Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Marry Me In Colorado

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 586-5708 Fax: (866) 393-5848 View Additional Phone Numbers 517 Big Thompson Ave Unit 170, Estes Park, CO 80517 http://www.marrymeincolorado.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Specializing in weddings, consultations, event planning, officiating, photography, event supplies and chapels or venues for hire.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Marry Me In Colorado meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Marry Me In Colorado include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Marry Me In Colorado
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 24, 2009 Business started: 02/22/2008 in CO
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Kevin Cooper, Owner Ms. Lorie Cooper, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin Cooper, Owner
Principal: Ms. Lorie Cooper, Owner
Business Category

Wedding Consultants Wedding Officiant Event Planners Wedding Photographers Wedding Supply Stores Wedding Chapels

Service Area
Fort Collins, Loveland, Windsor, Wellington, LaPorte, Greeley, Evans, Eaton, Estes Park, Berthoud, Firestone Frederick, Dacono, Platteville, Longmont, Fort Lupton, Kersey, La Salle, Leadville, Winter Park
Alternate Business Names
Vows Estes Park Vows Vision of Weddings
Additional Tradenames, Addresses & Phone Numbers

Vows-Visions of Weddings is a retail store opened by the same owners of Marry Me In Colorado. 


Additional Locations

  • 517 Big Thompson Ave Unit 170

    Estes Park, CO 80517

  • PO Box 810

    Estes Park, CO 80517 (970) 586-5708 (970) 480-5151

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My fiance ********* and I decided to terminate our contract with MMIC. Upon termination I emailed MMIC a signed hand written letter confirming our cancellation as they require. It has been a week since we have terminated the contract and I still have not received a refund from them. I only expect the refund for the remaining balance after the deposit. They can keep the deposit since they have in their fine print it is non refundable. I want the remaining $749.00 that we paid to them. I have given them a deadline to refund my money that they have disregarded and am left to this avenue of recovering money that is rightfully mine. MMIC needs to be held responsible for their actions!! They need to be brought back down off their high horse!!

Desired Settlement: I want my refund of $749.00 which is the remaining balance less the deposit.

Consumer Response:

***** ******* ******** ********************* *** ************************ ************************ ***** **** *** ** **** ** **** ** ******** *********

Hi this is ******* ******** I have resolved this dispute with the merchant. They received your letter and the refund appeared in my account. Thank you very much for your help! 

*******

Business Response: Although our contract with them clearly specified that we were not obligated to pay ANY refund upon their cancellation, we offered a 50% refund.  This refund was made within 4 hours of the decision, and processed through our credit card system on 3/30/2016.  ALL banks require processing time on their end, it is not something that we control and once our processing is complete is out of our hands.  ********* and ******* need to do the research with their own bank as to the processing time which is normally 7 business days - as of the date of their complaint it has only been 3 business days.  I understand from the bride that the processing was completed and they actually received the refund even prior to ******* filing this with the BBB.  This complaint was completely unnecessary, nor was the immature threats and name calling. We wish them luck in their future and with their upcoming wedding.

10/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired this company formally known as or also using (marry me in Colorado) as our wedding planner full service business to completely set up our wedding as a destination wedding, purchased a package The gold package this includes food,cake,wedding destination place,custom dcor,and photos, ect ... We made several trips up to pick out our colors , food menu, a location, all the details and left with a feeling of capability from the company..Our day arrived along with our 30 or so guests we get to the sight of ceremony and see they are still setting up,when finished I notice no arch that we picked out to be placed at ceremony was placed at alter area, instead we get a small foot bench sized old table, chairs were not covered with the beautiful covers we were shown and had picked out, when I asked where they were ***** said we are not allowed to have the arch at this location , how ever she never mentioned this the entire year we planned for a new sight, after the floods took out our original planned sight, she added the chair covers would be ruined if it rained , (again never mentioned until that day we were all placed and ready to have our wedding) the area is full of weeds, and gravel, after the ceremony we head up to the mountain for romantic pictures in the mountain area they were to attend to the guests for the 15 min we are gone, then announce our arrival upon return !! that did not happen we then grabbed our food plates joined the eating when guests were saying the fruit dish was still frozen in areas,our tables did not have decorations at all on them other than the candy I made myself to say thank you to our guests, no center piece, and the colors were not our colors?? very unorganized, did not have a clue as to what we were supposed to do we had to ask lorie, they were to be organizing this wedding step by step to the bride and groom dance, which we had to ask about!! The cake delicious, looked at pictures to find a staff member and her 2 kids sitting in the ceremony pictures.

Desired Settlement: partial refund for mis- representation, we thought we were getting one thing and got very little ... at a very inexpensive cheap, unprofessional way..this was a formal wedding ***** and *** were the only people besides our guests that dressed to the fashion ..they had children at a kid free wedding,even placed in our professional pictures in the ceremony.. ***** wore sweatpants with a marry me in Colorado shirt.. the helpers were children 3 of them under 18 as well as ***** ,***,and ***** ..

Consumer Response: this is the revised, and they even have the wrong date for our wedding on it, when i brought this to her attention, she said hmmm.i dont know..we originally had the wedding date on sept 21,2013, but the floods came through that weekend so our wedding was cancelled we had decided to follow through with this company since they were not doing refunds,everything was destroyed in the floods so i have little original this is the only one i have that has been revised sent via email.. 

Business Response: **** and ***** had their original wedding scheduled for September 21, 2013.  Because of the flood on September 12, they opted to cancel this wedding with us - FOUR days prior to the scheduled even.  Several weeks later they contacted us about the opportunity to reschedule their wedding for the following year.  Although our contract specified in our Due Diligence clause that we are not responsible for Acts of Nature (among others), we ag**** to reschedule their event.  The wedding was rescheduled for September 20, 2014.  Because the original location was not longer an option post-flood, we offered them several location options.  THEY chose the location after being toured by ***** for their site options. 

 
Because the 1st wedding was cancelled within 5 days of the event, all of the wedding aspects (food, cake, photography, floral, planning services) had been paid in full for their planned delivery.  The second costs for the 2nd wedding were fully absorbed by our company as a display of our intent to make good on our word, despite the fact that, in the end, our contract protected us from the necessity to do so.  Our 60 day cancellation policy covered this thoroughly. 
 
Their wedding details drastically changed during the 2nd planning including location, ceremony details, colors, flowers, and the addition of nearly double the amount of guests in the first agreement. Please review the agreement which did NOT specify and include the arch, chair covers, reception centerpieces, onsite ceremony or reception coordination as **** cites in her complaint.  As well, because of her choice of the site of their rescheduled wedding, the ******** at the ***** **** ******, all tables and chairs were provided as a part of that agreement.  The arch, chairs and chair covers were all a permanent part of our former indoor location and not an option to relocate to another site regardless.  During the phase of their agreement with us, the Wedding Package Worksheet, NONE of the options were ever marked for any of these items as an add-on.  Had she clearly read the paperwork she would have seen that we specify that chair covers are not allowed for ANY outdoor wedding, and that the arch would have been potentially hazardous sitting on a windy lakeside.  We provided the table for their sand ceremony as a courtesy as it stays in our vehicle for use at all weddings.
 
My staff was asked to be seated during the ceremony to #1 keep them from standing in the back of the ceremony as a distraction in photos and #2 because half of the chairs were empty and from a photography stand point create an eyesore for the couples photos.  The team of 6 onsite staff (normally only 2-3 were needed but we overstaffed as a precaution for this wedding) working the event were all of legal age to work in the state of Colorado, their age was irrelevant to her as long as they performed their duties.
 
As well, 2 days before and again during the wedding, I was informed that the *** was watching their group for the arrival of her son, a career criminal who had escaped from prison in the past few days.  She informed me that they were concerned that he could appear during the wedding.  Hearing that he was being actively sought after and that he was considered dangerous, needless to say, was a major concern as to the potential endangerment to my staff and myself.  
 
**** was unbearable for the majority of the planning of this wedding.  She was rude, loud, and talked demeaning to myself, my husband and my entire staff as well as other vendors (or caterer refused to work directly with her because of her attitude and would only allow us to pick up her order) - all complete strangers to her.  

While she she has filed complaints and issued reviews all over the internet, she completely failed to notate any of the positive aspects of her wedding - the ceremony itself, the flowers, the photography (where she purchased nearly 75 prints from the online hosting site even before receiving her CD in the mail - processed within 24 hours of the wedding to be finished on our end with their package details).  
 
100% of every aspect of the contract was executed and all items were delivered and in most cases, far exceeded the terms ag**** to.  **** and ***** presently have an outstanding balance of over $600 in upgrades to their wedding - additional guests, upgraded flowers, add-ons of corsages and boutonnieres for family, pick and and delivery of their additional food items personally ordered.
 
While we wish them the best in their life together, we are DONE working with them.  We will forego the outstanding balance of $600 in a mere attempt to end the relationship as soon as possible.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regardsa

***** **** I will respond to ***** and  *****s False accusations first and formost, The receipt I have here notes paid in full as it was paid for in full a year before the wedding, Our original wedding day was cancelled by both ***** and ***** due to the floods of ***** ****, The entire city was under water no way to enter or exit the city, We would not cancel a paid in full wedding !! Nor would any reputable company continue unpaid..
 our day was scheduled for sept 21,2013, at this point we asked now what happens lorie, she responded we are not giving refunds to an act of god, but we will give full credit , We had to decided to then to reschedule with our wedding and support there company during this time of need..As for the vendors who say we rude and refused to work with us, You and ***** are the only 2 people we knew or met or talked to directly ..another lie..Attacking our family on a child who had many issues with the law was uncalled for as to note you forgot to mention this was more than 8 years ago when this  situation took place... im guessing you might have been trying to say what type of people we are by the choices our 19 year old made, Again 8 years ago , very unprofessional, and has no bearing on the events we are talking about currently,,very hurtful, you have little respect for others.. The only vendors we ever dealt with or talked to again you and *****.. We never dealt with anyone else.. You were the carrier of of our food, decorations, photography, ect.. This is what the package included .

As for the changes made to our sight, yes our original sight was inside a vows chapel, this too was damaged beyond repair and the sight was not available , at no point during this change of location had ***** nor ***** ever expressed to us that the beautiful arch can not be brought down to  our  new location we chose, nor she or ***** ever mention that the beautiful chair covers we also picked out  were not able to  transfer to the new location!!, this would be a very important detail for our  wedding, part of the presentation and decoration that we choose!! When you do a good job you would get a good review , Taking no responsibility is no way to run a business.. The pictures we sent in will say enough as well, the sight we choose looked nothing like what we chose. .our walk through was months prior to the wedding day, you assured us the sight was to be beautiful once restored, This is a destination wedding plan taking note on this you would think one is not to worry that any and all changes would be notified prior to the wedding day arrival..You both were very irresponsible and dis concerned to our wedding.. very disappointed ... Hopeful no other person goes unaware of the lack of concern, integrity, and pride put forth..

In response to the strangers in our pictures if you felt that the empty chairs were priority, then you remove the chairs when you see this" prior" to the ceremony start rather than putting in a worker and her 2 children in photographs we purchase.. As for the photos we choose on line indeed there were some good photos we chose the 287 photos you took we loved our romantic sets there for we ordered several of the same photos from the sight you go through..

  

Business Response: Once again, 100% of the contracted services signed and agreed upon my Ms. **** were fully provided and exceeded in the case of **** and ***** ****** wedding.  

The aspects that Ms. **** is pointing out have no bearing on the outcome of the event - it was successfully executed per the contract as evident in photos.  Completed worksheets that are legal extensions of the contract reflect that Ms. **** never requested any of the items of which she is complaining were missing, and it is not our responsibility nor our ability to read the mind of a bride.  

Due to recent developments of cases of slander, libel and defamation being conducted by Ms. **** and her assigned parties which now includes a vile and threatening telephone call made to my company manager (currently being investigated by the authorities), and the continual ongoing online slander, we will now be escalating this case to our Attorney to file legal action in the Larimer County court system.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

***** **** again ***** you feel as if the contract was fulfilled , I'm saying whether you agree or not , it was in the cheapest manner and most irresponsible way possible .. Making excuses rather taking responsibility , terrible .. You do what you need to and I will do what I need to .. Expression of bad business is not illegal , nor is it slander .. This is truth of what was handled .. End of it.. 

12/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My fiance and I had a wedding planned in Rocky Mountain National Park at the 3 Mile Curve with Marry Me in Colorado on September 24, 2013. We decided to cancel our wedding with Marry Me in Colorado, for many reasons, 7 days before the wedding was to take place. We attempted to reach an agreement with Marry Me in Colorado for a refund but they did not respond to our inquiries. We decided to cancel our wedding because: the natural disaster flooding that occurred in Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park caused Estes Park to be closed to non-residents, Rocky Mountain National Park was closed to visitors, and the town, National Park, and even Marry Me in Colorado advised all September brides (and other visitors) to cancel/reschedule all of their plans due to the volume of damage incurred to the area, the stress placed on the people and resources of people living in the area, and the closed and hazardous roads that were shut down for days/weeks. The flooding caused all of our vendors, including our hotel, reception site, and family members hotels to immediately offer refunds due to the extreme circumstances that the flooding caused. When all of our vendors cancelled and even Marry Me in Colorado advised all September brides to reschedule, I started to reschedule our wedding for the **** ***** *** ** ******* **. Marry Me in Colorado initially said they would be able to transfer the services that they were providing to the Inn. They did not help me find a new location nor did they provide us with any information about the outlook in Estes Park. Instead, they gave us vague information and did not answer our questions when they said they would. They later told us they didn't think they could come to the Inn and were working with a local vendor. However, we already made plans with the Inn because we had only a few days left and were trying to assess the status of the flooding from Ohio. This vendor was a nightmare to deal with when we were working our wedding around the natural disaster situation.

Desired Settlement: We request a full refund of the $1,400 that we paid, in advance, for our wedding services from this company which were to include: officiant, wedding permit, wedding location, wedding planning coordination, photography, cake, and flowers. We did not receive any of these services, therefore, we feel that we should be refunded the full amount that we paid.

Business Response: Ms. ******** signed a contract with Marry Me In Colorado in October of 2012 for wedding services to be provided on September 24, 2013.  While flooding on the 12th of September created many obstacles, roads in and out of Estes Park were open within a few days and events, including weddings in the area continued.  Despite our attempts to reschedule or work with them on continuing with their plans as scheduled, Ms. ******** and Mr. ******** scheduled their wedding for an alternative location.  Because MMIC had another wedding in Estes Park that same day earlier in the afternoon, it would have been impossible to accommodate their venue change and travel with enough time to accommodate the wedding that went on as planned that day.

MMIC has a very specific contract with a 60 day cancellation clause and a Due Diligence clause that protects us in the case of this type of circumstance out of our control.  Ms. ******** surely read the contract thoroughly and understood the commitment when she signed and returned the agreement to us.  

While other businesses may have been able to cancel hotel arrangements or dining arrangements with no penalties, they also put out little if any effort or cost which enables them to do so.  MMIC spent 11 months working diligently with Ms. ******** and Mr. ******** to not only prepare for their wedding services, but had already performed services (writing a wedding ceremony), ordered and paid for items (special order flowers, wedding cake, downloaded music) etc.

While the natural disaster did create inconveniences, MMIC continued to perform weddings for other couples with no interruption.  It was Ms. ******** and Mr. ********'s decision to relocate their wedding venue and left MMIC unable to perform our services based on their decision.

Our contract is thorough and between the 60 day cancellation policy and Due Diligence clause, we are well within our rights to retain monies paid for the work that was performed.

12/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I live in ******** and had wanted to get married at the end of November through a company out of Estes Park, Colorado called "Marry Me In Colorado". We contacted the company in August and had no problems with communication and everything seemed fine. We sent in some paperwork and a $750 deposit. After then all of our attempts at contact were unanswered, we tried for over a month and wouldn't hear anything back. No emails and when we tried to call we couldn't get a hold of anyone, just voicemail, and when we did we were told "someone will get back to you". We finally sent an email and said we would like a refund because our wedding date was soon approaching, and because we had zero communication with the company we were unable to plan accordingly. Immediately we were emailed back and the company told us they had in fact returned our emails, but we NEVER received any of these emails. We have every email sent and received between us and the company saved. We asked again for a refund, but they avoided the request all together. Our supposed wedding date has come and gone and we haven't heard from this company at any time since we last asked for our refund. This situation has put a huge damper on what was supposed to be a very happy time in our lives.

Desired Settlement: $750.00

Business Response: MMIC was contracted by ****** and ***** mid to late August for their wedding services.  They promptly received their welcome kit with worksheets to begin their wedding planning process.  On September 13 MMIC and we personally fell victim to the flood that cause us to loose power, including telephone and internet for nearly 3 weeks.  During that time we communicated as we could with clients and worked hard to answer all questions and emails.  The first part of October, ****** emailed us asking us to downgrade their services and made mention in her email " I know it has been bad up that way so we waited to contact you".  We sent them copies of the emails that we had sent them during this time, and despite it being 2 months out from their wedding, were told that they wished to cancel their services.  ***** made 4 different phone calls to them immediately to explain that while we had been affected by the flood were back fully running and that servicing their wedding was not an issue.  ***** also explained that per our contract, they needed to send us a letter to cancel services, that emails were not accepted per the agreement.  As we never heard from them during the time that ***** was leaving messages and sending emails they remained on our calendar as a confirmed wedding.  Because they never properly cancelled, they technically have a balance due with us of over $1,700.

MMIC has a clear cancellation policy that all cancellations MUST be made in writing, NOT by email.  It also specifies that all deposits are non-refundable.  Because our cancellation policy also clearly states that cancellations made within 60 days of the wedding are due and payable in FULL, the date of their email, October 7 - IF accepted as a form of cancellation, was within the 60 days.  

MMIC does not owe a refund, and we are willing to consider the deposit the full amount due and not pursue the terms of the contract with closure of this complaint.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

***** ********* ***

On September 8th we
contacted MMIC via email about downgrading our package from the
“Aspin” to the “Eternity” package. We waited and never
received any emails back from MMIC. We waited around for a couple of
weeks and tried within this time period on contacting MMIC via email.
Finally, I (*****) called MMIC and talked to Lori who said “ that
the emails must have been going to her instead of kevin and that she
would forward them to him. Also, that the downgrade would be possible
since we were still in our 60 days from the wedding and that she
would email us the details along with the new receipt for the
Eternity package. We waited for several weeks and never received the
email with the contents. We tried asking again about the downgrade
and receipt but MMIC never responded to us. We thought maybe it was
because of the flood so we waited and tried contacting them again and
again no response. Only when we finally emailed MMIC stating we would
like our money refunded back did they respond to us immediately. When
they responded they ignored the fact that we were asking for our
money back and said something like all is well in colorado and
something jokingly about the government shut down and that they would
send us the details and receipt. We never received either one. Once
again we waited for a week or so and then emailed MMIC back stating
we want a refund. This time they said there communications were
messed up and that our emails werent sending to us and that they were
looking forward to giving us an experience we would never forget if
we let them do our wedding. They never seemed to care that we wanted
our money back and tried talking us into doing a wedding with their
company that never responded to us for over a month. I seen that MMIC
says we owe them $1700 but for the Eternity package plus our $750,
that they said counted toward the final cost it wouldnt be $1700.00.
It seems impossible to business with this company. I dont understand
why we had to send a written letter to them stating we wanted a
refund when we have something called “Email”. Its like they are
purposely making it difficult to cancel. We could have lied and said
we sent the letter via mail and they never got it but thats something
they would say. Like their emails and their phone calls to us they
made. We never received any phone calls from *****. In fact, the only
phone calls made were from myself to ***** when I first set up the
wedding and then the second time when I contacted Lori. I can play
the blame game on this all day long but right now I feel like me and
my wife have been given the run around with this company. They have
taken what was suppose to be a special day and turned it into
something disasterious. Even if we were suppose to send a letter to
them they never did once state in the few emails that we had contact
with them about us sending them one. It was like they ignored us
every time we mentioned refund. I feel as though they were stalling to
put us under their 60 day mark so they didnt have to refund us. Also,
If they claim to be a wedding company I do not see why they never
emailed us back about finalizing the details as it got closer to our wedding date. We haven't received
any emails since the last time we spoke about getting our money back.
You would think a wedding company would be trying to finalize the
details as it got closer to the final date. They never sent us a
receipt obviously or they wouldnt be stating that we owe them
$1700.00 nor did they ever send us details about the new package.
Right now we could careless about the $750.00 because obviously they
are set on not giving it back to us. So they can just keep it, I
guess we just paid for a Wedding Planner Pin Pal that responded half
the time.

Thank you,
*****

Business Response: The contract stipulates that all deposits are non-refundable.  Regardless of the date of their cancellation, they would have forfeited that deposit amount by the terms of the agreement that they themselves signed.  Communication was an issue HOWEVER due to the flood conditions and the impact it had it was out of our control, which we explained.  Our experience with these situations is that a couple has committed to a wedding that they can not afford to pay for, and attempt to downgrade their package only to eventually cancel it even under new terms.  Had they attempted to work with us after we were back in operation following the flood we may have been able to downgrade them but they never responded to any of our emails or *****'s phone calls attempting to resolve the issue.  The fact is that they signed a contract for specified services with a clear cancellation policy and thorough terms outlined in the agreement.

Consumer Response: *** ****************** ************************ *** ***** ****** ***************************** *** ***** ***** ********************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** ***** **
We considered the wedding we were supposed to have with this company a "real" wedding and I am hurt to hear that they did not consider it "real", and were not treating it as such. We wanted to celebrate our marriage the same way everyone else is able to. It has been such a mess that now we don't want to have a wedding at all. The issue that we had with this company is that we gave them a large sum of money and trusted them to help make our wedding a special day for us, we felt as if they did not give us the attention that we thought we deserved as paying customers. Many many reviews online also mention how bad they are at communication, so it is NOT just us. Perhaps they take on too many clients.

We are also offended that they have implied that we were unable to afford our "fake" wedding. We offered to pay off our account by the end of the week had we received our receipt. We didn't receive a receipt, and we asked a couple times for one. I feel that if they had really sent the receipt, as they say they did, why didn't they tell us and ask weather we had received it after we sent several more requests for one.
We only received a receipt after we asked for a refund, it was sent in a previously dated email that could be fabricated by anyone.

As for my husband's 24 hour shift, it was not known that he would have this shift until maybe a week prior. And we didn't put in for the time off for our wedding because we had no contact with this company and weren't even sure we were still having a wedding. Our wedding was scheduled during a holiday and many of our family members had their plans on hold because of it, and since we were unable to communicate properly with this company we were unable to insure that we would be having this wedding at all. Besides, by the time that my husband would have had to put in for time off, we had already decided that we no longer wished to do business with this company because of the lack of communication.

We feel as if this company has began making personal attacks to our character and putting the blame squarely on us.
This has become a very ugly situation, something I greatly wanted to avoid. We do not wish to have our deposit returned at this time, we only wanted to bring attention to the negative experience we have had with this company. 

** **** *** *** **** ** **** *** ***** ****** ***************************** ****** ******

Please also include the following in my file with ****** ******** and ***** ********* - 

Below you will see a screen shot of ***** *********** Facebook page.  As ***** and ****** were already married (August 2013) and as you can imagine, as this was a renewal ceremony, it tends to be much easier to make changes or even cancel plans than if it was a 'real' wedding.  

As ***** is in the military, confirming scheduled time off PRIOR to committing to a contract would have been advised.  As you can see, he was on duty for a 24 hour shift on November 29, the day prior to their scheduled wedding date.  This taken into consideration, and assuming there were additional days that he was scheduled that weekend for work, there was no way for them to have been able to even arrive in Colorado and to have obtained their marriage license (would have had to have been done by the 29th) for their Saturday wedding on November 30 for a 1pm wedding.  Per our experience (and my former Military experience) they more than likely scheduled this wedding without consulting with Simon's superiors to confirm time off, and then had to cancel with us.  He also notated in another post that "Because of my busy schedule we will plan our wedding for November of 2014".  Had they only worked with us we would have very happily made adjustments to their agreement to give them credit to move their date, ESPECIALLY being Military.

As well, ***** has now taken it upon himself to slander Marry Me In Colorado on the internet with inappropriate comments.  Be rest assured that MMIC does not take kindly to this, and if it continues we would like to be on record with the BBB that we will press forward to take legal action and pursue Slander, Libel and Defamation in court - an action that I seriously doubt his superiors or the US Army in general would take kindly to.

***** ****** ***** ** ** ******** ***** ****** ***** ** ** ******** ************ * ***** ************ * ***
************************* ***************************

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired MMIC in august to perform my elopement on Oct 20th 2013. We paid the deposit of $300. We came up with the site ourselves and reserved it ourselves. When the natural disaster happened the second week of September and flood waters rushed through Estes Park, the canyons and neighboring towns wiping out businesses and homes and killing several people, phone lines were down, emergency situations happening through out Colorado, we immediately realized our October wedding would not happen. We were told by authorities that roads would be "impassable for several months", the "infrastructure is unsafe", main roads were "heavily damaged", and would be closed "indefinitely", the town had been evacuated. Days later, as the flooding continued through out Colorado,more people hurt,missing or presumed dead we decided to call off the wedding since we had not even sent back the questionnaire for Mr. ****** to start work on the ceremony. He had done nothing for us yet. So, I emailed him on Sept 16th since the phone lines were still down. He responded "everything will be fine, we will keep in touch" (which astounded us that he would say that)No concern for our safety. We continued to research and were told not to try to travel to Estes, the town was closed only allowing residents with ID to enter. Rains continued, flooding continued, into my area as well.He posted on facebook how devastated Estes was and that weddings should be canceled or postponed. I then emailed again on Sept 25th asking to cancel and for a refund. The contract does not include a disaster that makes travel unsafe or impossible, for an extended period of time. Since we had no way of knowing what would come next, we thought we should cancel for our safety. He said "call me" When I did, he argued and insisted we go thru with it. I will not risk my families life traveling on unsafe roads. We had no way of knowing when and if Estes would reopen, so canceling was the right thing to do. The town administrator said to avoid Estes Park.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the deposit made for this wedding. The ceremony wasn't written yet, we had no meeting with Mr. ****** yet, not even phone consultation, he hadn't even received the questionnaire (that we printed out on our own computer) back yet to read. Given the circumstances of this cancellation due to indefinite unsafe road conditions and infrastructure, we feel that a refund is reasonable. We would like a check written to us for the return of our deposit.

Business Response: ***** contacted Ms. ***** yesterday, September 30 with regard to her email (see below) to inquire as to canceling her wedding on October 20, 2013.  She cited 'disasterous' conditions in our area, town closures, dangerous areas and concerns for her family's safety if they were to move forward with their wedding as planned in Estes Park.   


Linda's email said that it was "Impossible" because of the storms and flooding on Sept. 12/13 to have her wedding in Estes Park.  We explained that Estes Park was deemed safe and opened up to tourism within 7 days of the flood on September 12, and Rocky Mountain National Park was opened fully in the areas we conduct business starting September 21.  Our annual "Elk Fest" was held last weekend with a highly successful attendance rate of 1000's of visitors.  While she was persistent on her perception of lack of safety, we assured her that the Department of Transportation, Town of Estes, Larimer Sheriff and the National Park Service would not allow general tourism to happen if there was any threat of personal safety.  While there was some property damage to specific units that occurred to her location for her wedding at the Evergreen's on Fall River, they ARE open for business.  Even if they weren't comfortable with that specific location, we could easily find them a more suitable site for their wedding ceremony to take place here in Estes Park.

We explained in detail that Marry Me In Colorado has been 100% operational even having weddings during the height of the days during flooding and has not cancelled any events.  ***** explained to ***** that we have done multiple weddings in RMNP with no issues at all.  The ONLY affect that the flood has on any of our clients has been the minimal additional travel time that it takes to be re-routed from the standard Hwy 34 and Hwy 36 access to taking Hwy 7.  (Coming from Loveland, it is only 45 min to 1 1/2 hour additional time depending on the route taken) We explained that their decision to cancel, by the terms of the Wedding Services Agreement, required something in writing, which she promptly sent following her phone conversation on September 30.  HOWEVER, she did not cancel within the agreement's terms of 30 days to be released from having to pay the final amount due, and the agreement does specify that the deposit amounts are NON REFUNDABLE. As well, MMIC's contracts have Due Diligence clauses to protect us from the inability to perform services due to acts of God, Nature, War, etc.  We offered to perform Linda's wedding as agreed upon, to give her FULL credit (not required, but offered) towards rescheduling, or the possibility of our traveling to her location as well.  ***** was not willing to consider any of the options we offered to her which would have fully executed the terms of the agreement and provided her with the full services she contracted for.  

Despite, in her opinion of our "having not done anything" with regard to her services, we reserved that day and time for her wedding according to her agreement issued on July 28, 2013.  Our policy is that any cancellations made within 30 days of cancellations are due in full, and outside of that 30 days the deposit is forfeited.  Her reasons for canceling based strictly at quoting news reports and interviews that are 3 weeks old, and while she did cite our FaceBook page as recommending alternative plans during the actual days of the flood, she would have also easily seen our posts of wedding photos from those same days and full reports on the openings and conditions of the roads, downtown Estes Park, our wedding venues, etc.  

Because her cancellation is within 3 weeks of a prime dates for our fall wedding season, there is no likely chance that we will be able to re-book the date and time.  Therefore, MMIC requests that the BBB find in our favor and that Ms. ***** be due for the full amount remaining of $300 in addition to forfeiture of her deposit.

CANCELLATION EMAIL:

From: *****
Sent: Wednesday, September 25, 2013 2:16 PM
Subject: October wedding
 
Hello Pastor *****,
Concerning our October wedding, we are wondering if you will be refunding our deposit, since this natural disaster has made it impossible for us to have our wedding there.
Luckily, we hadn't gotten to the writing of the ceremony stage, and hadn't sent you the questionnaire back. So, fortunately there hadn't  been much time involved in our elopement yet. 
Please let us know if you need ***s address to send his check back.
We are hoping that Estes is recovering, we suffered a lot of damage in our area as well- it is heart breaking how damaging a flood can be. Hopefully, we will all be able to pick up the pieces and move forward.
Thank you,
***** *****
*** ******

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
(1) I contacted MMIC on Septermber 16 regarding the conditions in Estes Park, and was assured everything in Estes, including travel to Estes, was fine. I have a copy of this email if needed.

(2) On September 18 I observed a facebook posting by MMIC describing the extent of the devastation to Estes Park and access roads to Estes. This posting suggested cancellation of any visits to Estes, specifically including wedding related plans, would be appropriate. This posting was later removed, but I have a copy of this posting if needed.

(3) As news stories continued to unfold regarding the difficulties encountered by the Estes community and the logistics of traveling to Estes, I again contacted MMIC on September 25 suggesting we cancel our agreement to allow us to continue to plan our wedding elsewhere without adding any additional burdens to the Estes recovery.

(4) MMIC summarily rejected this suggestion, I strongly believe the original response to our communication on September 16 was an intentional deception to delay the cancellation request to get under the 30 day contractual deadline so that we would have to pay the full amount.

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response: In response to Ms. *****'s comments:

 
(1) I contacted MMIC on Septermber 16 regarding the conditions in Estes Park, and was assured everything in Estes, including travel to Estes, was fine. I have a copy of this email if needed.
 
MMIC - Travel in and out of Estes Park continued during the flood and for the days after using an alternative access road, Highway 34 or Trail Ridge Road.  We continued to hold weddings regularly throughout the entire time.

(2) On September 18 I observed a facebook posting by MMIC describing the extent of the devastation to Estes Park and access roads to Estes. This posting suggested cancellation of any visits to Estes, specifically including wedding related plans, would be appropriate. This posting was later removed, but I have a copy of this posting if needed.
 
MMIC - The Town of Estes requested that business be limited into town during those few days following the flood to allow for emergency personnel and residents.  We did post on FaceBook on September 14 offering rescheduled dates and times during those days and that was directed to weddings and events scheduled for the first few days following the flood.  Once the town and CDOT opened restrictions, that notification was removed from our page on September 18.

(3) As news stories continued to unfold regarding the difficulties encountered by the Estes community and the logistics of traveling to Estes, I again contacted MMIC on September 25 suggesting we cancel our agreement to allow us to continue to plan our wedding elsewhere without adding any additional burdens to the Estes recovery.
 
MMIC - During this time the travel into Estes actually IMPROVED with the opening of another access road, Highway 7, in and out of Estes.  Regardless of previous calls to inquire, our contract states that cancellations must be in writing - which we received still within the 30 day cancellation period. The NEWS has consistently promoted Elk Fest the weekend of Sept 28, Autumn Fest this past weekend, and travel for visitors to enjoy fall colors and the elk rutting season.

(4) MMIC summarily rejected this suggestion, I strongly believe the original response to our communication on September 16 was an intentional deception to delay the cancellation request to get under the 30 day contractual deadline so that we would have to pay the full amount.

MMIC - Again, the terms of the contract, signed by Ms. *****, were not followed.  Estes Park continues to improve and has been fully functioning welcoming weddings, events and tourists for event the town is holding.  News reports confirm that we are alive and well here.  As well, roads continue to open, evident by the opening of Highway 119 from Boulder to Nederland yesterday cutting an hour off of the drive from the valley.  Ms. *****'s wedding is not scheduled until late in OCTOBER and there is no substantiating her reasoning that the town and travel is unsafe and her cancellation affects MMIC as we can not re-sell that date on such a short cancellation notice - the entire reason for our 30-day cancellation policy.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
On Sept 16th when I contacted Mr. ****** about the flooding situation, roads in and out of Estes park were closed. Downtown was under water.
He wrote back and said the roads were dry. Fraudulent misrepresentation of important and relevant  information can be grounds for contract nullification.
At that time, it would have been a 5 hour drive from Loveland to Estes Park via Trail Ridge road, perhaps dangerous, and would have added an unnecessary extra burden to the already strained traffic flow.
Indeed, a few days later, authorities stated that no travel into Estes would be allowed without  residents ID. At that time, roads were caving in, mudslides were happening
in the region, and the rains continued. People were being air lifted out of flooded areas. Mr. ****** said himself on his facebook post that Estes was devastated and that weddings would need to be canceled thru the end of Sept. as a MINIMUM. At that point, since we had no way to predict the weather, the road conditions, the future of Estes, and since the news was telling the people of Colorado that Estes would be closed indefinitely, we decided we had no choice but to cancel and plan our wedding elsewhere. This was not just any weekend trip we were planning-this was a wedding, that we could not wait around and see if conditions would improve, so that we could get married on that particular day.
The fact that Estes was able to accept tourists weeks later is completely irrelevant to the flooding at the time that we had to make our decision to cancel. We had no way of predicting the future, and
expecting us to think that maybe we could go through with the wedding later in October is ridiculous. When we are being advised not to travel to Estes Park, it seemed irresponsible to continue planning a wedding that may ultimately not happen. He delayed our written cancellation by intentionally deceiving us through email, and stating information that we later learned not to be true.
Mr. ****** is now stating which roads are open and that Estes is trying to open to tourists. Those facts are irrelevant to our request to cancel back in September when Estes was closed and roads were impassable. The conditions of the roads now are not even a consideration for the need to cancel back in September.The current weather has no bearing on the need to cancel back in September. I'm not sure why Mr. ****** continues to give reports on roads and weather at the present time. When we requested to cancel, it was completely appropriate to listen to authorities and not try to travel to Estes anytime in the future. Estes reported that roads could be impassable for months.
Fraudulent misrepresentation of important and relevant information can be grounds for contract nullification. In my opinion, he should have contacted us first about the situation, but he didn't, and when we contacted him, he tried to deceive us and delay cancellation.


Regards,

***** *****

Consumer Response: ---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: ***** <***********************>
Date: Wed, Oct 23, 2013 at 10:34 PM
Subject: evidence for complaint *******
To: i*****************


Attached files and URLS are additional supporting evidence regarding above dispute. In all cases please remember that at the time we decided the right thing was to cancel our Estes wedding plans that we had no way of knowing when Estes Park would be available to tourists. At that time, Estes Park was closed "indefinitely". We could not continue to plan for a wedding at a site that may not be accessible. The articles indicated unsafe travel.
And since Mr. ****** had not yet begun work on our ceremony or had not met with us to make wedding plans, we thought it was appropriate and responsible to cancel. He did not stay in contact with us about conditions, so we made an important decision to cancel, both for our own concerns and to not add to the burdens of the Estes park area. 

Thank you,

***** *****

Exhibit A (email transcript from September 16 inquiring about Estes Park conditions). Note that Mr. ****** claims roads are dry.

Exhibit B, quote of town administrator dated September 15 that we read later (from ********** **** ****************************************************************************)

Estes Park town administrator ***** ********* said visitors who would normally flock there during the golden September days should stay away for at least a month, but it could take a year or longer for many of the mountain roadways to be repaired.

Exhibit C, description of massive damage to Estes Park and surrounding area from the ********** ****, dated 9/16/2013
(***********************************************************************************************************************************************************)

Exhibit D, photos of damage in the Fall River Road area, where our wedding was planned 

h********************************************************************************************

Exhibit E, more descriptions of Estes Park dated 9/18/2013 indicating predicted unsuitability as a wedding venue in mid-October (***************************************************************************************************************
Please note quote "Major road were washed away, small towns like Glen Haven were reduced to debris, and key infrastructure like gas lines and sewers systems were destroyed. That means hundreds of homes in Estes Park alone could be unreachable and uninhabitable for up to a year."

Exhibit F(facebook post of Marry Me In Colorado observed September 18 stating Estes Park conditions)

Exhibit G(Request to cancel and refund email to Marry Me in Colorado dated September 25)
3 attachments — Download all attachments  
ExhibitA.docx ExhibitA.docx
15K   View   Download  
ExhibitF.docx ExhibitF.docx
12K   View   Download  
ExhibitG.docx ExhibitG.docx
11K   View   Download  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I would like my complaint ID *******, to be handled through an Arbitration hearing with BBB.

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I would like my complaint ID *******, to be handled through an Arbitration hearing with BBB.

Regards,

***** ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Marry Me In Colorado
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)