Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Dayton Transmission

Phone: (307) 237-2505 Fax: (307) 237-5070 1610 E F St, Casper, WY 82601 http://www.daytontransmission.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dayton Transmission meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dayton Transmission include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dayton Transmission
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 16, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1960 Business started locally: 01/01/1960
Business Management
Mr. Elmer Pace, Owner Ms. Debbie Pace, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Elmer Pace, Owner
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Clutch Suppliers Auto Repair & Service

Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Additional Locations

  • 1610 E F St

    Casper, WY 82601 (307) 237-2505

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Transmission went out in my 2005 ***** *** **** * *** ****** ****** Pickup. Dayton Transmission Rebuilt the tranny and sent us on our way. We returned the truck and made several phone calls talking to them and telling them the truck is not shifting right and feels like its slipping. they checked and adjusted one of the internal bands and sent us on our way again. Tranny still didnt feel right so we called and took back again. they said its fine and sent us on our way. Just over 40,000 miles from the rebuild the tranny went out again. Took to Dayton and they pulled the tranny tore it down called me and said the tranny needs to be rebuilt again, and it was on there build bench and ready to be assembled and they could have it back to me in a day. I asked if they would work with me on price since they built it before. They said no it was out of warranty. So I started calling other businesses to get there input and see if anyone else could rebuild it for me. Come to find out they have a bad reputation here in ****** so I Called and told them I'm going to come pick up my truck and tranny. I picked it up and took it to another shop and come to find out the tranny had a hole in the Transmission Case, and they had installed the wrong parts. They installed Gas Planetary's and a gas Direct drum, which it is a diesel Truck. I called Dayton and talked to ***** and asked him if he was aware of a hole in the case and he said no that didn't matter because they would of replaced the case if there were a hole in it, I asked if they had a case to replace it with and he looked and said they didn't have one. He called around in several states trying to find one and told me he cant get one.(How were they going to have my truck back to me in a day if he cant even get a replacement case)I called Dayton again Later when I found out from The new shop that the internal parts were from a Gas Tranny. I called and told them what was going on and he said they wouldn't do anything and to contact a lawye

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded all my money spent on the truck at Dayton Transmission because they didn't rebuild the tranny with the correct parts. (Parts installed were from a Gasoline Transmission) and if the correct parts were installed during the original rebuild I wouldn't of had to pay another shop to rebuild it again plus buying the all the correct Diesel Internal Parts that Dayton should of installed.

Business Response: Complaint ID: ********
In response to complaint from ***** ****** (*** ******* *******) we would first dispute the statement that we have a bad reputation in the ****** area. We employ only ASE & ATRA certified technician's. Our rebuilder's have been with my company 20 + year's, and regularly rebuild this type of transmission. They know the difference between gas and diesel part's. As outlined in our RO the direct drum and planetary gear set was  not  replaced, as replacement was not required. Standard warranty on commercial vehicle's is 12 month's or 12,000 mile's which ever come's first.Our record's show the transmission was rebuilt 3/13/2012 with mileage of 259,597. Truck was returned on 3/13/2014 with the mileage of 307,918. 36,321 mile's out of warranty. It isn't uncommon to see vehicle's returned for leak repair's or adjustment's during break in period. We feel this job meet the term's of our warranty. This type of vehicle spend's it's life towing heavy load's often time's in harsh condition's. When first told about about rebuilding his transmission he was told we would help out on the cost even though it was out of warranty. He wanted us to cover the whole job under warranty. He declined for us to do the repair's and told us he didn't know what he was going to do, find an aftermarket transmission, used one or something. He took the truck away with all the part's in boxes after sitting here for a couple of week's. When he contacted us later he informed us he had the transmission built at another shop and wanted Dayton Transmission to pay for it. We said we wouldn't do that. He then told us he was going to go to his lawyer. ***** told him we would be happy to provide all information that his lawyer required as well as contact information for our lawyer. The management at Dayton Transmission will always try to do what is fair to all of our customer's. We feel that a full refund of RO# **** is completly 
unreasonable. We would consider refunding the amount charged for tear down an inspection,RO# **** to close this matter. 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: the manager at Dayton Transmission, *****, never offered refund any costs for the damaged transmission.  The fact of the matter still stands that Dayton Transmission used gasoline parts to my diesel transmission therefore causing further damage and costs.  When I contacted *****, he suggested I seek a lawyer.  Since then I have done so, supplying my lawyer with receipts, bank statements , as well as the statements and receipts from the company who had to replace my diesel transmission.  Dayton Transmission failure to safely and correctly repair my diesel transmission using gasoline parts not specific to a diesel transmission only created more costs and damage.  Dayton Transmission has NOT offered to refund any lost funds and has NOT offered to correct any damages they previously caused free of charge. 

Regards,

***** ******