BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Swan Heating & Air Conditioning Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Swan Heating & Air Conditioning Inc

Phone: (970) 215-5870 Fax: (970) 613-0826 599 West 66th Street, Loveland, CO 80538 http://www.swanhomecomfort.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Specializing in heating and air conditioning.  We install and repair all major brand name heating and cooling systems.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Swan Heating & Air Conditioning Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Swan Heating & Air Conditioning Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Swan Heating & Air Conditioning Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 6
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 29, 2006 Business started: 03/01/2006 in CO Business incorporated: 03/03/2007 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tim Swan, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tim Swan, Owner
Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Water Heaters - Dealers Air Conditioning Repair Furnace Sales and Repair Services Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Water Heater Repair Stores Heating Air Conditioning

Service Area
Serving Fort Collins, Loveland, Greeley, Longmont, Boulder and the Northern Denver Metro area.
Alternate Business Names
Swan Home Comfort Swan Home Comfort Heating and Air Conditioning

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Swan Heating & Air Conditioning Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 599 West 66th Street

    Loveland, CO 80538

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been doing business with them for a couple of years now .I have purchased my air conditioning as well as a monthly service plan I pay for. I had them come out to do annual inspection of my heating and air conditioning units. The tech told me he recommends a detail cleaning of my furnace. I called back a few weeks later to schedule this service and I was told they would talk to the tech and get some information and call me back it has now been several months and have not heard from them. Then most recently on 11/17/14 I called to get a quote on a humidifier in my new home and the office representative that answered the phone hung up on me. When I called back I come to find out it was the office manager.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to treat their customers like they mean something. I would also like them to do what I was calling them to do in the first place.

Business Response:

I was truly disappointed to here about your recent experience with our company. The last week of extreme cold temps had us all very busy. I talked to the office manager about Mr. *****'s concerns and we are planning to spend more time training on improving our methods of handling high call volume situations. We are all grateful to have Mr. ***** as a client and hope that he will consider working with us again in the future.
Thank you, *** ****.

11/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted **** Heating and ***conditioning, Inc. to take advantage of a coupon from *********** for a $49 super furnace tune-up. It's about 1/2 price of what most heating and air conditioning companies charge so I thought it sounded like a good deal. The tech, ****, came to my house on 10/29/13 and started "servicing" the furnace. After about 5 minutes he called me down to show me images from his camera of what he said were cracks in my heat-exchanger. He said the furnace was unsafe to operate and an extreme health hazard and that he was required by the ******** Gas Association to shut it down immediately, which he did.He said I needed a new furnace that started at #3500 or $5500 if I wanted a high efficiency furnace. He said they were offering a $500 rebate which expired 10/31/13. He said he was not allowed by the ******** Gas Association to complete the tune-up because the furnace was not safe to operate and he had me sign a couple of forms and collected the $49 payment although he had not performed the tune-up. I turned the furnace back on after **** left. There are two carbon monoxide (CO) monitors installed in my house and neither of them went off when I placed them next to a heat register. I just purchased this home and had an inspection about 2 weeks ago where the inspectors did not find any problems with the furnace so I was skeptical and called the heating and air conditioning company I had used at my previous home and had been very happy with to get a 2nd opinion. Their tech came out and checked the furnace, did a full tune-up and tested for CO today, 11/1/2013 and found the furnace to be in good working order. There was no sign of CO. The company is ******** *** Heating and *** conditioning and their tech told me this was the 3rd time this week he had heard about a similar scam to the one I experienced with ****. The pink **** add clearly targets women and state that they donate to breast cancer research. The tech even wore pink booties.

Desired Settlement: I placed a stop payment on the check I payed the **** technician with.I don't know if the company will dispute this. If they do, I would like assistance in resolving the dispute so that no payment will be required because the advertised service was not provided.

Business Response: from: *** **** <***********************> via wynco.bbb.org 
to: **********************
date: Thu, Nov 7, 2013 at 8:18 AM
subject: RE: You have a New Message from BBB Regarding Complaint #*******

I was sorry to hear about the concern Mrs. ********** had with her recent service visit from **** with our company. After discussing the service call with **** I’m confident in the accuracy of his findings. It’s possible the 2nd company that checked the furnace used different inspection techniques than we did. Our technicians spend many hours in training for heat exchanger safety inspections. Many times when we find a safety concern with a furnace it’s not actually emitting carbon monoxide, therefor a test with a CO meter is not an accurate way to determine if  a furnace is safe or not. The ******** Gas Association reference **** shared with Mrs. ********** reads: “The 1st step in the inspection procedure involves a visual inspection of the heat exchanger. Any visible crack or hole discovered in this step is reason for requiring replacement of the heat exchanger or furnace.” We use infrared inspection cameras that will reach far corners of the inside of the heat exchanger that would have otherwise not been seen. **** told me he showed her his findings on the camera per our company policy. If we find problems during a furnace tune up we believe it’s our professional responsibility to share this information with the home owner whether it be good or bad news. The comment made by the “******** ***” representative stated that he has had this same situation 3 times with our company this week is ridiculous and  in my opinion creates concern of his credibility and integrity. Regarding our “Real Techs Wear Pink” promotion from October it is far from a scam. We raised over $1500 dollars being paid to “making strides”  for a cause that’s very important to me and my family. We offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our services. I understand that Mrs. ********** cancelled her check and if she had not we would have given her a refund.
-*** ****

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The furnace super tune-up service that was advertised in the ****** coupon was not provided.
This tune up included a long list of items the tech was suppose to provide as part of the $49 special super furnace tune-up.

**** left my house after insisting he found a crack in the heat exchanger.  He had shut my furnace off and said he could not provide any of the tune-up items because the furnace was unsafe to operate.
I have have 3 carbon monixide detectors in my house at various locations and they all read 0 carbon monoxide.
In other words, there is currently no crack that is making the furnace unsafe to operate.

So, I'm rejecting ****'s response because the issue here is that the tune-up I paid for was not provided.


Regards,

******* **********

6/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/30/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I filed a complaint with the administrative assistant and told her to cancel my plan with them and she did not and I have been charged numerous times. I filed a complaint with the administrative assistant telling her that one of the service men told me something that was a lie and tried to sell me $5000 worth of equipment that I did not actually need. I got the air conditioner looked at by several other companies and none of them said that I needed a new air conditioner. I was told that there was a leak in my air conditioner and the actual unit needed to be replaced. This was found not to be true. I called the company 2 days later and told them that I wanted to cancel their service and file a complaint to their manager. The administrative assistant was rude and I was never given a call back nor given my money back like the assistant said that I would. The manager never called me back and now I am being charged monthly $11.95 for a service that I told them that I wanted to cancel. This is proving that this company not only tries to sell products that people dont need but they also do not hold to their word and charge unlawfully after the service has been cancelled

Desired Settlement: I would like 11.95 X 6months= 71.70 and the $50 service charge refunded since the service man tried to sell me something that I did not need. In total I would like 121.70 refunded to me.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2012/10/18) */ I was sorry to hear about the problems Mr. ****** has had with our company. I have pulled his files and talked to the technician that provided his service. According to the service ticket filled out by the tech he found a capacitor that was leaking. When a capacitor leaks it doesn't necessarily mean that the A/C will not work, it is simply a indication that the compressor has been working too hard and will cause future problems. I cant speak for the other tech's that looked at Mr. *******'s system, however it is common practice in our trade for tech's to only address issues that are causing failure at the time of their visit. Our tech's are trained to not only address problems that require immediate attention but to also create an awareness for future problems. The tech that was on Mr. *******s service call has 10+ years of experience and I dont beleive its in his character to "lie" about needed repairs. I wasn't present for the conversation between Mr. ****** and our tech, however, he told me it was a repair verses replace conversaton based on the age of the system. The national average life of an A/C system is 15 years and this particular system is 10 years old. Many companys will just move forward with a repair where our techs are trained to share facts and provide options. Im not sure why the club membership was not cancelled upon Mr. ******'s request but it has now been canceelled and I will address our communcation ineffeciencies internally. Our records indicate Mr. ****** paid $49 by credit card on June 29th of 2012 and his card was charged $11.95 per month for 4 months. The total of the refund I will gladly pay is $96.80. Thank You, ****** ******.