Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Masters Roofing & Remodeling

Phone: (970) 690-8380 Fax: (970) 587-2178 4497 County Road 44, Johnstown, CO 80534 http://www.masterroofingco.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Masters Roofing & Remodeling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Masters Roofing & Remodeling include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Masters Roofing & Remodeling include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Masters Roofing & Remodeling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 19, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Business Management
Mr. Terry Keyes, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Terry Keyes, Owner
Business Category

Roofers Roofing Consultants Siding Contractors Remodelers Water Damage Restoration Construction Companies General Contractor Basement - Finishing Contractor - Remodel & Repair Gutters & Downspouts Home Improvements Roof Structure Material Suppliers Roofing Contractors (NAICS: 238160)

Alternate Business Names
Masters Roofing & Gutters
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor Tips for Hiring Roofing Contractors Watch Out for These Red Flags

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Masters Roofing & Remodeling has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4497 County Road 44

    Johnstown, CO 80534 (970) 690-8380

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It is clearly marked on our front door, "NO DOOR FLYERS" yet on 10/15/15 someone from Master Roofing taped a door flyer to our front door. This is also a violation of a law passed in ********, that if a sign states"No Soliciting" "No Door Flyers" is posted at the front door that it is against the law to tape a door flyer to the door. Clearly the Master Roofing employee has no regard for the law, and must also have a problem reading ENGLISH. These advertising practices of taping something to a home owner's front door are illegal and MUST BE STOPPED. The arrogance of Master Roofing is unbelieveable! The owner should be advised that his advertising practices of taping something to the front door of ANY home should STOP. We could have holes in our roof, yet we will NEVER use Master Roofing for any repairs or replacement. I'm starting with BBB, but will contact law enforcement, if I do not get results from BBB. Good day,

Desired Settlement: To be told in writing from Master Roofing, that the practice of taping flyers to front doors will be stopped. That the company will hire people who read/write and speak English, and that these employees will NEVER tape a flyer to a home's front door, if there is a sign saying No Soliciting/No Door Flyers.

Business Response: Mr. *. *****, This Bill T***** with Master Roofing, I'm VP of Sales and Operatios, I was on Vacation when this happen I will find out who did it, and I will tell they can't do that, Master Roofing has been in Business for 18+ yrs. we know the law not to put hangers on doors with sings on them, but will keep putting hangers on door that we can do with in the law, And saying that you will never use Master Roofing for any roof repair or a new roof is a little hard!!! Again I'm sorry for any misunderstanding that this has giving you, any ? you are more then welcome to me anytime @ ************, Bill T*****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

* *****

10/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Masters Roofing of Northern Colorado completed a roof on our house in the spring of 2014. The roof was completed after many months of telling us that they would start it and then not show up. They did not pull a permit on our house when they did the roof and as a result, we told them that we would not pay them until a permit was completed, as we cannot prove that our roof was replaced to our insurance company or for resale unless we had a permit. Additionally, we wanted to insure that the work was done to city requirements. We were ignored for SEVERAL months. Finally, we were contacted by an employee and later the owner with still not real proof of a permit. As a result, this company has done nothing short of harass us. Some things they have done include, showing up at my husbands work and yelling at him (profanities), threatening him via telephone text message at 10pm with insults. One such "a thief". After being asked to stop, it got worse. The owner, then threatened my wife. He said he would gladly go to her work and 'talk' to her. We feel that this behavior is beyond unprofessional.

Desired Settlement: We would simply like this company to leave us alone. We will settle with them after we verify that our house was properly permitted.; however, paying the full amount would be out of the question due to the behavior that we have had to endure from this company.

Business Response: This is Bill T***** with Master Roofing Colorado, Vice President of Sales and Operations. I took over Mr. ******** job due to the firing of the previous sales person.  We are sorry for the fact that the previous sales person did not communicate clearly with Mr. ******** but due to the size of the ******* hail storm in 2013,  Master Roofing and every other roofing company was incredibly busy.  The contract was signed 10-21-2013 and the sales person said it would be installed within 2-3 weeks.  This did not happen but we did try to install it the week of Thanksgiving but it snowed and Mr. ******** asked that we not do it because of the snow.  Customer asked that we wait until the Spring of 2014, which is very normal.  The contract stated black drip edge and white was sent out and installed in error at a much later date.  The sales person did go out and painted it black per contract.  On the permit issue, the permit was pulled after the job was done on 10-27-2014.  The inspection was done on 10-30-2014 and passed.  Sometimes permits do get overlooked in a very busy hail season and we do pull them late and the city still inspects and the jobs are still passed.  Mr. ******** has stated that he knows of 2 other homeowners that we did not permits on.  We have no knowledge of this but would be happy to review these jobs.  In August, 2015, I contacted Mr. ******** to introduce myself as the new sales person for his job and to find out what had not been completed, correct it and get paid.  That is when Mr. ******** became very verbal and explained to me what the issues were with the job.  He said he had no proof of a permit and inspection.  I told him that I would call the City of ******* immediately and would call him right back.  He said "I will believe that when it happens" as he had been mislead by the previous sales person.  I called him back immediately and the call went directly to his voice mail, which was full so I could not leave a message.  I tried the remainder of the day many times but was unable to leave a message due to his voice mail being full.  The next day, I tried again and was finally able to leave a message stating that I had all the paperwork from the City of *******.  I never received a return call for at least a week.  I finally decided to go to his place of employment to discuss with him.  There were 4 other employees, no other customers.  I introduced myself and handed him copies of the permit that showed that the job had passed inspection and also handed him an invoice.  This is when Mr. ******** became hostile towards me, in front of the 4 other employees.  One of his employees who was standing to the right of me stated that I should have probably taken Mr. ******** off to the side to discuss this.  I said agreed that I should have done this.  Mr. ******** continued to be very verbal, loud and used profanity.  He walked to the coffee machine while I stood there very calm.  He walked back to me and got in my face and pointed and pushed on my chest with his pointer finger and one of his employees told Mr. ******** to calm down.  I left the store and I did say that I will send the roofing crew to tear the roof off of your house, out of spite.  Then Mr. ******** stated in his complaint that he had contacted the police to tell us to back off.  We have never received any call from the police.  We have never threatened his wife, as he states.  I have for the last 2 months,  sent him an updated invoice with interest and late fees which equals approximately $4,000 in additional charges.  The original invoice was $7,774.00 plus now includes late fees and interest.  So again, Master Roofing Colorado is very sorry for all the miscommunication and delay in the job.  Since I have taken over the job, I have done everything that Mr. ******* has asked to show that the roof passed inspection to get paid per his original complaint.  We are asking to be paid immediately.  I will waive all interest fees and late charges if Mr. ******** pays the $7,774.00 in full immediately.  If we do not come to this agreement, we will take him to court.  The invoice cost plus interest and late fees and attorney's fees will be charged to Mr. Strickez.  Sincerely, Bill T*****, Master Roofing Colorado.

Consumer Response: Complaint: 10784547

I am rejecting this response because:
We have proof of Master's Roofing's response not being true.  First off, the 4 employees that are spoken of can vouch that this was not a 'calm' encounter on behalf of Master's Roofing.  It was unprofessional at best.  Additionally, we have screen shots and evidence from Verizon Wireless of the late night text messages that were sent on behalf of Master's Roofing.  These were both unprofessional and did mention my wife.  Also, I have proof from the ********* Police Department that they did attempt to make phone calls on this very night (and left a voice message) asking that we (the ********* family) be left alone and not harassed anymore.  Your response, in no way, addresses our initial complaint.  We have been harassed by your company on more than one occasion, and you absolutely refuse to take any responsibility for this. And last, your professionalism continues to astound me.  Our last name is spelled *********.  This is on your invoice and is also spelled correctly on this complaint.  Please spell it correctly in the future. 

Regards,

****** *********

Business Response: Okay, Please set a meeting, maybe next week, Thank you, Bill

3/23/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** is the owner of Master Roofing. He replaced a roof on the house we own located at **** ********* ***** ******** ** *****. We are now trying to sell the house and it is CURRENTLY UNDER CONTRACT and we are set to close on 3/26/15. The buyer is asking for documentation for the labor portion of the warranty. We contacted ***** by phone and he stated that everything was lost in the flood. He told my wife **** that he would honor the warranty transfer. He was able to get a purchase order showing the work was done and now will not return phone calls from us or our realtor. We have emailed them several times and again they go unanswered. All the seller is asking for is an email from him stating that the warranty is transferrable to them upon purchase. After several attempts to contact ***** through emails, and phone have gone unanswered I drove to his listed business address on his website. This address is also his home. on 3/18/15 I contacted him in person- he was outside in a ****** leveling an area for his driveway. He stopped working, but left the ****** running and I told him who I was. He stated this was a bad time because he had 10yds of concrete about to freeze and gave me his number. I told him that we have tried him several times and he will not answer us. He said he would email us in the morning when he got done with the driveway, and confirmed that we only needed an email and not an official document. I told him that was it, just an email. As of 3:30 today, we still do not have anything from him.

Desired Settlement: We would like an email from ***** at Master Roofing stating that the labor warranty is transferrable to the buyer at closing. This now need to be sent to the following email addresses:*****************************************

Consumer Response:

***** ***** *** **** ******* ********************** *** ************************ ************************ ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** ********* ********* 

Hello - 

The issue has been resolved - thank you so much! 

******* ******* 
************ ********************

Sent from my ******

6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Master Roofing installed a new roof for us on 10/14/2013. Approximately two weeks after installation, several shingles were loose and blew off the roof. I contacted them and they sent someone out who stated it was from faulty workmanship and assured me that it would not leak and they would fix the roof when it got warmer outside. At the beginning of spring I tried contacting them. I have called over 20 times and they have continually ignored all of my calls. Shingles continue to blow off of my roof every time the wind blows.

Desired Settlement: I would like Master Roofing to honor their warranty and fix my roof as soon as possible to avoid more damage.

Business Response: ********** ********* ******* ********** ***** ***** ***** ************************************* ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** *** ********* *** ******************** ********************


*********************]  *** **** was taken care of last week Friday 6/07/2014 The blow off was repaired , also this was a Owens Corning Warranty problem we got no help from them on the wind damage. I talked to *** and she is happy. Thanks ***** ***** Master Roofing LLC

10/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Roof of my house at ***** * ********* ****** *********** ** *****, was replaced by Masters Roofing and Remodeling on 6/29/2009 after tornado hail roof damage on 6/7/09. There is a 10 year Installation and Labor Warranty on this job by Masters Roofing and Remodeling.In June 2013 I noticed the following moderate to heavy leaks in my house: 1st Floor Dining room, 2nd Floor Master Bedroom, Garage. These leaks took place during the heavy rain accompanied with heavy wind. According to ****** **** from **** ******* *************, ****** ****' cell) who made a free roof inspection on 8/18/13, replaced roof starter was placed improperly. During five months since June 2013 I made close to 40 phone calls and left numerous voicemail messages to ***** *****, Masters Roofing and Remodeling owner (************ cell) but ***** ***** didnt return my calls and as a result my requests didnt materialize to a roof repair, despite the fact that ***** ***** seemed to be willing to repair part of the roof installed by his company. In view of the above and in order to prevent further deterioration of the house due to the water leaks coming from the roof I need Masters Roofing and Remodeling to repair ASAP several spots in the roof installed by this company in 2009.

Desired Settlement: Two-three locations of the roof replaced by Masters Roofing and Remodeling need to be repaired/sealed ASAP to prevent water leak and further deterioration of the house.

Business Response: I have contacted **** we have completed the repair I apollagized for the delay. I was flooded out about a month ago a lot of pain and pressure, I hope **** is fine with the repair . Sincerely ***** ***** Master Roofing LLC

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I talked with the business owner today (Oct 31, 2013), and if the leak(s) will resume he agreed to repair the roof again.

Regards,

****** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Masters Roofing & Remodeling
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart