Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Rocky Mountain Travel King Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Rocky Mountain Travel King Inc

Phone: (970) 484-5566 Fax: (970) 484-5582 View Additional Phone Numbers 516 S College Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80524 http://www.rkymtntravelking.us


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rocky Mountain Travel King Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rocky Mountain Travel King Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rocky Mountain Travel King Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 12, 2008 Business started: 01/01/1966 Business started locally: 01/01/1966 Business incorporated: 01/01/1986 in CO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Sylvia Mucklow, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sylvia Mucklow, Owner
Business Category

Travel Agencies & Bureaus


Additional Locations

  • 516 S College Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80524 (970) 484-5566 (800) 252-5306

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid for an upgrade to an already booked cruise reservation. I had numerous discussions with ******, the owner, when arranging this upgrade. She told me the upgrade would be for a cabin with a balcony and sofa for our third person to sleep on as all of us were over 50 and NOT able to climb into an overhead "bunk". I made MANY phone calls to ****** upon our cruise return, as we did not get a room with the sofa for the third person. She avoided my calls and did not return them. When she did call me back she was very curt and crisp and not in the least bit interested in discussing my issue with me. Her other staff members were un-knowledgeable and therefore not helpful at all. This "bunk" situation on the cruises caused tremendous hardship, as one of us had to climb into the bunk. None of us is physically able to do this easily. It was extremely difficult and placed a significant damper on our trip. My last conversation with ****** ended with her saying she would research it and get back to me. That was months ago.....and I am still waiting for her return call. I need others to be aware of ******'s business style and utilize her services on a "buyer beware" basis as she "forgets" what she has told you and does not honor any mistakes that she has made. PLUS she makes not apology for her curt/crisp business style. I need an appropriate apology from her and a nominal good faith gesture.

Desired Settlement: I need an apology from her and a nominal good faith gesture, such as a complimentary service for all parties on an upcoming cruise I have booked with someone else.

Business Response: Reply to Complaint #********
 
*****:  I am sincerely sorry if I was sharp and rude to you over the phone.  I only remember talking to you once right after the cruise.  Did my
receptionist take the other calls?   
 
When you called me about changing rooms, we talked both mini suites and balcony room to accommodate 3.  I do know that the mini suites had the soda bed for the 3rd person.  They were most expensive. We talked about that.  If the balcony was suppose to have a sofa, I would of checked the room out with ******** reservations before I sold it to you.  Most of all I remember that you want more space and the windows.   I can't go back to all our conversions, but I never sell something without checking with vendor that they have the room my client requested. 
 
I am sorry for the rudeness and not getting back to you.  I am not sure where you are getting the $200.00.  I would be happy to offer you a $250.00 travel voucher that would be valid only with Rocky Mountain Travel King for future travel.  This voucher has no cash value.  It would be valid through September 2015.  
       
In the travel industry, when passengers are unhappy, the Vendor(******** or any tour operating will give a future credit voucher that can be applied to another trip or cruise( excluding airfare). 
 
Just this Christmas, I had clients that thought there condo in Hawaii was
below standards,  there was no condo to change them too.  All I could get the tour company to do was give $50.00 travel vouchers for the four people.
 
 
Sincerely,
****** *******
President/Manager
Rocky Mountain Travel King
516 S College Ave.
Ft. Collins CO 80524
***** ********  ***** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   I would like the voucher placed in three names where any of the three names could use it, as there were three of us that experienced the inconvenience.  The names to be included on the voucher are:
1. **** ********
2. ***** ********
3. *** ********
And again any of us could utilize it.

Thank you for your assistance.

Regards,

***** ********