BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Breckenridge Grand Vacations, LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Breckenridge Grand Vacations, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 783-8883 Fax: (970) 457-5577 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 6879, Breckenridge, CO 80424 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.breckenridgegrandvacations.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Breckenridge Grand Vacations is a timeshare resort development company with approx 17,000 owners, three resorts and over 250 condominiums that can be rented to guests or utilized by owners.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Breckenridge Grand Vacations, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Breckenridge Grand Vacations, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 7
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Breckenridge Grand Vacations, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 09, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1985 Business started locally: 01/01/1985
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Real Estate-Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 295, Denver CO 80202
www.dora.state.co.us/real-estate/index.htm
Phone Number: (303) 894-2166

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Melany Arnot, Marketing Guest Services Accounting Department, Accounts Payable Mr. Sean Diehl, Marketing Director Mr. Michael Dudick, Vice President Mr. Michael C Millisor, President Mr. Rob Millisor, Vice President Ms. Kimberly Tramontana, Exec Dir Operations Ms. Ginny Vietti, Marketing Director
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Melany Arnot, Marketing Guest Services
Business Category

Timeshare Companies Vacation Rental Companies Marketing Consultants Property Management Companies Vacation Time Share

Refund and Exchange Policy
Renters may change reservations up to 30 days from arrival. Owners may exchange a week of time in Breckenridge with over 2,200 other resorts in the world through their affiliation with Interval International.
Alternate Business Names
BGV Marketing Services Breckenridge Discount Lodging Gold Point Lodging and Realty Inc. Gold Point Resort Grand Lodge on Peak 7 Grand Timber Lodge Peak 7 LLC
Products & Services

Owners purchase deeded ownership in one-week increments that can be utilized, rented, shared and/or passed on. Renters and owners experience some of the best amenities in Breckenridge with indoor/outdoor pools, hot tubs and spas.

Industry Tips
Buying/Selling Vacation Timeshares Tips for Finding Property Management Companies

Additional Locations

  • 100 S Main St

    Breckenridge, CO 80424

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    15334 E Hinsdale Cir Ste 1A

    Centennial, CO 80112 (303) 766-0257

  • 1979 Ski Hill Rd

    Breckenridge, CO 80424 (877) 453-4440

  • 75 Snowflake Dr

    Breckenridge, CO 80424 (970) 453-8883

  • PO Box 6879

    Breckenridge, CO 80424 (888) 783-8883

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 476-2311(Phone)
  • (888) 783-8883(Phone)
  • (970) 453-3330(Phone)
  • (970) 453-4440(Phone)
  • (970) 453-5577 (Fax)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint is primarily directed at Gold Point II Condominium Association, Inc. The complaint is that condo fees have risen on average 9.7% each and every year for 13 years.Simple math: Rate in the year 2000 = $ 414.36 Rate in the year 2013 = $ 937.06 (937.06 / 414.36)-1 = 126% increase in 13 years.The amount that they spend to maintain the units is outrageous.Per their own statement from an email dated 3/27/2012: "The $ 38,012.00 per year management and maintenance for a 2 bedroom lock off unit -- also includes the building and total property maintenance, e.g. roof replacements, sealing driveway, etc.".I believe that the money is being mismanaged at best. I would like their audit and management practices investigated for accuracy, competency as well as conflict of interest.I was told that if I did not like the fees my only option was to sell my unit. No other options exist other than Pay or Sell. I have had the unit up for sale but have had no offers.

Desired Settlement: I would like the Colorado attorney generals office to investigate this company and its practices.

Business Response:

Thank you for sharing your comments and giving us the opportunity to address your concerns. As you know, Gold Point is an aging property.  As such, a substantial amount of money is required to run and maintain the property.  That being said, the total 2013 budget for Gold Point HOA 2 is $511,675. This amount is then divided up amongst all of the Gold Point HOA 2 owners. To start, Gold Point is split into one bedroom, two bedroom and three bedroom units.  The annual dues are assessed based on the size of the unit.  The 2013 dues amount for one Gold Point HOA 2 timeshare owner in a two bedroom unit is $685.90.  There are 50 owners per unit (two weeks are held for off season deep cleaning and maintenance), so the annual amount per two bedroom in 2013 is $34,295. 

Some of the major increases we have seen over the past 10+ years are due to three major areas, as follows:

Maintenance

Maintenance costs have significantly increased over the past 13 years, specifically related to:

·         Staffing and Wages.  Thirteen years ago, Gold Point had one maintenance employee, and now there are two Maintenance Technicians and one Maintenance Manager on staff to help support this aging resort.  We have made the conscious decision to increase staff so that we do not have to wait for third party vendors to complete a job in our efforts to improve service and prevent additional property damage.  Additionally, we are hiring more skilled staff at higher wages so that we are able to complete these tasks in-house. Wages have also increased to keep up with cost of living expenses. 

·         Cost of materials and supplies.  Tools have been purchased and continue to be purchased so that the staff has the resources to complete their work.  We have also seen significant increases to the costs of supplies and materials in the Maintenance Department.

·         Safety.  More has been spent to ensure the safety of the staff, owners and guests, and to ensure that we are compliant with ever evolving safety regulations and codes.

·         Maintenance Truck.  The Gold Point truck aged over time, requiring repairs. Once that truck was no longer fit for use, a new truck was purchased.

Housekeeping

The increase in Housekeeping can be attributed to the following:

·         Laundry.  The amount spent on laundry has increased 125% in the past eight years (I don’t have the break out for the full 13 years).  Laundry was historically done at another BGV property, but the volume of laundry became too great for that facility to handle, so it had to be outsourced to an offsite laundry facility.  This change resulted in additional expenses to the HOA.

·         Allocation (primarily wages).  The amount of expenses from the Management Company has increased 60% in the past eight years.  We have had significant labor increases due to:

o   In the past two years, we have moved from paying our housekeeping staff on a piece rate basis to an hourly basis to improve the quality of the cleaning.  We use time standards to monitor the staff and make sure this is not being abused. 

o   The Management Company moved from having one Housekeeping Manager for three resorts to having dedicated Housekeeping Managers at each property.

o   The Housekeeping department uses Inspectors after the room has been cleaned to inspect each room prior to check in to make sure the room is cleaned according to standards.  When this process first began, this labor was not correctly being charged to Gold Point so the HOA saw a significant increase when this was fixed approximately 4 years ago.

o   Approximately 2 hours per day is spent cleaning all of the common areas as well as stocking inventory and clean laundry.

·         Bedding replacements were made this past spring.

·         Supplies.  In the past year alone, we have seen an increase in the cost of supplies of 8% from our vendors. We do competitive pricing analysis, and we have determined that even at this increase, we are still getting the best price available for the quality of the products we purchase, as well as the mass quantities that we buy.

·         Safety.  Again, more has been spent to ensure the safety of the staff, owners and guests, and to ensure that we are compliant with the changing safety regulations and codes.

·         In 2013, we moved the Housekeeping Inventory (kitchen/household items) from a reserve expense to an operating expense.  This resulted in a $5,000 increase to the 2013 budget.

Furniture Reserve

This line item in the budget is the amount of money collected to fund the furniture reserve. Please note that this is not the furniture expenses from the furniture reserve.  We have made replacements over the past 13+ years, including living room furnishing in 2013.  In 2009, the blinds were upgraded to faux wood blinds.  Historically, we have had a reserve study to help us estimate how much money to collect for the furniture reserve fund and corresponding yearly expenses, but former management did not always follow the yearly expenditures schedule.  As a result, we have made replacements on an as needed basis, placing different items in different units at different times.  We are pleased to share that we have a new process in place as a management company to improve how we initiate, complete and track changes with our furniture replacements and our upcoming projects.  You will notice the results of this change in your unit with the new living and dining room furniture. In fact, all 13 units are receiving all of the same new furniture this fall.  We are also taking this initiative a step further. Taskforces have been formed that include our Vice President of Operations, Special Projects Manager, HOA Operations Manager, the General Manager of Gold Point, along with Housekeeping and Engineering Managers as well as the CFO and our Accounting Department to review our reserve studies for upcoming needs, add anything that is needed and adjust for budgeting purposes in the fall.  We are dedicated to being more responsive, accurate and timely with replacements and projects moving forward.

General Reserve

Again, this line item in the budget is the amount of money collected to fund the general reserve.  When the maintenance of items is no longer cost effective, we replace these items through the general reserve.  We have had many major replacements in the last ten years.   We repainted the exteriors in 2007-2009.  All the hot tub rooms were remodeled in 2005-2006.  Additionally we’ve had significant problems with the driveway over the years.  In 2008 repairs were made, but did not hold up, so in 2011 the entire driveway was replaced.

In summary, Gold Point is an aging property and will continue to need more maintenance, upkeep and financial support as it ages.  It is similar to purchasing a new car, wherein the first few years little to no maintenance is required but as the car ages, it requires more maintenance and more costly repairs to keep the car running. If we cut back on these expenses, Gold Point will reflect the change.  The Management Company takes a lot of pride in Gold Point and does its best to control costs without sacrificing quality and services.  Additionally, we always get three bids for work to make sure that we are getting the best deal that we can. 

Please note that the Board did approve these increases in the yearly budgets, so the Gold Point HOA 2 Condominium Association Board and the Management Company are very aware of these increases.  We discuss these topics at nearly every Board Meeting, and the budgets have been approved by the Board each year. The Gold Point HOA 2 financial statements are also audited every year by a third party.  In addition, all historical Board meeting minutes, annual budgets and independently audited financial statements are posted for owner review on the Gold Point website. This information can be found at:  **********************************************

Additionally, we hope it will prove beneficial to provide an HOA Dues comparisons for other timeshare resorts in the area.  The rates are as follows:

******* ******** ****** ************                     ******** **** *** ********
********* ************                                                  ******** **** *** ********
******** ****** ****                                                      ******* **** *** ********
**** ***** *                                                                     ******* ****  *** ********

As you can see, the rates for Gold Point HOA 2 are very competitive.  Because Gold Point HOA 2 is a timeshare homeowners association, our rates will be different from that of your average HOA.  Our rates are all inclusive including providing a clean room at the beginning of each week and all utilities.

We truly appreciate your care and concern for Gold Point and its financial well being, and we hope these explanations will be beneficial.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: YourComplaint: I've received several calls on 6-7 June 2013. The man who refused to give me his name and called me a racist. He continually yelled at me not allowing me to speak. He was very threatening. DiscussedTheComplaint: 0 PersonSpokenTo: Refused to give me his name. WhenSpokenTo: 6 June 2013 ProductOrService: timeshare HOA DatePurchased: April 2000 OrderContractAccountOrPolicy: XXXXXXX WasTheProductOrServiceAdvertised: Yes WhereAdvertised: solicited at my federal work place RepresentationsMade: HOA dues would not increase more than the $250. per year. They're now at $448.35. I've been charged unreasonable late charges and fees that are not itemized. My dues where due 3/1/2013. My unit has been rented and I cannot use it after paying over $10,000. for it in April 2000. It's paid off. They continue to solicit me to purchase a more expensive timeshare. They must think I'm ignorant. The sales person is *** ****** He's not ethical and has lied about the timeshares and has not disclosed all the red tape. Thousands of weeks are sold over and over again. Each week is charged every year at $448.35 (minimum). Property taxes are included. The ********* are rich over this scam. WhenRepresented: 2000 AmountInDispute: 10000

Desired Settlement: FairResolution: Buy back my unit at the sales price that *** ***** is selling them for currently. EXPLANATION: DESIRED RESOLUTION: Buy back my unit at the sales price that *** ***** is selling them for currently.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/26) */ Contact Name and Title: ******** ********* ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@breckgv.com Response to Case# XXXXXXXX Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the above referenced case#/complaint filed with the BBB by Ms. ***** **** and Mr. ******** ****** against Breckenridge Grand Vacations (BGV). In matters such as these when one of our owners who finds themselves in a delinquent status in regard to their yearly obligation to HOA maintenance dues the company ********* ******** is employed to recover, or negotiate payment plans in regard to the debt. Please be advised that the relationship between BGV and ********* ******** has been in place for quite some time. The reason the relationship is allowed to continue by BGV is based on the ethical and complete handling of all accounts in delinquent status by ********* ********* including but not limited to the delivery of text versions of recorded calls upon request consistent with FDCPA regulations. I will provide the text of the call later in this response. I can see by the notes in our system that contact took place not on 6.7.13 as referenced in the complaint, but rather on 6.6.13. This date is in fact three months and one day past when the 2013 Grand Timber Lodge (GTL) maintenance billing was due in full. I can see that there were two contacts that day; one outgoing from ********* where a message was left for callback referencing the company name, and the second an incoming call from Ms. *** in response to the message. This was when the discussion referenced in the complaint took place. See immediately below for notes from the system: 6/6/2013 7:42 PM ** *********** contact f/u: 06-07-13; icc tt mrs mir informed soa mrs refused to pay and sd she is going to sue the resort for having illegal aliens working at the resort hu; r4dlq-refusal to pay incoming call Upon receipt of the complaint I requested that a text version of the recorded call be emailed to me by the portfolio manager at ********* who manages BGV delinquent HOA maintenance accounts. I received this text: Rep: How can I Help You Customer: Can you tell me how to spell your company name? Rep: (rep spelled out name) Customer: I don't know why you are calling me, what do you need, my name? Who do you work for? Rep: What number are we contacting you at? Customer: I don't want to give you my number so I don't get harassed. Are you recovering a bad debt for a company? Rep: we need to verify who you are so we can provide you the information you are looking for. Customer: what kind of companies do you collect for? Rep: we really need to verify who you are before we provide any information. Customer: what is your companies address? Rep: We really need to get the number we are contacting you at before we provide information. Customer: Do you send out notices in the mail? Rep: Yes we do. Customer: I have not received anything from your company. Rep: I can verify the address we have for you on file. Customer: This is good, because I have great credit and I am going to turn you in to the state attorney general (becomes escalated) gives phone number very fast. Rep: Please repeat the number, you said it too fast. Customer: XXX-XXX-XXXX, now what is this in regards to? Rep: Thank you, I will explain why we called. We are calling that number to get in touch with ***** **** is this you? Customer: Yes. Rep: We are calling in regards to your Grand Timber Lodge with Breckenridge Gradn Vacations, it is in collections and because it is I have to advise you... (got interrupted) Customer: I find this hilarious, they are trying to get me to purchase another $50,000.00 unit from them, ha! Rep: I don't know anything about them trying to sell you another unit, we are only interested in the past due amount on this years maintenance. I have to advise you that this is an attempt to collect a debt by a debt collector and all information obtained will be used for that purpose... (got interrupted) Customer: They are also being investigated by the State of Colorado for having illegal aliens working there. Rep: what are you talking about? Aliens don't exist. (I believe he misunderstood the customer) Customer: They are hiring illegal Hispanics and aliens to work there... Portfolio Manager advisement: Call becomes very escalated and hard to understand at this point, rep asked mrs why she was having that attitude and asked to her to not say racist things.Mrs claims she is turning in BGV and ********* ******** to Attorney General and local police department. Call disconnected by customer. End. Upon review of the call, my professional experience in handling such matters for BGV leads me to surmise that our owners are under financial duress. In this case, BGV offices will always accept calls from our owners in order to discuss their situation and look to find ways that we may assist them. There are no contingencies in our sales contracts that provide a buy-back option, and all obligations to HOA dues are communicated in the sales contract, and Declaration of Ownership Plan, HOA Rules and Regulations which can be found on the "Owners Only" section of the GTL home website. I can see that our owners have utilized their ownership on many occasions since their purchase with BGV in April of 2000. They have exchanged their usage with the third party exchange company once, enjoyed stays at their GTL property as extra rentals at an owners' only discounted rate eight times, and have enjoyed their owner weeks four times while utilizing their Odd year ownership. Contrary to information provided in the complaint I can see that our owners have a pending reservation with a check-in date of November 9, 2013 staying through November 15, 2013 for their owner week. This reservation will be available if our owners will accept and honor an approved payment plan previous to their stay per the Declarations of Ownership Plan, HOA Rules and Regulations which are recorded with the ****** ****** Clerk and Recorder. BGV does appreciate that our owners felt confident enough in the product and usage of the product to remit payment in full to satisfy the Promissory Note which is secured by the Deed of Trust related to their ownership. Please be advised that the obligation to yearly Homeowner's Dues is required of all owners at the BGV family of properties. These dues, once remitted, are placed in holding accounts under the names of the individual LLC's related to each development. In this case the Grand Timber Lodge Owners' Association is the beneficiary of said dues. These dues are then allocated to the upkeep and betterment of the property as well as allocation for management costs. There is a portion of the dues that are set aside each year in order to establish and maintain a slush fund so that special assessments are not required. The developers of Grand Timber Lodge do not benefit from monies paid toward dues as stated in the complaint. The final matter I will address based upon statements made by our owner. BGV has never been under any scrutiny, much less official investigation by any regulatory enforcement entity for the employment of workers who have do not have the ability to work inside of the borders of the continental United States. We do find the slanderous statements made by our owners very troubling and request that they discontinue any such statements moving forward. If our owners wish to discuss their ownership they are more than welcome to contact the BGV Owner Relations Department at XXX-XXX-XXXX Monday through Friday from 9am to 5pm. Please be advised that the Desired Resolution referenced in the complaint requesting that BGV buy back the unit will not be accepted. Our owners do have the ability and right as deeded property owners to sell their property as they see fit. We recommend *********************** Please be advised that this third party resale entity is not connected to BGV, and no monies earned for their service will be remitted to BGV. Further, please be advised that our owners are not required to use the above referenced company and may utilize any resale company that they wish to complete the transaction they desire. No guarantee is made that the sale will take place in any stated matter of time.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were told, and it was noted in the contract, that we would get Local Rates for the town golf course. Later found there aren't Local Rates. My sister and I bought a summer week 2-bedroom Grand Lodge Peak 7 timeshare. She lives in CO, but I live in MD, so the appeal for me was the golf. During the negotiations, we were told by Peter O'Neill that his manager had authorized us to be designated as "local" for the purpose of getting the local/discounted rates at the town golf course. They made it seem that one unit per week could be given that designation. Since I know other jurisdictions offer breaks for locals/residents, this helped our decision to buy. I later contacted Grand Lodge and was told they'd write a letter for the course saying we were "local". But when I went to book a tee time, I found there is no real Local rate--they offer some packages for residents, but you have to buy more rounds than we wanted. There was no way to play the two rounds we wanted at a dicounted rate. This was irritating and frustrating, as the main draw to me was the chance to golf. It's more expensive for me to travel to the timeshare, so I was looking for a reason to make it worth my while. From the sales pitch, and from the note on our contract, I felt we had arrived at a deal that made the purchase worth it for me. I was very disappointed and upset to find it was basically an outright lie.

Desired Settlement: I want the Grand Vacations to either find a way to allow us to play discounted rounds of golf any time we are there for our week in the summer (my plan is to go every other year). They can work with the golf course to not have restrictions on how many rounds you have to play in a season. Or to otherwise provide gift cards that don't expire to the golf course that will give me 30 rounds at $53 (estimating I play 2X a week, every other week, for 15 years), so $1,590. But they also need to supply my sister with the same offer, too.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/13) */ Hello, Our Sales team at Breckenridge Grand Vacations has come to a resolution with Ms. ******* regarding the information that was given to her about golf packages at the time she purchased her ownership with Breckenridge Grand Vacations. This matter has been resolved to Ms. *******'s satisfaction. Please feel free to contract us should you need further assistance or clarification. Many Thanks, Breckenridge Grand Vacations Consumer Response /* (450, 13, 2013/07/08) */ I just wanted to follow up and say that Grand Lodge Peak 7 did contact me and gave me credits to use towards golf fees. I still feel the sales pitch was underhanded, but am happy that they stepped up and gave me some reimbursement. They did show concern for my complaint and responded quickly, which was good. I appreciate having BBB to help escalate the matter and think that it's resolved as well as it could be. Thanks to all.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a college student who was looking for the best price for lodging for a 2 day spring break skiing trip. I made the reservations on line with the only information about the discount, as stated above. I later received an e-mail to confirm the reservation. I read it at the last minute to determine check-in time. That email stated I would be expected to take a tour. When I checked out on 3/26/13, I was told I owed $425.00 more because I didn't qualify for the tour because I didn't make $70,000 + a year. I feel greatly deceived because NOTHING stood out as a disclaimer until AFTER reservations were made and confirmed. I was not forewarned about additional costs until check-out time. As a college student, I simply do not have that amount of money in my account. They simply stated that my account would be billed until they receive full payment. They refused any kind of negotiations-simply put..."We win-you lose!" WhereAdvertised: http://www.tripadvisor.com RepresentationsMade: Available for $156 per night! Discounted Lodging.A 120 minute preview tour of the Grand Lodge on Peak 7 is required with this vacation option. WhenRepresented: March 16, 2013

Desired Settlement: To not be charged the additional $425.00

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/04/17) */ We are www.breckenridgediscountlodging.com and while we appreciate feedback of all types regarding our Website and the products we offer, we would like to clarify a few items and hopefully resolve this complaint. Breckenridge Discount Lodging offers greatly reduced-priced lodging in Breckenridge in exchange for the completion of a preview tour of the Grand Lodge on Peak 7, a luxury timeshare property at the base of Peak 7 in Breckenridge. To receive a discounted stay, and take a preview tour, the guest must meet certain income and home ownership requirements to qualify. This is clearly listed on www.breckenridgediscountlodging under package or lodging information and we follow a strict process of contact to confirm that a person who books online and completes the preview is in fact qualified. First, we call the person who booked their reservation to ensure they understand the tour requirement and to confirm they meet the qualification requirements within 24 hours of an online reservation being made. A message was left for this guest at the phone number provided on March 18, 2013. Second, we send multiple confirmation emails to the address provided by the guest at the time of booking. Each contact clearly states the qualification requirements and explains that if a person does not meet the qualifications they will be charged the retail rate of the accommodations they have reserved. The individual who has posted this complaint made a reservation using www.breckenridgediscountlodging.com and falsely used her parent's information to qualify herself for her discounted stay and tour. We called the guest and left a message with all of the qualification requirements on 3/18/2013 and sent her multiple confirmations via both email and standard mail the addresses that were provided by the guest during the booking process. The guest utilized her deeply discounted promotional stay and arrived to her preview tour where we discovered that she used her parents qualifying information rather than her own. We followed our clearly defined procedures and attempted to collect the balance for the retail rate of the room that was reserved. We communicated our policies properly and in a timely manner. We provide all participation and eligibility requirements prior to accepting the guests billing information and a 72 hour cancelation period allows adequate time for the guest to review our materials and cancel if requirements are not met. Please see the eligibility information stated verbatim on our site: "One promotional gift is available per family every 12 months. Guests must meet the following qualifications: has a household income of at least $70,000 for all packages and must be a homeowner. If the guest is married or in committed relationship both partners must attend the preview tour together. If a guest takes advantage of the promotional rate and does not participate in the preview tour, then the guest will be charged the full rack rate of the hotel room and/or activities." The guest falsified her information while using her deeply discounted reservation. Since the guest does not meet the requirements to receive the discount or take part in the preview of Grand Lodge on Peak 7 as agreed upon at the time of booking and confirmed in a phone call and multiple emails, she is expected to pay the retail rate of the reservation. Breckenridge Grand Vacations is in very good standing with the Better Business Bureau as an accredited business who exercises ethical business practices, and at no time did mislead Breckenridge Grand Vacations or misrepresent itself or its intentions.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Special Offer term/conditions misrepresented. They promised to send an email confirmation with cancellation instructions, but never did. I've received many emails from them, but never the confirmation email with my reservation number and cancellation details. They have a 72-hour cancellation policy, so now I'm stuck with a $100 charge for a weekend I can't cancel. The reason I need to cancel is that I bought it thinking I could do a "boys weekend", but the last thing the sales rep said before hanging up was that I had to bring my wife with me for the sales presentation, and hung up before I could say "nevermind!"

Desired Settlement: Refund of the $100 fee.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2012/12/28) */ ****** ****** was charged a $99.00 deposit on November 8, 2012 after booking a three night promotional package stay at the Breck Inn with a preview of our new property, Grand Lodge on Peak 7. The booking agent explained the $99.00 acted as a deposit/payment for the accommodations he requested for the three nights at the Breck Inn. Mr. ****** set a February 2013 arrival and preview. A confirmation email was sent within 24 hours to the email address Mr. ****** provided as well a full confirmation packet he received within three to five business days from the time of booking, both confirming our tour requirements and cancellation policy. Cancellation/Reschedule Policy: You have 72 hours from the time you book your promotional package to cancel for a full refund. If you need to change your arrival and/or tour date(s), call the Grand Lodge on Peak 7 at least 14 days prior to your scheduled check-in day to reschedule without penalty Package Restrictions and Requirements: You are under no obligation to purchase, but in order to receive this promotional package you must attend a 2-hour resort preview tour of the Grand Lodge on Peak 7 at the scheduled appointment time and date listed on your confirmation letter or email. If you are married or in a committed relationship; both partners must attend the resort preview tour together. Regardless of marital status, guests must earn a combined income of at least $60,000 annually and own a home or earn $100,000 annually if renting your residence. Proof of income and home ownership may be required. The recorded booking conversation placed on November 8, 2012 was 6:21 long. At 3:15 Mr. ****** provides his spouses name, all contact information, as well as a full credit card number to secure the promotional offer. The last 1:28 of the booking conversation included a full confirmation script confirming the three night stay as well as the tour requirements, which Mr. ****** acknowledged he understood and met. The last question the booker asked Mr. ****** was "any other questions" and Mr. ****** replied "no, that's it" implying that the conversation was complete. Mr. ****** was not hung-up on prior to the end of the call as stated in his complaint. Mr. ****** agreed to use the three night promotional package he purchased and to complete the 2-hour preview of our new property with his wife. Mr. ****** received a confirmation email within the 24 hour period as promised, and had an additional 48 hours to place a cancellation call. Mr. ****** began seeking a cancellation and refund for his purchase on December 13, 2013. This was the only time Mr. ****** made contact with Breckenridge Grand Vacations. His call to complete the cancelation and receive refund was places 35 days after completing the booking process. Had Mr. ****** contacted us within the required 72 hour cancelation period, a full refund would have been granted. If Mr. ****** does not wish to use the promotional offer he purchased, he may gift the package to a friend or family member who meets the qualifications stated above. Mr. ****** currently has an open reservation, meaning he has the next 24 months to call Breckenridge Grand Vacations with a new arrival date and the promotional package he purchased will be honored based on availability. The Grand Lodge on Peak 7 is in very good standing with the Better Business Bureau as an accredited business who exercises ethical business practices, and at no time did we mislead or misrepresent itself or its intentions.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/27/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/14/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/26/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/23/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/14/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1