Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Gold Roofing Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 593-3080 Fax: (970) 593-0124 View Additional Phone Numbers 1424 E Eisenhower Blvd, Loveland, CO 80537 http://www.goldroofing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gold Roofing Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gold Roofing Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gold Roofing Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 03, 1996 Business started: 05/01/1996 Business started locally: 05/01/1996 Business incorporated 05/13/1996 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bill Goldsberry, President Ms. Sam Williams, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Goldsberry, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Sam Williams, Office Manager
Business Category

Roofers Roofing Consultants Remodelers Construction Companies Contractor - Remodel & Repair Gutters & Downspouts Home Improvements Home Addition Builders Roofing Contractors (NAICS: 238160)

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor Tips for Hiring Roofing Contractors Watch Out for These Red Flags

Additional Locations

  • 1424 E Eisenhower Blvd

    Loveland, CO 80537 (970) 593-3080 (307) 635-4653

  • 308 SW Drive Unit B

    Cheyenne, WY 82007

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Did not install roofing according to agreement and inspection has not passed with the city of **** *******.

Desired Settlement: To reduce billing so we can hire a company to properly install the roof.

Business Response:

***** **** **** ******* ********************** *** ********************** *** ******************* ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** ********* * ******** ******** 

Dear *** *****,

Please find attached **** *******’s Response to the complaint #******** submitted on 4/6/2015.
I hope this will address the issues brought up in the complaint. Please let me know if there is anything else you require from us.
Please direct emails to: *******************.

Sincerely,
**** **********
**** *******
************ **** ** ********** ***** ********* ** *****

Response to Complaint ID#******** 

4/22/2015 
Re: Complaint Rebuttal Dear BBB, 
Attached you will find our proposal to conduct the reroofing procedure on the home located at **** ********** *** *** ******* ** *****. 

Customers Statement of Problem states two concerns and I will reply to each of these as we are absolutely confident that the "Desired Settlement" will not be provided. 

Statement: Did not install roofing according to agreement. Reply: We installed the roofing system exactly as our proposal dated 7/9/2014 stated, including additional free upgrades stated on second page of proposal. The previous roof was Weathered Wood color and the new system is Weathered Wood. Oxidation effects the color of old roofs, and when a new one is installed, it is always slightly darker due to the percentage of petroleum in the new shingles. I personally participated in the explanation of this to the homeowner, and following my explanation, the homeowner was not 100% satisfied but was accepting of the shingle color. 

The Homeowner had a complaint about the 2nd story of house being hotter than before our reroofing process. The Homeowner stated the prior roofing company had installed a ventilation system at the bottom of the roof (eave) at the intersection of the roof and fascia. I explained that this installation would be a Code Violation, and we were required to complete roofing system per code. We removed the ridge and ridge vent to confirm that the decking was cut to allow free air-flow from soffit vents through attic area, and the decking was confirmed cut open approximately 3" each side. 

Homeowner stated that they would add additional soffit vents to increase flow (this is not a roofing application). Note: As stated to homeowner: if the soffit vents are covered with insulation, the free airflow will be obstructed, therefore retaining heat but it is not a roofing requirement. 

Representative **** ******* had a conversation with the Homeowner regarding the failure of the first city inspection. In this conversation, it was stated by homeowner that the inspector stated their roof was not acceptable and a new roof should be considered. John requested a meeting between himself, the homeowner and the city inspector to confirm the opinion of the inspector, but the homeowner denied the initiation of this meeting. 

The City of *** ******* was backed up approximately two months from the date of request for inspections, thereby causing many homeowners discomfort with their contractors in efficiencies during the latter half of the 2014 season. Part of this situation may be an influence. 

As stated above, there was a failure of the first inspection conducted by the City of *** ******* with the report stating "Ice and Water missing on two side dormers and on small eaves. Also check venting. Homeowner states the venting is not working well over bedrooms."

Upon receiving this "failure of inspection" we created a work order to have the necessary repairs corrected. A re-inspection was called into the City of *** ******* to confirm that all roofing-related corrections had been completed. THIS WAS OUR ONLY MISTAKE PERTAINING TO THIS HOME. Just prior to the re-inspection being preformed, it was caught by our service dept. that the repairs stated had not been completed, requiring that we cancel the re-inspection, complete the repair, and immediately contact the City for the re-inspection. Due to this lack of coordination on our behalf, we contacted a City Inspector directly, and he made time for the inspection and requested that the sales representative and service person was there for the re-inspection to complete any other necessary repairs in order to pass the roofing system. We met the inspector and there were no further issues discussed. All required repairs were completed and the roof passed this inspection. 

Inspection Passed on 4/13/2015 

All money is now due. 

Any questions regarding this matter should be directed to me. 

Respectfully Submitted, 
******* ** ********** *** ******* **** ******** **** 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  The contractor was given the insurance company's repair estimate.  The contractor knew what the insurance company was willing to cover.  The contract with the roofing company required it to do what the insurance company was willing to pay to have done.  The contractor failed to perform this obligation.  The failures were at the least:

1.  failure to use correct shingles
2.  failure to use correct drip edge size
3.  failure to replace vent caps
4.  failure to restore ventilation
5.  failure to use proper underlayment
6.  failure to use proper flashing

The contractor demanded payment before the job was done.  We would have had no way to enforce the contract if we had paid.  The contractor encumbered our property before it was entitled to payment.  It recorded something before it was entitled to record anything.

The contractor has failed to honor the arbitration because it has consistently called our home phone demanding payment.
.
Regards,

****** * **** ****

Business Response:

BBB Response:
 
Regarding the fact that we received a copy of the insurance claim and all applicable items listed and covered in said claim.  This is absolutely true, to the best of my knowledge all items on the claim are complete, we use this document as a scope of work on a per project basis.  If the homeowner would list the items on the claim report specified as roofing that has not been completed, I will certainly confirm (with a site inspection) the validity of this allegation.
Regarding use of incorrect shingles:  Insurance company allowed for 30yr laminated shingles. We proposed to install 30yr laminated/dimensional shingles but by review of the proposal the homeowners chose to upgrade to ****** ********** ***** ****** (Impact Resistant shingles to provide the homeowner with a potential Insurance discount) limited lifetime warranty shingle.
Regarding use of incorrect drip edge size:  I am not sure what this references.  Industry standard of drip edge flashing for residential use is 2”x 2”, We either use the industry standard or a 2”x 4” which exceeds industry standard.
Regarding failure to replace vent caps:  To the best of my knowledge the vent pipes or caps specified on insurance claim have been replaced.  It is my understanding that this is a line item on the City of *** ******* inspection. Upon acceptance of a site inspection, I am willing to confirm vent cap replacement or replace as needed.
Regarding restore ventilation:  This house had ridge vent prior to our replacement.  We installed ridge vent in the exact locations it was present prior to our replacement.  I personally met homeowners on site to discuss this matter.  Upon removing ridge cap shingles and ridge vent we confirmed the ridge was cut to allow exhaust from the incoming air flow provided by the soffit vents.  Home owners stated the previous roofing system had a ventilation system at the eave (bottom of slope).  We saw no evidence of this but even if it was present, it could not have been installed due to Code Regulations.  In fact the City of *** ******* has implemented Ice and water membrane to be installed 3’ up slope from eave to protect substrate from damage caused by ice damming. Therefore an open hole near the eave would certainly leak under ice damming conditions.  Homeowners understood the reasoning after I presented it and chose to install additional soffit vents to compensate for the lack of free air flow.  Additional soffit vents is not a scope of work by the insurance claim nor a roofing requirement. Have they installed additional soffit vents as they stated they would?
Regarding proper underlayment:  Insurance claim states the use of 15lb underlayment.  As initialed on proposal the upgrade to synthetic underlayment was accepted at no additional charge.  The rating of underlayments are as follows: #15 base felt (code minimum), #30 base felt (double code minimum), synthetic underlayment (exceeds #30 base felt).
Regarding use of improper flashing:  Flashing used on this address meets all city, county and state requirements.  Flashing was inspected during City inspection and passed.
 
 
The initial inspection on this residence did fail for the following reasons per City Inspector ****** ******. This is the exact explanation by inspector for the failure “Ice & Water missing on two side dormers and on small eaves.  Also, check venting.  Homeowner states the venting is not working in bedroom”.  Inspector was unaware that the homeowner and I had a meeting prior to discuss the remedy for the ventilation concern and their responsibility to install additional soffit vents.  All other repairs required by the inspector were completed and upon the 2nd inspection the roofing system passed.
**** *******, Inc. does its very best to pass City inspections the first time, and in a majority of inspections we do.  I am concerned that the homeowners are unable to get past the facts of the original inspection failure and although the roof has passed inspection on the 2nd inspection are still dwelling on the problems from the past.
I feel an acceptable remedy for this case is to have the manufacturer’s representative from G.A.F. perform an inspection of the roofing system to confirm it was installed per manufacturers specifications and that the roofing system qualifies for the manufacturer’s warranty.  This will provide all parties with the knowledge that the City of *** ******* accepts the roofing system and the system installed is per manufacturer’s specifications.
Documents Attached: 1. Copy of failed inspection report
                                        2. Copy of passing inspection report
                                        3. Copy of signed proposal as well of acceptance of upgrades
 
************ ********** ******* ** ********** *** ******* **** ******** **** 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********


We are rejecting this response because: We have nothing further to add but to request an arbitration.  Please schedule.

Regards,

****** * **** ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Gold Roofing Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)