This business is not BBB accredited.

TVA LLC

Phone: (970) 449-8410 Fax: (970) 226-1954   View Additional Email Addresses ! TVA LLC is Believed to Be Out of Business !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on TVA LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 09, 2009 Business started: 11/09/2007 in CO Business incorporated 09/01/2009 in CO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Andrea Adfield, President Mr. Donovan Adfield Mr. Alexander Golden, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Andrea Adfield, President
Related Businesses
Indoor Air Research LLC Environmental Air Technologies LLC Rainsoft of Northern Colorado Clear Water Research LLC
Business Category

Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment

Alternate Business Names
Treasure Valley Air Llc
Business Management

Mr. Donovan Adfield and Mrs. Andrea Adfield also own Indoor Air Research. Indoor Air Research provides marketing research information to TVA LLC and is not responsible for in home demonstration of products, warranty claims, or service issues regarding Filtropur products. TVA LLC is a licensed distributor of Filtropur products. Filtropur products are manufactured and serviced by F V S Inc., an Accredited business located in Broadview Heights, Ohio.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: See scanned document

Desired Settlement: See scanned document

Business Response: See Attachments

Business Response: ******** *** **** ***** ******** **** ******** ** ***** ***** * ********


To whom it may concern,

We have spoken to the customer and sent an associate to the customer’s house to check on the condition of the equipment. The equipment checked out as working perfectly. After checking the equipment the customer seemed satisfied with the results. 

Attached is a copy of our cancellation policy. The customer is outside of their cancellation period according to the signed contract. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: THE RESPONSE FROM THE COMPANY SAID "THE CUSTOMER SEEMED SATISFIED WITH THE RESULTS"  THAT'S A LIE...  WE ARE NOT SATISFIED!  THE VACUUM CLEANER DOES NOT DO THE JOB THEY SAID IT WOULD!   AND THE AIR FILTER PUT OUT A FOWL ODOR  We are NOT satisfied with the product (Vacuum Cleaner) and two (2) Air Cleaners.  The products are NOT a quality product and we cannot  and will not use them.  

Regards,

Frank Pacheco

Business Response: See attached.

6/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/21/2013, we had a young salesman come to our house to sell a very expensive air filtration product. We went ahead and bought the Filtropur SFS, but did so on a payment schedule. The company's promotions are 100% FALSE advertising. The salesman gave us a few brochures: "Your Getaway", "Convert Gas to Cash", and a "$3,000 Savings Certificate". None of these items were reviewed, so we do not know how to use them effectively, if at all. We live in Riverton, WY where choices are extremely limited. I don't know if we'll be able to even use the gas card IF we ever receive it. I say that because the date stamped on it was expired... when I called the phone (###-###-####), a sales representative told me to just cross it out and put in another date. How does their vacation program work? And the "Savings System" sounds super confusing (again, we don't have a lot of choices here, so it's questionable whether any of these promotions will be utilized).The Filtropur SFS is running 24/7... not sure the product is worth the ungodly high price. We are not noticing any benefit from it. The salesman had a fancy little particle counter which he used to show us how awful our air is/was, but without something calibrated properly, it's impossible to determine air quality. Overall, I'm disappointed and will not be giving their product (or their promotions) a positive word.I hope you can help improve this situation. We don't have extra cash lying around to buy such whimsical and impulsive products. I have emailed the company, but have no responses.

Desired Settlement: I would LOVE a refund. We wanted to back out of this deal right away, but the salesman packed up the box in which the product was packaged. If there is any way we could just return the product and get our money back, I'd be thrilled. The product is financed through TVA LLC, 113 Coronado Ct 14-A2, Ft Collins CO 80525.

Business Response: This letter is in response to the complaint our company received from ***** ********. ***** ******** purchased from our company on December 21, 2013. ***** ******** has never attempted to cancel this transaction with our company. Our cancellation policy is stated on the paperwork that she knowingly signed on December 21, 2013. It states, "You may CANCEL this transaction, without any penalty or obligation, within THREE BUSINESS DAYS from the above date." It goes on to state, "To cancel this transaction, mail or deliver a signed and dated copy of this cancellation notice or any other written notice, or send a telegram." This is actually a Federal Law that protects the business owner, as well as the consumer. This means that Ms. ******** had until December 26, 2013 to legally cancel this transaction. She did not do so.
 
Furthermore, **** Finance, the finance company that she elected to use to fund this purchase has very strict guidelines. They verify the purchase in great detail, making sure the customer is satisfied, and fully aware of the policies and procedures. They do all of this before they will fund our company with the purchase amount. Ms. ******** made this verification process very difficult for **** Finance, because she did not answer her phone to complete the transaction until January 9, 2014. On January 9, she decided she was not ready to verify her purchase, and did not make our company aware, but instead sent an e-mail directly to the manufacturer of the products. We received a copy of this e-mail, which looks very similar to this very complaint, and the owner contacted Ms. ******** immediately. She states in her complaint that she has not received a response. This is completely untrue. Obviously, our company either needed to get funded for the purchase, or get the equipment back from Ms. ********. 

During this conversation, Ms. ******** did not mention her promotional gifts once. She simply questioned whether or not the machine was working properly. When the original purchase was made, it was made clear that Ms. ******** has a wood burning stove in her home. It is known that these units cause a great deal of in-home pollution. The owner suggested she remove the filter that had been running inside her new air cleaner for 19 days at the time, and examine it. He predicted it would be quite dirty, already, and she agreed that it was. Therefore, it was agreed between the two of them that the unit was indeed working properly and she was at that point a satisfied customer. 

She still took five extra days to verify her purchase with **** Finance, and it was finally completed on January 14, 2014, at 8:55 pm. This is a process that is recorded by **** Finance. Furthermore, as I mentioned previously, **** Finance does not fund our company until this process is complete. If the process does not get completed to their satisfaction, they will not fund our company at all. This means that Ms. ******** technically could have changed her mind at any point up until the moment she verified her purchase with **** Finance. She had 24 days to cancel this transaction, had she not been satisfied. That is, by far, one the longest cancellation periods I have ever seen. 

It is completely unfair to our company to post; a complaint stating that a customer, "doesn't have extra cash lying around to by such whimsical and impulsive products." She was well aware of the price from day one, and if she felt it was too high, she could have simply said, "No," or changed her mind in the 24 days following the original sale. I do not feel that this justifies a complaint against our company. She made a conscious decision to purchase our product. 

It seems to me that Ms. ********'s overall goal is to slander our company with libelous statements. The owner of the company, has tried to contact Ms. ******** multiple times regarding this complaint. He did get through to her the first time, where she immediately disconnected the phone call after learning who was calling. All subsequent attempts to reach her have been unsuccessful. We are an ethical, reputable company and we take pride in our customer service, as well as our products. We want to take care of Ms. ********'s issues and turn her into a satisfied customer once again. However, it seems that she is unwilling to cooperate and let us do this. The BBB is supposed to be a neutral third party in order to mediate. When Ms. ******** is actually ready to talk to our company, and let us try to make her happy, we will be here. 

I have included copies of all relevant paperwork, and the voice message Ms. ******** left on our office line stating she does not want to speak with us. Please remove this complaint from our company's page, as it is unfair and untrue. Please contact me with further questions. 

Sincerely, 

****** ******* 
Treasure Valley Air, LLC 

Consumer Response: I have been out of town and unable to respond to the BBB and Treasure Valley Air LLC. In response to Treasure Valley Air LLC/****** *******: Yes, I may have had until December 26, 2013 to cancel the transaction, but tell me how this is going to happen at this time of year? Businesses are closed during the holidays!**** Finance did contact me. I explained I was not happy with the product (FiltroPur air purifier) as it is too noisy and too expensive. Of course I made their verification process difficult - I wanted out of the contract! I would have been (and still will ) happy to send the product back to the company with a full refund. The salesman left the product at our home and took the packing materials with him! I assume this is a tactic to get the customer to keep the unit.The promotional gifts are still non-existent. The original contact person talked my spouse into sitting through the demonstration with the promise of a gas card, etc, but we still have not received a thing.It took so long to verify the purchase with **** Finance because we wanted OUT of the deal and had no idea how to get out. Had I known I could have gotten out, I would have! My goal is far from "slandering" the company with "libelous statements". The owner trying to contact me is fringing on harassment as the time I did speak to him on the phone (when he suggested I take a look at the filter), he was quite abrasive, demanding, and quite frankly, rude and sarcastic. I realize he did attempt to call me again, but I was on the road for my job and was not in cell phone service (Wyoming is sparsely populated with cell phone service areas). We had a bad connection at that first call, and then I saw he attempted to call around 5 more times, but again, I did not have coverage.I do not wish to speak to anyone with the company; I really only wish for packing material to send the unit back along with a full refund to include shipping. I also found several complaints about this product on-line, including ripoffreport.c

100% refund with cost of shipping the unit back to Treasure Valley Air refunded. Note that ripoffreport.com lists a direct complaint about Treasure Valley Air and Filtropur, going into great detail to support some of the items I have covered.

Business Response: I have attached a copy of the response from Treasure Valley Air to Ms. ***** ********.  The ID # on this case is *******

Thank you.





Treasure Valley Air LLC 
113 Coronado Ct. #A1 
Fort Collins, CO 80525 
RE: ***** ********, ID# ******* 
June 3, 2014 


Dear Mr. *********, 

This letter is in response to the complaint our company received from Peggy 
********. ***** ******** purchased from our company on December 21, 2013. 
***** ******** has never attempted to cancel this transaction with our company. 
Our cancellation policy is stated on the paperwork that she knowingly signed on 
December 21, 2013. It states, "You may CANCEL this transaction, without any penalty or obligation, within THREE BUSINESS DAYS from the above date." It goes on to 
state, "To cancel this transaction, mail or deliver a signed and dated copy of this 
cancellation notice or any other written notice, or send a telegram." This is actually a Federal Law that protects the business owner, as well as the consumer. This 
means that Ms. ******** had until December 26, 2013 to legally cancel this 
transaction. She did not do so. 

Furthermore, we have attached a copy of the Bill of Sale where Ms. ******** signed explaining she understood her right to cancel. Not only that, it is company policy to have the customer initial verifying that they understand the cancellation policy as it is explained on the Bill of Sale. **** Finance also requires customers sign a cancellation document which states, "To cancel this transaction, mail or 
deliver a signed and dated copy of this cancellation notice or any other written 
notice, or send a telegram" which we have attached with the Bill of Sale. Both 
documents have been signed by Ms. ********. 

Furthermore, **** Finance, the finance company that she elected to use to 
fund this purchase has very strict guidelines. They verify the purchase in great 
detail, making sure the customer is satisfied, and fully aware of the policies and 
procedures. They do all of this before they will fund our company with the purchase 
amount. Ms. ******** made this verification process very difficult for **** Finance, 
because she did not answer her phone to complete the transaction until January 9, 
2014. On January 9, she decided she was not ready to verify her purchase, and did not make our company aware, but instead sent an e-mail directly to the 
manufacturer of the products. We received a copy of this e-mail, which looks very similar to this very complaint, and the owner contacted Ms. ******** immediately. 

On January 9, 2014 at 10:35 AM our manufacturer (FVS) received an email 
from ***** ******** in regards to her product. The email was immediately 
forwarded to us, as we have attached a copy of the email. Additionally, Aqua 
Finance contacted us directly to inform us of Ms. ********'s issues. It was at this 
point that the owner of the company contacted Ms. ******** directly. 
During this conversation, Ms. ******** did not mention her promotional gifts 
once. She simply questioned whether or not the machine was working properly. 
When the original purchase was made, it was made clear that Ms. ******** has a 
wood burning stove in her home. It is known that these units cause a great deal of 
in-home pollution. The owner suggested she remove the filter that had been 
running inside her new air cleaner for 19 days at the time, and examine it. He 
predicted it would be quite dirty, already, and she agreed that it was. Therefore, it was agreed between the two of them that the unit was indeed working properly and she was at that point a satisfied customer. 
She still took five extra days to verify her purchase with **** Finance, and it 
was finally completed on January 14, 2014, at 8:55 pm. This is a process that is 
recorded by **** Finance. Furthermore, as I mentioned previously, **** Finance 
does not fund our company until this process is complete. If the process does not 
get completed to their satisfaction, they will not fund our company at all. This 
means that Ms. ******** technically could have changed her mind at any point up 
until the moment she verified her purchase with **** Finance. She had 24 days to 
cancel this transaction, had she not been satisfied. That is, by far, one the longest 
cancellation periods I have ever seen. 

It is completely unfair to our company to post a complaint stating that a 
customer, "doesn't have extra cash lying around to buy such whimsical and 
impulsive products." She was well aware of the price from day one, and if she felt it 
was too high, she could have simply said, "No," or changed her mind in the 24 days 
following the original sale. I do not feel that this justifies a complaint against our 
company. She made a conscious decision to purchase our product. 
It seems to me that Ms. ********'s overall goal is to slander our company 
with libelous statements. The owner of the company has tried to contact Ms. 
******** multiple times regarding this complaint. He did get through to her the first 
time, where she immediately disconnected the phone call after learning who was 
calling. All subsequent attempts to reach her have been unsuccessful. We are an 
ethical, reputable company and we take pride in our customer service, as well as our 
products. We want to take care of Ms. ********'s issues and turn her into a satisfied customer once again. However, it seems that she is unwilling to cooperate and let us do this. The BBB is supposed to be a neutral third party in order to mediate. When Ms. ******** is actually ready to talk to our company, and let us try to make her 
happy, we will be here. Treasure Valley Air is here to provide the best quality 
service possible. We are more than happy to handle any issues that she may have with her product past, present, and future. 
I have included copies of all relevant paperwork, and the voice message Ms. 
******** left on our office line stating she does not want to speak with us. Please remove this complaint from our company's page, as it is unfair and untrue. Please contact me with further questions. 

Sincerely, 

****** ******* 
Treasure Valley Air, LLC

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: We would really just like a full refund for this unit... I will be happy to ship it back.

Regards,

***** ********

4/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 13,2013 a young man came to my door asking to show me a vacuum cleaner with no obligation to purchase. This was around 8-8:30 pm. He stated I was his first customer and had no experience selling. I could tell this by his unfamiliarity with the vacuum cleaner. He read everything from his notes and didn't leave my home until after midnight. I did sign papers to purchase this but I told him I was going to cancel. He said he appreciated my allowing him to "practice". The next morning-11/14/13 I mailed the cancellation form to EAT LLC. I told the young man at the time my credit wouldn't go through because of a recent bankruptcy. On 11/26/13 the manager from LLC arrived at my door around 8pm with the vac. saying he hadn't received the cancellation and that my credit was approved. I asked how could that be? I had received a rejection letter from **** Finance-their finance company. I told him I didn't want the vac. he said he'd check and for me to keep it for now. I also told him I was in no shape for anything at that. I had been to my sister-in-law's funeral and didn't need the trouble. He left the vac. saying he'd return for it. He never did Somehow it was financed through ***** ****** ****. in Boulder, Co. with Payments being taken from my checking account beginning 1/10/14. I have not been able to contact anyone at EAT LLC. The signatures on the contracts cannot be read. I have not used the vacuum or air cleaner.

Desired Settlement: I want EAT LLC to pick up their merchandise and cancel the account at ***** ****** ****. in Boulder Colorado and return the payments they have taken. I have stopped payment at my bank.

Consumer Response: This is to notify BBB that my complaint against EAT  LLC has been tentatively resolved as of  April 2,2014.

 

********* ** ******

11/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: New name- EAT LLC. I got a call saying I won a $40 gas card if I would listen to someone show me 2 products. **** came over and showed me a FiltroPur vacuum as well as air purifier. I said I couldn't buy either because I am a single mom who was living on a minimal salary. He called his manager, Donovan, a couple of times to reduce the price and told me he could sell it to me for about $1200 and that they could finance me with no interest. Stupid me, I finally gave in, but should've known better. The gas card ended up being something I had to set up myself through the mail and could only get it in $10 increments. I sent it all in and never heard back from anyone about gas refunds whatsoever. When all paperwork was filled out it ended up being $1799 which I didn't realize at the time. The credit company I was told they used is Aqua Finance. I then received a bill from ******** ********* ******* for $1811.41 with 17.99% interest! I called the phone number because I couldn't find a web address on the bill and was told they didn't have a website or a way to pay my bill online. The vacuum itself didn't work anything like I saw. I have animals and it doesn't pick up the hair at all. When pulling it back, it leaves a streak of hair in the middle. I called and said I needed to talk to someone about the amount and the financing. Nothing. I called to say I wanted a replacement and was told that I needed to call the repair dept. I said that I shouldn't have to get an expensive vacuum repaired and was told that the manager, Donovan, would call me the next day. I waited for a week. I called again, and said I just wanted my money back because I felt that I was scammed and I wasn't going to keep an $1800 vacuum that doesn't even work right. I was again told that ****'s manager would call me back only this time his name was *****. I questioned the girl who answered the phone about who he was and she explained that ***** was ****'s manager, but that Donovan was the store manager. I still never received a call.

Desired Settlement: I want to return the defective FiltroPur vacuum and receive a full refund.

Business Response: Ms. ********:

On behalf of TVA, LLC (the "Company") I am responding to concerns you expressed in a complaint that you sent to the BBB. The BBB does not have any authority or ability to oblige a business to do anything at all, and sometimes we find it best to deal directly with the complainant.

You bought a Filtropur Commercial vacuum cleaner from the Company following an in-home presentation. According to your complaint, after some back-and-forth on the price, your salesperson (Marc) told you that you could purchase the unit for $1200, but then "when all paperwork was filled out it ended up being $1799 which I didn't realize at the time." I find it very hard to understand how you could have failed to realize at the time of purchase that the purchase price was $1799. The Bill of Sale Receipt that you signed states the price to be $1799, about one inch above your signature. The Retail Installment Credit Agreement that you signed, also states the purchase price to be $1799. Neither makes any mention of $1200.

To pay for your Filtropur vacuum, you applied for revolving charge financing to be provided by Aqua Finance, Inc. ("Aqua"). I am very familiar with the manner in which Aqua conducts business. As a matter of policy, for every transaction of this sort that it finances, Aqua causes a representative to telephone the buyer (you) and to verify many important things over the phone with the buyer, including the price of the product(s) that have been purchased. Importantly,
and again as a matter of policy, Aqua electronically records all such verification calls and retains a computer voice file for each recorded conversation. If necessary, Aqua will provide a copy of that voice file. I do not see any need to ask Aqua to do so.

Your complaint states that you unexpectedly received a bill from Citizens Community Federal with an interest charge computed at 17.99%. Citizens Community Federal is a bank through which Aqua provides revolving charge accounts; you must have been so informed. You selected a promotional plan under which your first three payments would be deferred. However, interest began to accrue immediately and was not deferred. This is shown by the "Promotional Credit Plan Addendum - Revolving Credit Only" document that you signed, which states:  

Your first payment will be due 3 months from the date of the Revolving Credit Sales Slip. Interest begins accruing at your contract rate of 17.99% on day 1 and is NOT waived at any point during the deferred payment promotional period.

The "17.99%" is handwritten on the document and stands out. It is not hidden.

Your complaint also says that your Filtropur vacuum is not working as well as you expected it to work. It is possible that your vacuum needs service; it is even possible that it needs a warranty repair, such as a new power brush. You would not be charged anything for such service and repair. We are willing to have someone travel to your home to retrieve your vacuum and to bring it back to the Company's service facility, and after everything has been taken care of, deliver it back to you at no charge. However, to date you have refused to allow us to service your unit. You have refused to sign for certified letters we have sent, explaining the foregoing. I am sending this letter by Express Mail and will have confirmation of delivery through the USPS website.

The law does not entitle you to rescind your purchase of a consumer appliance on the ground that it is "defective," unless the warrantor of the product has tried but has not been able to correct the defect (or, alternatively, supply a new product in lieu of a repaired one). As explained by one federal court, a breach of warranty claim may not be maintained unless the warrantor has been given a "reasonable opportunity" to comply with its warranty obligations, which reasonable opportunity must include several attempts to repair the nonperforming unit. Monticello v Winnebago Industries, Inc., 369 F. Supp. 2d 1350 (United States District Court, Northern District of Georgia 2005) (rejecting consumer's breach of warranty claim; warrantor complied with its obligations by making three efforts to repair the product, the last of which proved successful). Your warranty came from FVS, Inc., and the Company is an authorized service center for the Filtropur products made and warranted by FVS. We have not yet been given even one opportunity to examine
and attempt to repair your Filtropur vacuum.

Your statements in your complaint as to communications to and from the Company, do not match our records. We maintain a record of every single communication from a customer.

You need to give us an opportunity to examine your Filtropur vacuum and, if any component needs to be repaired or replaced, to do that. It will not cost you anything. The Filtropur vacuum cleaner is indeed a fine product; it is the only upright offered for sale in this country, which includes in an upright the "cyclonic action" technology found in some of the best canister-style vacuums that can be purchased. If it is not working properly, we will fix it. But we need for you to allow us to see and service the vacuum and work with you in responding to your concerns. Businesses prefer to have satisfied customers, and the Company is no exception.

Your BBB complaint does contain some inaccurate statements and potentially could damage the Company. Were we to send a full response to the BBB (including copies of documents you signed) and authorize the BBB to publish it, you could be embarrassed. We do not want to do that. What we do wish to do is examine your unit, and provide whatever service and repair is needed, at no cost to you.

Please call us, and inform the individual who answers the phone that I wrote to you and asked you to call me at ###-###-####.

Best Regards,

Donovan Adfield
President- TVA, LLC

11/19/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have called and left several messages concerning our vacuum and air filter. They were suppose to send a box so we could send in our vacuum. I have tried many times to work this out with this company. All I want is to return our air filter and vacuum I don't have my model numbers . The account is under my husband name ******* *******

Desired Settlement: I just want them to take this stuff back.

Business Response: On behalf of TVA, LLC (“TVA”) I am responding to the complaint of Mrs. ****** ****** of Grand Junction, Colorado, Case No. ********, relating to an unspecified vacuum and air filter purchased by her husband Stephen ******.  I do not know why her complaint is directed at TVA.  Our records do not show that Mr. ****** purchased anything from TVA.  We have a strict policy of logging all telephone calls that we receive from customers, and we do not have any record of having received a telephone call from Mr. or Mrs. ******.   Nevertheless, our office coordinator has called Mrs. ****** and left a voice mail asking her to return the call, with the thought that we might be able somehow to assist in resolving her complaint.
Unless Mrs. ****** provides some documentation showing that her husband purchased products from TVA, the BBB should delete this complaint from those shown to have been made against TVA.
Please contact me with further questions.

Sincerely, 
Andrea Adfield
Customer Service

11/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vacuum was sold and advertised with a lifetime warranty. Company has not stood behind the product that they sold in any way. The vacuum clearner was sold under a lifetime warranty but in fact only has a 2 year warranty. Repair work done under warranty was to include reemburisment of shipping fees, however they have refused to pay for any of these shipping fees. I was advised to call manufacturing company in Ohio to get reemburisment this is TVA's responsibility, that they have fallen short of. After so called repairs were finished the unit, it still is not work proporly. I will not pay for any more repairs as it is the responsibility of TVA to fullfill there end of the signed agreement as it has not even been a 1 years since the vacuum was purchused. The Company office in Hayden Id, where I reside, which is suppose to be the office that handles mechical and finanical responisbilities for the local area can not be reach and does not return calls after I have made numerous attempts to handle this problems.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full reemburisment of the shipping fees and the cost of the vacuum as it is no longer working correctly and I will be forced to replace this vacumm with one that does work. Cost of the Vacuum : $2012.94 Shipping Fees : $100.00 Total Reemburisment : $2112.94

Consumer Response:
Conerning case #********, TVA LLC has not responded to me in anyway.
 R. ******

Business Response: On behalf of TVA, LLC (“TVA”) I am responding to the complaint of Mr. ****** ****** of Post Falls, Idaho, Case No. ********.
Our records show that Mr. ****** purchased a Filtropur vacuum on May 23, 2012.  His complaint begins by stating that his “vacuum was sold and advertised with a lifetime warranty.”  This statement is simply not accurate.  The owner’s manual comes with the manufacturer’s written limited warranty, which is two years.  The manufacturer’s written warranty is an integral part of the sale.  We are not aware of any advertisement stating that the product comes with a lifetime warranty.  In fact, we do not place advertisements in newspapers or other publications; nor do we have any radio or television advertisements.  If Mr. ****** actually has an advertisement stating that the product he purchased comes with a lifetime warranty, we would like to see it.  We do not think he possesses any such advertisement, which casts doubt on all of his statements.
As a matter of common sense, how could the manufacturer of a regularly used household appliance such as a vacuum cleaner possibly hope to stay in business if it provided “lifetime” guarantees to all buyers?  It could not be done.  TVA is not aware of any manufacturer of such an appliance which provides a “lifetime” guarantee.
 
Mr. ****** next states that “repair work done under warranty was to include reimbursement of shipping fees,” and complains that shipping fees he incurred have not been reimbursed.  The manufacturer’s written limited warranty states in relevant part that “to obtain warranty service on your unit or any part thereof, bring or ship (at your expense) the defective unit or part (accompanied by written proof of purchase which identifies the date of purchase and the original purchaser), to the authorized Filtropur dealer from which it was purchased, or to any other person or entity authorized by FVS [the manufacturer] to provide warranty service on Filtropur products.”  [Emphasis added.]  The written warranty adds that if the unit or part is found on inspection to be defective in material or workmanship, the “return shipping costs” will be paid by the manufacturer.  [Emphasis added.]  As far as can be told, Mr. ****** is complaining that the shipping costs he incurred to send the unit in for warranty repair, have not been reimbursed.  As just shown, he is not entitled to such reimbursement.

The complaint states that “the Company office in Hayden Id [sic], where I reside, which is suppose [sic] to be the office that handles mechical [sic] and finanical [sic] responisbilities [sic] for the local area cannot be reach [sic] and does not return calls after I have made numerous attempts to handle this problems [sic].”  We do not understand this complaint.  TVA is the authorized service center for a number of sales offices, including the sales office from which he purchased his machine.  The Bill of Sale Receipt signed by Mr. ****** very clearly shows that to be the case. Whatever service and/or warranty issue Mr. Garris may have, is one that he needs to bring to our attention in Fort Collins.  The Hayden Idaho office has been closed for perhaps a year, but that does not make any difference, because the service has always been provided by TVA.  We have a strict policy of logging every single call that we receive from a buyer, and we have no record of Mr. Garris ever calling us.
  
Mr. ****** states that his Filtropur vacuum “is no longer working correctly.”  His warranty remains in effect, and if he truly has a new warranty issue, he must allow us to examine his machine and determine what, if anything, is wrong and whether the problem is covered by his warranty.  He had one warranty repair.  He is not entitled to cancel his purchase because he has a second warranty repair (if in fact he has a second warranty repair).  A breach of warranty claim may not be maintained unless the warrantor has been given a “reasonable opportunity” to comply with its warranty obligations, which reasonable opportunity must include several attempts to repair the nonperforming unit.  Monticello v Winnebago Industries, Inc., 369 F. Supp. 2d 1350 (United States District Court, Northern District of Georgia 2005) (rejecting consumer’s breach of warranty claim; warrantor complied with its obligations by making three efforts to repair the product, the last of which proved successful).
Given his inaccurate statement that his vacuum was advertised as having a lifetime warranty, and given his inaccurate statement that his warranty covered his shipping costs, and given his inaccurate statement that mechanical issues were to be handled by the Hayden sales office, we are not willing to assume the truth of the statement by Mr. Garris that his vacuum “is no longer working correctly.”  

If his machine needs to be serviced, we will service it.  If he has a warranty repair, we will make sure the warranty repair is done and will offer him a loaner vacuum to use while the warranty repair is being made.  What Mr. Garris needs to do, is to telephone us, describe the problem, and make arrangements to get his machine to us so that we can determine what is wrong and fix it.  We are not obliged to do so, but in this case we will pay for the costs of his shipping his machine to us.  Please let him know.
Please contact me with further questions.

Sincerely, 
Andrea Adfield
Customer Service

6/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my credit card was charged but no goods were delivered, despite several follow up phone calls. About May 9, 2013 I called TVA and ordered filters for my vacuum cleaner and my air filtration system. My credit card was charged on May 11, 2013. On May 21 I called TVA asking where my filters were since it had been ten days since the charge was made. I was told that my order was back ordered and would be sent "as soon as possible.' I called the company who supplies TVA with the filters and was told that they had no back orders for TVA. I have called again and again and no one answers the phone. I have left messages both on the "filters" line and on the customer service line and have received no reply and no filters. I need the filters so the warranty on my air filtration system is not voided. I also need filters for the vacuum cleaner for the same reason.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back from TVA since they seem unable to furnish the filters. I will seek another company to provide the filters. The amount of money owed to me is 285.90

Business Response: Consumer Response /* (450, 9, 2013/06/24) */ ***** 11:14 AM (10 minutes ago) I finally received the ordered filters the first week of June with no explanation for the delay. I am not surprised you have received no response .from them

6/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company claimed to want to visit and SHOW a product to have me evaluate. It turned out to be a product sales visit. The would not return my call the person who visited was not aware of the "line" I was given during the phone call. No product was being sold and they only wanted an evaluation of the product. It was the usual vacumn sales pitch and than when I tried to contact them to discuss my views and the miss leading phone pitch they would not return my calls and I also waited on line for 36 minutes for them to answer.

Desired Settlement: they were not up front with they pitch and I would like than them to call me and explain why they present themselves incorrectly.

Business Response: Consumer Response /* (-5, 8, 2013/05/10) */ Consumer indicated they have not heard from the company Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/05/15) */ This complaint was mistakenly directed to Indoor Air Research LLC. We do not sell any merchandise. We do not make sales calls. We do not make visits to the homes of consumers to show products to them. We will forward this complaint to the company which likely arranged with Ms. ***** for an in-home showing of indoor air quality products they carry. Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2013/05/31) */ I am deeply sorry to hear that Ms. ***** is unhappy with our company. We have contacted Ms. ***** to apologize, and this issue has been handled with her. We have also taken the appropriate steps within our office to ensure that this type of situation will not happen again. Again, I apologize to Ms. *****. Consumer Response /* (450, 21, 2013/06/20) */ DUANE BUCHANAN Owner 2:52 PM (19 hours ago) I have tried to respond to this case twice and have not been able to get through. I have discussed my issues with Indoor Air Research LLC and we have discussed my concerns and they agreed that there was a problem within their procedure. They said that they would address and fix it. Thank you. Joan C Baker

3/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In June of 2012, I bought a Filtropur vacuum from TVA LLC. I've been unable to get the parts necessary to make this vacuum run. In June of 2012, I bought a vacuum and two air purifiers from TVA LLC for $3908.14. Within the first couple weeks, it was necessary to call them to order a P0090 cap assembly because one of them had come off. They sent this out within a few days. I put the part on and all appeared well. During this process, I was told that these cap assemblies might have to be taken apart periodically to keep the ends of the rollers clean. Since then, I have been unable to take these caps off without breaking them. About a month ago, my wife called them to order two new cap assemblies and a cord hook to replace one that I broke. Nothing has been received since this phone call was made. A few follow up phone calls have resulted in excuses ranging from "the parts are out of stock" to "I'll check into it and call you back." We haven't been called back once during this time. I called them on Feb. 8th to find out what was going on. I was told the parts just came in and would be sent out. By asking further questions, I found out that they were willing to send me a box to put our vacuum in and send to them so they could fix it. ****, the customer service person I spoke to, said I would have it in a few days. As of Feb. 17th, the box isn't here. I called and talked to someone yesterday who told me they would check their UPS log and call me back with a tracking number to find out where the box is. So then end result is I spent thousand of dollars on a vacuum that we haven't been able to use for a month now and I can't get the company I purchased it from to do anything. I think it is ridiculous for this company to expect me to spend this kind of money on a vacuum and then not be able to use it for weeks at a time.

Desired Settlement: I want a complete refund for the vacuum. Even if they repair it or send me the parts necessary for me to repair it, I feel I will have to rely on them again in the future for parts to keep the vacuum working. With their history of service with me, I have no reason to believe this will become any easier. The air purifiers I purchased from them are working fine and I am satisfied with them.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/03/07) */ I am extremely sorry to hear that Mr. ****** is unhappy with our company. This is obviously an issue with communication inside our service department. I assure Mr. ****** that this has been handled. We have replaced our service technician, and we are currently in the process of training the new one properly. He will be more closely monitored to make sure that these issues do not happen again in the future. We have hired someone that will better focus on customer service, as well as organization and getting service done in an acceptable time period. I realize that this issue was not handled in an acceptable time period, however, it was handled. A box was shipped to Mr. ****** on February 15, 2013, for him to place his unit in, and return to us for repairs. The unit was fixed, and returned to Mr. ****** on February 28, 2013. Unfortunately, we cannot provide Mr. ****** with a refund at such a late date. It is a Federal Law that any purchase made in-home is accompanied by a three day right of recision. Mr. ****** did not attempt to cancel his transaction within his three day period. However, we will do everything in our power to make sure that Mr. & Mrs. ****** become satisfied customers with our company. We are going to provide Mr. ****** with a free 12 pack of cones for his Commercial Vacuum for the inconvenience this has caused him. I am sincerely sorry, and I do hope that Mr. ****** will come to us in the future with any questions or concerns. Please contact me with further questions.

10/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service