BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of River Ridge Rentals LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

River Ridge Rentals LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 547-9975 Fax: (970) 547-9976 233 S. Ridge St. Unit A, Breckenridge, CO 80424 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.riverridgerentals.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business handles vacation rental homes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that River Ridge Rentals LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for River Ridge Rentals LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on River Ridge Rentals LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 29, 2007 Business started: 06/01/2004 Business started locally: 06/01/2004 Business incorporated: 08/18/2004 in CO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jason Gillette, Director of Operations Ms. Alys Macias, Owner Mr. Chuck Macias, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Gillette, Director of Operations
Business Category

Vacation Rental Companies Real Estate Renters Rental Listing Services

Hours of Operation
M: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
T: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
W: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Th: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
F: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
H: Closed
Service Area
Summit County including Breckenridge, Copper Mountain and Keystone.

Additional Locations

  • 233 S. Ridge St. Unit A

    Breckenridge, CO 80424

  • PO Box 4285

    Breckenridge, CO 80424

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My watch was stolen by a maintenance worker or cleaning service provided by River Ridge Rentals. I was a member of the **** Myers party who rented a house from River Ridge Rentals. I had accidentally left my watch in the top drawer of my dresser and noticed this when I arrived at the airport, only three hours after checking out of the house. I immediately called River Ridge Rentals (******) who advised the cleaning service didn't find anything. He offered to send over a maintenance person to check for the watch. ****** called back and let me know that the maintenance person also did not find the watch. ****** then gave me the phone number of his cleaning service to call directly. We I contacted the cleaning service, they refused to provide me with the name of the employee who cleaned the house. Additionally, they suggested that my friends could have stolen the watch from me or it may have "fallen in a garbage can and been thrown away." Both of these scenarios are obviously ridiculous. The cleaning service also advised that there were other maintenance people in the house so the watch could have been taken by the maintenance crew. I called back ****** at RRR who advised that only the cleaning service and his one maintenance person (who went back to look for the watch) were in the unit between the time when cleaning crew came in, the watch was reported stolen, and the next tenant arrived. Clearly, given that the watch was left in a dresser drawer, the only option was that it was taken by RRR maintenance crew or hired cleaning service (much more likely). I have already filed a police report however I was shocked by this coming from a luxury rental. I could see if I was staying at a random one star accommodation but do not expect this from 5 star luxury rental.

Desired Settlement: I would like my watch returned. This was a gift handed down from my father and cannot be replaced.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/03/14) */ -----Original Message----- From: ****** - River Ridge Rentals (mailto:*****@riverridgerentals.com) On Behalf Of River Ridge Rentals Sent: Thursday, March 14, 2013 9:33 AM To: *****@wynco.bbb.org Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case#XXXXXXXX(Ref#REDACT35*****@riverridgerentals.com34*****@riverridgerentals.com36REDACT) Dear Better Business Bureau, River Ridge Rentals is a company of integrity and we always go above and beyond for our guests to try and help return any items that are left at the properties. We have return items such as lap tops and wads of cash all the time and never have problems with cleaning or our staff taking any items even as little as DVD's. To outline what transpired in this situation: The owner of the company received a call from this guest at 2:30 in the afternoon. 4.5 hrs after check out. He immediately contacted housekeeping owners personally to inquire about the watch, unknown what kind of watch it was. He also dispatched maintenance to go back to house and search for watch; which he could not find. Later I received a phone call from housekeeping company owner that the watch was not found. I called guest back on the news. He told me he was going to file a report with the police because it was a Rolex watch and I told him OK. I talked to owner of house keeping company with the description of the watch and she thought it would be a good idea to go back to the house in the morning to do a more extensive search. Because this was a back to back booking of the house she had to bother the new guests but I told her this would be OK considering the value of watch, even though I usually do not allow disruptions of our guests for lost and found items. The house was searched once more and the new guests at the property were very helpful saying they would let us know right away if anyone in their group found anything. Police said when they called us the next day that said guest did not file a report until 9:30 that night they check out and he would not be going to the house because of the late timeframe. Police also could not understand, why on a watch so important, this report was not made Sooner. On top of that the owner of the housekeeping company took all possible people that could have been a part of this down to the police station for an interview. All voluntarily said that they would take a polygraph test, that the Police declined to do, due to the time it took for the report to be filed as well as based on the merit of the case. We do not understand the customers attitude towards this situation. If the watch could not be found, River Ridge Rentals cannot return the item. We wish we could make the watch just appear so we could send it back to him but that¹s just not the case. Everything that could possibly be done to find the watch was done and then some. Finding this posting on BBB is very disturbing after all the facts are given. I don't believe that said watch was found and stolen from either RRR or the cleaning company. I would only think that maybe guest lost it and is blaming RRR or the house keeping company for the loss. If the watch does turn up we will, by all means, return to this guest immediately. There are countless items found including rolls of cash that have been found by our housekeepers or maintenance that are returned to guests. Due to the extra effort that River Ridge Rentals put toward finding this watch as well as the fact that there is no proof that the watch was even left at the house we ask that the Better Business Bureau remove this from River Ridge Rentals profile. We are quite surprised that someone is even allowed to make a complaint of this nature when there are countless other things that could have happened to the watch during the guests stay. We are always sorry to hear of things that go wrong during any of our guests stay's, but this is clearly not the fault or responsibility of River Ridge Rentals. Sincerely, ****** ****** Manager River Ridge Rentals Www.riverridgerentals.com Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/03/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) While I appreciate all of the effort made by RRR to help recover the item, the item was in fact stolen from the house by either housekeeping or RRR maintenance. In fact, an email directly from RRR indicated the following: REDACT33*****@riverridgerentals.com33REDACT- "I am sorry to hear about the watch. I did contact *** ******, owner of ***** Services, about the report. She is going to look for herself tomorrow even though there will be guests at the house. An action I rarely allow, to protect guest privacy, but I think an exception is in order. Of course if the current guests are not home or do not allow her to come in this will not be possible. I do not know the names of the house keepers that were in cleaning. You can get this info from ****. The maintenance man I had do a check out at property is new with River Ridge Rentals, so our knowledge of his integrity is a little premature." REDACT33*****@riverridgerentals.com33REDACT- My response was simply all members of RRR staff and hired vendors ultimately represent RRR. If they can't trust the integrity of a member of their team, how can I possibly be comfortable with their response. After all, their "knowledge of his integrity is a little premature." (Their response to my email was "Thanks for the Feedback.") The reality is the watch was at their property at the time I left the unit, and then ceased to be once their cleaning and maintenance crews entered the unit. If the cleaning service offered to take a polygraph, I would pay for it to happen. In fact, I'll pay for each person that was in the house to take a polygraph stating that they have no knowledge of the missing watch. The only reason I will do this is I feel entirely confident that one of the members of the cleaning staff or RRR's new employee is responsible for the disappearance of the watch. I will also submit myself to a polygraph so RRR is confident that I'm not making any of this up and this watch was in fact left at the house, in the top dresser drawer. Regardless of what has transpired for previous tenants of RRR, this was my experience. The cleaning service refused to provide the name of the gentleman that was responsible for cleaning the unit which is also unsettling given ******'s comments above on how great and honest the service is. As for the statement on time it took to file the claim, it took 3 hours to get to the airport, unpack the car, and get to the terminal. I didn't realize that I didn't have the watch until I went through security (remove watch, shoes, etc.) Now the fact that I didn't have the watch on my wrist is actually not RRR's fault, my wife told me that to prevent the watch from being lost, she put it in the top dresser drawer. She did see the watch in the drawer in the AM prior to leaving. She didn't remind me to grab it before we left and so I forgot to. We made the flight by roughly 60 minutes which was spent attempting to contact RRR. We did finally connect with them as the plane was taking off to advise them of the watch where we told them it was a Rolex and very valuable. There is no phone service on the airplane although there is internet service so I was able to check voicemail. I did in fact check VM and was told by ****** from RRR that the watch was not found in the top dresser drawer. It takes 30/45 minutes to depart the plane, collect bags and grab a taxi. It takes 30 minutes to drive back from the airport to my house. As soon as I got back to the house, I contacted the police to file the claim. I didn't file the claim earlier because: A. I didn't really have much time B. I assumed that the watch would be found as it was left in an area where it couldn't be disturbed by outside parties. The amount of time it took to file the claim really has nothing to do with the fact the watch was stolen from the house between the time we left and the time I called RRR to advise them (roughly 3-4 hours). Had I stayed at a Motel 8, I would have filed the report earlier but I truly thought it would be found given the location where it was left. RRR's response on how helpful they were is also not As I stated before, at this point, the money isn't important to me. If the cleaning service is so open to a polygraph, I'd ask that they all take them. That would immediately put this matter to bed. If not, I ask that it remain open so that all future tenants know what to expect when leaving valuable items in their property. This outcome obviously has no benefit to me, I'm not filing this claim to be spiteful. At this point I simply want my watch returned OR let future tenants know to be wary of this vendor. Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/03/28) */ Let me provide some more details about this situation. The client mentions that the watch in question was stolen, when in fact it was actually lost. He is making the problem sound like during his stay he had maid service, and while the maid was providing this service a watch was stolen. That is not the case at all. According to the lease agreement the client had to vacate the property by Sunday, March 10, 2013 at 10 am. The property was vacated by that time and at that point River Ridge Rentals had completed to 100% all of our duties and responsibilities in accordance with the lease agreement. From there we found out about the lost watch and went over and above to try and help this client out. We sent the owners of the cleaning company and sent a maintenance person over especially to try and locate the watch. When it was not located three employees were taken to the Police station for an interview to try and make sure we had done everything we possibly could. In addition we went once more the following day and spoke to the newly arrived guests as well as searched for the watch one more time. Even though we are not required by anything in our lease agreement to try and help guests with lost items we still went to all the time, cost, and trouble to help a guest out. In return for trying to help this person we are now being accused of stealing. In all reality this situation was caused by the irresponsibility of the guest plain and simple. Despite our best efforts we were unable to help the client with the lost watch, even though we were in no way obligated to do so. Never once did we receive a thank you for making the effort to try and help with the situation. Just a bunch of baseless accusations that border criminal type behavior with the writings of this client. We do apologize to all guests that we can not provide 100% satisfaction too, but in this case we did everything we possibly could to help even though we were not obligated to do so. Regarding the clients offer of everyone taking polygraph tests - that doesn't sound like something that is logistically possible. Is the client going to pay for the transportation and time it takes to go and return from wherever one might be able to order a polygraph? Is the client himself going to travel to that same location to get a polygraph at the same time frame so the results can be verified? Once again we have already spent countless man hours and resources trying to help solve this problem only to be publicly villianized for our efforts. Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/03/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) In response to RRR's last comment, It is true that we left the property at 10AM and in any other circumstance (If I left some clothing, or keys, or something else of lesser value) I wouldn't make such a big deal of this. Unfortunately, this is a totally different case. I left a watch which was $8,500 in a property that RRR manages. Within 2-3 hours of leaving that property, my watch was taken. There were two people in the property from the time we left, to the time I called. Those people are directly connected to RRR as employees or vendors. In either case, RRR is responsible for the property and items within the property, regardless of the end time of the lease agreement. In regards to my offer for taking a ploygraph - Yes, I will stop everything I am doing and fly to Denver and drive to the Breckenridge police department to take the polygraph and witness the employees from RRR take it as well. I will pay whatever is necessary to prove that this vendor,their employees and or vendors they work with are not honest.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.