unacceptable.

****** Cowboy Dodge of Cheyenne, WY and you will see that your ratings are incredibly poor. We wish that we would have checked with the BBB before allowing Cowboy Dodge to work on our truck.

Upon receiving the insurance adjuster's findings will determine any further actions.

We are not satisfied with your findings and find that you are completely unaware of any "diagnosis" done on our truck due to the fact that the diagnosis was "performed" by another services employee and unless you stood over that service employee while he diagnosed our truck, you do not, and cannot say without a doubt that the service employee was not negligent while diagnosing the problem with our truck. We did not find your name on the diagnosis, nor was it on the estimate.

We are not satisfied with your "good will gesture" and we will continue to seek further compensation.


Respectfully,
**** and **** *******

Business Response: from: ****** ****** <************@*********>
to: ***** ***** <********************>
date: Thu, Jun 20, 2013 at 10:17 AM
subject: Mr. *******

Dear *****,

I can understand that Mr. ******* has concerns about his trucks mechanical issues,however it is a 2005 and has 125000 miles on it. I am sure there has been,currently is, and will be issues in the future that he will have to deal with. We are now dealing with the current situation which he brought his vehicle in for and that was runs rough and no power. We should not cloud the issue with door lock or electrical problems. These are not related to his concern nor did we do or address any electrical issues.

Mr. ******* does have a legitimate question as to if he had warranty on his engine. We did put a remanufactured engine in his truck on 7-6-2009. At that time he had 59,869 miles. The warranty on the remanufactured engine is 6 months/unlimited miles. The fuel injectors are the same 6 months/unlimited miles. (copies of the warranties are provided--via fax). His manufactured diesel warranty expired on 7-26-2012. Mr. ******* is welcome to call and check with Chrysler if he like. This is what he will find out.

Mr. ******* is also correct in that I personally did not diagnose his truck. That is why my diagnostic statement came from the technicians own writing on the work order that he had while working on Mr. *******s truck. Those are his facts.

I already addressed Mr. *******'s belt concern in the last response paragraph 4.

I still feel that we are not responsible for a aging, high mileage truck, either now or in the future.
My goodwill gesture still stands if Mr. ******* wishes to take advantage of it.


Sincerely (Warranty on Engine and Fuel Injector - *******.pdf)</********************></************@*********>

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Dear Mr. ******,
We will once again decline your "good-will" offer, and continue working with our Insurance Company and Attorney.
Let us ask you one question Mr. ******, "Would you go back to eat at a restaurant after you received food poisoning two times?" It is the same as you asking us to bring our truck back into your shop... and we all know that is never going to happen.
Yes, we have contacted Chrysler Corporation and received all of the information that we were seeking on the new engine's warranty. While voicing our opinions with Chrysler Corp., we were offered to file a complaint against Cowboy Dodge of Cheyenne, WY and felt it absolutely vital to do so.
The complaint that we filed with Chrysler had nothing to do with the motor's/engine's warranty, but had everything to do with the incredibly poor, or for better words, lack of Customer Service that Cowboy Dodge of Cheyenne, WY's service department provided us.
The truck body may have many miles, but the engine has 60-65k miles on it. When we brought the truck in for a "diagnosis", there was not one thing wrong with the electrical system, nor the fan belt and it's motor, but both of these severely malfunctioned upon trying to leave your dealership's parking lot in which resulted in our truck having to be towed home.
Mr. ******, you state that the truck is old and will need more repairs as it gets older, but when your service representative contacted us with a "diagnosis" on what "repairs" our truck needed, he mentioned a fuel pump. I am sure my laughter caught your service rep. off guard at first, but I believe he understood why I laughed when I mentioned that the fuel pump was replaced two days prior to bringing our truck in to Cowboy Dodge's Service Dept. for the "diagnosis." Another item mentioned in the "repair" list was brakes. We would like to know why Cowboy Dodge's Service Dept. diagnosed these items, but states they did not diagnose the electrical system, or fan belt and its motor. So Mr. ******, your statement about not "diagnosing" the electrical system, or fan belt and it's motor because it was not the reason for the initial "diagnosis" seems to just be a failed attempt at placing blame elsewhere.
Please read up on all the complaints that your dealership has received and you will be sure to find that almost all of them are against your "service department's" negligence, incompetence and lack of Customer Service.
We will continue to seek proper compensation.
Respectfully,
The *******'s

Consumer Response: from: * * *********************
to: "********************" <********************>
date: Tue, Jul 9, 2013 at 10:05 AM
subject: BBB case #********

Hello Ms. *****,
We are writing to you about our outstanding case against Cowboy Dodge of Cheyenne, WY. We have been working with our insurance company, USAA along with a diesel mechanic who has determined that Cowboy Dodge was negligent while they were diagnosing our 2005 2500 Dodge Ram. We will be receiving our 2005 2500 Dodge Ram back in about a week and were informed by the diesel mechanic that it is recommended to replace the entire engine because Cowboy Dodge of Cheyenne did not replace the injectors they removed correctly, therefore severely damaging the motor. Once we receive the final report from the diesel mechanic we would be more than happy to forward it to you in an e-mail, or fax. We ask that you please hold off on closing this case until we have all the findings from our insurance and mechanic in hand. We will file suit against Cowboy Dodge of Cheyenne, WY as soon as all findings are released to us.

Thank you for your attention in this matter and please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions, or concerns.

Respectfully,

**** & **** *******
**** ******** ****
********* ** *****
***** ********
*******************</********************></*******************>

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

BBB Comments: Business Response:
from: ****** tanner to: ***** ***** date: Thu, Jun 13, 2013 at 12:23 PM subject: **** ******* ****** ****** ***** ** ** **** **** In response to Mr. ******** concern are the following facts. On 6-7-13 our service department diagnosed a runs rough and no power on acceleration at any speed. This is the concern in which Mr. ******* asked us to address. Our technician did the following procedure to address this concern. Brought vehicle into the shop and removed the valve cover. He then ohm checked the injectors and found the #4 injector was bad. After finding out what was causing the customers prime concern he suggested maintenance based on the high mileage and also some other needed repairs he noticed. The service writer then called Mr. ******* and informed him of the cost of the prime concern,the suggested maintenance and repair's he had noticed. Mr. ******* declined everything. When Mr. ******* came to pick up his truck he was driving around the shop and stopped before leaving the lot. He came in and all the service staff had left for the evening so he gave the keys to our wash bay person. The next morning the service writer had another truck technician (we rotate technicians on Saturdays,original technician was not working) take a look at the truck. He found that the belt tensioner had failed and the belt had come off. The tensioner was not noticed when suggesting repairs as it is located under the air box and between the engine and radiator. It is not an everyday failure and would not be addressed as regular maintenance. On the original diagnose we took off the valve cover. At no time during that procedure or when looking the truck over for needs did we touch the tensioner or belt. I understand how it looks to Mr. *******, however in no way is Cowboy Dodge responsible for his tensioner failure. As a good will gesture Cowboy Dodge will install the belt and tensioner labor free of charge if Mr. ******* will pay for the parts. Sincerely ****** ****** Service Manager

4/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am trying to cancel my GAP and Service Contract. I am still waiting for the paperwork. I contacted ****, at Cowboy Dodge, over three weeks ago. I provided him with my odometer reading and address and he was supposed to mail the paperwork to cancel my GAP and Service contract. I still haven't received the paperwork in the mail. I have sent several e-mails and called several times and I haven't received any response. I called ******, the manager from Cowboy Dodge, a few days ago. He said he would have **** call me by the next day. I still haven't received a response.

Desired Settlement: I need the paperwork to cancel my service and GAP insurance. As time goes by, I will receive less and less of a refund. It has already been over 3 weeks and I still don't have the paperwork needed to cancel the service and GAP insurance.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/04) */ Business Response to a Complaint Complaint ID#: XXXXXXXX Company Name: cowboy dodge inc Company Contact: ****** *********** Company Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Company Email: *****@hotmail.com Person Who Sent the Complaint: ms ****** ****** Staff Member: Response: Initially I understood I was to fax it. I recieved an e-mail without a fax#. I have no business e-mail so I only check my personal e-mails intermittantly. unfortuanatly I didnt see the subsuquent e-mials days later. I have since mailed out the information. My most sincere apologies for the delay. ****** Sent on: 4/1/XXXX X:36:49 PM

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Work done on car taken for repair was done on time but was overcharged for work done. My 2005 Dodge Magnum was scheduled for January 7th, 2013 it was brought in and anylized as directed by me the owner. I received a phone call from service explaining their findings. I agreed to all but the the new radiator that was recommended. It was brought to my attention it had a leak. I declined the new radiator which was fine with them. I picked up my car later that afternoon. I paid for the repair which involved some labor and one gallon of prestone for 331.73. I thought it was high then. I left and put my efforts into fixing my leaky radiator. Some high quality stop leak fixed it. I drove it 100 miles the next day and the small leak was fixed. Upon review of the bill, I was charged 95.00 or one hour of labor for a code reader to read codes, something autoparts stores do for free. even a 25.00 fee would have been acceptable. a one hour fee of 95.00 to pressure test the cooliing system and pour some anti-freeze into the cooling system is a laugh.The prestone they used was 22.95. The best prestone is between 12.00 and 14.00. I've done it myself as a mechanic and that would have taken all of 15 minutes or less. Another charge of 25.00 would have been acceptable. They did put an emergency brake handle on for free that they said would have been a 57.00 charge. One plus for them. I returned to the dealership of Cowboy Dodge and complained to the service department to Cecil Hugie. I told him I thought I was overcharged I also told them I didn't expect to get a refund,I paid for it yesterday, but gave them advice not to overcharge other customers. I also told them I would recommend to all my friends not to do business there and I would never be back. I left. My recommendation is to stay away from this service department unless they want overcharged.

Desired Settlement: If you look at what I was charged minus what was done for free (emergency brake handle) 57.00 and the overcharge of prestone about 8.00 and the overcharge of code reader 70.00. pressure testing 70.00. A total overcharge of 91.00. If the dealership wanted to pay me 91.00, that would be great. If they don't so be it. The report of their overcharging will be payment.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/01/31) */ From: ****** ****** (mailto:*****@gmail.com) Sent: Thursday, January 31, 2013 2:08 PM To: *****@wynco.bbb.org Subject: Case ID XXXXXXXX ***** *****, We do understand Mr. ******'s concern with the cost of vehicle repairs. Everything has gone up over the years including car repairs. In most instances it does take 1 hour to diagnose a vehicles issue. If we charged $25.00 as Mr. ****** suggests we would loose money on every diagnoses as our technicians get paid at a rate that exceeds $25.00 per hour. We work with customers as well as we can to help with the cost of repairs,however, repairs can be expensive if done properly. For example, Mr. ****** put in what he called high quality stop leak to fix his hole in the radiator. That is something we do not do as in most cases it can only be a temporary repair. The proper repair is to replace the radiator so the customer will not have any further problems. I feel in this case the customer is wrong when he suggest we should have used stop leak for his repair. I do not feel that Mr. ****** was overcharged with the work that was done nor do I feel any refund is warranted. Thank You ****** ****** Service Manger

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my truck to cowboy dodge to have it winterized. My truck broke down due to cold weather. Cowboy dodge claims it is not their fault. I had my truck winterized at Cowboy Dodge. They assured me the truck would be fine in -40 degree weather. I drove through Canada in -25 degree weather. My truck broke down due to pipes freezing and busting. I was on the Alaska Canada Highway 20 miles outside of the town, **********. It was late at night so there was not much traffic. I made the decision to drive the truck into town to avoid literally freezing to death waiting for someone to find me. I had no cell phone service to call a tow truck. I took my truck to the ********** Dodge dealership and they told me the engine was ruined and it would cost $10,000 to repair. I sent the invoice to Cowboy Dodge and ******* in the service department claims they are not liable because they did all they could. ******* said they cannot be held responsible since I chose to drive the extra 20 miles into town.

Desired Settlement: I paid $260.00 to have my truck winterized. I am only seeking a refund for said $260.00

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2012/12/28) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Asst Manag Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *****@gmail.com Cowboy Dodge performed a lube oil & filter change,vehicle inspection, and installed a engine block heater on ****** ******'s truck on Nov 6,2012. Mr. ****** contacted me by phone, stating his truck broke down near ******, Yukon Canada. I asked for and received a copy of the invoice from Metro Chrysler Ltd by mail from Mr. ******. In Mr. ******'s complaint to the Better Business Bureau, he stated we assured him that his truck was fine in -40 degree weather. I, nor anyone else at Cowboy Dodge made this statement. I did tell Mr. ****** that his truck's antifreeze tested to a -40 degrees. I contacted **** ******, Metro Chrysler Ltd. service manager, by phone, regarding Mr. ******'s truck. He stated the engine failure was a direct result of the truck being driven with no oil pressure, causing engine damage, not as Mr. ****** state in his complaint, due to pipes freezing and busting. Mr. ****** drove his truck with the Check Engine light and the Check Gauges light on for 20 miles as stated on the invoice from Metro Chrysler Ltd. I can empathize with Mr. ******'s situation, driving his truck at night in the Yukon in -25 degree weather, but Mr. ****** made the decision to continue to drive his truck with warning lights illuminating. Cowboy Dodge's service work on Mr. ******'s truck did not cause any damage to his truck, and therefore does not warrant any refund for services rendered. Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2012/12/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The check engine light came on and the oil pressure dropped because Cowboy Dodge did not properly winterize my truck as I had requested. When I walked into Cowboy Dodge, I explicitly requested that my truck be winterized. I did not ask for only antifreeze. I requested the entire truck be taken care of. When I spoke to ****** on the phone about the ordeal and told him the pipes busted in cold conditions, ****** told me that is not their problem. They did nothing with the pipes to prepare them for cold weather because they did not have to knowledge to do so. The pipes are Chrysler's model, not a Dodge model. For this reason, ****** claims they are not liable since they did not know about the pipes and how to winterize it. It is true I drove approximately 20 miles into ****** with the check engine light on; however, I did not "choose " to do so. It was -25 degrees, it was late at night with barely anyone on the road, and I had no cell phone service. I did not choose to drive the extra 20 miles. Cowboy Dodge left me with absolutely no choices when they failed to properly winterize my car like they told me they did. I HAD to drive the extra 20 miles or risk literally freezing to death. I trusted Cowboy Dodge to do their job thoroughly and they failed miserably. Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2013/01/30) */ I response to Mr ******'s rebuttel, he is incorrect in stating that his engine was damaged due to busted pipes. Driving with the warning light on and no oil pressure is what caused his engine to fail. This is not due to any work performed by Cowboy Dodge's service work. The customer's truck had over 120,000 miles. The customer was advised to perform other mechanical repairs to steering and suspension, which he declined. His truck engine would have failed, regardless of temperature, if driven with no oil pressure and warning light staying on. Cowboy Dodge's service work did not cause any damage to the customer's truck, and therefore does not warrant any refund for services rendered. Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2013/02/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My oil pressure did not magically drop on its own. Something had to happen for the oil pressure to drop i.e. pipes freezing and busting causing oil to drip out. That's what happened. Your statement regarding the suspension and steering repairs is not relevant to anything considering the steering and suspension have nothing to do with the problem at hand. Cowboy Dodge had no representatives traveling with me, so they have no idea what happened on the road. They will continue to go in circles and state that I drove with no oil pressure and the check engine light. This is true; however, their less than mediocre work caused my oil pressure to drop.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/19/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1