Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Repair of Heavy, medium and light duty trucks, (diesel gas and propane powered) including engine, electronic diagnostics, chassis and suspension service, brakes, transmission, charging system, ignition system, electrical and wiring, air system and emission failure repairs. Repairs for hydraulic equipment, fifth-wheels and hitches, forklifts, construction equipment, lift gates, buses, trailers, booms, conveyors and cranes. Certified crane inspections and crane repairs.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Diesel Services of Northern Colorado meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Diesel Services of Northern Colorado
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 04, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1997 in CO Business started locally: 01/01/1998 Business incorporated 01/01/1997 in CO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Marybeth Snyder, Business Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Marybeth Snyder, Business Manager
Business Category

Truck Repair Shops Forklift Repair Companies Heavy Duty Equipment Repair Services Diesel Engine Suppliers Bus Repair Shops Compressors - Repair

Products & Services

Diesel Services of Northern Colorado sells the following brand(s): Baldwin truck filters

Diesel Services of Northern Colorado offers the following product(s): Goodyear Kelly tires

Method(s) of Payment
cash, credit cards (Visa, MasterCard, Discover, AMEX), ConChek, T-check, Wright Express, Voyager, FleetOne, ProFleet, EFS check, Donlen Fleet, ARI and more
Alternate Business Names
Northern Colorado Diesel LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Diesel Services of Northern Colorado has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1828 E Mulberry St Unit D

    Fort Collins, CO 80524 (970) 221-9280

  • 4738 Marketplace Drive

    Johnstown, CO 80534


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 1995 **** ***** to Northern Colorado Diesel Service exclusively for the purpose of having an oil leak repaired. I knew I had a faulty alternator, and a "check engine light" (CEL). I took the truck to the shop b/c it was leaking oil all over the street in front of my house and I wanted to stop this immediately before it caused a large permanent oil spot on my newly paved street. I knew where the oil was leaking from at the front of the plenum and I explained this to the service rep. When I came to p/u the vehicle, they had not repaired the oil leak, but instead informed me that I had a faulty alternator, which they believed to be causing the CEL. The rep also stated that I had a fuel leak in addition to the oil leak. They said that the defective alternator was causing the CEL, and recommended changing the fuel lines, which they claimed were leaking, and replacing the cam chain cover, the source of the oil leak (I had already explained this when I dropped the truck off, as it was plain to see). I agreed to replace the cover / gasket and fuel lines, and they ordered the parts (about $150 total). I replaced the alternator with a new OEM unit the following week and took the vehicle back to have the oil/fuel leak repaired a week after that. Tony, the service rep called me the following day and said my truck was ready to p/u. When I arrived to p/u my vehicle, just as they were closing, Tony informed me that the part they ordered (that was causing the oil leak) turned out to be the wrong part, but that the tech had pulled out the "non-serviceable plug" (located on the exterior of that cover), applied sealer to it and re-installed it, claiming this had stopped the oil leak. I was then presented with a bill for over $600, of which a portion was $57 for the "diagnosis" they had done 2 weeks prior. I did not authorize the tampering of the non-serviceable plug (which Ford calls a non-serviceable plug b/c it is not supposed to be serviced) and disputed the charges based on the fact that I did not authorize this repair and that there was an additional $57 "diagnostic" charge added, for a total of $114 in diagnostic charges for items I explicitly requested be repaired (no need to "diagnose"). I also argued that the charges to replace the fuel lines were exorbitant / unreasonable. The fact is, when a repair shop has your vehicle, you don't get it back until you pay the bill... so I paid it. The truck was brought around to me and delivered to me running. I drove away and after a few miles noticed that the check engine light was on and it never went off the whole way home. In the past, the CEL had always gone off upon reaching operating temp. I also noticed a violent shaking as I approached 40 mph. The truck had never done this before. I thought it was a u-joint, but later found out it was the engine missing on one or more cylinders, causing it to vibrate. I was extremely disappointed and barely got the truck home. Later that week, I went out to start the truck and it would not start at all. It still will not start and beneath it is a noticeable oil spot caused by the leak for which I originally took it in to have fixed. I had the truck towed to another shop and upon bringing the truck indoors, I noticed the smell of diesel fuel that was still leaking from somewhere in the plenum. I had the oil changed at a cost of another $150, and the truck will still not start. So in the end, they did not fix the oil leak, which is the only issue I requested be repaired, they did not fix the fuel leak, which they suggested was vital, I'm out $603, and now my truck will not start or run as a result. This was a horrible experience.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the amount paid. The shop did cover the cost of the fuel lines (about $100), but I have already spent near that amount having it towed to another shop and will spend considerably more just to get the truck running in the same condition as when I took it to Northern Colorado Diesel Service. I would consider the correct repair as a resolution, but I do not trust this shop due to the unauthorized and inappropriate repairs performed, and b/c of the position I was placed in when it came time to pay the bill and pick up the vehicle.

Business Response:

Diesel Services of Northern Colorado
1828 E Mulberry St Unit D
Fort Collins, Colorado 80524-4624
970-221-9286 fax
**************** *****
January 20, 2016

The Better Business Bureau

RE: ID # ********

Good Day to You,

We appreciate the opportunity to respond to our customer’s experience report after having his truck at our shop. We take our customers’ satisfaction very seriously and are disappointed that when further problems arose he did not call for solutions. We would have preferred to have had the truck towed here and diagnosed his problems.  We stand behind our work.

After examining the records, speaking to Service Consultant and the Technician who did the work as well as the Shop Foreman, here’s what I learned.

Our customer brought his truck here with the following requests: 1) he wanted us to replace the high pressure oil pump (HPOP), the injection control pressure sender (ICP) and the injection pressure regulator (IPR) to solve oil leaking from the engine. 2) Check on why the check engine light comes on and it blows white smoke on startup when it’s cold out but the check engine light goes out upon a restart. He reported 3) that the batteries are low, the truck needs to be jump started, the brake controller is flashing and the turn signals are out.

We suggested we perform diagnostics to assure he really needs all those parts to solve the oil leak because the replacement of those three components takes over 6 hours labor ($775.00). Our objective is to never sell repairs that are not needed and we consider that to be quite a large expense.  The customer agreed. He also expressed the importance of keeping costs down and we kept that in mind throughout. 

We found the truck would not crank nor start. We charged up the batteries until we could get it to start. Once it started, it would not stay running long enough to diagnose the fuel and oil leak problem. The alternator needed to be replaced before further diagnostics could take place.

1) The oil leak diagnosis found the largest oil leak to be from the top cover. In addition, two fuel return lines were found to be leaking fuel. A fuel leak can often wash oil residue across the engine and appear to be an oil leak due to its black contamination. A fuel leak will add to the volume of what is perceived to be only an oil leak. We ordered the fuel lines. We also found the oil dipstick tube to be leaking oil at the o-ring, fuel is leaking from the banjo washers on the fuel pump. These were smaller leaks compared to the top cover and the fuel lines. We provided an estimate for all the repairs. The customer approved only the major leak repairs in the amount of $668 which was approved by Rob at 11:55am on December 21st.
2) The electronic diagnostics showed several codes: ***** *** lower/higher than desired, *****,*****,*****.  The oil pressure was at 725 at idle. These codes lead to possible high pressure oil pump, possible injector o-rings. Further testing would be needed. The truck was running rough. The Advisor  and the Shop Foreman  mentioned that to the customer; he wanted to just start with the oil and fuel leaks for now.
3) Testing found the batteries are low due to the fact that the alternator is failing. The customer took the truck to replace the alternator himself while waiting for the fuel lines to be ordered as the dealer no longer stocks those lines for that 1995 truck. We left the Repair Order open because he was bringing the truck back.

When the truck was returned after the alternator was replaced, we replaced the leaking fuel lines. As for the oil leak, the perfect solution would have been to replace that top cover, but that part is no longer available to purchase new. The truck is 20 years old and some parts are no longer available.  As a courtesy, and at no charge, we did the next best thing which was to remove the improperly installed plug in the cover, rethread and dope up the plug and reinstall it correctly. That stopped the largest oil leak.  When the truck left here, it had a significant exhaust leak on the passenger’s side, the oil dipstick tube was leaking oil, the fuel pump banjo washers were leaking fuel, the check engine was still on. The light won’t clear, it may need injector o-rings. The upper and lower ball joints need replaced on the front end, the carrier bearing is worn out, the u-joints are worn out. All these items were clearly expressed, we provided  Estimate #****, attached. He chose not to do any further repairs.

He DID approve the estimate ($668), we charged him less than the estimate ($602.98); we fixed the largest oil leak for free; we only charged him 1 hour labor for diagnosing three problems.  We offered to replace the top cover for free if he could find a used one somewhere. We did what we could to keep his costs down and only address the items he came in for originally. I’m not sure how we could have done any better. Our Shop Foreman stayed late to spent quite some time discussing the truck with the customer when he came to pick it up. Documentation is available upon request.

He may be smelling diesel fuel because it still has a fuel leak, we know it still has at least one another oil leak, we know the engine has a problem since it runs rough, it smokes and the check engine light is on. Engine problems, fuel leaks and oil leaks can lead to a no-start. The oil change was done at another shop, we did not do it here.  The shaking at 40 mph is likely the u-joint going out combined with the engine running so rough.

My suggestions now are: 1) bring the truck back for diagnosis of the no-start, free of charge or 2) provide the detailed Repair Order from another shop indicating that any of the work we did has failed. We can then determine a solution.

Marybeth S*****

Marybeth S*****, Manager
Diesel Services of Northern Colorado

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I don't have time for he said / she said. I knew this was a waste of time.


****** ********

2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 7.3l Excursion into Diesel Services because it was running extremely poorly. They did a ton of diagnosing and figured out that it was gasoline in the diesel. It needed all new injectors, so they replaced those as well as my glow plugs, which were also bad. When I got it back, whenever I would steer to the hard left, it would make a grinding noise. This absolutely was not an issue when I brought it into the shop, so I brought it back for them to look at it. They told me that one of my hubs was locked, and stuck in that position. I have absolutely no clue why the four wheel drive would've been touched while it was there, but it NEVER did that when I brought it in. Also, very quickly after I got it back, the engine began to run very rough. Diesel services was extremely hard to work with, while dealing with these issues, and never stood behind there work. Now, because of the locked hub, I'm having worse and worse grinding issues. Overall, I am EXTREMELY dissatisfied with the customer service and repairs I received there, and wish I would've gone somewhere else.

Desired Settlement: Fix the wheel hub that was locked while the vehicle was in their possession. See if there are any issues with the repairs that were completed that are causing the engine to run rough.

Business Response: January 29, 2014
***** ****** **** ********* ** **** ******** ** *****

RE: BBB Business concern # *******

Good Day to You,

This letter is for the purpose of responding to your concern filed with the Better Business Bureau. We are a reputable truck repair shop, in business for 16 years with an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau. We stand behind our parts and workmanship upon notification from the customer. This is a response to your two concerns: the engine runs rough and the front end grinds when turning left.

To review your circumstance: On May 24, 2013 you brought your Excursion in to us for repair. Your complaint was that the vehicle: “has a bad idle, lags until you get to 2500 RPM.” You also reported “the glow plugs may be bad. If parked where it can’t be plugged in, it won’t start.” We verified that it wouldn’t start, and once we got it to start, it ran poorly, backfired and smoked heavily. Our computer diagnostic process indicated 6 of the 8 glow plugs were bad. We recommended the replacement of all 8 glow plugs and the controller. Only the glow plug replacement was approved. Then we found the fuel filter to have gasoline in it. It turns out the diesel fuel system was contaminated with gasoline. As we informed you at that time, gasoline can cause numerous engine problems. We have a warning on our bulletin board for our customers which say, “Should you discover that gasoline has been introduced into your diesel fuel tank, do not so much as even start your engine.  Gasoline can create so much heat in the fuel system that injectors can melt.  Call us and we can send a tow truck.  We will drain the contaminated fuel out of your tank, clear all fuel lines, change the fuel filter, and fill with fresh fuel.  It’s not worth the risk to run your engine on gas.”

Since your engine actually ran on gasoline-contaminated fuel, we suggested we do a compression test to make sure the cylinders would hold compression.  All the cylinders had acceptable compression. We then removed the bad fuel from the tank, flushed out the fuel lines, replaced the fuel filter and added fresh diesel fuel. The computer testing showed that 2 injectors were damaged. We recommended replacing all 8 since they had likely gotten too hot and would soon fail. We replaced all 8 injectors, the glow plugs, performed a level I service and ran the engine and took it for a test drive.  The engine ran well, no check engine light came on. We rechecked our work.  The vehicle did not have any grinding sounds or steering problems and it started right up. 
 We did note, however, that the horn is inoperable, the air cleaner housing, box and base is cracked and was allowing dirt and debris into the turbo.  The turbo impeller is damaged from the dirt intake and was at risk of coming apart. Turbo impellors spin at about 70,000 to 80,000 r.p.m. Should the turbo fall part while spinning that fast, it would cause severe engine damage.  We provided an estimate for the additional critical repairs. You declined and signed our typed warning.  See the attached Repair Order #300909 with your signature.

All along the way, we worked with your insurance company, Farmer’s, and they agreed to pay all but $250 of the $5195.60. You picked the truck up on June 8, 2013.

On June 20, 176 miles after the engine repairs, you brought the truck back for us to diagnose “when turning all the way to the left, feels like the tire is rubbing” and “the battery light is on in the dash”.  We tested the charging system: the batteries were good but the alternator was completely inoperable. We put the truck on a lift and inspected the front end.  We found the right front wheel hub is not disengaging. In automatic-locking hubs, particularly on Ford trucks, often the spring-loaded release can break and cause the hub to lock in. It cannot be released because it’s broken.  The hub needs to be replaced. We provided an estimate and you declined both repairs. We did not charge you for the diagnostics.

To address your “engine runs rough” concern:
1. As we informed you at the time we worked on your engine problems, there can be internal damage to a diesel engine that ran on gasoline-contaminated fuel. Hidden internal engine damage could include piston, ring, valve and cylinder damage.  There is no way to confirm the condition of the internal engine components without taking the entire engine apart. Any of these problems could be the cause of the engine running rough.
2. Your engine had been operating with a broken air cleaner assembly. Your engine could very well be “dusted”, causing it to run rough.
3. The engine is equipped with an after-market performance (power-up) chip which can cause turbo and engine damage, computer problems and run-rough conditions.
4. We could have installed a defective injector.

To address your “grinding noise when turning left” concern:
1. We already determined the right front hub assembly is broken and needs to be replaced.  Until that repair is made, it will continue to grind. We had no reason to touch your chassis or suspension while performing the engine work. These things break. Your truck is over 12 years old with 95,000 miles on it.  Rarely do the Ford automatic locking hubs last this long before breaking. 

I would like to suggest you bring the vehicle back to our shop. We will hook up the scanner and check for injector codes and follow the related testing procedure. There will be no charge for this service.  If we find defective injector(s), we will gladly replace it (them)  under our warranty.  Please call ahead so we can reserve a time to perform these diagnostics. We would like you to be happy with your truck.

******** ******, Manager
Diesel Services of Northern Colorado

2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my Dodge 3500 in for AC repair, it was not blowing cold. I left the vehicle for a day and a half. I stated that the system was virtually brand new. They completed repairs replaced the orifice tube and got the ac to blow cold. I then drove and in Florida it was not blowing cold air. It was doing the same thing. They just patched the problem and did not fix the problem. I paid $438 in labor, it takes 1 hour to replace orifice tube, should be $89 labor charge. Not sure what the rest was for. They did not diagnose the issue and I had to pay another $500 in Ft Myers, FL and $700 in Clear Lake City, TX to have it properly fixed.I tried to go to them directly and they will not stand by their work. They say I waited for the repairs which is not true. I had someone pick me up and drive me around for a day and a half

Desired Settlement: I would like a partial refund of the labor for the repair. The total labor is $438 and installing a orifice tube is one hour labor at $89. I will be happy with $250 I just want what is fair and go away.

Business Response:

Good Day to You, Mr. ****, 

This letter is for the purpose of responding to your above referenced letter. I have interviewed the Service Consultant who conferred with you, the Technician who worked on your truck, the diagnostic procedures for the complaint you voiced and have carefully considered all the aspects of this Repair Order # 301379. We here at Diesel Services are more than happy to refund customers if our workmanship or parts are bad, and that warranty is responsible for a good portion of our stability and success over the last 16 years. We are A+ rated with the BBB. However, in this case, I cannot find bad workmanship, a bad part or any other error made by staff. I believe under the rushed circumstances we were in due to your urgency to leave town, we provided good service. 

When you brought your truck here, you stated "the air conditioning doesn't blow cold; everything on the AC system is new". Your signature on the bottom of the write-up sheet is attached. With that information, we went about testing why the AC was blowing warm air. We found the AC system to be void of freon. Freon is what chills the AC system; without it the AC will not blow cold. We tested to find a leak, which is an industry standard in AC diagnostics: where did the freon in a brand new AC system go? We applied a vacuum to the system, it would not hold vacuum. We pressurized the system with nitrogen, listened for a leak, sprayed down the AC lines. No leaks were evident. We applied a black light and found some freon residue around the compressor connections. At your suggestion, we removed and replaced the O-rings, retested. The system still would not hold vacuum. You told the Service Advisor you were in a hurry and asked us to just fill it with freon so you could leave. Upon adding freon as requested, the system would not take even half of the capacity, an indication of a restriction in the system. We determined there was a restriction in the orifice tube. It needs to be replaced and the system needs to be flushed out to remove the contamination. We removed the battery box, the inner fender and the freon line. We replaced that orifice tube, reassembled the components that had been removed, recharged the system with 1.5 lbs. of freon. We tested the AC and it was blowing 40 degree air. Due to the fact that you were in a hurry, you declined flushing the system. 
You did not tell us the problem was intermittent, you said it was "not blowing cold". The complaint on the invoice from Terry Wynter Auto Service Center says, "AC system will stop working intermittently, after he turns system off for a while system will start working again." Perhaps that was your "overall main issue." 

Lastly, Mr. ****, you were here waiting while we worked and approved the labor time as we progressed. 

I sympathize with you and the frustration over your AC problems, but I can't honestly agree with you that Diesel Services of Northern Colorado did not serve you well. We fixed your reported problem: your brand new AC system no longer had a leak and your AC was blowing 40 degree air from the vents when you left. Therefore, your request to receive a refund for services rendered are being declined. 


******** ******, Manager 
Diesel Services of Northern Colorado 

Attachment: Signed write-up sheet 20130805

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I guess my next step is the Attorney General of Colorado.


**** ****

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Diesel Services of Northern Colorado
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart