This business is not BBB accredited.

Certified Home Improvement Inc

Phone: (970) 482-5800 Fax: (970) 416-8771 View Additional Phone Numbers   View Additional Email Addresses http://www.rba-co-wy.com View Additional Web Addresses ! There is an alert on Certified Home Improvement Inc !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Certified Home Improvement Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 15, 1991 Business started: 09/01/1952 Business started locally: 09/01/1952
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary Thiret, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Thiret, President
Business Category

Windows Windows - Egress Window Installation Companies Windows & Doors - Installation & Service

Refund and Exchange Policy
For information on our refund and exchange policy, please contact us directly.
Alternate Business Names
Andersen-Renewal by Andersen Renewal by Andersen Windows Renewal of Northern Colorado
Additional Information

This company has moved to Salt Lake City. 

Products & Services

We manufacture and install replacement windows, egress windows, gliding or sliding patio doors, french hinged patio doors, and front entry doors. We also provide a free, no obligation, in home estimate along with a free 17 point window inspection.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/27/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Re: Andersen Windows and Sliding Door installed by ***** ***** through 10/17/2013.Please be advised that I am not satisfied with the Andersen windows and sliding door that were installed by ***** ***** due to the following reasons:1) The paint was applied by the contractor, not by a professional painter. The paint appears rough and uneven not smooth as one would expect from a professional painter on a newly installed wood surface.2) The trim is uneven and there are gaps where the pieces of wood do not meet. There also does not appear to be enough caulk. The final result appears unprofessional and un-workmanlike.3) On 10/20/2013 after the windows were installed, it was drizzling, the 12 rear window ACTUALLY LEAKED approximately cup of water.

Desired Settlement: To resolve this problem, I am hereby requesting that the 12 leaking window be replaced by a different contractor as it is clearly defective since it is leaking, in very light precipitation. I would also like all of the trim and painting to be redone so that it is professional in appearance with the painting to be completed by a professional Painter as stated in the original contract.I have had interior remodeling work completed at my property this past September, 2013. I want to ensure that any re-installation of these windows to correct these defects does not cause any damage to the interior remodeling work that was recently completed.

Business Response: Please see series of email exchanges below. 

****,
Wonderful, I am glad we are all in agreement! How long would she need to wait before the test could take place? Would two full days be sufficient? Should we plan on testing on Friday Nov.15 at 10am?  Sadly, I am not able to attend as I live in the ** area. Otherwise, I would definitely be there.  
Thank you for taking such prompt action in correcting these issues for my mother. 
We appreciate your assistance.

**** ********

On Fri, Nov 8, 2013 at 9:51 AM, **** ****** <*********************> wrote:****, Yes, ****** did call your mother to schedule the corrective actions. Steps one through four will take place on Monday by ***** and **** will do the finish work on Tuesday. The water test is a great idea and yes, I would love to attend the test. Would it be possible for you to be there as well? It would be very helpful for communication and avoiding any misunderstandings. Not only that, I would be able to meet you and thank you personally. Thanks again, **** ******PresidentRenewal by Andersen of Northern Colorado************ ****************** ****
************ Fax From: **** ******** [mailto:***********************] Sent: Thursday, November 07, 2013 10:30 PMTo: **** ******Cc: ********************Subject: Re: ******* ******* Windows Hello **** & ******, Thank you for stopping by to inspect the windows. My mother has reviewed the list you have prepared. She mentioned that you also contacted her this afternoon and indicated that the repairs would commence on Monday, Nov. 11th and complete by Tuesday, Nov. 12th. Is that correct? She is agreeable with the plan of action you have outlined. However, she is concerned that the leak was not apparent until there was some precipitation after the initial installation was completed.  She would, however, like to be certain that the large 12' window is no longer leaking before remitting final payment. She feels that one way to test this would be to run water over the window to simulate precipitation since the weather rarely accommodates our personal demands. She would like to know how much time is required for the window adhesive\caulk to properly dry or "cure" before she could conduct such a test? Please advise. She also wanted me to let you know that if you wanted to be present while this test takes place, you are more than welcome to attend. Thank you for your continued assistance. **** ********  On Thu, Nov 7, 2013 at 1:14 PM, **** ****** <*********************> wrote:****, ****** ********* (our production manager) and I inspected your mother’s home this morning. She was very nice and pointed out several items to us. Here are our findings:1.       The north facing window shows evidence of moisture in the lower right corner.2.       The interior paint job looked very unprofessional.3.       The exterior of the patio door has raw lumber underneath the sill.4.       The upper corners on the interior of the patio door look extremely sloppy with excess caulking.5.       Touch up to the existing wood shutters on the east side was promised and never delivered.6.       The other windows and patio door are installed correctly and are functioning properly. We need to take the following corrective actions:1.       All white interior wood trim needs to be completely replaced with new. (this will not affect the windows or their installation, only the interior casing)2.       Seal the exterior mull joining strip on north facing trio of windows.3.       Wrap the kick plate below the patio door to match the side and head jamb. (this should have been done initially)4.       Clean up excess caulking on interior corners of patio door.5.       After steps 1-4 are complete (using a different crew), a separate professional painter will come to paint all of the new interior wood work AND touch up the shutter as promised. As far as scheduling, ****** or I should have a game plan by tomorrow. Should we schedule with you and you could let her know? We will do our best accommodate her schedule. Thanks for all of your help. Sincerely, **** ******PresidentRenewal by Andersen of Northern Colorado************ ****************** ****
************ Fax From: **** ******** [mailto:***********************] Sent: Monday, November 04, 2013 11:11 PMTo: **** ******Subject: Re: ******* ******* Windows Mr. ******, Thank you for your response. Upon discussing this with my mother, she agrees that this is a reasonable way to proceed. She is available for you to inspect the window and sliding door installation this Thursday, 11/7 at 10:00 am, or Friday, 11/8 at 10:00 am. Will you please advise if either of these days will work with your schedule? If not, please suggest an alternate date. Please note, my mother prefers to meet at 10:00 in the morning as that is most convenient for her schedule. Thank you in advance for your kind assistance. Sincerely, **** ********  On Mon, Nov 4, 2013 at 10:03 AM, **** ****** <*********************> wrote:Ms. ********, I received a letter this morning from your mother. She asked me to communicate with you regarding her windows. She explained that there are several issues she has with the installation. I would like to arrange a time to inspect the job and develop a plan of action to get this resolved. Please let her know that we expect NO PAYMENT until we resolve any and all problems. Thanks for your help, **** ******PresidentRenewal by Andersen of Northern Colorado************ ****************** ****
************ Fax   

Business Response: from: **** ****** <*********************> via wynco.bbb.org 
to: **********************
date: Fri, Nov 15, 2013 at 9:12 AM
subject: FW: ******* ******* Windows

UPDATE
 
**** ******
President
Renewal by Andersen of Northern Colorado
************ ******
************ ****
************ Fax
 
From: **** ******** [mailto:***********************] 
Sent: Friday, November 15, 2013 8:41 AM
To: **** ******
Cc: ********************
Subject: Re: ******* ******* Windows
 
Good Morning ****,
 
Yes, the complaint to the BBB was purely a formality to preserve her rights as a consumer, not knowing how this situation would be resolved. Thankfully, she is very pleased with your response and with the repairs that have been completed this week to the window installation and painting. Assuming all goes well with the test this morning and there are no further leaks, this complaint will be put to rest. 
 
The only other item that she will require to close this complaint (once she has made payment in full) is a 'Mechanics Lien Release' to ensure that there are no liens or claims filed against her property. There was a somewhat unpleasant dispute with the first subcontractor that was employed and she would like this additional assurance.
 
Thank you for all of your kind assistance.
 
Sincerely,

**** ********