Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Second Home Vacation Rentals

Additional Locations

Phone: (719) 836-7039 Fax: (303) 964-0106 View Additional Phone Numbers 29 S Main St, Alma, CO 80420 http://www.secondhomesecondchance.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Second Home Vacation Rentals meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Second Home Vacation Rentals include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Second Home Vacation Rentals
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 26, 2009 Business started: 06/01/2007 Business incorporated 06/13/2008 in CO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Susan Bigham, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Susan Bigham, Owner
Business Category

Vacation Rentals

Alternate Business Names
Second Home Second Chance Real Estate & Property Mgmt LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Second Home Vacation Rentals has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 29 S Main St

    Alma, CO 80420 (719) 836-7039 (720) 371-2763 (719) 836-0124

  • PO Box 426

    Alma, CO 80420

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We rented a home called *** *** and have been repeat customers for SHSC. We stayed at *** *** for the weekend of 3/21. On our second night, the heat stopped working. We tried to start a fire, but the instructions for the wood pellet heater were not accurate. Furthermore the hot tub malfunctioned and would not stay on. I notified ***** and she offered a refund for the night. I let her know we would bundle up and power through; we had 3 kids and a dog and that I would and that, if it got too cold, we would call. Moving would have been tough. It was 50 degrees when we woke up and we scooted out for our trip home. ***** promised us, in writing, a discount on this or any other home we wanted to rent in the future. Less than 3 weeks later, I contacted her about renting another home. She reneged on her commitment. She claimed that nothing was wrong when she got there. She claimed she could only offer a discount on that same house. She claimed no one else had ever had a problem. She claimed that she could only offer a discount on the same house. I'm not a nitpicker, but it's also worth mentioning that the house was pretty dirty when we arrived. The cleaning fee is not cheap and so I think it's fair to expect that it will be clean when a new guest arrives.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the $250 for that night, plus the taxes and credit card fees for that charge.

Business Response: The customer called in the evening and I offered to move him if the heat was not working. He did not want to move so I walked him through getting the pellet stove going which he said was working as we were on the phone. I told him if there was a problem with  the heater that I would give him a refund for the night. When the maid  arrived right after his arrival the next morning, the temp on the thermostat was on 70 degrees and it was so hot that she had to turn it down before cleaning the home (email from the maid is attached). The pellet stove had been used as well and was still warm. I sent Him an email explaining that the pellet stove will warm up the house so warm that the heater will not kick on because the room where the thermostat is would not be cold enough. The homeowner was there 2 days prior this rental and had absolutely no problems and the renter after him had absolutely no problems.

After speaking with the homeowner and explaining what happened, we decided to go ahead and still offer him a free night even though there was nothing wrong with the heater. He later emailed me and wanted a free night at a different home. I explained that the free night had to be at the same home as the homeowner had agreed to it even though there was really nothing wrong with the heater. In anger he started threatening to do this and that to retaliate against not getting what he wanted. I believe in customer satisfaction but only if honesty is involved. I do not believe in giving into scams where someone is trying to get something for nothing with threats. I do think he was cold but it is because he had the pellet stove on and it warmed the room with the thermostat and made the other rooms cold. If you have no experience with fireplaces or wood stoves, it can happen. For that reason, I still stand by the offer of a free night with a stay at this home where the homeowner has agreed to allow him to stay for free. This is a $250 value good only for this home. He also had the option to move to a different home no questions asked but he elected not to. I have also attached his email with the text message stating that the home was warmer than 50 and he did not want compensation. The home had just been cleaned prior to his arrival. She cleaned after the homeowner left 2 days earlier. No mention of the home being dirty was made until he did not get his way. Again - Honesty  goes a lot farther than trying to get something by threats.

Business Response: The offer made to give the renter $250 was based on the fact that he said the heater did not work. We know that it did and it was in fact because they had the pellet stove on. We have offered the free night at *** *** and are still willing to give him that but that it our last and only offer. If you refer to the text he himself said the house was much warmer than 50 degrees. He elected not to move and there was nothing wrong with the heater. Three different people as well as the owner and the next renter confirmed that.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
The owner is not honoring the offer that they said they would honor and the owner is not being honest with the facts.  We're stuck in a he-said, she-said situation here and all I can appeal to is the owner's own words.  She offered us an option without qualification and the changed her tune.  We had 9 people in the house that evening that can verify my story. I can provide countless character references that will vouch for my honesty and integrity. 

It seems pretty simple to me.  The heat didn't work.  She offered something to which I agreed.  She changed her mind without having told me that that was a possibility.  She is lying (about the pellet stove) to cover herself.  

I am not interested in staying a night at that house again.  I need a refund to consider this resolved.

Regards,

**** ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Second Home Vacation Rentals
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart