Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Gus Roofing

Phone: (970) 356-1554 Fax: (970) 356-1554 149 East 30 Street, Greeley, CO 80631

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


GUS ROOFING specializes in securing insurance approvals for storm damaged roofs, exterior and interior painting.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gus Roofing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Gus Roofing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 6
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 14, 2011 Business started: 02/01/2011 Business started locally: 02/01/2011
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Gustavo Haro, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gustavo Haro, Owner
Business Category

Roofers Roofing Contractors (NAICS: 238160)

Products & Services

GUS ROOFING provides complete service of roof replacements due to storm damage to residential and multi-family homes. We offer the latest quality name brand roofing systems such as GAF, Owens Corning, Malarkey and Certainteed. They provide exterior and interior repaints with quality name brand paint such as Sherwin Williams, Kwal and Behr.

Industry Tips
Tips for Hiring Roofing Contractors Watch Out for These Red Flags

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Gus Roofing has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/25/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Horrible experience! Our home closing got extended 10 days. My real estate agent informed Gus and he was fine with getting paid 10 days later. Then I receive on the morning of closing a new invoice with an 18% late charge and lawyer fees of $3500 and a letter of intent to put a lien on the property!! We called and told him a check was being mailed that morning after closing and could he drop the lawyer fees and the lien so we can close (we can't close and pay Gus with a lien on the property). Gus didn't care. We almost could not close because of his impatience and the extra $3500 charge he tacked on. Gus also will not guarantee his work for the new owners of the home. This leads me to believe he did not do a good job and is hiding something. Please assist!!!!

Desired Settlement: Please drop the $3500 charge and drop the letter of intent to put a lien on the property

Business Response:

Please find the response attached.

In response to customers’ complaint ********. The customer failed to mention vital information. In the begging the customer stated that in order to sell her house the roof had to be replaced furthermore that the customer did not have the funds on hand needed to cover the cost of the roof replacement and that upon closing the proceeds would be used to pay for the new roof. The customer stated that her closing was scheduled for March 08, 2016. We agreed that the Tile Company would write me out a check at closing and I would have to wait a couple of days for payment to arrive via mail. (It was agreed in writing and signed by the customer) At the same time I clearly briefed the customer that any warranties for the new roof would be given only after full payment was made for the work performed. The customer understood and agreed. I week later the customer emails to notify me that the closing had been moved to March 17, 2016. On March 08, 2016 the customers’ selling agent calls me to let me know that closing was to be on the March 17, and if the roof was not completed by then that there was going to be a problem. The roof was started and completed on March 11, 2016. On March 15, 2016 the selling agent calls me to let me know that closing had been cancelled again and moved to March 28, 2016. I said no problem just mail me payment, the customer already has the invoice. On March 25 the selling agent calls me to let me know that the buyers are freaking out because they don’t have a shingle warranty in hand and may not be willing to close. I explained to him what was explained to the customer in the begging, that any warranties issued would be issued only upon full payment for work performed and issued to the right full owner of the property at the time of the roof replacement. In the morning of March 28, 2016 about 8:30 am the sellers agent texts me saying that the buyer’s agent is saying that the tile company is not going to release the funds for the roof replacement because they do not have a warranty on the new roof. I replied that is too bad, I am going to have to place a lien against property to secure payment for the roof replacement.

That is just what I did. I quickly paid attorney fees up front (as most attorney fees are paid up front) so that an Intent to Lien would be issued. A finally invoice was provided to the customer. The invoice included the original price of the roof replacement, a late fee and attorney fees. The attorney fees are beyond my control and just get added to the invoice as agreed on the written estimate.
It is was never my intention to cause a negative experience for the customer but when you have the selling agent text you the day of closing saying that the buyer’s agent is saying that they are not going to release the funds to cover the roof replacement then I have to secure payment. In this circumstance, placing a Lien on the Property was the only and best way to secure payment for the roof replacement. I have the right to do so.

Let it be known that the customers’ complaint has nothing to do with the roof, roof installation, type or color of shingles nor is the customer saying that I took payment up front and never did the any work. The roof was replaced according to the agreed written estimate and completed on or before time specified. The customers’ complaint is more of - someone did not get enough money at closing because the money was redirected to pay the Lien. A Mechanics Lien does not necessarily mean one cannot sell or close on their property, it simply means that a person or contractor did not get paid for work performed and would like to get paid when the property is sold. I believe the issue here stands between the buyer’s agent, the selling agent and customer not communicating well.
I am deeply sorry that the customer feels this way, but given the circumstances I had no choice but to secure payment this way.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Gus Roofing did have a choice. He in NO WAY contacted me when all of this occurred. My agent and I had to call, text, and email several times to even receive a single response regarding when the work was going to be finished. I was informed that I had to give permission for Gus to release and transfer warranty information to the agent since I was the home owner. I should have been contacted by Gus right away instead of waiting over 3 days for Gus to respond when we were trying to close. 

This leads to the question:  Why was I not contacted when the agents were acting this way regarding payment? I have an email ONLY stating i gave permission to  transfer and release  information to the agents. I should have been contacted IMMEDIATELY when payment issues started happening. I am the one paying this bill. Instead, I received not one, not two, but THREE emails with the bill and letter to put a lien on my property on the morning of closing. The title clerk ***** tried calling Gus to explain that a check would not be held since it's the title company that writes the checks and handles the money exchange and that a lien will prevent closing. ***** stated that Gus was unreasonable and rude.

 I should not have been invoiced for lawyer fees when I was never contacted to address this issue. I also don't feel that Gus called his lawyer. I would like to see proof of payment and said payment clearing his bank account. I feel Gus is trying to get another $3500 out of spite which is wrong. Especially since I never was contacted about this. If I had to give permission for Gus to transfer and release the warranty to close on the home (which i have the email only giving permission to transfer and release information and nothing else), Gus should have never dealt with the agents regarding payment. He should have come to directly to me.


******** *****

Business Response:

Please see attached. I tend to make this the last response.

April 11, 2016
Complaint: ********
In Response to Rejected Response:
As stated in my previous response. That the communication between the customer and the customers selling agent was lacking.
It was clearly stated on March 05, when the customer, the insurance adjuster and the customers selling agent and I met at *** ***** ***** ****** ******** ** that her selling agent would handle the selling situation on the behalf of the customer. After that meeting, the customer had no contact with me and all communication was done by her selling agent. (After all when someone hires a real estate agent that agent is acting on his or her customer’s behalf and should keep his or her client informed at all times) So I do not understand where the customer says that she was not inform when the agents were acting this way regarding payment and that I should have called her nor do I understand where the customers says I waited three days to contact her when they were trying to close when in fact the issue with of the tile company not releasing funds was texted to me by her selling agent on the morning of closing which was on March 28.
Contacts with Customer:
I called the customer on March 11 to let her know that roof was going to be completed that day. The last contact date to and from the customer was March 24 when the customer emailed me regarding permission to transfer warranty. The emails says: Afternoon, You have my permission to transfer and release any information that is required for the home to close. Thank you, ****** Xxxx. The customers selling agent called me March 08, 2016 to let me know that closing was to be on the March 17, and if the roof was not completed by then that there was going to be a problem and proceed to ask me other questions. That was the only phone call I got regarding the roof being completed. There is no record of any phone calls, text messages, or emails stating that the customer or her selling agent were trying several times to contact me regarding when the roof was going to get done like the customer claims. I would like to me those emails, text messages or phone call records.
The customers question in her previous response:
Why was I not contacted when the agents were acting this way regarding payment? My answer is you should ask your agent why? I don’t know because by that time the customer already had an invoice from me in the exact amount as the written estimate.
***** from the tile company did call me on March 28 but it was after I had contacted my attorney and attorney fees had already been paid. ***** did NOT mention that the lien would prevent closing. (A lien does not necessarily prevent a closing and I believe that ***** knows that) Given the circumstance that a real estate agent texts me saying the tile company is not going to release payment for the roof and telling ***** that I have secured payment in the form of a lien and that the attorney fees were added to the invoice is rude then I guess I was rude and I apologize. I did email the customer copies of the invoice and intent to lien twice to make sure notice was delivered. She might have gotten another copy from the tile company.
Due to her selling agents text message about the tile company not releasing payment a late fee was added to her invoice. The late fee was refunded to the customer. As of April 07, check number 3667 in the amount of $87.24 was mailed out April 08. The attorney and collection fees will not be refunded because those fees were paid up front and need to be recovered. Again I am sorry for the way the customer feels. It was not my intention to make her feel that I am trying to get more money out of the deal. (She already had an invoice from me in the exact amount as the written estimate) In the late event of this situation it is a way of securing payment and may I add that If not for the intent to lien, how would the customer pay otherwise? The customer did agree to pay the attorney and collection fees if necessary when she accepted the written estimate.
In closing to my response; My contractual obligation to the customer was to replace her roof before closing which was completed on March 11., and provide the customer with the warranty only after full payment had been received. For convenience to the customer, the warranty was issued in the new homes name. As far as why the customers real estate agent did not relay information to her on a timely manner is beyond me. Again, ***** I am sorry that you feel that you had a negative experience with your closing and not the roof replacement.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

6 Customer Reviews on Gus Roofing
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart