Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Action Collision Specialists LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 963-5635 View Additional Phone Numbers 51457 Hwy 6 & 24, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Collision Repair specializing in exotic and american cars.  Only certified company in state to repair Land Rover and Jaguars. Tefla certified.  We are here to repair your vehicle right, not cheap as some insurance companies would like.  We don't overcharge, just charge for what we do, which is whatever is required to repair your vehicle correctly.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Action Collision Specialists LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Action Collision Specialists LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 13, 2006 Business started: 12/22/2004 in CO Business under new ownership as of: 10/23/2014 Business incorporated 10/23/2014 in CO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. John Stock, Owner Mr. Steve Burns, Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Steve Burns, Owner
Principal: Mr. John Stock, Owner
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Customizing Auto Detailing Auto Restoration Auto Headlight Restoration Auto Repair - Vintage Auto Seat Covers, Tops & Upholstery Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Auto Services Auto Bumpers, Guards & Grilles

Method(s) of Payment

cash, credit card, or insurance check

no personal checks over $500

Refund and Exchange Policy
We have a lifetime written warranty on all our work. 
Service Area
Glenwood Springs
Additional Information

This company formerly did business under Action Auto Collision LLC.

Products & Services

Full service autobody shop doing insurance claims, windshields, mechanical work, bedliners, custom paint, and much more with two locations. One in Aspen 307D AABC and Carbondale 810 B Hwy 133.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Action Collision Specialists LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    51457 Hwy 6 & 24

    Glenwood Springs, CO 81601


    PO Box 2029

    Glenwood Spgs, CO 81602


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/28/2015 Delivery Issues
6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: After being in a 4 car accident on 3/18/14 my truck was taken to this company, only because it was close. I had not made a decision on who would be fixing my truck, I just was told it was a good place to take it. Well when Friday the 21st came around & my adjuster came to see the damage on my truck I asked him what business in Glenwood Springs was under their umbrella of businesses that they use. I was told the business and decided I wanted it fixed there. When the owner of Action Auto ********* found out he back charged my truck as being in his lot since the Friday before the accident and said it had been there all weekend, it was not. That was finally cleared up. Then because I was not having it fixed there he added an additional $200.00 for me to pay for "administrative costs". In other words he was holding my truck hostage and told me it would not leave his lot without the $200.00 being paid. He yelled and screamed at me on the phone until I was in tears (I am not a person that cries easily). The place that I wanted my truck taken to paid the $200.00 for me and I will pay them back. I think what he did is unconscienable, fraudulent and not a service to the community. I want others to know how bad this was and how upset he had me. I asked the owner if I had the vehicle fixed there what would happen with the $200.00 and he told me it would go away.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of the $200.00 that I now have to reimburse the other company.

Business Response: I have reviewed this with the owner **** and the situation is that when a vehicle gets towed in to our shop we charge for storage and admin fees if the vehicle is not repaired at our facility.  We charge this to the insurance company that is paying for the repairs.  The customer has the right to have there vehicle repaired at any ********* center they would want there vehicle fixed at.  In this case the insurance company was steering the customer from our shop to there so called preferred shop implying to the customer that the repairs would not be guaranteed unless they go there.  This is steering and against the law.  So when a vehicle gets steered or the customer has another shop to have repairs done we do charge a admn fee and storage and tow bill if not paid by the insurance company directly. Refer to house bill Colorado bill 1253 an insurer cannot intimidate or coerce an insured to use a certain shop.  The estimator/adjustor from the insurance company came to our facility to write the estimate and discuss repairs procedures with **** this is part of the admin fee that we charge when a vehicle does not get repaired at our facility that has been towed to our shop. **** also asked the customer if the other shop was going to save part of her deductible and she said none of his business.  There are shops that do that and it is insurance fraud by both the shop and customer. In conclusion we feel we correctly charged for our services and that the owner should take it up with her insurance company. 

****** ***** ******
GM/Operation Manager
Action Auto *********

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

First of all **** tried back dating the date of my accident so he could collect more money for storage, which to me is fraud. Also the adjuster never said anything to me about changing shops - that was my decision only. I did not feel that **** after yelling at me and holding my truck hostage for the $200.00 of "Admin Fees" was ethical. This was all my choice and the insurance company was not steering me to go anywhere. I was uncomfortable with using Johns company, he was extremely rude, had me almost in tears and was totally unprofessional. If this is how he runs his business then I don't want him working on anything not even a toy truck. I have never been treated with such rudeness in my life as I was from this man. Also they did not reduce my deductible if I went to the shop that I decided to go to. It was my decision totally to change shops and I am glad that I did. I was treated with respect and was kept informed on what was going on with my truck and they did an excellent job. SO NO I DO NOT ACCEPT HIS RESPONSE!!!! 


******* ******

Business Response:     After reviewing what the customer replied with this is our response to the situation. When a vehicle is towed to our shop we do have the right to charge storage at $45 per day plus any other fee's that may occur. **** did not try to back date the storage when talking to the adjustor he was the one that said we were shorting ourselves. The adjustor did pay for the storage which is normal and they would have paid the admin fee if at the time if  the adjustor knew she was going to go to another shop.  So I feel that as per our general procedures that the $200 admin fee as justified. We are though willing to do something since we want good customer relationships and feel that there was a miss understanding so what we propose is that when she want to she can drop off her vehicle and we will do a outer complete wash and then an interior detail complete vacuum and shampoo carpets for her for FREE this is usually a $200 -$250 cost just give us a few day heads up and we can schedule that and do it for her..

****** *****
GM/Operation Manager
970-343-9398 cell

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

First off all again they are lying about what **** said. My adjuster had the paperwork that stated what day the accident was, he was also the one that told me that they charged more a day than anyone else in the area for storage and that he tried to backdate the accident. He did not say that they were not getting enough money off of storage. Also the insurance company told me from the start that they would not pay the $200.00 for me, that was on me. I have a FRIEND that details cars and will do the inside and outside for $50.00. My truck is not that dirty to begin with. I would not trust that I could get my truck back without an "administration fee" added on. As you can tell I am still very upset over this matter and I am very vocal about how I feel. No I do not accept his response.


******* ******

Business Response: The tow bill was paid directly by the insurance company. The $200 Admin fee was charged to ****** ********* and they paid us directly.  I do not have any documents at this time due to we changed management systems and so of it did not merge correctly.

If you have any other questions please feel free to call or email me

****** ***** 
GM/Operation Manager 
Action Auto Collision