Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Schroeder Roofing & Gutters?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business provides residential and commercial roofing, gutters and insulation.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Schroeder Roofing & Gutters meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Schroeder Roofing & Gutters include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Schroeder Roofing & Gutters
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 01, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1998 Business started locally: 01/01/1998
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dale Hill, President Ms. Debbie Hill, Accounts Payable Mr. Wes Hill, Co-owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dale Hill, President
Business Category

Roofers Gutters & Downspouts Roofing Contractors (NAICS: 238160)

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Visa & Mastercard
Service Area
Northern Colorado
Alternate Business Names
Schroeder Roofing Inc
Products & Services

roofing, gutters, insulation, residential, commercial

Industry Tips
Tips for Hiring Roofing Contractors

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Schroeder Roofing & Gutters has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (303) 772-9772(Phone)
  • (888) 586-7663(Phone)
  • (970) 224-3331(Phone)
  • (970) 353-3833(Phone)
  • (970) 686-7207(Phone)
  • (303) 772-2080 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was contacted Sept. 18, 2014 by our homeowners insurance representative telling us we needed to get in touch with Schroeder Roofing Co. regarding an outstanding balance on our roof replacement from April 2014.Since sending the payment of $9,995.25, June 5th, I have had absolutely NO contact with Schroeder Roofing Company's billing department regarding an outstanding balance, so this is quite a surprise.The bid that I signed was for the amount I submitted...when I signed the bid, I specifically asked the sales person if this included the deductible and was told "you will not have to pay anything out of pocket". After the work was completed, I was contacted by Schroeder Roofing Co. and was told there was a discrepancy with the bid (the sales person forgot to include the deductible) and the invoice would reflect that for insurance purposes only and we would not have to pay anything out of pocket.We are now being billed $2,500.00 for our deductible amount.

Desired Settlement: It appears the mistake is that of Schroeder Roofing Co. in their bid/billing process.

Business Response: I had to check with an office employee who is no longer with us but who had a conversation with ****** about this issue. The insurance company had notified us that we had made an error in the calculation of funds on our roof bid and more money was available to us, the contractor, for the roofing work that was done. Since the insurance funds are sent to the insured, ****** had to agree to receive the extra funds and release them to us. According to ********, our office employee at the time, ****** understood and said "OK". The first and only invoice we sent to ****** on May 14th reflected this change. The extra funds amounted to $2500.00. This is the amount of the deductible.
I talked to ****, the salesman who wrote the contract. He said he made it clear to ****** that "no money out of pocket" did not include the deductible. There is a clause in our contract with a check box that gives us permission of the customer to work with their insurance company for the best interest of the customer and us the contractor "at a price agreeable to the insurance company and Schroeder Roofing Co with no additional cost to the home owner except for the deductible." The clause also states "Schroeder Roofing Co will receive all insurance proceeds."
In addition there is an Addendum A to the contract referring to a new Colorado law CRS 18313.119.5 which states that it is against the law to pay, waive or rebate an insurance deductible. ****** signed this Addendum A. There is nothing unusual about the clauses of this contract. They are standard in the industry. Insurance companies frown upon property owners being waved or rebated their deductible, hence this new law. They are going to pay based upon an approved contractors invoice. 
When ******** insurance company called us about the error they did not intend it to go to ******. The agreement was for it to go to us the contractor. 
However I am agreeable to a compromise.


Regards,**** ****-President
Schroeder Roofing
 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

As indicated previously, I was told by two different people (**** & ********) at Schroeder Roofing that the bid amount - which is the amount paid by insurance - would be the amount we would owe, and the amount remitted.  I understand the Colorado law and insurance deductible amounts, however had this been explained, we would have decided against the replacement as $2,500 was and is a hardship.  In reviewing all of the insurance documents, I have found that insurance did include payment for the shed which was not included in the bid and I am willing to remit payment in that amount.  If Mr. **** would like to discuss this personally, he is welcome to contact myself or my husband.

Regards,

****** *****

Business Response: On Saturday, November 15 2014, I personally responded to ****** by calling her listed phone number and leaving a message to call me on my cell number or at the office to see if we can settle our dispute. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I spoke with **** directly and we were able to come up with a mutual resolution, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *****

12/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Re: Service Complaint for Schroeder Roofing Co, **** * ****** **** ********* ** ***** Sir or Madam: We recently hired Schroeder Roofing to re-roof two mountain cabins in the *** ******** ****** ******* ***** *** ***** ****. After getting three quotes from licensed roofers, we selected Schroeder Roofing to do the job. Our decision was greatly influenced by the A+ rating that the BBB gives Schroeder Roofing. We received bids from Schroeder on August 24, 2013 and subsequently were given the date of Monday, September 16, 2013 for work to begin with an estimated two days required for the job. The heavy rains and flooding began on Wednesday, September 11, and lasted through Sunday, September 15, with heavy road damage to all the roads into the Estes Park area. It was not possible for Schroeder Roofing to get their trucks or crew into the Estes Park area with the road damage. The ceiling of one cabin was damaged due to the heavy rains. We paid local workers to put three tarps on the roof to give some protection against continuing rainfall. We wanted to get the roofs on the two cabins installed before winter, as we did not think the tarps would survive the winter snow and wind. By September 18, Highway 7 from Estes Park to Nederland was opened to traffic. This meant that Schroeder Roofing could get a crew into our property although the drive was much longer than the Loveland to Estes Park route. The route would be from Loveland south to 1-70, west to Highway 119 by Central City, north on 119 and Highway 72 to Nederland and then north to Estes Park on Highway 7. Total trip time would be 3.5 hours. Even though our job had been previously scheduled for Monday, September 16, Schroeder Roofing was reluctant to reschedule our job. They had plenty of work in the flat lands east of the mountains due to storm damage. We negotiated an additional $200 to compensate for the delivery of the shingles and an additional $300 to compensate the crew for additional travel time. Schroeder Roofing agreed to this amount and scheduled the shingles to be delivered on Wednesday October 2. The crew was scheduled to work on Thursday and Friday, October 3 and 4. ****** ******** ******** of Fort Collins delivered the shingles on October 2 with the driver reporting no problems driving the route into Estes Park. However, no crew showed up the morning of Thursday, October 3. We finally called *****, the office manager at Schroeder roofing at 1:00 PM. He had no idea his crew did not show at the work site. He said he would investigate. We finally called him back about 5:00 PM and he informed us the crew had started out and then turned back. He also told us that he was canceling the next day because snow was forecast for the upper elevations. On Friday, October 4, ***** called to tell us that a new crew had been scheduled for Monday, October 7. On Sunday, October 6, Highway 119 from Boulder to Nederland was opened by the Colorado Department of Transportation, cutting the travel time from 3.5 hours down to a little over two hours. However, on Monday, October 7, the crew failed to show up to do the job. We again called *****, who had no idea why his crew was not at our property. When he contacted the crew, they claimed they were turned back at the barricade in Boulder, a claim that rings hollow since the road was opened the previous day. We called the sheriff's office in Boulder. The dispatcher told us the road is and was open and that the crew should have been able to get thru without a problem. We think the crew, who appear to be Hispanic immigrants, shied away from the road barricade manned by ******** ********* and ********* deputies since the ******** was present for a short ceremony to celebrate the opening of the road. Schroeder did not call us immediately regarding the barricades so it could be resolved near real time with the Sheriff and CDOT. So twice in four days time, scheduled crews failed to show up at our property to do the job without anyone from Schroeder Roofing contacting us to say they were not coming. Finally, on Tuesday, October 8, the president of Schroeder Roofing, Mr. **** ****, escorted a contract crew from Texas. The crew did not arrive until after 11:00 because the crew had trouble with their trailer hitch. They planned to replace both roofs in one day. However, because they arrived late, they ended up working after the sun went down and had to hurry to finish the job as darkness closed in. This was not the regular crew from Schroeder Roofmg. It was a crew they hired under sub-contract because they had contracted more work than their regular crew could handle. Two days after the job was finished, we contacted Schroeder Roofing to inquire if they would consider refunding part of the $500 incentive because of the two no-shows and because the trip length had been reduced significantly by the opening of Highway 119 from Boulder to Nederland. The answer was No. We do not think Schroeder is worthy of BBB's rating of A+ due to their lack of BBB Accreditation standards and very poor performance on our job. We respectively ask your assistance for seeking a refund of $500. We can provide quotes, invoices, and additional information as necessary. Sincerely, ****** ** ****** *** ****** ** ****** ******** ****** ** ** ******** ******* ***** ****** ** ***** *** ************ ****** ******** *************

Desired Settlement: We respectively ask your assistance for seeking a refund of $500. We can provide quotes, invoices, and additional information as necessary.

Business Response: November 19, 2013

Yes, I did escort my crew to the job because I did not want any more problems to the job or any problems on the job. In fact, I had a very enjoyable day with the ******* and with my crew. No problems with either. It was a beautiful day and even though we arrived late morning, we had a large crew and had no problem getting the job done by the end of the day. In fact, I agree with the ******* story until they insinuate we had to hurry to get the job done and work in darkness. This is simply not true.

The ******* were able to inspect the finished product in full light and seemed pleased. My crew did an excellent job. It didn’t get dark until the last of the packing up. Darkness moves in quick in the mountains. The job passed Larimer County inspection the next day. This was cause for another round trip for me to pick up the ladder we left for this inspection.
About the remarks with my crew. Yes, this is a fairly new crew for me, but I had been using them for over a month when I took them to Estes. I am still using them now and they are an excellent crew. We are busy due to the recent hail storm and I had to bring in extra help as did all outside home trades.

I was not aware of the conversation between ***** and ***** ****** two days after the job was finished. Other than my trip to the job site itself, ***** and ***** had handled all the previous dealings with the ******* as far as getting the job done since the contract had been signed. He does not remember ***** asking to talk to me. I must not have been in the office at the time or I'm sure he would have said something about it. I'm surprised the ******* didn't call me directly after spending such a pleasant day with them just a few days before. If they would have asked for me, this probably would have been handled before.
Although I am deeply disappointed with some of the remarks made by the ******* in this report, I am agreeing to fully refund the $500.00 they are asking in order to close this matter.

The check will be mailed and postmarked November 19, 2013.

Sincerely,

**** ****
President