BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Rocky Mountain Roofers & Gutters?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Rocky Mountain Roofers & Gutters

Phone: (970) 224-1200 Fax: (970) 224-1211 458 S. Link Lane, Fort Collins, CO 80524 http://www.rockymountainroofers.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rocky Mountain Roofers & Gutters meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rocky Mountain Roofers & Gutters include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rocky Mountain Roofers & Gutters
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 28, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1993 Business started locally: 01/01/1993
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor Licensing Fort Collins
281 N College Ave, Fort Collins CO 80524
Phone Number: (970) 221-6767

Business Management
Mr. Jon Freck, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jon Freck, Owner
Business Category

Roofers Roofing Consultants Siding Contractors Construction Companies Gutter & Downspouts Suppliers Gutter Cleaners Roof Deck Companies Roofing Contractors (NAICS: 238160)

Industry Tips
Tips for Hiring Roofing Contractors

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rocky Mountain Roofers was contacted to replace a skylight on my roof. When the replacement was being done, i looked up on the roof and inquired why the shingles were a different color than the rest of my roof, i was told "thats what we had in the shop". My shingles are a grey/slate blue and the replacement shingles used where Brown. I told the service person right there that was not acceptable. Then the conversation turned to my shingles no longer being available, i understood that but felt that a similar color at the least should have been used. After a phone conversation the owner *** ***** told me to obtain similar a color that i would be happy with and he would take care of it. I secured them, 2 bundles for approx $60, phoned him to let him know and ask if he would be covering that cost and he told me he would need to 'think about that' and to place them on my porch. Shortly after this discussion i finally was able to have someone get on my roof and look closely at the repair job and it was found that the shingles where 'nailed through' and then tarred on them. This caused immediate concern as this would not be water tight to my roof. I emailed a picture of this to Mr. ***** and after several communications back and forth ( i have every one ) he informed me that for the very 'reasonable fee of $50' he would send his 'new repair man out to fix'. I have asked him several times why i should have to pay anything additional to have the job done 'right' (remember i have also purchased the add'l shingles), he simply tells me that he feels he is being 'more than fair'. I would like someone unbiased to become involved in this disagreement so it can be moved to a conculsion. Emails and photos available.

Desired Settlement: I would like the more similar color of shingles that "I" purchased installed and that they be nailed 'under' the shingle and appropriately tarred to stick down.

Business Response:

Rocky Mountain Roofers was contracted by **** ****** to install a new skylight at the house on ******** **.  The current shingles on the roof are ***** Heritage Oxford Grey, unfortunately, this is now a discontinued color.  We installed a shingle around her skylight that was close in color, but obviously can not match exactly. **** purchased 2 bundles of shingles of a different brand that she felt would better match what was currently on the roof. I mentioned that there would be a $50 charge to send out a repair man, and have him remove and replace the shingles with what she purchased. It is very difficult to work on a roof that has a discontinued color, so we chose to install a color that is very common.  **** did not like the color so now both parties need to come to an agreement. I have been informed that **** has now contacted other roofers and they will charge $275 to replace the shingles around her skylight. I would only charge $50 to cover the partial labor this will cost for us to go back out. I feel this is a fair offer, and will send a reapir man right out once the bill is paid in full.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The business is responding to the FIRST issue, see attached picture, 1) this is NOT even a close color, brown on a blue/grey roof?  2) the bigger issue became after i was able to get up on the roof the fact that his installer nailed 'through' the shingles rather then 'under' them which provides a path for water to get under the shingles.  I tried to attach this picture when i made the complaint but the system would not let me,this also  has been given to the business in past emails to show you what this looks like.  Sure, any other roofing company that did not do the initial work would charge a larger fee to come and get on my roof to repair the nailed through shingles with the product i have already purchased.  I really want this resolved, this has gone on far too long. 

Regards,

**** ******

Business Response: If she pay's her original bill and add's $50 on it to pay for labor to install her shingles this issue can be resolved in a mature civil manner.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

As you can see, he refuses to accept the fact that the jobs quality was done poorly, not relating to the 'color' issue.  Better Business Bureau please tell me what my next step would be.

Regards,

**** ******

Business Response: **** ****** contracted Rocky Mountain Roofers & Gutters to replace a leaky skylight at her residence.  In order to correctly do the work, some shingles were needed to be replaced in the area around the skylight, however, the shingle color that is currently on the roof is discontinued.  We tried to match the color of the replacement shingles the best we could, but **** did not like the shingles we chose so she purchased 2 bundles of shingles at a roof supply company.  **** wants us now remove these shingles and replace it with the ones she bought, which I have no problem doing with an additional $50 to partially cover the cost of sending a skilled laborer out to complete the work.  To send out someone would cost about $100-150 in labor, so asking $50 is a deal due to the circumstances.  **** has since refused to pay the additional $50 as well as her original invoice of $550 from November 2013 for the original work to replace the skylight ( I have included the invoice).  I am asking for the payment of the origianl invoice, and than she can contract with either us or another chosen company to replace the shingles she has purchased. 

Consumer Response:

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

 

To reiterate, the first issue was the color, and they did not attempt to match a closest color at all by using brown on a blue/grey roof.  Grey would have been less obvious.  Secondly, he is not addressing the actual more important concern raised over the nailing through the top of the shingles then smearing black tar which with  drying and lifting will be a direct path for moisture to the underneath of the shingles and subsequently to the inside of my roof.  I have not recieved any invoice other than the one delivered the day of installation which i immediately had concerns that were communicated verbally and via email to Rocky Mountain Roofers.  I would gladly pay the bill mentioned for a completed job.  I was truly hoping that for $50 compared to the bill amount of $550 that this process would have resolved this but seeing that it does not appear so, I will begin getting bids which will definately be more than the $50 he is requesting to have this job completed correctly and will then remit to Rocky Mountain Roofers the difference when completed.  As i have requested a few other times, please come finish the job right  with no additional charge and i will hand you a check that very moment for the $550.  If i have to pursue another contractor to complete, I will be reducing your bill by the amount it costs me AND the $60 i spent on ths shingles.  Final offer.

 


Regards,

**** ******

Business Response: She is on the schedule

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Yes, they called me and will be out when weather allows to fix at NO COST.  Thank you very much for your assistance.

Regards,

**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In Dec of 2008 I hired Rocky Mtn Roofers to install a new roof. They installed felt, 20 valley metal, 3 pipe jacks, 2 rooftop attic vents and 40 yr shingles. Less than 5 years later in Sept. 2013, especially with the heavy rain the Ft. Collins area received, it became apparent that there were 3 leaks in my roof. Because of this, I have water in my walls and require new drywall, insulation and a roof repair. I called and apprised the manager at Rocky Mtn of the situation. He said they could fix it for a fee because they only guarantee their work for 3 years. Several days later they sent a repair man out to look at it and give an estimate. After showing him the three areas, his solution was simply a new drip strip. He commented that he didnt understand why they didn't replace drip strip with the roof back in 2008. This comment and his only solution of a new drip strip were disheartening and lowered my confidence in their competency to fix my roof. Also, there are areas where there is no drip strip at all. I told them that other roofers noted there was no water/ice shield used in the valleys or on the eaves. His said he could add that to the repair estimate.I had 3 other roofing companies and my home owners insurance agent out. They all said the roof installation was not done properly: nails were popping up out of the shingles indicating poor workmanship, there was no water/ice shield used and the pipe jack and valley metal were the source of the leaks because of improper installation. They said a repair was possible but could not guarantee workmanship because the original roof was done by someone else. They all recommended a new roof.I advised Rocky Mtn of this feedback and they gave me a repair estimate. They also offered to measure for a new roof estimate. This would require me to pay for a second roof in five years.

Desired Settlement: Based on the initial lack of response, the length of time for follow through and the original suggested minimal repair, I have no confidence in Rocky Mtn's roofing ability. I am extremely disappointed in their lack of professionalism to own up to their mistakes and find their solution unacceptable. I have chosen to move forward with a different accredited roofing company at a considerable cost to me. A refund would be used towards a second new roof and repairs from water damage in the walls.

Business Response:

After receiving a call from Phoebe, Rocky Mountain Roofers & Gutters sent out two experienced roofer's and employees, Beau & Scott Aaron, to access the roof. After inspection, this is what was found: the pipe jacks and valley metal have been installed correctly, the nails that are "popping out of the shingles" are not directly due to poor workmanship, but will pull up after time, especially around metal. Larimer County does not require drip edge or ice and water shield in the area where this house is located, however, the drip edge as well as additional roof top attic venting options were explained and offered to Phoebe, and rejected by her, before the project was started originally in 2008. (Please see attached estimate for reference.)  This workmanship warranty was for 3 years, which had expired December 10, 2011. Phoebe had explained to Beau & Scott that she had just returned from a trip to Australia, and is short funds to have the roof repaired or replaced. With that said, we are willing to do any necessary repairs that are needed to fix the leaking at our cost with no additional profit if the complaint against Rocky Mountain Roofers & Gutters is retracted by ****** ******.

Consumer Response: ****** ******
*** ******** **** **
**** ******** ** *****

October 28, 2013
Better Business Bureau
8020 S CR 5 #100
Fort Collins, CO 80528

Dear Better Business Bureau:
I have received a response to my complaint on October 18 from Rocky Mountain Roofers and Gutters in Ft. Collins.  I do not accept their proposed solution nor will I be retracting my complaint.
In my previous letter I explained why I did not feel confident allowing Rocky Mountain Roofers to perform any further work on my roof; three other roofing companies and my home owner’s insurance agent assessed the work done by Rocky Mountain Roofers, listed their faults and all advised getting a new roof.  While Rocky Mountain Roofers insist that the valley and pipe jacks have been installed correctly and that nails popping out of shingles after less than five years are not an indication of poor workmanship, the other four specialists indicated that was not the case.  Additionally, while water and ice shield may not have been required in the area where my house is located, as a professional, Rocky Mountain Roofers should have strongly suggested its use based on the low pitch of my roof. The use of this product due to the pitch of my roof was very quickly suggested by each of the three roofers and my home owner’s insurance agent.
Finally, Rocky Mountain Roofers did not address the water damage issue in my walls that has occurred after less than five years of having them install a new roof.  They did not offer any compensation to remedy the issue caused by using their services.  As a result I reject their response and will not be retracting my complaint.
Sincerely,
 

****** ******

Business Response: I, ***, would like to have an opportunity to look at the roof with ****** ******, so she may show me the area's of concern and we can come to an agreement on what work needs to be done.  I treat each job and homeowner with respect and do the best work possible. Please see the enclosed original estimate that states the guarantee on "Craftsmanship" is for 3 years, it is now 5 years past original install.  After I have reviewed my original notes from the initial call from ****** back on November 7, 2008, she stated that the double wide trailer had an addition that leaked at that time, bringing the question of if the leaks could be caused by the addition that was improperly installed?  As stated, I am willing to personally meet with ****** at her residence so we are able to look together and hopefully come to conclusion for this issue.

Sincerely,

*** *****
Rocky Mountain Roofers & Gutters

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I lacked confidence in Rocky Mountain Roofers for reasons previously mentioned. I moved forward with another roofing company at considerable expense to me. My new roof was installed October 30th. I previously explained to Mr. ***** several weeks ago that there was a sense of urgency to resolve my roof issue and do not feel my situation was treated as such.. The only way I will consider removing my complaint is by receiving a refund.

Regards,

****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1