Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Transwest Truck Trailer RV

Phone: (303) 684-3400 Fax: (303) 684-3401 7550 E I25 Frontage Rd, Frederick, CO 80516 http://www.trailerwest.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Motorhomes
Horse Trailers
Used Trucks
New Hauler Trucks


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Transwest Truck Trailer RV meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Transwest Truck Trailer RV include:

  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Transwest Truck Trailer RV include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Transwest Truck Trailer RV
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 05, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1992 in CO Business started locally: 01/01/1992 Business incorporated 01/01/1992 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Auto Division-CO
140 W 6th Ave Rm 109, Denver CO 80204
Phone Number: (303) 205-5696

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Andrew Lyons, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andrew Lyons, General Manager
Business Category

Truck Dealers Truck Equipment Suppliers Truck accessories Trailer Hitch Suppliers Truck Repair Shops Truck Trailer Companies Trailer Sales Companies Horse Trailer Suppliers Recreational Vehicles - Equipment, Parts, Supplies Trailer Equipment Part Suppliers Trailer Repair Shops

Products & Services

Transwest Truck Trailer RV sells the following brand(s): Cimarron Trailers, Itasca, Logan Coach, Newmar, Renegade, Roadtrek, Summit Hauler

Refund and Exchange Policy
Look at each case on an individual basis.

Additional Locations

  • 7550 E I25 Frontage Rd

    Frederick, CO 80516 (303) 684-3400

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my 1983 Bluebird Wanderlodge RV to Transwest based in large part on its Internet website advertising that it services all makes and models of Class A RVs. Prior to driving the vehicle to Transwest, I called and confirmed that it was capable of servicing my make and model of RV. I brought the vehicle in for several repairs, including repair of the generator; diesel emissions; repair of the passenger side mirror; and a vehicle systems check. I told the service personnel that I intended to leave on a family trip with my wife and children on May 22 and needed the RV prior to that date. After several weeks of fairly poor communications, Transwest told me that they could not repair some of the items, including the mirror and generator, and that they do not perform diesel emissions, contrary to specific promises on their website. I was also told that the vehicle was 'slow to air up,' but was not informed that the vehicle had several serious air leaks that had rendered the air brake system dangerous. I was given the keys and was directed to what I believed was the same safe and operable vehicle that I had driven to Transwest some three weeks earlier. In fact, the air system gave out in the Transwest parking lot, and I was forced to park the RV in a safe spot on the lot. The service person then came out and essentially scolded me for parking the vehicle next to a tent that Transwest was using for a sales promotion. The feeling I got was that my brown 1983 RV was an embarrassment to this upscale dealer. I then explained my situation, and the person forwarded me to the diesel service department, where I set up an appointment for the following week. While waiting for my ride back to Denver, the manager of the chassis department, Ken, told me that when he and another tech were working on the plumbing in my RV, they heard a serious air leak in the engine bay. *** remarked to me something to the effect that I was lucky that I didn't make it out onto the Interstate (which is close by the dealership) because I probably would have lost my brakes on the way home. I of course was never told that Transwest knew or suspected that my brakes were failing, and I would have never gotten into a 33,000 pound vehicle I suspected to be dangerous.The next day, the Transwest diesel service manager called me and in a very unprofessional and upset tone told me that the brakes on the RV had completely gone out while a tech was moving the RV on the lot, and that my RV was now blocking traffic. The service manager asked me for my address and told me that he was going to have the RV towed to my home in Denver at considerable expense to me. Through later conversations, I ultimately talked to the General Manager, Andrew Lyons, who was guardedly friendly but assured me that he would see to it that the air leaks were investigated and fixed. He even told me that he knew a Wanderlodge expert who would help. The very next morning, I received a letter from Transwest's attorney, who informed me that the vehicle will now be treated as 'abandoned' and disposed of if I do not immediately arrange to have it towed. The problem, of course, is that I would not have brought the RV to Transwest if I had known that they do not work on this type of vehicle, in spite of their specific advertising to the contrary. Moreover, I feel as if Transwest is retaliating against me for complaining about attempting to send me down the Interstate in a vehicle that they actually knew to be dangerous in light of the air leaks discovered by the techs while working on the rig, and which was not disclosed to me before I attempted to drive it.

Desired Settlement: Apart from Transwest's deceptive trade practices and advertising, Transwest made promises to me that caused me to change my position and which now have caused me damages. Had I known that Transwest does not work on older RVs and that it does not perform diesel emissions, I would not have brought it to Transwest--which is a considerable distance from my home in Denver--and would not be facing a considerable towing charge. I am also concerned that Transwest essentially 'dumped' my vehicle knowing that it had massive air leaks and that it was dangerous to drive on the highway. On multiple occasions, I have offered to pay Transwest to investigate and fix the air leaks so that I can drive the RV, but now they appear to be retaliating against me for complaining and have declined to repair the truck. The outcome I seek is to have the air leaks investigated and repaired and to have them cease threatening to dispose of my 'abandoned' RV.

Business Response: We believe this dispute to be resolved and the customer is having the vehicle picked up today 6/16/2014.

6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased 2013 ****** ****** * on 7/31/13 from ******** ****** in ********* ** as I could not find a ****** * in my region. Drove it back to *******. Upon arrival in ******* noticed that black water tank contents (sewage) had accumulated under drain cap when emptying tanks at dump station. Just assumed that valve had not been tightly closed. Same thing happened after trip to ****** in fall, so I arranged to have warranty service on black water valve in October 2013 at Transwest RV in Frederick, CO, 310 miles away, which I assumed was closest service center as it is closest ****** dealer. The trip to Transwest was interrupted by damage to exhaust system on way there which had to be repaired at ******** dealer in Loveland, CO. Transwest could not do scheduled service at that time due to heavy schedule. I then rescheduled the black water valve service for April 3, 2014, after winter weather hopefully over. After Transwest inspection on 4/3/14, I was informed that black water valve was not leaking and was charged $149.23 for this inspection which I was told was very thorough, filling tank with hose from inside. Upon return to *******, I noticed there was still water system pink anti-freeze in the toilet and to my dismay, water under the drain cap when I removed it. I then drained all water system anti-freeze, filled fresh water tank, and ran water through the toilet and gray water drains. The black water tank/valve still leaks with fluid collecting under drain cap each time tested. I feel Transwest should refund the charge of $149.23 as well as pay for fuel cost to travel 620 mile round trip, approx $160, which accomplished nothing. I still have a leaking black water valve. I am reluctant to return to Transwest as they are incompetent and appear to lack integrity.

Desired Settlement: As above: $149.23 plus unnecessary travel cost of $160.

Business Response: We are sending the customer a check for the full requested amount. Check will go out 6/6/2014

6/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A $2000.00 deposit was given Transwest for the purchase of a new ****** ***** motorhome for delivery a few days later. The dealership contacted us prior to delivery that they had discovered problems with one of the slide outs, and that delivery would be delayed. A more detailed inspection of the motorhome by the buyers found additional problems, including a damaged radiator, wallpaper flaws, and marred kitchen cabinets. As this defective coach was being sold as 'new,' we refused to take delivery. We found a suitable substitute motorhome in Iowa that we were willing to accept in lieu of the defective unit,, but the dealer refused to work with us to obtain that coach. We requested return of the deposit, which the dealer refused.

Desired Settlement: Return of the $2000.00 deposit.

Business Response: The deposit was refunded on 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have been refunded my $2,000 deposit and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ********

5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used **** **** trailer from this dealership and have had nothing but problems. Upon arrival at my home we found major propane leaks as well as appliances/T.V. not working inside the living quarters. I took the trailer back for repair and was charged for the T.V. I negotiated an inspection in the spring to have the trailer un-winterized and repair all that was wrong with it at that time. I bought the trailer with air ride suspension and hydraulic disc brakes. I was notified that the air ride was going to be removed and I would lose my disc brakes for rubber torsion axles with drum electric brakes. This is considered a modification and not a repair so I have to take this trailer to get it appraised elsewhere on my dime once the job is done. I was called and told the trailer was done and ready for me to pick it up and so I went down to find the replaced axles crooked under my trailer. Blocked up so the trailer has 23 1/4 inches off the ground for my horses to load. I asked for the trailer to be fixed properly and was told NO. The Mechanic that did the work said there was nothing wrong with it. I took photos and measurements that can be provided. I DO NOT recommend anyone doing business with this company. I have dealt with 3 different people and They all give me the run around. Before this very large repair I offered to deal on another trailer and even pay the difference and that was refused by the dealership. I still want to trade out on something else and let this trailer be Transwest's problem. It is very obvious this trailer was not inspected before it was sold to me. The suspension was and still is unsafe. Not to mention all of the other issues found like a bad hot water heater that needed replaced. T.V. still does not work properly. Axles are not installed properly. Driver side measurements. Front tire to wheel opening 1 1/2 inch. 5 inches between tires and 6 inches from rear tire to wheel opening. Passenger side is 2 1/2 front 4/1/2 middle and 4 3/4

Desired Settlement: I am tired of dealing with all of these issues with this trailer. I want a replacement that I can go down the road with and have no issues. My **** trailer is getting worse all the time and I do not trust your ability to fix the issues with it. I want a trailer that has 4 horses and **** Needs to be as good as a **** or equivalent to it. My financial institution is going to pull the plug on this deal because the repairs your company has made will not pass offsite inspection.

Business Response: Gave the customer a trailer to use for the weekend since they felt their  trailer was not correct  - and then traded back the trailer that the customer didn't feel was correct for a different trailer that the customer selected.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *******

11/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had to use this business due to the location of any other "certified" shops in the area. All my issues started after having all 3 of my generators, used to power my food truck, 200 hour service completed at Transwest. 1st issue, inside of 3 working hours on the gen, was the gen's coolant system started to fail, causing the gen to shut down for a overheating issue. Returning the food truck to TW, I paid $2k for the coolant system to be rebuilt. I was unable to have anyone give me a break down of the labor costs and was asked to leave the premises when I continued to ask. 3rd visit was for gen 3, this time the breakdown was inside of 5 hours of operation, which was for the exact same problem of overheating and this gen needed $2500 on work. Once again, I was denied a breakdown in costs. 4th visit was for gen 1 again, inside 10 hours of operation from 1st service and 3 hours of food truck operation, for a 'Motor Speed control" issue. After all work was completed, no breakdown in cost. On the 5th and final visit, not 2 hours of operation after last service, "motor speed control" shuts down gen1. I called TW and was told I would not be charged full price fix gen1 this time, as they had been working on it several time now in such a short period of time. This time the bill was for $6600, no discounts on nothing. Parts were $2000 and labor was $4000. Advised I could just leave me truck there as I signed the estimate page when dropping off. Still unable to get breakdown in labor costs or what the "miscellaneous" charge refers too

Desired Settlement: I would 1st like to see a detailed breakdown of all labor charges from TW, form all of my visits, and to have the ability to inspect and reply as I see fit.

Business Response:

To Whom it may concern:


Mr *** first brought his truck to our service center for a PM service on 3/15/2013. At that time we serviced his truck and all 3 generators.

On 3/27 Mr *** returned complaining that one gen was not providing power. After diagnosis our tech found that the breaker for the generator had been tripped for an unknown reason. After resetting the breaker and testing the truck/generator were returned to service.

On 8/13/2013 Mr *** returned for another routine PM service. He advised that gen 1 had an overheating problem. Our tech reviewed his complaint and found that generator one was low on coolant. Our tech refilled the coolant, tested the generator for one hour with no signs of leaks or overheating. Serviced truck per customer request.

On 8/23/13 Mr *** returned advising that his generator #1 had spewed coolant out and overheated causing a shutdown. Our tech verified this complaint and advised that there was no circulation of coolant through the generator cooling system. Tech advised replacement of the waterpump, thermostat, belt and hoses and belt tensioner. After replacement the tech tested the unit and advised all systems worked properly.

On 8/30/13 we opened a work order to repair an overheating issue. We replaced a thermostat, water pump belt, and cleaned the radiator. We refilled the cooling system, and tested the generator for 2 hours with no signs of overheating.

On 9/3/13 we replaced battery cables on one of Mr **** generators.

On 9/6/13 Mr *** brought his generator in stating that the unit would sputter and die under a load. Our tech tested the unit, he changed the brush block and cleaned the slip rings.

on 10/1/ 13 Mr *** brought his truck to us stating that one of his 3 generators would not make power. Our tech tested the unit, the tech swapped the unit controller with the controller from another of Mr **** generators. The tech found no change in performance by replacing the controller with a known good unit. The brushes and slip ring tested OK, the tech then tested the generator rotor and stator, both tested bad. Customer was contacted and approved Transwest to overnight the parts to repair his generator. The tech ordered the parts, when parts arrived the replacement parts were noted as damaged in shipping. Tech was advised to order replacement parts overnight by transwest management. Replacement parts came in wrong. Tech ordered more replacement parts overnight. In the interim, Mr *** called noticeably upset with the time frame of his repair. Mr *** ended his call by yelling “Get my ******* truck done” and hung up. After 4 return phone calls to Mr *** to advise what we could do to complete his truck, he asked that we “button his truck up”. At that point we advised Mr *** that several of his truck functions would not operate to his normal service level. Mr *** acknowledged that he understood what would and would not work with this generator down. We “buttoned Mr ***** truck up, he picked the unit up 10/11/13.

On 10/14/2013 the correct parts came in, our tech started assembling the generator. Mr *** brought his truck back to us late that afternoon. Our tech tested the generator Tuesday, during the test he found a coolant leak and a terminal connection with bad threads. The tech tested the cooling system and found a loose hose. The tech found a used terminal block on a generator that was scrapped by another Transwest customer. The tech was authorized to replace Mr **** terminal block by Transwest management. The tech brought in Mr **** truck, raised the truck so the generator could be installed into its nested location inside the bodywork of the truck. The tech connected all relevant fuel and electrical connections, tested the operation and the related appliances the generator powers. The tech completed his paperwork and Mr *** was called to come pick his truck up.


To address why Mr *** was asked to leave the premises on past occasions I cannot say. What I can say is that Mr ***, in dealing with myself…

  • Mr *** would not have a rational phone conversation about the parts delivery issues we faced from our sub suppliers.

  • Mr *** is verbally abusive, yelling and cursing at Transwest staff on several occasions both on the phone and in person.

  • Mr *** smelled of ********* ***** on several occasions.


To my knowledge Transwest has never, and would never fail to provide a breakdown of hours billed for a repair. When Mr *** asked, I printed and emailed a breakdown of the labor charges for his invoice dated 10/16/13.


8/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service