This Business is not BBB accredited

The Roof Works LLC

Find a Location

View Additional Phone Numbers 30 Mountain Rd, Aspen, CO 81611 http://www.theroofworks.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Specializing in commercial and residential roofing, steel and slate roofing materials as well as polyglass modified roofing systems.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

"The business's marketing materials include the BBB Accredited Business Seal or imply BBB Accreditation. This business is not BBB Accredited by this BBB and our policies prohibit such a reference. The business continues to display this material despite best efforts to inform the business to cease using copyrighted material. This use of the BBB Accredited Business name and BBB Accredited Business Seal constitutes copyright infringement and is a violation of trademark rights of the Council of Better Business Bureaus Inc."


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for The Roof Works LLC include:

  • 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved
  • Unauthorized use of BBB name or trademarks

Factors that raised the rating for The Roof Works LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Roof Works LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 03, 2005 Business started: 07/01/2004 in CO Business incorporated: 11/10/2004 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

City of Aspen
530 E Main St, Aspen CO 81611
Phone Number: (970) 920-5240

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Trevor Nelson, Owner Ms. Marilyn Armel, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Trevor Nelson, Owner
Business Category

Roofers Commercial Roofing Roofing Consultants Siding Contractors Roofing Contractors (NAICS: 238160)

Products & Services

The Roof Works LLC sells the following brand(s): GAF, Ownes, Corning, Tarnko

Service Area
Colorado
Alternate Business Names
TRW
Industry Tips
Tips for Hiring Roofing Contractors Watch Out for These Red Flags

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    30 Mountain Rd

    Aspen, CO 81611 (970) 925-4177

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted with Roof works in 2009 to replace the shingles. From all exterior views it looked like a quality job had been done. Recently I replaced all fascia boards we proved to be a very difficult job because there workers had nailed both the shingles and the 2 inch flashing they used into the fascia boards. As a result, we lost all of our flashing. I also discovered once the fascia boards were removed that they had left old shingles underneath the first row of shingles and there was evidence that the roof decking had in places, severe water damage. We were not informed of this during their work. We had a representative from Roof Works look at this and he tried to explain it away as damage that had happened since their work. If they had done quality work that should be impossible. Additionally, he tried to tell us that they had left the old shingles on the first row to provide a "smoother look" to the roof but admitted that they should have used new shingle not left old ones on. He also stated that it was industry practice to use 2x2 inch flashing and that the fascia was the only surface they could nail it into. He could not explain why shingle were nailed into the fascia. We were promised that we would be contacted by ****** ********, the owner but have not been even after repeated calls to a secretary who stated each time that she would have him call us. Finally, we should have been informed of the damage to our roof decking so that we could have had the option to replace it before the shingle were put on. All in all, Roof Works work and customer service have been seriously sub par.

Desired Settlement: At first, we simply wanted them to come out and replace the flashing. Now after seeing the state of the edge roof decking and feeling the sponginess of numerous other areas we feel they should replace the roof at minimum. We simply want to have our roof work done right.

11/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After signing an agreement for a roof and siding replacement on August 3rd 2013 the work on my house still has not been completed. I have been extremely patient and have still been waiting over a year for this to be resolved. Not only was my roof not finished in a appropriate time frame, but the sub contractor that did my roof was also not paid , resulting in this man showing up at my door asking for money. Not only that, I also received a letter from his lawyer that he intended to file a lien on my property. I still have screens and siding that needs to be replaced and no help from the office at the ************ number.

Desired Settlement: I would like the work completed and some sort of discount for the unreasonable amount of time for this to be resolved , as I am still waiting to have the work done over a year later.

9/30/2011 Problems with Product/Service