Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Crystal Property Management & Sales

Phone: (970) 945-7266 Fax: (970) 945-7281 1512 Grand Ave Ste 109, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601 http://www.crystalproperty.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Crystal Property Management & Sales meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Crystal Property Management & Sales include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Crystal Property Management & Sales
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 07, 2008 Business started: 01/01/2007 Business started locally: 01/01/2007 Business incorporated 01/01/2007 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Real Estate-Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 295, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us/real-estate/index.htm
Phone Number: (303) 894-2166

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Justin Windholz, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Justin Windholz, President
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate Renters Real Estate Rentals By Owners Real Estate Services Vacation Rentals Property Maintenance Companies Real Estate Investors Real Estate Agents Real Estate Advisors

Industry Tips
Tips for Finding Property Management Companies

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Crystal Property Management & Sales has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1512 Grand Ave Ste 109

    Glenwood Springs, CO 81601 (970) 945-7266

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife, my realtor, and myself have reached out to Justin W******** at Crystal Property Management regarding necessary deck repairs for the past several months. I personally have a record of at least at least a half dozen emails that I have personally sent to him, which excludes the multiple emails and phone calls that my wife and realtor have made about this issue which have been ignored. The deck has cracked boards, boards which are no longer connected to joists and freely pull up, and all of the boards are sagging and no longer appear safe. Justin claimed (after multiple attempts to get in touch with him) that a contractor came out and tightened up what needed to be tightened, and that the deck is safe. I inspected every board on that deck and it has not been touched. No repairs of any kind have taken place. I'm very skeptical that anyone ever came out at all, and I would like to see proof of the visit.

Desired Settlement: It is written into our contract as homeowners that Crystal Property Management will make any necessary deck repairs. I expect this to be done with no more ignored communication or dishonest tactics. It is both a safety issue and an issue which could prevent us from selling our condo, which is currently on the market.

Business Response: We have been working with the *********** on their deck repairs. Several vendors have been to the property to assess the safety and integrity of the deck. All vendors who have reviewed the issue have concluded that the deck is safe and not in need of major repairs. Attached is a report and bill from one vendor. We are awaiting the report from the other vendor who looked at the deck and will include that report if necessary but the contractor said verbally that there wasn't anything wrong with the deck besides some additional tightening that could be done. We are more than happy to repair what's needed but we rely on licensed, insured contractors to determine that. The *********** are free to do work to their own deck at their expense if they are unhappy with recommendations from the independent, licensed, insured contractors who we have sent to the unit. 

2/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I lease/rent property though Crystal Property Management. In May 2015, I was mislead by the person showing me the property I then leased for one full year through CPM. The company did not have adequate knowledge of the property I was leasing. I was given false information about the property I was leasing. I was informed the property had Air Conditioning, it does not. I am an asthmatic with allergies and clean, filtered air is pertinent to my health and well-being. I have since called to complain and was treated with disrespect by the office staff at CPM. I attempted to make a verbal complaint to the office manager, I was refused their time, compassion and empathy and was informed to, 'write it down in a letter.' I wrote a formal complaint to both CPM and the owners of the property I lease through CPM the summer of 2015. It has been months and there has been no response or help from CPM. Since these events, I have become concerned with many other aspects of this property. In particular, I pay for utilities, heat and water. For over one month, I have not had running hot water in 2 out of 2 of my sinks. I requested someone fix my sinks and for two weeks while I was on vacation, no one entered my home. The day before I came home, my home was entered and I came home to 2 sinks that were not working, still, my heat was turned high to 75 when I had left it at 65 (I do not have an option of turning my heat off in this home, I am concerned this does not meet standards) and my rug was soaked because there was a leak no one informed me of, my personal belongings had been moved. When I called CPM to express my concern and confusion, I was dismissed, informed 'I'll get an answer for you' and my questions were never answered, I have not heard back from CPM and my sinks and running water do not work. I have many other concerns with CPM and my personal safety and wellbeing in this home, CPM has shown no concern or acknowledgement for me. It has become impossible to receive help of any kind from Crystal Property Management.

Desired Settlement: I request to terminate my lease, without charge to me. I request to terminate my lease and receive my full security deposit refunded, $1400. I request to not pay Utilities for the month of Jan 2016, to be paid Feb 1 2016. I request verbal communication and explanation from CPM regarding the events and my requests.

Business Response:

Thank you for providing your concerns in writing.  As of this morning our office has received keys in our overnight drop box which returns possession to our office.  The owner of this property has agreed to allow for your lease to be terminated today.  Please provide a forwarding address so that our office can provide the security deposit refund along with any invoices included for damage to the property and/or utilities due.  Please note that per the lease the owner has 60 days to return the security deposit.  We hope that this step will allow for resolution of your ongoing problems during tenancy.  

As for your specific complaints (1) Air Conditioning - our office did/does not advertise this unit to offer air condition nor were there any window units present at the time of showing.  Many of the units in this complex do have A/C window units that the individual tenants have purchased and added which our office communicated would be approved as a resolution.  Immediately upon reporting this issue, our office communicated with staff and found this complaint to be unfounded however our office attempted to assist in finding a resolution, which was not reciprocated.  Our office apologized then and now that you were frustrated and felt misinformed.  As always we take these situations seriously and enhance training around these issues. (2) The issue was that the cold water line was freezing due to weather and a space heater was provided by the ownership to ensure that the unit was heated enough so that the line did not freeze.  You did make a request that you be reimbursed for the additional electricity which the owner approved.  Throughout investigation of the issue it was determined that you were turning off the space heater resulting in the line refreezing.  Each backup that was known or reported was addressed by the ownership's maintenance.  As previously communicated the owner handles the maintenance directly our office just provides updates.  

Overall our office wishes you the very best of luck.  I sincerely hope by the owner releasing you from the lease term will suffice with your request.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: the response is untruthful and unfactual.

Regards,

***** *****

9/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We left a deposit on one of their apartments for $2250. When we moved out and received our deposit back they had deducted almost $700 from our deposit. We only lived there for 6 months. They claim they spent 8 hours at $38 dlls/hr repainting 1 bedroom as well as some other walls in the unit. They also claimed of removing a damaged blind and installing a new one. Well the blind was broken and stapled together when we moved in. They also charged me 5 hours of deep cleaning at $20 dlls/hr when I totally left the place spotless. They also charged me for carpet cleaning $125 when I was told that they would not charge me because the apartment was flooded one month before we moved out. That was one of the reasons I moved was because that unit has had that problem before. I have no problem them deducting a fair amount but to me this is ridiculous. This is not the first time they do this. After being here in the valley for 8 months I have met other people who have had the same problem with them.

Desired Settlement: I want an adjustment because they promised not to charge me for certain things and they did anyways.

Business Response: Upon move-out, we compare condition of the unit to our inspection notes as well as the tenant move-in checklist to help determine damages, what is normal wear and tear, etc. The check-in sheet provided by the tenant does not indicate that the blind was damaged when they moved in and our records before this tenant show the same therefore it was replaced and the tenant was charged that cost. We dispute the fact the unit was left "spotless." There was extensive grease clean-up that needed to be done to the walls and ceiling. The repainting was necessary because of damage caused by the tenant. 

Our lease clearly states that carpet will be cleaned when you move-out. We do not believe that anyone in our office stated that you would not be charged for carpet cleaning. There was a flood in the unit and a professional cleaning/ restoration company was hired to do that work which you were not charged for. The rates charged by subcontractors are competitive rates and we believe the work done was necessary to restore the unit to the level at which it was rented to the tenant

We do everything we can to ensure that each tenant understands the terms of their lease when they sign. 

5/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My live-in boyfriend and I rented a property at *** ** *** ****** ** ****** *** ***** for a one year lease. We had no issues with Crystal Property except for the defunct dryer, which we settled with. We are very non-confrontational.As of last month, my boyfriend had a new job opportunity in Northeastern Colorado. We came to Crystal Property's office in Glenwood Springs and I asked to break the lease. They gave us a Early Move-Out form to sign and pay a $350 fee. We complied and signed. Unfortunately, we were in a hurry to move, so we didn't look through the details and it was not thoroughly explained to us.We moved out of the property on March 21st, 2014 and formally as of March 24th, 2014. We left the property in good condition and made our best efforts to leave the company as little work as possible. We received a bill for the rent, water, and gas for the next month (April). Unfortunately, I sent the bill early and they cashed the $920.I decided to bite the bullet, but realized quickly with the moving expenses and new rental contract that this was simply unaffordable. To my dismay, they have still not advertised the property and seem to be leaving the issue to us at over 100 miles away. We have tried our best to contact friends and family to take over our lease, but we are not in real estate and do not have the funds.I have contacted them many times on this and finally told them today that we cannot afford to pay two rents. We will either be homeless or destitute and I do not feel as if this is ethical. They are outright refusing to formally break the lease and we cannot afford this.

Desired Settlement: I would just like to break the lease formally and receive the $920 we paid for this month back, the money between March 24th and 31st we were absent from the property, as well as the $2000 we paid in the beginning. We do not live at the property anymore and would like to be treated fairly in this regard. I do not wish to escalate this further.

Business Response: Our office sincerely regrets any frustration that this process has caused you and your family.  It is Crystal Property Management's goal to ensure all Lessee's understand the lease and the procedure to break a lease to avoid confusion and frustration.  We do this in several different ways including having you sign the lease at our office, listening to a pre-recorded script which details the lease termination process and then again by having you sign the early move-out form. We feel that we have taken all steps possible so educate you throughout the process to ensure there is no confusion in situations such as this.  

Please allow for our office to explain the process below:
Per the lease:
a.   If the lease is terminated early, the Lessee will be responsible for advertising and
costs and a $300.00 fee to Crystal Property Management for showing the property
and expediting the paperwork necessary to obtain another tenant/lessee.  In the event one or more parties vacate and
the lease needs to be rewritten deleting a party the Lessee will be charged $50
payable to Crystal Property Management Company. 
If the lease needs to be rewritten for any reason, there will be a
charge to Lessee to CPM of $50.00.

The early move-out form you signed allowed our office permission to show the unit and sign a new lease if an applicant is found.  The early move-out form and process clearly outlines that you as the lessee are responsible for the rent and utilities until a new tenant is found.  The advertising of the unit is at your cost.  If you are unable to submit advertising please advise and we will begin posting free online advertising sites such as **********, *******, ****** and in the glenwood springs paper (at your cost).  

Please let our office know how we can assist further.  We are working diligently to re-rent your unit in the meantime.  The property manager, ***** ********, would be more than happy to discuss this further interactively to ensure we are all on the same page for next steps.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Crystal Property Management and Sales is outright lying and violating the terms of their own lease. We have been told multiple times that the property will be advertised "soon" and have not once been told by the staff that we were responsible for the advertisement. We are officially out of the property as of March 24th and the property is still not being advertised. They are taking advantage of our non-confrontational natures.

I will call again today and again be told that we are unable to break the lease. The calls related to this matter are as follows:

04-03-14 Called
at 12:30 to ask about why the property isn’t being advertised. Spoke with a
representative ***** and she said that the inspection would be completed today or
tomorrow before the advertisement procedures can begin. We were officially out
of the property on March 24, 2014. We properly left the property on March 21,
2014.

04-14-14 Calling
11 days later. The property is still not being advertised on the website. I
took a screenshot. I spoke ***** with after calling 3 times. I voiced my
concerns over the lack of advertisement and asked about my options for breaking
the lease formally. We cannot afford to pay two rents and will either be
homeless or in debt because of a property we don't live in anymore. I was told that the lease cannot be broken.

The lease agreement we signed, pertaining to the termination of the lease, is as follows (attached document):

"b. If the lease is terminated early, the Lessee will be responsible for advertising costs and a $300.00 fee to Crystal Property management for showing the property and expediting the paperwork necessary to obtain another tenant/lessee."

This outright states that the lease can indeed be broken and that we have already paid the $300.00 fee, plus a $50 fee for advertisement expenses. Crystal Property Management is pushing an unethical lease agreement that violates the initial lease agreement. 

When we arrived to break our lease (with the clear statement: "We are here to break our lease."), the Early Move-Out Form is the form that they gave us. By pushing an "Early Move-Out Form" that transfers these responsibilities onto us, they have violated our trust and their own lease agreement. We have done our part, paid our fees, and left the property in the best condition we could. We no longer live at the property and have followed their guidelines. It is time for them to do the same.

Regards,

***** *************

Business Response: The Early Move Out Form is a document that we use to allow for tenants to authorize our office to sign a new lease if a new tenant is found.  This prevents our office and the owner from being legally forced to involve an attorney and the court system to obtain possession of the unit if you fail to fulfill your lease term.  This form and/or fee in NO way releases you from your lease term.  This is clearly stated in the lease as well as on the early move out form as well as covered in detail during the lease signing.  The fee is to cover expenses in our showing a leased  property as we attempt to assist you.  The lease also states that if you violate your lease due to non payment you automatically forfeit your security deposit, which we are attempting to find a replacement tenant so that this does not occur.

I as the property manager replied to an email you sent outlining options for advertising that I recommended in which you failed to reply.

Our office is more than happy to assist in find a replacement tenant however the lease term and fulfillment is still your sole responsibility.

On a positive note -  our office has had leads this week and hope to find a replacement tenant shortly.  I would be more than happy to continue to provide you updates on the showings  by email if you prefer.  Please just let me know by email.

Please let me know how our can assist further in the interim.   

Best Regards,
***** ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Crystal Property Management & Sales
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart