BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Laramie Valley Contracting Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Laramie Valley Contracting Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (307) 745-8473 Fax: (307) 745-7502 518 S Pierce, Laramie, WY 82070

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business does commercial and residential roofing, concrete repair and replacement, siding, gutters, remodel and snow removal.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Laramie Valley Contracting Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

This business was first accredited in 2002.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Laramie Valley Contracting Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Laramie Valley Contracting Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 02, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1992 Business started locally: 01/01/1992 Business incorporated: 06/22/2006 in WY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Arsenio Lemus, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Arsenio Lemus, Owner
Business Category

Roofers Siding Contractors Concrete Contractors General Contractors Drywall Contractors Gutter & Downspouts Suppliers Roofing Contractors (NAICS: 238160)

Service Area
Wyoming
Alternate Business Names
Laramie Valley Roofing & Concrete LLC
Products & Services

roofing, downspouts, siding, gutters, concrete, snow removal, remodeling

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor Tips for Hiring Roofing Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 518 S Pierce

    Laramie, WY 82070 (307) 745-8473

  • PO Box 26

    Laramie, WY 82073

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the beginning of August 2013, I hired Laramie Valley Contracting to repair a number of roof leaks at *** ********* ***** ******** **. It is now October 24, 2013, the repairs have not been completed and this company has been an absolute nightmare to work with. When hired in August, the company estimated it would cost $350 for all of the repairs and I instructed them to complete the repairs and call me to update me on the progress. Some weeks go by and I never heard back so I called in to check on the progress and the office help could find no record of the job. It took two days for them to figure out what job I was referring to, and then they informed me that the repairs were complete and sent me a bill for $350 the bill was not itemized at all. The next day the man residing at *** ********* ***** informed me that the roof was still leaking. Laramie Valley Contracting went back to continue the repairs, but did not successfully stop all of the leaks. On September 23, 2013, Laramie Valley Contracting said that the final repair would cost more than the original estimate, to which I indicated that I wanted them to adjust the estimate and let me know what the additional cost would be and to finalize the repairs immediately. Nothing has been done by Laramie Valley Contracting since. When I called the company in the middle of October 2013, I was infuriated that they had done nothing more to complete the repairs and received very nasty treatment from the unbelievably rude and inappropriate receptionist who claimed that they would need the $350 dollars BEFORE they finished the repairs. Why would I prepay before the repairs were complete? She also said that they dont guarantee anyone elses work which I am not sure what they are supposed to mean since I am only asking them to guarantee their own work on these repairs. Does that mean the company doesnt do repairs on roofs that their company did not originally build? If so, why wasnt I informed of that during the original estimate process? After listening to the overly impolite receptionist talk over me, reply flippantly, and raise her voice at me I demanded to talk to a manager or the owner and she informed me he was busy and would call me back. He did not call me. I called in again a couple of days later and told the receptionist that if the owner did not call me back I would file a claim with the BBB. That was a week ago and I have still not heard from a manager or owner. It is obvious to me that this company does not care about the quality of work they do or care about the customers they have. I certainly wish I would have known this before hiring Laramie Valley Contracting to repair this simple project as now I have lost time and money and need to find someone to fix the roof before winter sets in.

Desired Settlement: This situation will resolve when Laramie Valley Contracting finishes the job I hired them to do in August. I want an itemized and adjusted estimate for the remaining repairs, in addition to an itemized summary of the accumulated charges to date. I want the roof repairs to be completed immediately at *** ********* *****!!!! I wish to have no further contact with the receptionist and demand that only a manager or owner speak to me from this point forward.

Business Response: Laramie Valley Contracting
P.O. Box 26
Laramie, WY 82073
laramievalleycontracting@gmail.com

November 8, 2013
Better Business Bureau
*******
******* ********
*** * ******* ****** ******** *** *****

In response to complaint *******,

Laramie Valley Contracting received a call in August of 2013, requesting repair to a roof at *** ********* ***** Laramie, Wyoming. Upon this request to Laramie Valley Contracting, there was a verbal estimate given to the property owner. The estimated cost to seal a leak in the roof was $350.00. Laramie Valley Contracting does not guarantee the work of others, but, will do their best to make repairs to help people out.
Laramie Valley Contracting went out and applied sealant in the necessary areas. In September 2013, the property owner at 130 Jackalope, called and said the roof was leaking again. Laramie Valley Contracting’s employees went back to the location to assess the leak; our employees informed the tenant that all we could continue to do with sealant is band aid the problem. The original contractor of the metal roof made the wrong cut. In order to fix the problem, we would need to cut a section of metal out of the roof, make the right cut, and reinstall the proper piece. The tenant asked that we try to seal the leak again anyhow. Prior to continuing, the property owner was contacted and the situation was explained.  The property owner agreed with the tenant. Against our better judgment Laramie Valley Contracting once again sealed the leaks. Then they took extra precautions by performing a water test over problematic areas for more than twenty minutes. Laramie Valley Contracting’s employee then concluded the roof was not leaking. Upon not hearing from the tenant, it was assumed the problem was resolved. We had been to this property twice to attempt to correct another company’s mistake, but we never guarantee or warranty other peoples work. However, we did provide steps to a solution that we could guarantee under a signed contract. This would require extra labor, time and material, and naturally would cost more, but this solution was ignored and rejected.  In order to continue at this location, we rightfully requested payment for work already done, due to the verbal agreement between Laramie Valley Contracting and the other party.
Laramie Valley Contracting was called, October 16, 2013. The “customer” was very upset that a permanent fix had not been completed at her property. It was explained that a payment had not yet been received for work done, and that there was no contract signed.  In order to do an extensive job a verbal agreements isn’t acceptable. This infuriated the “customer” and she said that she would not pay for work done until she received an estimate for additional work. The “customer”, began yelling and swearing. It was explained that yelling was inappropriate. She then demanded, by yelling, to speak with the owner of Laramie Valley Contracting, who was unavailable due to working in the field himself. The “customer” then called again October 17, 2013, and spoke to another employee. When the employee wasn’t privy to the whole situation, the “customer”, began screaming at her, referring to her as a liar and ordering her to shut up. It is very hard to converse with someone who is screaming and swearing over the phone, making it difficult to deliver answers.
We treat our customers and potential customers with respect and a sense of dignity. It is however expected in return. It is not reasonable to call a place of business, scream at and berate employees and expect an immediate response to a demand, free of charge. The employees that initially responded to the property owners request were paid for their time, by Laramie Valley Contracting. The materials that were used to attempt to correct another’s mistake were also paid for by Laramie Valley Contracting. It is reasonable to want to take the proper steps to fix one’s property. It is not reasonable to expect it free of charge, or to expect additional services and work for the original price quoted. The property owner was quoted a price to seal a leak in her roof. This is never guaranteed as a permanent solution. Laramie Valley Contracting guarantees our work when we install a roof, as should the company or person who originally installed the roof at, *** ********* ***** in Laramie, Wyoming.
In conclusion, we never received payment for the work performed on the roof, and we are no longer seeking to be paid for this work. The other party did not understand that a quote for sealing a leak does not include removing a section of the metal roof and reinstalling it. They were two separate jobs. All we ask for in this situation is that all ties be severed; we no longer desire to do favors under these circumstances.

Laramie Valley Contracting

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Reply to Laramie Valley Contracting:

If the company who originally installed the roof were available, there would be no need for me to have contacted your incompetent company. With that said, the men who built that roof are all on military deployment to the Middle East and are therefore unavailable.

I did not ask for any “favors” in this situation, I clearly stated multiple times that the job would be paid for in full once all the repairs that Laramie Valley Contracting agreed to conduct were successfully completed. I have already outlined that this dispute will only resolve with Laramie Valley Contracting finishing the job that they were hired to do. Since it is evident that Laramie Valley Contracting is not willing to complete the job, this issue will remain unresolved.

Regards,

******* ********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/20/2012 Delivery Issues
4/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service