BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of University TV Service?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

University TV Service

Phone: (970) 226-3215 Fax: (970) 226-5819 4211 S Mason St, Fort Collins, CO 80525

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that University TV Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for University TV Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on University TV Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1966 Business started locally: 01/01/1966
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Floyd Stretch, Owner/Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Floyd Stretch, Owner/Manager
Business Category

Television and Radio Repair Stores Video Equipment Repair Shops Antennas Electronics Repair Stores


Additional Locations

  • 4211 S Mason St

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (970) 226-3215

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called University TV on 6/10/14 and asked for a service call for my broken tv. I expressed how important the tv was and that it was very expensive around $3000. ****** the owner reassured me they have been in business for years and they would be very careful. ****** the owner of the business came to my home the next day 6/11/14 and took my tv apart and tested the components on the inside and found the power supply for the tv was bad and a part would need to be ordered . The owner said the part should take 10-14 days and he would call when it got there. I paid $200 and understood there would be another $180 due when the tv was repaired. After the owner left I noticed he never put the tv back together and I noticed some scratches on the back of the tv by the screw holes . All the screws were in a bag. I called to ask about the damage and the owner said he would look at it when he came to put in the new part. Three weeks later I called to ask about the part the owner said he was tracking the package and it was going to be delivered the next day and he would call me. Three days later I called because I did not hear back and spoke with ****. I asked about the part and **** said it was on back order and I had to wait. I asked him to have the owner call me. Another week went by I called again and spoke with **** who again said still waiting on the part. I asked him why the owner told me the item was shipped and he had the tracking number. He told me oh yeah I forgot your part came but it was defective that he tested the part but it did not work. I asked for the owner to call again. Two days later no call so I called and spoke with the owner who said the part came but it was broken I asked why every time I call I get lied to. Ive been told the item is on back order,defective,broken. He also said they ordered a replacement part and would be there that week. A week later no word from University tv I called, **** answered the phone and said the part was never shipped. At this time I told him I need a refund for my money and I need someone to come and put the tv back together and I need someone to pay for the damage to my tv. He told me I would have to pay $70 for a service call to put it back together. I told him that this was the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard and I was not paying a dime for them to put it back together. And that I would file a report to the BBB on them for all of this. He said do whatever the ***** you want and hung up on me. I tried to call back but no one answered. The next day I called and spoke with the owner and told him about the employee and all he said was oh. He said I will make this right your part will be here to******. The next day came no word for them again. I called the owner said the part got shipped to the wrong address in a different state. I told him please refund my $200 and what can be done about the damage to the tv? he said there is nothing he can do. The owner said I will issue the refund, and hung up. Two days have gone by no refund. I called today and they are saying there credit card machine is broke and I can wait till next week for my refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like my refund for the full amount of $200. I would like some reimbursement for the scratches on the tv or they may order a new rear cover and put it on. This tv is very costly around $3000 dollars. I would also like an apology from **** for his disrespect and lying to customers, as well as one from the owner. I would also like this report published to the public. The people of Fort Collins need to know what kind of service they can expect from this company.

Business Response: The customer has been refunded the money on August 2 and also apologized for the inconvenience and my helps attitude.  I took the $200 dollars in cash to the customer personal.  I had ordered the part and when it came in it had freight damage from shipping.  A new part was requested from the supplier.  The customer was aware that I did not put all the screws back into the TV because he supplied me with a bag to put the some of the remaining screws in. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The business lied in there response. I did not know or provide any type of bag for the screws. It just shows me how unprofessional this business is. The owner did come and give my refund to me. It took a report to BBB for that to happen. The business has made no attempt to fix the damage they caused and no apology was made. From looking at the other reports on BBB site 2 other people had similar issues not with damage but with receiving parts and all the excuses they make to people. I have more pictures of the damage but I am having trouble adding them.

Regards,

******* ******

Business Response: I'm sorry. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: there has been nothing done. Over two months of my time has been wasted, on there lies and unprofessional business methods. And my tv is damaged in the process. I don't understand how they could ever have a BBB positive rating. 

Regards,

******* ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been waiting for almost 2 years for ***** with univ. tv to get parts to repair my tv, i call on a regular basis and all i can ever get from him is either they are in mail and supposed to be here today or i will call you back tomorrow and yet i never hear from him. I have green lines running vertical thru my tv and they get bigger and more all the time. this is a warranty issue and he just doesnt seem to care. I ahve been nice and am getting very frustrated with him. this is my 2nd dealing with his company and both times i have had issues with him performing the repairs in a timely manner. if it were not for him being the ** warranty repair person i would not use him

Desired Settlement: enough is enough if you cant get the parts then replace the TV 2 yrs is too long and i want this problem taken care of. I have asked for him to replace if he cant get parts and he refuses

Business Response: The parts for this customers set have been on national back order from the factory.  The part has finally come off of national back order and has been shipped to us.  I am sending my technician out later this week to fix this set.  We need to get a hold of this customer to get a time that works for both of us. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  you have all my info just call and set up a time  ###-###-####

Regards,

**** ***

Consumer Response: *****     ** ******************* *********     ** ********************* ***     ************************ ************************ *****     **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ********     *** *** **** * *** ******* **** *** ********* ********* ********

i need to notify you that the complaint has not been taken care of. ***** was out on 2-3-14 and had the wrong parts to fix the TV he is again ordering parts. and is supposed to get back with me.
**** ***

Business Response: The part has been ordered.  We are expecting the part to be here the first part of next week (2/18/14) and will try and find the best time for the customer to install the part into the tv.

Thanks,
***** 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I did tell ***** that if the part is not right this time that i want the tv replaced  that 2yrs was long enough. So if it does not fix this time the tv needs to be replaced

Regards,

**** ***

Consumer Response: ***** ** ******************* ********* ** ********************* *** ************************ ************************ ***** **** *** ** **** ** ***** ** ******** *** *** **** * *** ******* **** *** ********* ********* ********

Update as of 3-6-14  no word from universiy tv   i spoke with ******* where the tv was purchased and they said thta this is too long and TV should hvae been replaced already

 

Business Response: ***** talked to **** last week the new part for his set should be in this week and he will go back to the customers house.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business,I  and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** ***

Consumer Response: Just a quick update I still have not had my tv fixed nor have I heard for univ tv 
****

Sent from my iPad

Consumer Response: ***** ****** *** ******* ********** ************************ ********* **** ********************* *** ************************ ************************ ***** **** *** ** **** ** **** ** ******** *** *** **** * *** ******* **** *** ********* ********* ********

Still not heard from ***** and TV is getting worse.  Enough is enough. Over two yrs waiting on a part

Sent from my iPad

Business Response: I have not received the right part yet I been working with my supplier  on this  hope to get worked out this week.   *****

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

**** ***
i have heard this for over two years enough is enough

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been waiting for repair/replacement of a cracked speaker for four months. When I had an issue with a speaker on my new LG TV in March 2012 LG sent ****** from University TV Service out to fix it. It was fixed within two weeks, by the end a April the speaker was doing the same thing. I called LG back and they told me that I would need to contact University TV service to come replace it because there is a 90 day warranty to on it. I called ****** from University TV Service and was told he would order the part and call me in a week or two to schedule an appointment to come back out and replace it. Not hearing from him for over a month I called in May and once every month since May, (June, July, August) and got the same answer form ****** every time "I have ordered it and it should be here this week, I'll call you when I get it" I am on the 5th month and still never has ****** called me to let me know why the part in not in or why there is such a delay. My account number with them is XXXXXXX I would just like this replaced and done soon, I have been nothing but nice and patient with him and have not received even one courtesy phone call as to why this is taking so long.

Desired Settlement: Just fix/replace my speaker.

Business Response: Consumer Response /* (450, 6, 2012/10/03) */ I was called the next day by ****** and Tv is fixed today.. Thank you for your help with this matter.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.