Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Schroeder Roofing & Gutters

Find a Location

Phone: (970) 667-6777 Fax: (970) 669-3532 View Additional Phone Numbers 1300 N Monroe Ave, Loveland, CO 80537 http://www.schroederroofing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business provides residential and commercial roofing, gutters and insulation.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Schroeder Roofing & Gutters meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Schroeder Roofing & Gutters include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Schroeder Roofing & Gutters
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1998 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Building Department- Larimer County
200 W Oak Third Floor, Fort Collins CO 80522
http://www.larimer.org/building
Phone Number: (970) 498-7700

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Wes Hill, Co-owner Mr. Jason DuBois Mr. Dale Hill, President Ms. Debbie Hill, Accounts Payable
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Wes Hill, Co-owner
Business Category

Roofers Gutters & Downspouts Roofing Contractors (NAICS: 238160)

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Visa & Mastercard
Service Area
Northern Colorado
Alternate Business Names
Schroeder Roofing Inc
Products & Services

roofing, gutters, insulation, residential, commercial

Industry Tips
Tips for Hiring Roofing Contractors Watch Out for These Red Flags

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Schroeder Roofing & Gutters has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contacted Schroeder roofing I believe back in August 2014 to get an estimate to replace our roof due to hail damage. The sales person came out, was thorough and kind, and explained the estimate in detail. He then mentioned the fact that skylights could be installed as well, which we were very excited about. This was not on the original contract as at that time we had not decided how many sky lights we desired. We were assured by the sales person that skylights were frequently installed by their company. At that time, we were also informed that it would possible be sometime in November before they could replace the roof. Sometime in October, we contacted the sales person and informed him of the style and number of skylights we desired so they could be ordered. He relayed that we would need to be present at the house to help designate our desired placement. November rolled around, and I called the office to see if they had an estimated roof replacement date. At that time, I also spoke to the office person and informed her of our skylight purchase, so we could arrange to be home from work when they were being installed. She gave me a date, and said they would be here around 8 am. By By 11am there were still no roofers, so around noon, I called to see if they were still coming since I needed to leave for work. The office staff ended up returning my call and said the roofers were behind and wouldn't likely be there for 3 more days. So again, we coordinated our work schedules to be available at the house when the roofers were present to install the skylights. The office staff informed me that they skylights would be installed around 11 am-noon. The roofers showed up that day, but around noon, I still had not spoken with them personally about the skylights, so I decided to ask them if installation would be soon. Unfortunately, there wasn't anyone who could speak English at that time that I could locate. I called the office to ask them about the skylights installation and they contacted someone at our house. After multiple conversations with the office staff, it was determined that the roofers were unaware of the skylight installation, and not all the pieces were ordered, and the pieces that were ordered were in Fort Collins. I tried to contact our sales person and left multiple messages with no return call. I ended up speaking with the president of the company, who informed me that their company does not typically install skylights, and I would actually need a carpenter for the job. Not once was there an apology for the miscommunication or misleading info provided by the sales rep. Plus he mentioned it wasn't in the contract and I informed him that I had been in contact multiple times with the sales rep and office staff, and their communication was terrible. The roof was completed, and no skylights were installed. After the roof was completed, my husband noticed counter flashing had been placed in an area where it hadn't been before, in the front of our house on the pillars right before the front door. The counter flashing is a dark color and extends over a brick and a half, with what appears to be a lot of dark brown tarring all over haphazardly. Needless to say, we were very upset and frustrated. Not only had this installation of counter flashing not been discussed or approved, but it was done so poorly that we are having to have it replaced. I called the president and he came out to the house to look at it. Again, no apologies or explanation of why this wasn't discussed. Basically, he said the roofers had to install counter flashing so it would pass inspection, even though it wasn't there originally. We expressed our extreme dissatisfaction with the job and again, lack of communication! He suggested contacting a masonry company and gave us a reference. We have had two masoners come out to give estimates, both questioning the absolute need for the counter flashing installation since they were placed on pillars that are on outside of house, and weren't there originally. One of them recommended keeping it, but did agree that is is definitely not aesthetically appealing. The other suggested that if it was his house, he would have it completely removed since it is not necessary (the house is 14 years old and we have not had any leaking issues; again the counter flashing was installed on pillars that are on outside of house). They both gave estimates on repair of the unprofessional and UNAPPROVED job to make it less of an eye sore, especially since we plan on having our house on market this spring. One also said that brick would possibly need to be replaced since tar would not come off easily, although it could be caulking. They both estimated the job to be $500.00. There were multiple issues with the company Schroeder roofing. Initially it started with misleading advertising regarding the ability to install skylights. Second, poor communication among office staff, and sales rep completely disregarded about 3 or 4 voice mails from me with no return call. Lastly, but costly, is the unapproved and unprofessional installation of counter flashing.

Desired Settlement: We would like the masonry repair work paid for in full as this was a direct and indisputable mistake made by Schoeder roofing.

Business Response: I did talk to her. I met her at the house. I did not tell her that we didn't install skylights. We install dozens every year. We don't do the finish inside carpenter work. She knew that and the verbal deal she made with our salesman reflects that. We also don't locate new skylights without the aid of the carpenter. They take things into consideration that we as roofers don't think or know about; especially if an attic is involved. Our salesman didn't tell her that and for that I apologize. I was trying to look out for her best interest even though we had  messed up. Experience tells me to get the carpenter involved at the beginning or you can create an expensive mess. We can install the skylights almost as easily after the shingles are on.

The counter flashing around the brick pillars wasn't installed when the house was built 14 years ago. I told both her and her husband if the masons would take care of the counter flashing, we would clean up the temporary caulking that is such an issue. As it now stands, the masons seem to think it was fine the way it was, without the flashing. The're probably right, so we'll put it back to it's original condition of the last 14 years, clean up the caulking, and call for county inspection. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

We have had such a poor experience with Schroeder Roofing, that we do not want the company to come out and repair their mistake with the counter flashing.   The company had originally suggested to have a masoner come out and repair the counter flashing, because this is their expertise, and now they are suggesting that their roofers complete the job. In the original complaint, we asked that the counter flashing be fixed by a masoner, and paid for by the company.   Although the salesman did state we needed a carpenter to finish the interior, he indicated that HE would order the skylights, and we just were to call him with the size and number we desired.  Customer service is lacking with this company, and if they will not pay for the masonry repair of the counter flashing, we would rather pay for the $500 repair work out of pocket and be confident it is done correctly.   

Regards,

****** ********

Business Response: I called her and offered to send out our service team to clean up the caulking as I originally said I would. She turned me down and said she would have the masons do it.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

This is not the resolution we asked for, please reread the original complaint.  We asked for an expert in this area to clean up the caulking and fix the mess that was created by Schroeder roofing, which initially was recommended to be a masoner by the president of the company.  This can be resolved by the company admitting fault and acknowledging that they will NOT reimburse us to have a masoner fix the problem.  At that time, I will accept the response.  

Regards,

****** ********

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Our desired outcome is to have our costs for masonry repair work reimbursed.  We will have the work completed and submit the receipt.

Regards,

****** ********

Business Response: I'll split it with you *******. The bid you had from the masons to cut in the counter flashing on the brick columns was $500. I'll send you $250 if you'll agree to end this. That's the best deal you'll get.

Regards,

****

Consumer Response: ****,

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. We look forward to resolving this complaint.  Please mail a check for $250 to our home address.

Regards,

****** ********

2/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a new roof installed in October of 2014 and in Late December of 2014 I noticed a stain on my ceiling above my bed and in my entry way. I have called several times without any return calls or a visit to my home. On 1/22/2015 two workers showed up, without a ladder,, and using mine they said they caulked a leak on the under side of the roof (in the attic). That is not how to fix a leaky roof.

Desired Settlement: I would like someone to promptly address this issue and to fix it right.

Business Response:

***** ********* ******* ****************************** *** ********************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** ********* ********* ******** 

Our Service Technician went to her house on January 21 at 1:45 pm. He had called and she hadn’t answered but he went out anyway to check her roof for obvious signs of problems. He didn’t see any and left a door hanger with a message that he had been there.
Sending out two guys from our roofing crew the next day was an obvious mistake of ours.
I sent a Service Technician out on January 27. He discovered signs of serious condensation problems in her attic but no shingle issues. We were expecting cold and snowy weather the following weekend so he told her we would be back soon after to check and see what it looked like then.
On February 2, it was determined that the cause of her water spots was from condensation due to poor attic ventilation, as we found frost between the decking and the roofing felt. We installed 3 additional new roof vents, cleaned out her soffit vents, and blocked off a gable vent. We expect this will solve her condensation and attic ventilation problem. We will check back after the next cold and snowy period and then paint her ceiling.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* ******

11/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was contacted Sept. 18, 2014 by our homeowners insurance representative telling us we needed to get in touch with Schroeder Roofing Co. regarding an outstanding balance on our roof replacement from April 2014.Since sending the payment of $9,995.25, June 5th, I have had absolutely NO contact with Schroeder Roofing Company's billing department regarding an outstanding balance, so this is quite a surprise.The bid that I signed was for the amount I submitted...when I signed the bid, I specifically asked the sales person if this included the deductible and was told "you will not have to pay anything out of pocket". After the work was completed, I was contacted by Schroeder Roofing Co. and was told there was a discrepancy with the bid (the sales person forgot to include the deductible) and the invoice would reflect that for insurance purposes only and we would not have to pay anything out of pocket.We are now being billed $2,500.00 for our deductible amount.

Desired Settlement: It appears the mistake is that of Schroeder Roofing Co. in their bid/billing process.

Business Response: I had to check with an office employee who is no longer with us but who had a conversation with ****** about this issue. The insurance company had notified us that we had made an error in the calculation of funds on our roof bid and more money was available to us, the contractor, for the roofing work that was done. Since the insurance funds are sent to the insured, ****** had to agree to receive the extra funds and release them to us. According to ********, our office employee at the time, ****** understood and said "OK". The first and only invoice we sent to ****** on May 14th reflected this change. The extra funds amounted to $2500.00. This is the amount of the deductible.
I talked to ****, the salesman who wrote the contract. He said he made it clear to ****** that "no money out of pocket" did not include the deductible. There is a clause in our contract with a check box that gives us permission of the customer to work with their insurance company for the best interest of the customer and us the contractor "at a price agreeable to the insurance company and Schroeder Roofing Co with no additional cost to the home owner except for the deductible." The clause also states "Schroeder Roofing Co will receive all insurance proceeds."
In addition there is an Addendum A to the contract referring to a new Colorado law CRS 18313.119.5 which states that it is against the law to pay, waive or rebate an insurance deductible. ****** signed this Addendum A. There is nothing unusual about the clauses of this contract. They are standard in the industry. Insurance companies frown upon property owners being waved or rebated their deductible, hence this new law. They are going to pay based upon an approved contractors invoice. 
When ******** insurance company called us about the error they did not intend it to go to ******. The agreement was for it to go to us the contractor. 
However I am agreeable to a compromise.


Regards,**** ****-President
Schroeder Roofing
 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

As indicated previously, I was told by two different people (**** & ********) at Schroeder Roofing that the bid amount - which is the amount paid by insurance - would be the amount we would owe, and the amount remitted.  I understand the Colorado law and insurance deductible amounts, however had this been explained, we would have decided against the replacement as $2,500 was and is a hardship.  In reviewing all of the insurance documents, I have found that insurance did include payment for the shed which was not included in the bid and I am willing to remit payment in that amount.  If Mr. **** would like to discuss this personally, he is welcome to contact myself or my husband.

Regards,

****** *****

Business Response: On Saturday, November 15 2014, I personally responded to ****** by calling her listed phone number and leaving a message to call me on my cell number or at the office to see if we can settle our dispute. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I spoke with **** directly and we were able to come up with a mutual resolution, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *****

12/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Re: Service Complaint for Schroeder Roofing Co, **** * ****** **** ********* ** ***** Sir or Madam: We recently hired Schroeder Roofing to re-roof two mountain cabins in the *** ******** ****** ******* ***** *** ***** ****. After getting three quotes from licensed roofers, we selected Schroeder Roofing to do the job. Our decision was greatly influenced by the A+ rating that the BBB gives Schroeder Roofing. We received bids from Schroeder on August 24, 2013 and subsequently were given the date of Monday, September 16, 2013 for work to begin with an estimated two days required for the job. The heavy rains and flooding began on Wednesday, September 11, and lasted through Sunday, September 15, with heavy road damage to all the roads into the Estes Park area. It was not possible for Schroeder Roofing to get their trucks or crew into the Estes Park area with the road damage. The ceiling of one cabin was damaged due to the heavy rains. We paid local workers to put three tarps on the roof to give some protection against continuing rainfall. We wanted to get the roofs on the two cabins installed before winter, as we did not think the tarps would survive the winter snow and wind. By September 18, Highway 7 from Estes Park to Nederland was opened to traffic. This meant that Schroeder Roofing could get a crew into our property although the drive was much longer than the Loveland to Estes Park route. The route would be from Loveland south to 1-70, west to Highway 119 by Central City, north on 119 and Highway 72 to Nederland and then north to Estes Park on Highway 7. Total trip time would be 3.5 hours. Even though our job had been previously scheduled for Monday, September 16, Schroeder Roofing was reluctant to reschedule our job. They had plenty of work in the flat lands east of the mountains due to storm damage. We negotiated an additional $200 to compensate for the delivery of the shingles and an additional $300 to compensate the crew for additional travel time. Schroeder Roofing agreed to this amount and scheduled the shingles to be delivered on Wednesday October 2. The crew was scheduled to work on Thursday and Friday, October 3 and 4. ****** ******** ******** of Fort Collins delivered the shingles on October 2 with the driver reporting no problems driving the route into Estes Park. However, no crew showed up the morning of Thursday, October 3. We finally called *****, the office manager at Schroeder roofing at 1:00 PM. He had no idea his crew did not show at the work site. He said he would investigate. We finally called him back about 5:00 PM and he informed us the crew had started out and then turned back. He also told us that he was canceling the next day because snow was forecast for the upper elevations. On Friday, October 4, ***** called to tell us that a new crew had been scheduled for Monday, October 7. On Sunday, October 6, Highway 119 from Boulder to Nederland was opened by the Colorado Department of Transportation, cutting the travel time from 3.5 hours down to a little over two hours. However, on Monday, October 7, the crew failed to show up to do the job. We again called *****, who had no idea why his crew was not at our property. When he contacted the crew, they claimed they were turned back at the barricade in Boulder, a claim that rings hollow since the road was opened the previous day. We called the sheriff's office in Boulder. The dispatcher told us the road is and was open and that the crew should have been able to get thru without a problem. We think the crew, who appear to be Hispanic immigrants, shied away from the road barricade manned by ******** ********* and ********* deputies since the ******** was present for a short ceremony to celebrate the opening of the road. Schroeder did not call us immediately regarding the barricades so it could be resolved near real time with the Sheriff and CDOT. So twice in four days time, scheduled crews failed to show up at our property to do the job without anyone from Schroeder Roofing contacting us to say they were not coming. Finally, on Tuesday, October 8, the president of Schroeder Roofing, Mr. **** ****, escorted a contract crew from Texas. The crew did not arrive until after 11:00 because the crew had trouble with their trailer hitch. They planned to replace both roofs in one day. However, because they arrived late, they ended up working after the sun went down and had to hurry to finish the job as darkness closed in. This was not the regular crew from Schroeder Roofmg. It was a crew they hired under sub-contract because they had contracted more work than their regular crew could handle. Two days after the job was finished, we contacted Schroeder Roofing to inquire if they would consider refunding part of the $500 incentive because of the two no-shows and because the trip length had been reduced significantly by the opening of Highway 119 from Boulder to Nederland. The answer was No. We do not think Schroeder is worthy of BBB's rating of A+ due to their lack of BBB Accreditation standards and very poor performance on our job. We respectively ask your assistance for seeking a refund of $500. We can provide quotes, invoices, and additional information as necessary. Sincerely, ****** ** ****** *** ****** ** ****** ******** ****** ** ** ******** ******* ***** ****** ** ***** *** ************ ****** ******** *************

Desired Settlement: We respectively ask your assistance for seeking a refund of $500. We can provide quotes, invoices, and additional information as necessary.

Business Response: November 19, 2013

Yes, I did escort my crew to the job because I did not want any more problems to the job or any problems on the job. In fact, I had a very enjoyable day with the ******* and with my crew. No problems with either. It was a beautiful day and even though we arrived late morning, we had a large crew and had no problem getting the job done by the end of the day. In fact, I agree with the ******* story until they insinuate we had to hurry to get the job done and work in darkness. This is simply not true.

The ******* were able to inspect the finished product in full light and seemed pleased. My crew did an excellent job. It didn’t get dark until the last of the packing up. Darkness moves in quick in the mountains. The job passed Larimer County inspection the next day. This was cause for another round trip for me to pick up the ladder we left for this inspection.
About the remarks with my crew. Yes, this is a fairly new crew for me, but I had been using them for over a month when I took them to Estes. I am still using them now and they are an excellent crew. We are busy due to the recent hail storm and I had to bring in extra help as did all outside home trades.

I was not aware of the conversation between ***** and ***** ****** two days after the job was finished. Other than my trip to the job site itself, ***** and ***** had handled all the previous dealings with the ******* as far as getting the job done since the contract had been signed. He does not remember ***** asking to talk to me. I must not have been in the office at the time or I'm sure he would have said something about it. I'm surprised the ******* didn't call me directly after spending such a pleasant day with them just a few days before. If they would have asked for me, this probably would have been handled before.
Although I am deeply disappointed with some of the remarks made by the ******* in this report, I am agreeing to fully refund the $500.00 they are asking in order to close this matter.

The check will be mailed and postmarked November 19, 2013.

Sincerely,

**** ****
President


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Schroeder Roofing & Gutters
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart