BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Vintage Corporation?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Vintage Corporation

Phone: (970) 353-3000 Fax: (970) 352-1320 4631 W 20th Street Rd Ste 100, Greeley, CO 80634 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.vintage-corp.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Vintage Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Vintage Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Vintage Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 12, 2005 Business started: 10/01/1986 Business started locally: 10/01/1986 Business incorporated: 10/01/1986 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Real Estate-Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 295, Denver CO 80202
www.dora.state.co.us/real-estate/index.htm
Phone Number: (303) 894-2166

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Powell Prothe, President Mr. Jack Cochrane, Property Manager Ms. Dawn Huff, Office Manager Ms. Carrie Westhoff, Community Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Dawn Huff, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Powell Prothe, President
Business Category

Property Management


Additional Locations

  • 4631 W 20th Street Rd Ste 100

    Greeley, CO 80634 (970) 353-3000

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We live in a seven bedroom house. We have paid a 600 dollar security deposit, and are getting complaints by the corporation to clean are home. We vacuum weekly and pick up trash daily. I believe we have the right to have a few dirty dishes in the sink and trash or clothes laying around as long as it doesn't get out of control. They do this often they have told us to do this the day after a party or a get together with friends . Which we always clean up after. They also have been coming into the house in Announced making up pointless excuses of why they need to look into each room. One day I was sleeping after my late shift of work and they had come into my room saying they were checking locks ? I was in my underwear and my girlfriend was In bed with me I felt uncomfortable and was angry that I had to get out of bed and had to get dressed for something they made up to just make sure we weren't doing anything wrong. This is getting worse because I feel like we are being harassed for small reasons that's make no sense for a corporation. I didn't sign a lease to be checked up on like a little baby. I'm a adult and deserve my privacy . This is the worse management i have lived under and I will be leaving once my lease is up I have friends that live under them as well and say the same thing .

Desired Settlement: I just want to have them stop harassing and leave us alone. I'm living till my lease is up then I'm moving out

Business Response: The tenants were notified that we would be entering the house on a weekly basis to check for damage because the tenants have a dog and another one coming in December.  Per the lease agreement pets are not allowed, however there was a misunderstanding upon renting the house and the tenants said they were told they could have pets.  Our lease says that not only can we enter to do inspections during reasonable hours (business hours) which is the only time we enter, it also states we can revoke the pet privilege at anytime.  Our agreement with the tenants was that we would go ahead and let them keep the pet at this time, but we would inspect weekly until we were comfortable with the pet(s) being kept in the house and they were in agreement with this. While inspecting for pet damage it was also noted that the inside was not being kept to Vintage standards.  There were several empty alcohol bottles along with trash that was not picked up inside the house.  We don't have a problem with some dirty clothes and dirty dishes, but the trash that is not being picked up is an issue along with the couch, and again trash and empty alcohol bottles on the front porch.  I don't believe that it is unacceptable to ask that trash be removed from the premises and disposed of properly.  A letter was sent out and it seems that up re-inspection the trash along with the couch had been removed.  It is our policy to write letters when the property is not being maintained in an acceptable condition.  I understand the concern with entering a bedroom while a tenant or guest is sleeping and I would be willing to set up a specific day and time frame to do inspections so that they would be more informed of our coming if that would be in agreement with the tenants.  Possibly Wednesday's between 11:00 am and 2:00 pm and maybe even every other week?

Thank You,

**** ****
Property Manager

10/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Aug 29th 2013 I called ****** with Vintage Corp for ******** Condominiums. ****** stated that building * already had their entry ways and windows cleaned. I explained that I think that there were some units missed. ****** quickly became agitated and very defensive, she said that she witnessed the cleaning herself. I took pictures with a date stamp to prove that this cleaning did not take place on all units. I have sent those pictures to both ****** and also to Vintage Corp. Less than 2 weeks later I am finding a late notice by the tenant of my condo for the HOA payment being late with a late charge being applied. The check cleared on the 11th and the deadline was on the 10th. I am not understanding how trying to help report a cleaning that was missed could turn into a personal vendetta against a tenant.

Desired Settlement: I would like for someone other than ****** to assess this claim, the pictures taken, and look into the so called late fee of the monthly HOA fee. As there isn't another option for me to choose my HOA company, I (nor anyone else) should feel bullied by ****** or anyone else for simply asking a question of a service that we are paying money for.

Business Response: I am in receipt of the complaint dated September 23rd from **** ********. Please find attached a copy of the account statement dated today that still shows an account balance. Our office did not receive a payment in September and a late notice was generated the 19th of the month. This is an automatic computer generated late notice and would never be intended as a violation towards someone. It is in compliance with the covenants to send a late notice after the 10th of the month with a $25.00 late fee and 1.5% interest monthly. If **** has a check that has cleared the bank I need a copy of the front and back so my accounts receivable can verify where the error occurred. We do apologize for the inconvenience. Also attached you will find the three pictures that were emailed to the HOA email at Vintage. The emails were sent at 4:00, 4:02, and 4:04pm with no unit number or date stamp affixed to them. I replied with an email at 4:09pm requesting a date and unit number and received an error message from the **************************** as an invalid address. With no name or other identifying information I did not have any other route for additional follow up on the complaint. After receiving the complaint today I have submitted a maintenance request and maintenance will be out by the end of next week to attend to the matter. I do apologize for this inconvenience as well. No additional phone calls from the homeowner were made from that date until the complaint to request speaking to a manager or anyone else for that matter. He is more than welcome to speak to the owner, ******, or office manager ****. I have also left a voicemail for **** today letting him know this information so we can try to get the matter resolved as soon as possible. If **** has a tenant in the unit he does need to update his bill to information with Vintage Corporation so the correspondence can go to the proper address.


Sincerely,
******

6/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company would not return my deposit when we did not qualify for the property. It was supposed to be refundable. We put down a deposit when we filled out the application. We were told and the application stated if we were not approved then the deposit would be refunded. When they contacted us about our application and told us they could approve us unless we put down more money. I went into the business to get my deposit back and they told me no. I asked them why and they told me because I was approved I could not get it back. However I did not have the extra money to put down and without the extra deposit I could not rent the property I want (I believe this is not being approved). They argued with me and would not give my deposit back. I left and called my bank and to cancel the check there was a cancelation fee of $30.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking the $50, $30 for my cancelled check and $20 for the hassle, stress and anxiety this has caused me. As well as the ability to rent using this company again considering they manage almost all of the properties in the area we live in.

Business Response: Consumer Response /* (-5, 5, 2013/06/03) */ This incident happened a few years ago. Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/06/07) */ In order to research this matter, I will need the address that Mrs. ******** applied for as we have not only the corporate office that takes applications, we also have several properties with On-Site Managers that process applications and those are kept off site at the properties. Please provide the exact address which was applied for and I would be more than happy to research this issue and respond. Thank You, **** **** Property Manager

1/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 7th month rent on 6 month contract and security deposit return. signed 6 month lease on 4-1-12 for XXXX XXst St. Rd Apt. 42. lost job and moved to Grinnell Ia. on 6-16-12. my grandfather talked to ***** (manager) on X-XX-XX letting her know I was leaving but would continue paying rent through 9-30-12. I had talked to ***** several times befor leaveing to make sure what i needed to do befor leaving. drop keys in deposit box and make sure aprtment was clean. grandfather called on X-XX-XX to make sure keys had been found that day witch she told him they had. rent was sent for July and August by my grandparents ***** and *** ******* ************************* and I was able to pay the final month of September myself fulfilling the contract. I called the power company on october 1st. to discontinue my service with them. ***** called my grandmother the end of july stating she possible had a renter to rent my apartment and needed a letter from me saying that was o.k. I wrote a statement the first few days of august saying they could, which if they did would make it so I wouldnt have to pay august and september Rent. We still have a copy of the statment and fax we sent on friday august 3rd. nouthing was heard back.I called the middle of october to see why I hadnt recieved my security deposit back. They would not return my calls for several days when I finnally got to talk to ***** see told me she would check and get back to me. recieved a letter from vintage corp. nov 22nd stating I owed for oct. rent because i didnt let them know i was moving out and 60 dollars for cleaning and 12 dollars for drip pans for stove. leaving a balance of 222 dollars. my grandfather called several times and talked to ***** and **** at corp. to resolve this, my grandmother also called. they say I didnt give notice that I was moving. My grandfather talked to them several times about it and paying off contract as I did. I would like my security deposit back minus the cleaning of 60 dollars. The stove pans were as clean as they were when i arrived since I only used the stove a few times I dont think I should have to pay for them. 250.00 deposit minus 60.00 charge for cleaning I feel they owe me 190.00. Not me being turned in to collections for 222.00 grandfathers cell is XXX-XXX-XXXX ***** ******* if you would like to talk to him. Thankyou for your time I hope you can help me. ****** ******

Desired Settlement: I am asking for my 250.00 security deposit back minus 60.00 claning charge. $190.00

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2012/12/28) */ I spoke with ***** and she informed me that she never received the keys to the apartment and did not speak with the Grandfather regarding the keys. She did state that she spoke with the Grandmother who informed her that she would be mailing the letter granting us permission to rerent the unit along with a mail box key; she never received either so she did not proceed with renting the unit since the letter had not been received via email or fax. She did serve the tenant a pay or vacate notice for the month of October and when rent had not been received within the three days she did check the unit to find it vacant and then proceeded with taking possession. I am not sure what happened with the turn over of keys and the letter granting us permission to turn and rerent the unit but I am willing to keep the full deposit of $250.00 to cover the cost of cleaning, drip pans and a portion of the unpaid rent and will forgive the balance due in the amount of $222.00 bringing the balance due down to zero in order to help resolve this issue. Thank you, ****** ****** Property Manager Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/01/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did leave the keys in the mail box when i left in june and ms ****** did know that i left the apartment. I also gave her permission to rerent the apartment out and i fax it to her the next.

8/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/31/2012 Billing/Collection Issues