Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Aamco Transmissions

Phone: (970) 226-4477 Fax: (970) 226-1332 3737 S Mason St, Fort Collins, CO 80525 http://www.aamcocolorado.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Aamco Transmissions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Aamco Transmissions include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Aamco Transmissions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1985 Business started: 08/01/1983 Business started locally: 08/01/1983
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Business Management
Mr. Don Scott, Owner Mr. Lance Pickett, Customer Contact Mr. Brian Scott, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Lance Pickett, Customer Contact
Principal: Mr. Don Scott, Owner
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Auto Air Conditioning Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Engine Repair Rebuilding Companies Mufflers & Exhaust Systems

Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Aamco Transmissions has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3737 S Mason St

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (970) 226-4477

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last Fall we had a transmission put in by AAMCO in Fort Collins. It took 3 times returning the vehicle to get all of the transmission leaks taken care of. After the second time the truck was driven to ******** ** during that trip, the gears suddenly went out of sinc. There was no "park" and "reverse", "neutral" and "drive" were all in different positions. The truck had to go back into AAMCO when we returned from ******** to have that fixed. We again had to take the truck back in for another leak on March 10. My husband told them he had to leave with the truck, trailer and two horses on the 14th. When they fixed the leak,they told him that he needed *** brakes which they did. They also fixed a loose plate. Well aware that he would be driving to *** ******, they called and said it was done but when we drove into town, one of the mechanics said it wasn't done. They called us the next day and said it was done but when my husband was driving it home, he could tell it wasn't right and when he went around to the right rear tire, it was so hot he couldn't touch it. Back it went again on Friday the 13th. We were called again and told it was ready. When my husband picked up the truck, the guy who was there said "I'm not going to charge you because it wasn't fixed right the first time". As he drove it home again, he could hear rattling sounds and he stopped. Again, the right rear hub was so hot he couldn't touch it. At that point, I told him to take it to our regular mechanic. It went to him on the 16th. They couldn't believe he got there in one piece without the wheels coming off. There was no oil in the right rear hub which ruined the bearing and warped the end of the axle so that it had to be replaced as well. As the mechanic took it apart bearings fell out at him. The wheel assembly ate through due to lack of oil and ruined the axle.Had my husband gone to ** and the wheels came off, he could have been killed. The total bill has been $4352.49 and its fixed now but no thanks to AAMCO!

Desired Settlement: When I spoke to ***** *******, he was unwilling to take any responsiblilty for this. I am certain I won't get my money back but part of it would be an honest gesture since they let my husband leave thinking it was fixed. This has cost us $4352.49 not including the cost of having to ship those horses to *** ******.

Business Response:

We did brake repairs to the ****** 1993 **** truck repair order # ******. We did not do any repairs to the rear differential or the bearings. In a effort to satisfy the customer we sent a check for $375.00 for part of the labor charged by the ****** mechanic for the work done.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ****

11/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took the car to them for repair to the clutch. The first visit went well, all and all. However, there was a leak from the real seal post the maintenance. I returned and they repaired the leak. Charged me only for the part. No discount or customer service gesture was made for the additional loss of use and poor quality of maintenance. A few days later the battery migrated out of place and caused the supply hose of the radiator to come off. This cause the car to loose the coolant. During the repair process, I found the hood release cable broken and inoperative. Once I repaired the hood release cable, gained access to the engine compartment I found a bolt from the transmission missing. This is a major quality issue. I am concerned about what else I will find. When I went to the shop to talk to the owner, he had gone for the day and only mechanics were around. I found them to be very unfriendly, rude and non-caring.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have a refund of the original bill of 50% of the total invoice. I will then move on to a better repair shop.

Business Response: Although I do not agree with many, in fact most of this customers allegations, clearly he is not happy with the service that we have provided.  For example, he blames us for his battery moving out of position causing other issues with the vehicle.  The fact is that we did not remove or work in the immediate area of his battery.  The customer blames us for the hood release not working, but it was inoperable when the vehicle first came to us.  In fact, we mentioned this to his daughter.  She was aware of this, and did not seem too concerned.  After the initial clutch repair, we replaced the rear main engine seal for only the price of the seal...no labor charge in an effort to satisfy the customer, even though we had not "touched" the rear seal, so clearly we could not have damaged it.  It is located on the opposite side of the flywheel from the area where the clutch is located.  At any rate, having said this, we have done exactly as the customer has requested.  We have refunded to him an amount equal to one half of the total amount that he spent here.  I have spoken with him on the phone, and I believe the dispute is now resolved to his satisfaction.  If I can be of further assistance, please feel free to contact me.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is not satisfactory to me.  However, I find that *** and the team at this AAMCO not only to be unqualified but unscrupulous but of a certain moral flexability that is unbecoming of a professional.  I will do my very best to be sure that other customers are well aware of the poor quality and lack of customer service this business provides.  It it too bad that individuals of this caliber own businesses and scam the public. 

Regards,

**** ******