Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

University TV Service

Phone: (970) 226-3215 Fax: (970) 226-5819 4211 S Mason St, Fort Collins, CO 80525


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that University TV Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for University TV Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on University TV Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1966 in CO
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Floyd Stretch, Owner/Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Floyd Stretch, Owner/Manager
Business Category

Television & Radio - Service & Repair Video Equipment Repair Shops Antennas Electronics Repair Stores


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

University TV Service has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4211 S Mason St

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (970) 226-3215

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/17/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is my first time using University Tv service and I will never return here again. On December 12th 2014, we brought our tv in for a diagnostic and he told us he would let us know what was going on with the tv (it wouldn't turn on) . The next week our roommate ** went into the shop to see what was going on with the tv since we never received a call back. He said it was a part in the switch board and could be replaced for $305.00. He informed us that it would take him a couple of weeks to get the part and fix the tv. After 3 weeks without phones calls on what was going on, ** went into the shop again. He stated the part was on "back order" and would be in within this week. Again, 2 weeks later we call him asking what is going on with the tv (obviously upset at this point) he tells us the exact same thing. We called him every single week for almost 2 months on the tv and every time we got the same response "the part is on back order it will be here within this week" I don't know if this man is creating a fraudulent business or not. First of all, please don't tell us over and over it will be available and fixed within that week when you broke your promise almost 5 times. Second, call the customers and tell them what is going on.. isn't this courtesy when you are dealing with their personal items. This is the worst service I have ever had, you lost customers that were willing and able to give you service. So, this started December 12, 2014 and here we are Jan 23, 2015 will no resolution.

Desired Settlement: Take initiative and fix the TV or give us the tv back without a fee due to your lack of communication with us. When we first took it in you, we werer promised it would take no more then two weeks, you provided us with false information. We would of taken the tv somewhere else with better service.

Business Response: The supplier for the part keep changing the date the part is do in to me.  I can only supply the information that I am given from my supplier.  Now the supplier is telling me it is on backorder and they are not given me an ETA on when this part will be able to be shipped to me. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:This doesn't change your lack of communication with us. We still have never received a phone call from you or correspondence on what is going on. Find a better supplier.

Regards,

****** *******

Business Response:

The parts are still on backorder from the supplier.  The supplier is telling me that they should have the parts available to them sometime this week.  If that is the case then I should be getting the parts the following week.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: We dropped this TV off to you December 12th and you are now telling us the order will be processed when you originally told us it would be done within two weeks? You are lying to your customers, tell them the correct information. When the Tv is done, maybe you can actually call us and let us know what is going on since, we never received a call from you not ONCE after we dropped off the tv. I will not pay for the diagnostic fee and I will be sure to pick up the tv that belongs to us, fixed, as promised. Maybe you should take your business to a different supplier so that you can accurately run a business yourself. 

Regards,

****** *******

Business Response: We are still waiting on the parts for the supplier.  The supplier keeps telling me the part will be available next week.   

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I dropped this tv off December 12, 2015 and it's almost April. You still haven't fixed our tv. You have officially broke every promise you made to us. As I said before we will be picking this tv up fixed or I will take this farther. You need to finish the job.

Regards,

****** *******

Business Response: I have been told by the supplier that the parts should be available in 15 days. I can put this part in the TV once I get it or  I can put the TV back together unfixed and you can come pick it up unfixed. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:Wow. This is your response when you have had our TV for 5 months? As I said before we will pick the tv up (Fixed) as promised to us five months ago. Now it's 15 days- A week from now you will tell us it's coming in 20 days. Always a different story.

Regards,

****** *******

2/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We dropped off an ** DVD/Receiver on 09/24/14 and to this day it has not been prepared. When we speak to the owner ***** he say's he has ordered parts for it and will get back to us, which he never does!! I will be picking up the receiver although it was NEVER repaired. Has anyone else complained about this repair place?? What a joke.

Desired Settlement: I will just be picking up the receiver and HOPING I am not charged as he did not repair it AND he has had it since September of last year!

Business Response: Two new main boards where put into this unit but it never fixed the problem.  Tech support recommend replacing the main board in this unit.  They could not help me fix this unit either.  The unit was picked up and the customer was not charged. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I do not know rather there were 2 boards installed or not. My BIGGEST complaint with this company was the lack of communication and they CONSTANTLY telling me they would let me know the status on the unit. Instead, I would always have to call and ask and the response was ALWAYS the same. They ordered parts but it hadn't come in. This went on for 6 mths. And yes..I did go pick up the item due to the fact I could never get a straight answer from them. Live and Learn!!

Sincerely,


**** ********

9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called University TV on 6/10/14 and asked for a service call for my broken tv. I expressed how important the tv was and that it was very expensive around $3000. ****** the owner reassured me they have been in business for years and they would be very careful. ****** the owner of the business came to my home the next day 6/11/14 and took my tv apart and tested the components on the inside and found the power supply for the tv was bad and a part would need to be ordered . The owner said the part should take 10-14 days and he would call when it got there. I paid $200 and understood there would be another $180 due when the tv was repaired. After the owner left I noticed he never put the tv back together and I noticed some scratches on the back of the tv by the screw holes . All the screws were in a bag. I called to ask about the damage and the owner said he would look at it when he came to put in the new part. Three weeks later I called to ask about the part the owner said he was tracking the package and it was going to be delivered the next day and he would call me. Three days later I called because I did not hear back and spoke with ****. I asked about the part and **** said it was on back order and I had to wait. I asked him to have the owner call me. Another week went by I called again and spoke with **** who again said still waiting on the part. I asked him why the owner told me the item was shipped and he had the tracking number. He told me oh yeah I forgot your part came but it was defective that he tested the part but it did not work. I asked for the owner to call again. Two days later no call so I called and spoke with the owner who said the part came but it was broken I asked why every time I call I get lied to. Ive been told the item is on back order,defective,broken. He also said they ordered a replacement part and would be there that week. A week later no word from University tv I called, **** answered the phone and said the part was never shipped. At this time I told him I need a refund for my money and I need someone to come and put the tv back together and I need someone to pay for the damage to my tv. He told me I would have to pay $70 for a service call to put it back together. I told him that this was the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard and I was not paying a dime for them to put it back together. And that I would file a report to the BBB on them for all of this. He said do whatever the ***** you want and hung up on me. I tried to call back but no one answered. The next day I called and spoke with the owner and told him about the employee and all he said was oh. He said I will make this right your part will be here to******. The next day came no word for them again. I called the owner said the part got shipped to the wrong address in a different state. I told him please refund my $200 and what can be done about the damage to the tv? he said there is nothing he can do. The owner said I will issue the refund, and hung up. Two days have gone by no refund. I called today and they are saying there credit card machine is broke and I can wait till next week for my refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like my refund for the full amount of $200. I would like some reimbursement for the scratches on the tv or they may order a new rear cover and put it on. This tv is very costly around $3000 dollars. I would also like an apology from **** for his disrespect and lying to customers, as well as one from the owner. I would also like this report published to the public. The people of Fort Collins need to know what kind of service they can expect from this company.

Business Response: The customer has been refunded the money on August 2 and also apologized for the inconvenience and my helps attitude.  I took the $200 dollars in cash to the customer personal.  I had ordered the part and when it came in it had freight damage from shipping.  A new part was requested from the supplier.  The customer was aware that I did not put all the screws back into the TV because he supplied me with a bag to put the some of the remaining screws in. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The business lied in there response. I did not know or provide any type of bag for the screws. It just shows me how unprofessional this business is. The owner did come and give my refund to me. It took a report to BBB for that to happen. The business has made no attempt to fix the damage they caused and no apology was made. From looking at the other reports on BBB site 2 other people had similar issues not with damage but with receiving parts and all the excuses they make to people. I have more pictures of the damage but I am having trouble adding them.

Regards,

******* ******

Business Response: I'm sorry. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: there has been nothing done. Over two months of my time has been wasted, on there lies and unprofessional business methods. And my tv is damaged in the process. I don't understand how they could ever have a BBB positive rating. 

Regards,

******* ******

5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been waiting for almost 2 years for ***** with univ. tv to get parts to repair my tv, i call on a regular basis and all i can ever get from him is either they are in mail and supposed to be here today or i will call you back tomorrow and yet i never hear from him. I have green lines running vertical thru my tv and they get bigger and more all the time. this is a warranty issue and he just doesnt seem to care. I ahve been nice and am getting very frustrated with him. this is my 2nd dealing with his company and both times i have had issues with him performing the repairs in a timely manner. if it were not for him being the ** warranty repair person i would not use him

Desired Settlement: enough is enough if you cant get the parts then replace the TV 2 yrs is too long and i want this problem taken care of. I have asked for him to replace if he cant get parts and he refuses

Business Response: The parts for this customers set have been on national back order from the factory.  The part has finally come off of national back order and has been shipped to us.  I am sending my technician out later this week to fix this set.  We need to get a hold of this customer to get a time that works for both of us. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  you have all my info just call and set up a time  ###-###-####

Regards,

**** ***

Consumer Response: *****     ** ******************* *********     ** ********************* ***     ************************ ************************ *****     **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ********     *** *** **** * *** ******* **** *** ********* ********* ********

i need to notify you that the complaint has not been taken care of. ***** was out on 2-3-14 and had the wrong parts to fix the TV he is again ordering parts. and is supposed to get back with me.
**** ***

Business Response: The part has been ordered.  We are expecting the part to be here the first part of next week (2/18/14) and will try and find the best time for the customer to install the part into the tv.

Thanks,
***** 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I did tell ***** that if the part is not right this time that i want the tv replaced  that 2yrs was long enough. So if it does not fix this time the tv needs to be replaced

Regards,

**** ***

Consumer Response: ***** ** ******************* ********* ** ********************* *** ************************ ************************ ***** **** *** ** **** ** ***** ** ******** *** *** **** * *** ******* **** *** ********* ********* ********

Update as of 3-6-14  no word from universiy tv   i spoke with ******* where the tv was purchased and they said thta this is too long and TV should hvae been replaced already

 

Business Response: ***** talked to **** last week the new part for his set should be in this week and he will go back to the customers house.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business,I  and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** ***

Consumer Response: Just a quick update I still have not had my tv fixed nor have I heard for univ tv 
****

Sent from my iPad

Consumer Response: ***** ****** *** ******* ********** ************************ ********* **** ********************* *** ************************ ************************ ***** **** *** ** **** ** **** ** ******** *** *** **** * *** ******* **** *** ********* ********* ********

Still not heard from ***** and TV is getting worse.  Enough is enough. Over two yrs waiting on a part

Sent from my iPad

Business Response: I have not received the right part yet I been working with my supplier  on this  hope to get worked out this week.   *****

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

**** ***
i have heard this for over two years enough is enough

2/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on University TV Service
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart