Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Capitol Roofing Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Capitol Roofing Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (307) 638-7724 Fax: (307) 638-3887 View Additional Phone Numbers 805 E Fox Farm Rd, Cheyenne, WY 82007 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.yelp.com/biz/capitol-roofing-inc-fort-collins View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Capitol Roofing Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Capitol Roofing Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Capitol Roofing Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 05, 1995 Business started: 08/01/1985 Business started locally: 08/01/1985 Business incorporated: 01/01/2000 in WY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor Licensing Board Cheyenne Wyoming
2101 Oneil Ave Rm 202, Cheyenne WY 82001
http://www.cheyennecity.org/index.aspx?nid=314
Phone Number: (307) 637-6265

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dennis Humphrey, President/Owner Mr. Chris Brashear, Controller Ms. Jeanette Nusbaum, Operations Manager Ms. Vickie Schinzel, HR Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dennis Humphrey, President/Owner
Business Category

Roofers Commercial Roofing Contractor - Metal Roofing Sheet Metal Companies Gutters & Downspouts Roofing Contractors (NAICS: 238160)

Alternate Business Names
Capitol Roofing, Inc. - Fort Collins Office
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor Tips for Hiring Roofing Contractors Watch Out for These Red Flags

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Capitol Roofing Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6540 S College Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80525

  • 6540 S College Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80525

  • 805 E Fox Farm Rd

    Cheyenne, WY 82007 (307) 638-7724

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contacted Capital Roofing soon after we had hail damage to our home and shop from a hail storm in late June 2014. Capital Roofing was provided the July 2014 insurance estimate and we officially began working with Capital Roofing but they did not start work on our house until September 2014 due to Capital Roofing not being able to schedule our work. It took over 4 months for the house roof to be replaced, even longer for the house gutters to be replaced and to date the shop roof work is not complete. The house gutters were replaced but the work was inferior and wind blew one of the gutter runs off the south side of the house landing in our back yard. The gutter was repaired but in poor quality. After complaining to Capital Roofing they sent another gutter repair man that came out and replaced the poorly installed downspouts, corners and gutter runs that were not installed properly the first time. The shop roof was replaced but due to poor installation the wind was able to blow up the front edge and peeled it back causing damage. There was also snow that blew in through the roof eave due to not being properly sealed. Snow accumulated on our goods in the shop. The wind and snow damage occurred in Dec 2014 and here it is near April 2015 and our shop roof is stil not complete and the front edge remains "hammered" back in place and has been that way for months now. Closure strips have come loose on the perimeter of the shop roof line with several falling off and ending up in the ground. The workers also left behind ~100 metal screws most in the way of the driving paths to and around the shop. We have picked all of them up that we have found. Several cigarette butts were left as well. We are very disappointed with the quality and service provided by Capital Roofing and wish to file this complaint against them for the poor quality and service provided to our home insurance claim filed last year from the hail storm in late June 2014.

Desired Settlement: Complete the shop roof, trim, proper sealing and replace the front/south face per the phone discussion with Capital Roofing Supervisor Pat in Jan 2015. Also police the entire perimeter of the shop for metal screws and cigarette butts. Reduce the cost of the work by one half, 1/2. Wells Fargo has called multiple times requesting a date when the work can be inspected. We have communicated that we are not ready due to poor quality, service and constant delays by Capital Roofing.

Consumer Response:

***** ****************************** *** ************************ ************************ ***** **** *** ** **** ** **** ** ******** **** *** **** * *** ******* **** *** ********* ********* ********* 

Re:  complaint #********

We had a Wells Fargo Inspector show up to inspect the insurance covered work performed by Capital Roofing.

The Inspector, Sherry Lyle of Sage Inspections, noticed that there are two locations where the main roof shingles recently replaced by Capital a Roofing are lifted up and could cause water to leak underneath.  The roof is a few months old and there are two areas where the new shingles are lifted up and were not installed properly.

Can the finding is the new shingles be lifted up be included in our BBB Complaint against Capital Roofing?

Thank you,
***** *****
*****  ************ 

Sent from my iPhone

Business Response: To whom it may concern,

Upon receipt of this complaint notice on Monday, I immediately phoned customer. I left a voice mail of apology as to how his project had been handled. I visited the site that day to assess the situation, and later spoke with customer and scheduled a time to meet in person. On Tuesday, April 7 I, along with Capitol Roofing's Commercial Manager ***** ***** met with customer on site and carefully inspected details needing attention. Materials for the repair have been ordered and this project has taken top priority to get correctly taken care of and closed out. Customer was appreciative of the visit and I believe seems to  be "in a better place" as we await the fix.

I've informed customer that I am embarrassed about how his project has been handled and have vowed to "do whatever it takes to make it right". He seems presently satisfied with that approach, and we hope to have the project satisfactorily completed by the end of next week, April 17th. I will update the progress accordingly.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business.  I did meet with the owner of the company and one of the sales managers.  They were apologetic and helpful.  However, we did not discuss costs to close out the work remaining.  We believe that the months and months of delays along with out time and trouble to get the work done should result in a reduction of the completion/settlement costs. 

As I told ****** and ***** I travel substantially the next 3 straight weeks.  My wife will be the main contact while I am away.  She is not comfortable signing off on completion to our satisfaction without my input.

Once Capital Roofing is complete with the work and to our satisfaction then I would like to open up the discussion to a reduction in settlement costs.

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response: Customer's response/concern is noted. The price reduction was not discussed at the time, as I believe it to be not relevant at this time. The first order of business is to get the problem remedied to the satisfaction of the customer. He did indeed make us aware of his travel plans over the next few weeks. We do not expect a "sign off" of completion or satisfaction by customer's wife in the absence of customer. My stated assertion to customer of my being willing to "do whatever it takes to make it right" in my estimation clearly indicates my willingness to do just that, which includes adjustment to pricing as he deems appropriate. What was on my mind and is at the forefront of my commitment is to fix the problem first and let the money discussion take place once work has been satisfactorily completed. At that time, it is my nature to ask customer to take stock of the project in its entirety and to at that time make whatever payment he feels is fair. Capitol's position of...."We're not perfect but were here, and if it ain't right, we'll make it right".... or as "right" as it can be under any circumstance. It's just the way we operate.  The money won't be an issue from our side when it's time to settle. The amount the customer believes to be "fair" upon completion and satisfaction will be entirely up to him. Capitol has not operated for nearly 30 years (In August) by having a history of disgruntled customers. Thanks.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

The response is appreciated.  Please know we've been at this since July 2014, quite frustrating for both sides that it came to a BBB complaint to get action.

The company does have a good reputation and I'm convinced that if the owner was made aware sooner as I requested in person months ago the matter would have resolved much sooner and without BBB involvement.

We look forward to the completion of the work and appreciate the quick response by the owner once notified of the problems.

Thanks.

Regards,

***** *****

12/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Damage caused to home and personal property. Hired Capitol Roofing to replace our damaged roof & gutters due to a hail storm. I told them when I placed my deposit, I was in no hurry as I was sure they had other clients with more severe damage. After not hearing anything for 5-6 months, I contacted them & they stated they would be starting on my home shortly. Soon afterwords, the shingles were delivered. As a business owner, I believe strongly that your customer should know when you plan on working in, on, or around their property. I was out of town on the day they started. I talked to my wife that night & she stated that Capitol had started that morning. When she came home from work they were working on the roof. She told me that when she got home, she noticed fine debris all over my home office & electronic equipment. When I got home on Sunday, I was speachless. My office was completely covered in a fine coat of debris. There were oil spots on my driveway, empty pop cans floating in the front pond, a broken gate, a broken basketball hoop, lawn furniture piled around, & shingles/felt paper pieces everywhere. I took a shower that night & when I came out of the bathroom, noticed the smell of natural gas. Upon inspection, the venting to the hotwater heater was busted loose. This could have caused an explosion as the pilot light was on. I went to Capitol Monday to relay my complaint on not being told when they were starting & regarding damage to my home & property. The owner along with 2-3 other men came to the house to inspect the situation. I was told to hire a cleaning company to clean my office & deduct it from the final bill. I also had to pay out of pocket to fix the hotwater heater. Trying to be understanding, I told them that if they would try to bend the basketball hoop back in line that would be fine. They did nothing about the hoop. Here are the breakouts: 1 Total Bill: $12,117.87 2 Haul off damaged free-standing basketball hoop: <$150.00> 3 Hotwater Heater Repairs: <$94.50> 4 Cleaning Company Bill: <$1,793.75> 5 Payment to Capitol: <$10,967.87> By my calculations, I am out $888.25. I sent a letter to Capitol stating the above which they received & signed for on 10-19-2012. I have heard nothing from them. This all boils down to IF I had known they were coming, I would not have been out of town & I could have stopped the work to figure out issues that were arising. Instead, I come home to a disaster inside & outside my home.

Desired Settlement: I would like reimbursement for the $888.25 I am out.

Business Response: Consumer Response /* (-5, 5, 2012/11/28) */ From: ************ (mailto:************@gmail.com) Sent: We*nes*ay, November 28, 2012 7:22 AM To: ***** ***** Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case#XXXXXXXX(Ref#REDACT32 201231 201233REDACT) *****, I have attached documentation regarding the complaint. In addition to the photos of damage, I can also send a photo of roofing nails/staples that penetrated completely thru the ceiling & of cracked ceilings. ***** Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2012/11/29) */ Contact Name an* Title: *************** Presi*ent Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX Contact Email: *************************** I have no excuse other than the letter evidently slippe* through the cracks somewhere between me signing for it and getting it through accounts payable. I have a check for $888.25 in my pocket an* have left a voicemail with customer to arrange to deliver. I remember clearly meeting with customer and requesting he get repairs an* cleaning *one an* either have service provider invoice Capitol directly or have him send me invoices for reimbursement. Customer's right and I am "making right" today.