Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Vintage Corporation

Phone: (970) 353-3000 Fax: (970) 352-1320 4631 W 20th Street Rd Ste 100, Greeley, CO 80634 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.vintage-corp.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Vintage Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Vintage Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Vintage Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 5
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 12, 2005 Business started: 10/01/1986 Business started locally: 10/01/1986 Business incorporated 10/01/1986 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Real Estate-Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 295, Denver CO 80202
www.dora.state.co.us/real-estate/index.htm
Phone Number: (303) 894-2166

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Powell Prothe, President Mr. Jack Cochrane, Property Manager Ms. Dawn Huff, Office Manager Ms. Carrie Westhoff, Community Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Dawn Huff, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Powell Prothe, President
Business Category

Property Management

Industry Tips
Tips for Finding Property Management Companies

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Vintage Corporation has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4631 W 20th Street Rd Ste 100

    Greeley, CO 80634 (970) 353-3000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been renting from vintage corporation for over 2 years now and recently had a plumbing issue/clog in my guest bathroom and asked them to send someone out to have it fixed. It took them about week to have someone come look at my toilet and what they found was that there was a toy stuck in the bottom of it. Instead of taking the toy out of the toilet (because it was still in working condition), they decided to buy a brand new toilet and charge us for it. They sent a letter telling us to pay for the toilet in a certain amount of time or they would be pursuing legal action against us. I don't feel we should pay it because the toilet was not broken by any means, and the maintenance man said he could get the toy out if he had long needle nose pliers, but was instead told to purchase a more expensive toilet instead of removing the toy.

Desired Settlement: We would like the charge for the brand new toilet removed because we are still renting from Vintage Corporation, and as renters, we feel removing the clog was something of their responsibility. And if possible, in removing the charge, we would be more than happy to get the old working toilet back and take the toy out ourselves.

Business Response:

I have investigated this issue and talked to the maintenance technician that did the repair/replacement.  He confirmed that he had to pull the toilet because he could not get it unplugged with it still attached to the floor.  Once the toilet was pulled he was able to see the toy that was lodge in the "s" part of the stool.  He tried for quite a while but could not get the toy dislodged.  He also called another maintenance tech to come and look and give his opinion.  The second maintenance tech also confirmed that the toy was not going to be able to be pulled from the stool as it was jammed inside the "s" of the toilet.  The maintenance tech also stated that he never told the resident that all he needed was a different tool.  We did have to replace the stool as it was not in "working condition".  The bill that was sent was for the labor portion of trying to pull the toy from the toilet and the setting of the new toilet.  The amount of the toilet was not billed (it was for $53.18) the total amount of the bill for both parts and labor should have been $167.18; instead only the labor part of the bill was sent ($114.00).  I am sorry that the resident believes that it is the landlords responsibility to repair/replace something that is due to tenant neglect.  Due to the fact that the toilet was not originally billed I will not re-bill for that and I will write off one hour of labor ($38.00) but I believe that it is fair that the resident pay for the remaining labor since it was due to their child flushing a toy down the toilet that plugged it in the first place.  Also, the maintenance tech said the resident called him directly because he had his phone number from another maintenance call he did and the maintenance tech was there the same day he called, not a week later.

 

Thanks,

Dawn H***

Property Manager

7/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Will not return rental deposit for unit under construction wish we no longer want while they hold an additional deposit for the same injury from a third party.

Desired Settlement: Return of my deposit

Business Response: You and your wife both signed rental applications that stated "If this application is not approved by the management within five days from the date hereof, the deposit will be refunded.  If this application is approved by the management, the undersigned agrees to enter into a written lease.  Failure to sign a written lease after approval of application will result in forfeiture of the security deposit".  You were approved to move into ***** ****.  You signed the applications on June 11, 2015 and submitted them to the office at ***** **** on June 12, 2015; you did not inform the personnel at ***** **** that you no longer wanted the unit until the week of July 6, 2015.  At that time you were told both by Chelsea at ***** **** and Blakelee at Vintage Corporation that we would put the unit back on the market and if we were able to get it re-rented by the date you were originally set to move in, which was the 22nd of July we would refund your deposit.  You continued to call both ***** **** and Vintage on a daily basis asking about your deposit along with threatening to go to the police department and the court house even though we continued to tell you as soon as we had a signed lease we would be more than willing to refund you your security deposit.  We did obtain the signed lease from the new tenants today and will be putting your security deposit refund in the mail.  We were more than willing to work with you even though we are not obligated to refund your security deposit per the legal binding application that you both signed.

Thank You,

Dawn H***
Property Manager

6/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 4/9/2015 application fee of $25 plus $350 security deposit was submitted to Country Club West (Vintage Corp.) Greeley, CO for potential lease of Apt. ***. It was determined in short order because of my son's (***** *******) work and school requirements that moving into this apartment would not be work and financially possible. Rental office was informed by phone 5 days later to release the apartment for other rental per agreement with rental office staff with the understanding that the entire $350 Security Deposit will be refunded. ***** was told upon paying this money (4/9/15) that security deposit was refundable if notice is given within 10 days (4/16/15) of desire to NOT rent. This WAS done in good faith in belief and accordance with rental office instructions, then June 3rd we receive notice from Vintage Corp. that the $350 security deposit was forfeited because he did not move in. Vintage was dually notified as per their request, and the $350 Security Deposit should thereby be refunded as promised by rental office. This is a poor business practice to tell someone the Security Deposit can be refunded when they find a way to steal this money for absolutely NO GOODS OR SERVICES RENDERED. ! This is deceptive and un-ethical to me !

Desired Settlement: Refund $350 as promised !!!

Business Response: ***** applied for an apartment at Country Club West on April 9, 2015.  He did sign and date the application which states "If this application is not approved by the management within five days from the date hereof, the deposit will be refunded.  If this application is approved by the management, the undersigned agrees to enter into a written lease.  Failure to sign a written lease after approval of application will result in forfeiture of the security deposit".  ******* credit, criminal and employment verification was collected on the 10th and he was approved at that point.  He sent an email dated April 28th which read "I am no longer interested in leasing an apartment from Country Club West and I acknowledge I am losing my security deposit".  Vintage has never had a policy in which it gives the resident the right to cancel an application within ten days and keep their deposit.  We followed the procedure of the application and therefore feel we are not obligated to refund the application fees or the security deposit.  As stated earlier in ******* email he was fully aware that he was forfeiting his security deposit.  

Thank You,

**** ****

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: This is a bad business practice to take money for nothing in return.

You can be sure I will spread the word !

Regards,

****** *******

5/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are moving out because we just purchased a home. There is a possibility that we will have to stay over by less than one week into the following month if the appraisal of the new home cannot be completed in time to close by the end of May. Both myself and my wife contacted the office to ask them if we could pay a prorated share of rent in lieu of an entire month's worth. They would be able to show the property the whole time and could easily secure a renter by the time we left. They absolutely refused to help us in any way, and simply directed me to the lease provision that stated we owed for the whole month if we were present as of the 1st of June. From the time we moved in there have been issues with them, such as being shown an apartment that was not handicap accessible and then being rented one that was, much to our surprise. There were so many issues with the apartment we could barely fit them on the sheet we were given. We've been fairly accommodating and tried not to call about every single issue, but when we ask for a small courtesy the office staff bristled, was very rude, and very short with us. The manager even refused to speak with me over the phone, and instead had the girl I was talking to get back on the phone and tell me that she wasn't going to make an exception. They claim an exception for me necessitates an exception for everyone, but that is neither legally nor logically true. I cannot understand how they believe this is a good business practice. A quick inspection of their reviews on Google demonstrates how well the current practices work for them. With the way they have treated me to date, I plan to let every single individual I know to never rent from them. I've lived in numerous different places, and this is easily the worst management I've ever encountered. The women who work at the office are consistently rude, seem bothered when you call in to ask a question or ask for maintenance, and have even threatened to charge me for new problems about the apartment that I called in to report. I'm asking for a whopping four days of prorated rent, with the understanding that they would be showing our apartment and completing the necessary inspections as they normally would, and this is apparently too much for them. I have an infant daughter and a pet, and finding temporary accommodations for them and our stuff that are suitable for a period of 4 days won't be easy or cheap. They want to just try to rent the apartment and give me a refund on my rent if it is rented before the end of June, but I have no faith in them that they'll actually try or be able to do so.

Desired Settlement: I want a written agreement that states I can move out as late as June 4th, 2015, with the understanding that I will pay the 4 days of prorated rent regardless of whether I move out early or not. This ensures that I will be able to leave without worrying about accommodations, while also protecting them from having to guess when the apartment will be available. The total amount paid to them would be $136.67 for the 4 days in June.

Business Response: When this resident called in we did take the time to explain to him that yes, per his lease agreement we would have to charge him the full month of rent if he held over but that we would be more than happy to market his apartment and try and get it re-rented for him and that once a new lease agreement was in place it would result in a rent refund back to him.  I don't feel that it is fair to make an exception for one resident but not all that have found themselves in a similar situation, which we have had several and we have done the same for them as far as marketing their unit and issuing a rent refund when a new lease agreement was in place.  I did pull his apartment inspection report that he filled out and according to it there were some marks, scratches and small dents in the walls/doors which is caused by normal wear and tear.  The only issue listed that needed to be fixed after move in was the mater bath cabinet door needed to be re-attached which was repaired.  Unfortunately, I don't think residents realize that we have owners we have to answer to, as Vintage does not own the units but manage them for individual owners and we do follow the terms of the lease agreement for this reason. I also did not refuse to talk to him when he called, he actually demanded that I talk to him but I was tied up at the time so in order to get him an immediate answer I did inform the person he was talking to that I could not make an exception.  Again, we are more than happy to try and get his unit re-rented as we have done for several residents in the past.  We do try and help resident but we have to do it within our means and still hold up to the legal binding contract executed by us and the residents.  Again, we are more than happy to market his unit once we receive a written intent and try and secure a new lease agreement which will reduce the amount of rent due when he vacates the unit. 

Thank You,

Dawn Huff

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We live in a seven bedroom house. We have paid a 600 dollar security deposit, and are getting complaints by the corporation to clean are home. We vacuum weekly and pick up trash daily. I believe we have the right to have a few dirty dishes in the sink and trash or clothes laying around as long as it doesn't get out of control. They do this often they have told us to do this the day after a party or a get together with friends . Which we always clean up after. They also have been coming into the house in Announced making up pointless excuses of why they need to look into each room. One day I was sleeping after my late shift of work and they had come into my room saying they were checking locks ? I was in my underwear and my girlfriend was In bed with me I felt uncomfortable and was angry that I had to get out of bed and had to get dressed for something they made up to just make sure we weren't doing anything wrong. This is getting worse because I feel like we are being harassed for small reasons that's make no sense for a corporation. I didn't sign a lease to be checked up on like a little baby. I'm a adult and deserve my privacy . This is the worse management i have lived under and I will be leaving once my lease is up I have friends that live under them as well and say the same thing .

Desired Settlement: I just want to have them stop harassing and leave us alone. I'm living till my lease is up then I'm moving out

Business Response: The tenants were notified that we would be entering the house on a weekly basis to check for damage because the tenants have a dog and another one coming in December.  Per the lease agreement pets are not allowed, however there was a misunderstanding upon renting the house and the tenants said they were told they could have pets.  Our lease says that not only can we enter to do inspections during reasonable hours (business hours) which is the only time we enter, it also states we can revoke the pet privilege at anytime.  Our agreement with the tenants was that we would go ahead and let them keep the pet at this time, but we would inspect weekly until we were comfortable with the pet(s) being kept in the house and they were in agreement with this. While inspecting for pet damage it was also noted that the inside was not being kept to Vintage standards.  There were several empty alcohol bottles along with trash that was not picked up inside the house.  We don't have a problem with some dirty clothes and dirty dishes, but the trash that is not being picked up is an issue along with the couch, and again trash and empty alcohol bottles on the front porch.  I don't believe that it is unacceptable to ask that trash be removed from the premises and disposed of properly.  A letter was sent out and it seems that up re-inspection the trash along with the couch had been removed.  It is our policy to write letters when the property is not being maintained in an acceptable condition.  I understand the concern with entering a bedroom while a tenant or guest is sleeping and I would be willing to set up a specific day and time frame to do inspections so that they would be more informed of our coming if that would be in agreement with the tenants.  Possibly Wednesday's between 11:00 am and 2:00 pm and maybe even every other week?

Thank You,

**** ****
Property Manager

10/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Aug 29th 2013 I called ****** with Vintage Corp for ******** Condominiums. ****** stated that building * already had their entry ways and windows cleaned. I explained that I think that there were some units missed. ****** quickly became agitated and very defensive, she said that she witnessed the cleaning herself. I took pictures with a date stamp to prove that this cleaning did not take place on all units. I have sent those pictures to both ****** and also to Vintage Corp. Less than 2 weeks later I am finding a late notice by the tenant of my condo for the HOA payment being late with a late charge being applied. The check cleared on the 11th and the deadline was on the 10th. I am not understanding how trying to help report a cleaning that was missed could turn into a personal vendetta against a tenant.

Desired Settlement: I would like for someone other than ****** to assess this claim, the pictures taken, and look into the so called late fee of the monthly HOA fee. As there isn't another option for me to choose my HOA company, I (nor anyone else) should feel bullied by ****** or anyone else for simply asking a question of a service that we are paying money for.

Business Response: I am in receipt of the complaint dated September 23rd from **** ********. Please find attached a copy of the account statement dated today that still shows an account balance. Our office did not receive a payment in September and a late notice was generated the 19th of the month. This is an automatic computer generated late notice and would never be intended as a violation towards someone. It is in compliance with the covenants to send a late notice after the 10th of the month with a $25.00 late fee and 1.5% interest monthly. If **** has a check that has cleared the bank I need a copy of the front and back so my accounts receivable can verify where the error occurred. We do apologize for the inconvenience. Also attached you will find the three pictures that were emailed to the HOA email at Vintage. The emails were sent at 4:00, 4:02, and 4:04pm with no unit number or date stamp affixed to them. I replied with an email at 4:09pm requesting a date and unit number and received an error message from the **************************** as an invalid address. With no name or other identifying information I did not have any other route for additional follow up on the complaint. After receiving the complaint today I have submitted a maintenance request and maintenance will be out by the end of next week to attend to the matter. I do apologize for this inconvenience as well. No additional phone calls from the homeowner were made from that date until the complaint to request speaking to a manager or anyone else for that matter. He is more than welcome to speak to the owner, ******, or office manager ****. I have also left a voicemail for **** today letting him know this information so we can try to get the matter resolved as soon as possible. If **** has a tenant in the unit he does need to update his bill to information with Vintage Corporation so the correspondence can go to the proper address.


Sincerely,
******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on Vintage Corporation
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart