Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Rocky Mountain Roofers & Gutters

Phone: (970) 224-1200 Fax: (970) 224-1211 View Additional Phone Numbers 458 S. Link Lane, Fort Collins, CO 80524 http://www.rockymountainroofers.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rocky Mountain Roofers & Gutters meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rocky Mountain Roofers & Gutters include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rocky Mountain Roofers & Gutters
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 28, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1993 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor Licensing Fort Collins
281 N College Ave, Fort Collins CO 80524
Phone Number: (970) 221-6767

Business Management
Mr. Jon Freck, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jon Freck, Owner
Business Category

Roofers Roofing Consultants Siding Contractors Construction Companies Gutters & Downspouts Gutter Cleaners Roof Deck Companies Roofing Contractors (NAICS: 238160)

Industry Tips
Tips for Hiring Roofing Contractors Watch Out for These Red Flags

Additional Locations

  • 458 S. Link Lane

    Fort Collins, CO 80524

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** with Rocky Mountain ****ers & ******* was called to my residence at **** ******* ***** after his crew put on a new **** and *******, the issue was that when the ******* were put up, the flashing at the edge of the **** on both the house and garage, made the shingles push up into the air and crinkle the flashing. you can see the flashing from the street poking up and from the patio you can see areas on the house and garage raised up and crinkled.

Desired Settlement: I would like the flashing replaced with the correct flashing and correct the crinkling.

Business Response: Rocky Mountain Representatives *** ***** ( Owner) and *** **** ( Gutter Installer) met with Homeowners ***** and ***** ******* after job was completed to review their concerns.  As a company we replaced 79 feet and moved 3 downspouts free of charge to make ***** happy.  After that she still complained about the drip edge below the ******* so we sent over our repair man ( who has 30 years ****ing experienced ) to nail it down. The patio the ********* has is eye level and you can see galvanized drip edge due to the proper slope of the gutter.  Drip edge is required by the City of Fort Collins Building Code.  If they don't like the galvanized drip edge a simple solution is to have them paint it.  My Invoice is over a month old if payment is not received by next Friday 9-19-2014 a lien will be placed on this property.

Consumer Response: BBB 

9-23-2014 

Upon the completion of the re**** at **** ******* ***** in Fort Collins, there were 2 issues, 1st, there were 3 areas about 8' long next to the ******* that the flashing was crinkled and the shingles raised up and 2"1, some of the downspouts were in the wrong location. 

Before the re**** had started I had met with *** at Rocky Mountain ****ers and explained where and 
which color the downspouts were to be located, we did not want all downspouts to be reinstalled in the existing locations. 
After the installation of the ******* and downspouts *** and *** (*********** *******) met with us to look at the issues. It was determined that *** had not relayed the correct information to ***. It was agreed that *** would come back and redo the downspout issues, the following Friday. *** followed through with his agreement and the work was completed as agreed. 
After the gutter work was completed, I had not heard anything from Rocky Mountain ****ers. On July 14, 2014 I emailed pictures of the crinkling and the raised **** to Rocky Mountain ****ers. Rocky 
Mountain ****ers responded saying" I have given all this information to ***". On July 30, 2014 I 
received a revised invoice, removing Y2  the Facia cost and a $40.00 credit for the homeowner removal of the ******* and downspouts, nothing about the remaining issue. 
On August 9, 2014 I emailed Rocky Mountain ****ers and asked them about the remaining issues, no response until an August 22, 2014 email with the same revised invoice, saying remit payment. Since I had not heard anything from Rocky Mountain ****ers, I contacted the Northern Colorado BBB on September 2, 2014 and submitted my complaint. 
On September 15, 2014 I received a call from Rocky Mountain ****ers wanting to meet and resolve the issues, my wife met with their representative at 8:30 am to discuss the complaint. The company 
representative said the issues were completely cosmetic and was not willing to address the issues, my wife and the representative mutually agreed to get a second opinion. My wife contacted **** **** and ****** ****** came out and looked over the issues: attached are his findings. 
Starter shingles and flashing nailed as per manufacturers recommendations, it is my understanding that for the warranty to be in effect, shingles need to be installed correctly, we believe the 
recommendations from **** **** will minimize the shingles rising up and the crinkling of the flashing. 
Please complete the recommendations by October 23, 2014. If the recommendations are not completed by the date given, deductions will be made from the balance due of $1,216.70 and the remainder will be forwarded to Rocky Mountain ****ers. Please schedule a day with me to do the work, please do not 
trespass on the property without notice of intent to work.

 

Business Response: We have gone above and beyond to satisfy this customer.  We will replace the flashing at our cost a Minimum of $100.00. If this is not satisfactory then we will place a lien on the property.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: the original estimate to replace the shingles would have included the nailing of the starter row of shingles and flashing correctly.  Had the manufactures directions been followed the crinkling/buckling would not have occurred, therefore no further costs would be necessary.
 
Please, make an appointment to correct the problems by October 23, 2014, or repairs will be made by a third party and deducted from your invoice.  The balance will be remitted to you,

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response: A lien has been placed on the property by Rocky Mountain Roofers and Gutters - a certified letter stating this was sent and delivered October 11, 2014 by the postal service to **** ******* ****** **** ******** ********

10/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rocky Mountain Roofing roofed my home with ***** shingles in July 2014. They gave a 5 year labor warranty. ***** has specific directions for the correct installation of shingles. There are low nails across the roof. The nails should be covered by the course of shingles above and the Rocky Mountain Roofing fix was to caulk the nails. ***** advised that if a nail is caulked on a shingle, the shingle is damaged and will not be covered under their warranty. Rocky Mountain Roofing came to fix the roof three times after installation and now refuse to fix any more exposed nails. I paid the bill after being threatened that they would put a lien on my home, when I paid they gave me a tube of caulking so that I could fix the rest of the exposed nails myself.

Desired Settlement: Fix or refund bid amount to fix roof.

Business Response: Our roofer ****** ****** is meeting with the home owner tonight at 4:15 pm to resolve the issue

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I met with ****** and Larry at my home tonight.  We walked the roof together, we viewed the caulked low nails and the caulking issues.  They told me ****** would be returning within a week to fix the issues.
Regards,

**** *****

7/24/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: So far we have contact Rocky Mountain Roofers & Gutters 4 times to come and simply look at the area in question (flashing around a skylight). First we had **** come out to look, **** has since left the company. Two weeks after **** came I called *** *****, *** informed me that **** was no longer employed there and that he would send someone to look at the issue. When I mentioned the five year workmanship and materials warranty on the roof things got bad. *** did not send anyone to look. This past Thursday, July 17, 2014, I called *** yet again. He had our paperwork and promised that he would be out that afternoon. I requested that he call our home before he came over to make sure someone was here. I informed him that I travel for work and my wife would be here. *** did not call, *** did not come over as promised. I called yet again on Friday July 18, 2014. I did leave a message stating that I needed them to check my roof or that I would take other steps. This is my first of other steps.

Desired Settlement: For me this is very simple. Rocky Mountain Roofers and Gutters needs to stand by their warranty. The warranty paperwork says 5 yr workmanship. I have the letter of completion from the city dated 12/13/2011. I feel that Rocky Mountain Roofers and Gutters is simply trying to run out the clock to avoid servicing their warranty. Please fix the flashing around the skylight. It was not replaced properly after the roof was installed.

Business Response: ***** ***** ******** ******* * ******* ******************************* *** ********************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** ***** ** ******** *** *** **** * *** ******* **** *** ********* ********* *********

Customer was contacted and the repair was corrected on 7-21-2014?
 
Thank you

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  The business did in fact come to the house an attempt a repair of the area.  Their employee did state that a part was installed incorrectly when the shingles were being installed.  Therefore, this area could have been leaking for 3 years.  As there has not been a rain or leak test performed we can not state that the repair has been completed.  We reserve the right to contact the company again if the leak persists.  It is my fear that there may be unseen damage to the interior walls of the home due to this leak.

Regards,

******* ******

2/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rocky Mountain Roofers was contacted to replace a skylight on my roof. When the replacement was being done, i looked up on the roof and inquired why the shingles were a different color than the rest of my roof, i was told "thats what we had in the shop". My shingles are a grey/slate blue and the replacement shingles used where Brown. I told the service person right there that was not acceptable. Then the conversation turned to my shingles no longer being available, i understood that but felt that a similar color at the least should have been used. After a phone conversation the owner *** ***** told me to obtain similar a color that i would be happy with and he would take care of it. I secured them, 2 bundles for approx $60, phoned him to let him know and ask if he would be covering that cost and he told me he would need to 'think about that' and to place them on my porch. Shortly after this discussion i finally was able to have someone get on my roof and look closely at the repair job and it was found that the shingles where 'nailed through' and then tarred on them. This caused immediate concern as this would not be water tight to my roof. I emailed a picture of this to Mr. ***** and after several communications back and forth ( i have every one ) he informed me that for the very 'reasonable fee of $50' he would send his 'new repair man out to fix'. I have asked him several times why i should have to pay anything additional to have the job done 'right' (remember i have also purchased the add'l shingles), he simply tells me that he feels he is being 'more than fair'. I would like someone unbiased to become involved in this disagreement so it can be moved to a conculsion. Emails and photos available.

Desired Settlement: I would like the more similar color of shingles that "I" purchased installed and that they be nailed 'under' the shingle and appropriately tarred to stick down.

Business Response:

Rocky Mountain Roofers was contracted by **** ****** to install a new skylight at the house on ******** **.  The current shingles on the roof are ***** Heritage Oxford Grey, unfortunately, this is now a discontinued color.  We installed a shingle around her skylight that was close in color, but obviously can not match exactly. **** purchased 2 bundles of shingles of a different brand that she felt would better match what was currently on the roof. I mentioned that there would be a $50 charge to send out a repair man, and have him remove and replace the shingles with what she purchased. It is very difficult to work on a roof that has a discontinued color, so we chose to install a color that is very common.  **** did not like the color so now both parties need to come to an agreement. I have been informed that **** has now contacted other roofers and they will charge $275 to replace the shingles around her skylight. I would only charge $50 to cover the partial labor this will cost for us to go back out. I feel this is a fair offer, and will send a reapir man right out once the bill is paid in full.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The business is responding to the FIRST issue, see attached picture, 1) this is NOT even a close color, brown on a blue/grey roof?  2) the bigger issue became after i was able to get up on the roof the fact that his installer nailed 'through' the shingles rather then 'under' them which provides a path for water to get under the shingles.  I tried to attach this picture when i made the complaint but the system would not let me,this also  has been given to the business in past emails to show you what this looks like.  Sure, any other roofing company that did not do the initial work would charge a larger fee to come and get on my roof to repair the nailed through shingles with the product i have already purchased.  I really want this resolved, this has gone on far too long. 

Regards,

**** ******

Business Response: If she pay's her original bill and add's $50 on it to pay for labor to install her shingles this issue can be resolved in a mature civil manner.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

As you can see, he refuses to accept the fact that the jobs quality was done poorly, not relating to the 'color' issue.  Better Business Bureau please tell me what my next step would be.

Regards,

**** ******

Business Response: **** ****** contracted Rocky Mountain Roofers & Gutters to replace a leaky skylight at her residence.  In order to correctly do the work, some shingles were needed to be replaced in the area around the skylight, however, the shingle color that is currently on the roof is discontinued.  We tried to match the color of the replacement shingles the best we could, but **** did not like the shingles we chose so she purchased 2 bundles of shingles at a roof supply company.  **** wants us now remove these shingles and replace it with the ones she bought, which I have no problem doing with an additional $50 to partially cover the cost of sending a skilled laborer out to complete the work.  To send out someone would cost about $100-150 in labor, so asking $50 is a deal due to the circumstances.  **** has since refused to pay the additional $50 as well as her original invoice of $550 from November 2013 for the original work to replace the skylight ( I have included the invoice).  I am asking for the payment of the origianl invoice, and than she can contract with either us or another chosen company to replace the shingles she has purchased. 

Consumer Response:

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

 

To reiterate, the first issue was the color, and they did not attempt to match a closest color at all by using brown on a blue/grey roof.  Grey would have been less obvious.  Secondly, he is not addressing the actual more important concern raised over the nailing through the top of the shingles then smearing black tar which with  drying and lifting will be a direct path for moisture to the underneath of the shingles and subsequently to the inside of my roof.  I have not recieved any invoice other than the one delivered the day of installation which i immediately had concerns that were communicated verbally and via email to Rocky Mountain Roofers.  I would gladly pay the bill mentioned for a completed job.  I was truly hoping that for $50 compared to the bill amount of $550 that this process would have resolved this but seeing that it does not appear so, I will begin getting bids which will definately be more than the $50 he is requesting to have this job completed correctly and will then remit to Rocky Mountain Roofers the difference when completed.  As i have requested a few other times, please come finish the job right  with no additional charge and i will hand you a check that very moment for the $550.  If i have to pursue another contractor to complete, I will be reducing your bill by the amount it costs me AND the $60 i spent on ths shingles.  Final offer.

 


Regards,

**** ******

Business Response: She is on the schedule

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Yes, they called me and will be out when weather allows to fix at NO COST.  Thank you very much for your assistance.

Regards,

**** ******

11/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In Dec of 2008 I hired Rocky Mtn Roofers to install a new roof. They installed felt, 20 valley metal, 3 pipe jacks, 2 rooftop attic vents and 40 yr shingles. Less than 5 years later in Sept. 2013, especially with the heavy rain the Ft. Collins area received, it became apparent that there were 3 leaks in my roof. Because of this, I have water in my walls and require new drywall, insulation and a roof repair. I called and apprised the manager at Rocky Mtn of the situation. He said they could fix it for a fee because they only guarantee their work for 3 years. Several days later they sent a repair man out to look at it and give an estimate. After showing him the three areas, his solution was simply a new drip strip. He commented that he didnt understand why they didn't replace drip strip with the roof back in 2008. This comment and his only solution of a new drip strip were disheartening and lowered my confidence in their competency to fix my roof. Also, there are areas where there is no drip strip at all. I told them that other roofers noted there was no water/ice shield used in the valleys or on the eaves. His said he could add that to the repair estimate.I had 3 other roofing companies and my home owners insurance agent out. They all said the roof installation was not done properly: nails were popping up out of the shingles indicating poor workmanship, there was no water/ice shield used and the pipe jack and valley metal were the source of the leaks because of improper installation. They said a repair was possible but could not guarantee workmanship because the original roof was done by someone else. They all recommended a new roof.I advised Rocky Mtn of this feedback and they gave me a repair estimate. They also offered to measure for a new roof estimate. This would require me to pay for a second roof in five years.

Desired Settlement: Based on the initial lack of response, the length of time for follow through and the original suggested minimal repair, I have no confidence in Rocky Mtn's roofing ability. I am extremely disappointed in their lack of professionalism to own up to their mistakes and find their solution unacceptable. I have chosen to move forward with a different accredited roofing company at a considerable cost to me. A refund would be used towards a second new roof and repairs from water damage in the walls.

Business Response:

After receiving a call from Phoebe, Rocky Mountain Roofers & Gutters sent out two experienced roofer's and employees, Beau & Scott Aaron, to access the roof. After inspection, this is what was found: the pipe jacks and valley metal have been installed correctly, the nails that are "popping out of the shingles" are not directly due to poor workmanship, but will pull up after time, especially around metal. Larimer County does not require drip edge or ice and water shield in the area where this house is located, however, the drip edge as well as additional roof top attic venting options were explained and offered to Phoebe, and rejected by her, before the project was started originally in 2008. (Please see attached estimate for reference.)  This workmanship warranty was for 3 years, which had expired December 10, 2011. Phoebe had explained to Beau & Scott that she had just returned from a trip to Australia, and is short funds to have the roof repaired or replaced. With that said, we are willing to do any necessary repairs that are needed to fix the leaking at our cost with no additional profit if the complaint against Rocky Mountain Roofers & Gutters is retracted by ****** ******.

Consumer Response: ****** ******
*** ******** **** **
**** ******** ** *****

October 28, 2013
Better Business Bureau
8020 S CR 5 #100
Fort Collins, CO 80528

Dear Better Business Bureau:
I have received a response to my complaint on October 18 from Rocky Mountain Roofers and Gutters in Ft. Collins.  I do not accept their proposed solution nor will I be retracting my complaint.
In my previous letter I explained why I did not feel confident allowing Rocky Mountain Roofers to perform any further work on my roof; three other roofing companies and my home owner’s insurance agent assessed the work done by Rocky Mountain Roofers, listed their faults and all advised getting a new roof.  While Rocky Mountain Roofers insist that the valley and pipe jacks have been installed correctly and that nails popping out of shingles after less than five years are not an indication of poor workmanship, the other four specialists indicated that was not the case.  Additionally, while water and ice shield may not have been required in the area where my house is located, as a professional, Rocky Mountain Roofers should have strongly suggested its use based on the low pitch of my roof. The use of this product due to the pitch of my roof was very quickly suggested by each of the three roofers and my home owner’s insurance agent.
Finally, Rocky Mountain Roofers did not address the water damage issue in my walls that has occurred after less than five years of having them install a new roof.  They did not offer any compensation to remedy the issue caused by using their services.  As a result I reject their response and will not be retracting my complaint.
Sincerely,
 

****** ******

Business Response: I, ***, would like to have an opportunity to look at the roof with ****** ******, so she may show me the area's of concern and we can come to an agreement on what work needs to be done.  I treat each job and homeowner with respect and do the best work possible. Please see the enclosed original estimate that states the guarantee on "Craftsmanship" is for 3 years, it is now 5 years past original install.  After I have reviewed my original notes from the initial call from ****** back on November 7, 2008, she stated that the double wide trailer had an addition that leaked at that time, bringing the question of if the leaks could be caused by the addition that was improperly installed?  As stated, I am willing to personally meet with ****** at her residence so we are able to look together and hopefully come to conclusion for this issue.

Sincerely,

*** *****
Rocky Mountain Roofers & Gutters

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I lacked confidence in Rocky Mountain Roofers for reasons previously mentioned. I moved forward with another roofing company at considerable expense to me. My new roof was installed October 30th. I previously explained to Mr. ***** several weeks ago that there was a sense of urgency to resolve my roof issue and do not feel my situation was treated as such.. The only way I will consider removing my complaint is by receiving a refund.

Regards,

****** ******