Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Pella Windows & Doors Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 266-1083 Fax: (970) 266-9145 3600 Mitchell Dr Unit 70, Fort Collins, CO 80525 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.colorado.pella.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pella Windows & Doors Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pella Windows & Doors Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pella Windows & Doors Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 28, 2008 Business started: 01/01/1933 Business started locally: 01/01/1933 Business incorporated 01/01/1933 in CO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Alan Wolf, Director of Operations Mr. Tim Bryant, President Mr. Tim Glidden, Director of Operations Ms. Kindra Hart, Controller Ms. Lauryn Trede, Customer Care Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Alan Wolf, Director of Operations
Business Category

Windows Glass and Window Companies

Alternate Business Names
Pella Windows & Doors Pella Windows & Doors, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 3600 Mitchell Dr Unit 70

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (970) 266-1083

  • 5072 County Road 154

    Glenwood Springs, CO 81601 (970) 945-2289 (303) 350-5617

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the summer of 2013, our house was damaged by hail. Our windows were damaged as well and they were Pella windows. We contacted the *** ******* store as it's close to *******. They acknowledged they were busy with other projects due to the hail storm but would send someone out for an estimate. On Oct 7, 2013, **** from ****** ************, a sub-contractor of Pella Windows came to our home. He measured the damaged windows and provided a written estimate to repair the damages. As a result of his estimate, he/Pella required a 50% down payment. I issued Pella Windows a check for $1799.92. Said check has cleared my bank. The sub-contractor told us due to the volume of pending projects, he would be coming in May, 2014 to make the repairs and complete the project. This written estimate identified **** ****** *** ****** as the originating the proposal. It shows the Sales Rep to be "Servicedept" and the quote # *******. In about April, 2014, **** of ****** ************ and who did the original estimate came by. He tore the cladding off our front bay window leaving the exposed framework visible and then told us Pella had produced an incorrect cladding and he'd have to re-order it from a person named *** out of the ****** Pella office. After removing the cladding from the affected windows, **** said he'd discovered the wood portion of the windows covered by the cladding had rotted and would also need repair/replacement. He said he could do nothing further until he'd received the correct supplies/products from Pella and he left. Apparrently ****/****** ************, the sub-contractor of Pella Windows never followed up with this *** guy out of the ****** office. I contacted *** and he said he'd had no contact with **** since July about our project and was unaware of what exactly he was supposed to order from the Pella factory regarding our project. He said he'd contact **** and determine what exactly had to be ordered and get it done and get back to me. In September, I attempted contact with *** out of the ****** office, but received no return call. I did speak with another representative in one of my calls, and told him of the issues and demanded to find out when our windows were going to be fixed by Pella. As a side note, I have repeatedly tried to call this ****. I've left messages and my phone number but he has not returned any of my calls. Shortly thereafter, on Oct 6, 2014, I found another written estimate from Pella Windows stuck in my front door. It identified ****** ************ as the named Pella sub-contractor and provided a phone number of ************. I called the number and it was ****. He said he was waiting for supplies from Pella and when he got them he'd get our windows completed. I complained to him it had been over a year and our windows hadn't been repaired yet we'd paid 50% down for the repairs. and we were concerned about the wither approaching. He told me he'd get to it very soon and that I was on the schedule. About mid-October, I again called **** complaining that Winter was ever closer and nothing had been done. He told me I was on the schedule for Saturday November 8th. I told him ok. It is now Saturday November 8th and ****/****** ************ has not appeared. I called the number throughout the morning and left messages and have not been called back. I believe the *** ******* Pella Store is at fault as it was them who apparently contracted with ****/****** ************ to make the repairs to our windows. To date, and in excess of 13 months since they were paid their 50% down, the windows have only been denuded of the hail-damaged cladding leaving them open to elements exposure and perhaps further damage. On a side note, every time I have called the *** ******* Pella Store, they have an automated screening system that says leave a name and number and they will call back within 24 hours. Certainly not good customer service. I'm not sure how or why the guy *** out of the ****** office got involved, but seemingly he can only order what the *** ******* selected sub-contractor tells him to order. That said, ***** failure to return my calls is dreadful customer sevice. Then there is ****'s/****** Contruction's failure to complete the repairs to our windows and especially since failing to show up on the date HE scheduled to complete the repairs. To me, the bottom line and primary fault lies with Pella Windows of *** *******. Pella Windows-*** ******* has the duty and obligation to follow through with their customers to ensure their sub-contractrors are doing what they are supposed to.

Desired Settlement: We want our project completed and our windows to be repaired. Where we had hoped to see this done quickly and before the Winter weather arrives, that isn't going to be the case. This will likely cause our utility (heating) bills to rise due to the altered integrity of the widows as done by the Pella sub-contractor. For the remaining repairs Pella should significantly reduce, if not totally write-off the cost to us for their failure to deliver the products and repairs, especially in a timely fashion.

Business Response:

***** ****** ** ***** ************************** *** ************************ ************************ *** **** **** ************************* ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** ******** *** ** ********* 

Good Morning – Service was completed for this customer on Tuesday, November 18th. – Please contact me directly should you need any further information.

Sincerely,

****** ** *****
Customer Care Manager
Pella Windows & Doors
****** ***** ********
*** ***** ******** ************************

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Even though the project was 'completed', I would like:
    1) An explanation from Pella WHY it took 13 months to complete my project. Why did it keep "falling through the cracks" as I was told?;
    2) Why Pella sent the contractor the incorrect material and/or insufficient amounts of material to complete my project initially?;
    3) Why Pella believes they can treat me or any other customer this way without contact, explanation, and apology?;
    4) I want this complaint to remain on the BBB web-site so other potential victims of Pella's inadequacy as a business can be available for them to consider BEFORE using Pella.

I suspect that if I with held paying the balance due on this project for an equal amount of time as it took Pella to complete it, I'd suffer dire civil and therefore personal consequences. I will not, but on the other hand, as word of mouth is my only seeming avenue of recourse, I will use it at EVERY opportunity to dissuade my family and friends from ever using Pella. Hopefully they will tell their friends and Pella just might get the message about how angry I am and how they should not treat customers this way.



**** *****

Business Response:

1st install date was in Spring of 2014 as cladding can't be replaced in cold temperatures - Pella (factory) had to remake 4 sets of cladding

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** *****