This business is not BBB accredited.

Tom Ladd Plumbing & Heating Inc

Phone: (970) 686-7793 Fax: (970) 686-7754 207 4th St, Windsor, CO 80550

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Tom Ladd Plumbing & Heating Inc include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Tom Ladd Plumbing & Heating Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tom Ladd Plumbing & Heating Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 31, 1989 Business started: 06/01/1987 Business started locally: 06/01/1987 Business incorporated 01/02/2004 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Colorado Plumbing Board
1560 Broadway Ste 1500, Denver CO 80202
Phone Number: (303) 894-2300

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Tom Ladd, Owner Ms. Donna Ladd
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Ladd, Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors

Industry Tips
HVAC Contractors : Hot & Cold Tips

Additional Locations


    207 4th St

    Windsor, CO 80550 (970) 686-7793


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have made several requests for the manager/owner of this business to return my phone call to: a) ask why the job took 3x's as long as I was originally told and why the installers left such a mess, (my first request was made to his office mgr, on July 1), b) come to my home to discuss the issues and see for himself what was and wasn't done (I left a message on Sunday when the new hot water tank they installed appeared to be leaking and left another message during business hours today), c) discuss why I was billed a higher amount ($2500) than the firm, fixed price ($2100 max) the manager/owner quoted me . I would like to understand what my options are at this point and greatly appreciate any advice you can offer to resolve this matter. I feel they took advantage of me because I discovered our hot water tank was leaking on the day I was driving to the airport and had a friend at the house to let them do the job.

Desired Settlement: 1) Adjustment – I am not comfortable having this company return to my home (based on reviews I've read) and would rather pay another company to correct the sloppy work done by inexperienced installers. I will clean up the mess they left. 2) Explanation of charges – I requested a copy of the bill of materials as it appears the materials costs were increased to offset the increased time it took the installers.

8/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had scheduled Tom Ladd Plumbing and Heating to come to my house on April 23, 2014 to give me an estimate on a small plumbing job (rerouting two crossed water lines) in my home. The plumber who arrived at my home gave me a verbal estimate of "one to two hours plus materials" at a rate of "about 90 dollars an hour." Based on this verbal estimate, I gave him the go ahead to perform the job. The plumber and his assistant began the job, then all work stopped as they realized their can of compressed gas was empty. The assistant then left to have the can filled and was gone for approximately one hour. Once the plumbing job was done, they tested the faucets to confirm that hot and cold water were running properly. They could not get the hot water to run as the faucet was clogged with sediment from draining the hot water heater. After approximately 30 minutes of attempting to unclog the faucet, I sent them on their way and was able to finish the job myself within 10 minutes. Upon departing, I asked for a bill but was told that it would be sent to me. In all, the plumber and his assistant were at my home for 3 hours, 2 hours of which they were actually working. I expected to receive a bill in the neighborhood of $200.00 for the job. On May 23, I finally received a bill in the amount of $503.10 which included 3.5 hours labor at $89 for the plumber, 3.5 hours at $50 for his assistant, and $16.13 in materials and $0.47 tax. I immediately phoned the company, and was told that "the plumber shouldn't have given an estimate for that type of job" and "the bill includes travel time to and from the job." After 3 phone calls I was given an arbitrary adjustment down to $350.00 and was told "that's as low as we will go." I then submitted payment, along with a letter to the company, in the amount of $239.10 which reflects the estimate I was given (2.5 hours at $89.00 plus materials and tax). I continue to be billed for the remaining $110.90 by the company with threats of going to collection.

Desired Settlement: I feel that the payment I submitted fulfills my obligation to this company for the work performed. My payment includes the "travel time" above and beyond the time spent on the job.I also feel this company should consider it to be standard business practice to:1. Provide detailed, written estimates for all work performed. 2. Provide a bill for service upon completion of the job, not 30 days afterward.3. Base any adjustments to a bill on actual charges, not arbitrary number.

7/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was billed full price for work I had to redo because it was not to code. When I asked for a revised bill I was told the technicians performed the work as they were asked to so it was my fault, and not theirs for doing an installation that was not code compliant. This was an HVAC job being done with a building permit. I am the customer (Not a licensed HVAC technician) and wouldn't know the code, The reason I hired a licensed contractor was to do a job that would be acceptable to the inspector! I believe I should have been advised of ANY request that would not be code compliant, And I also expect no one would perform work that is not code compliant no matter what.

Desired Settlement: I was expecting to pay half the amount asked for, I firmly believe the technicians obviously did not know the code for the task at hand and after it was determined to have been done wrong blamed "me" the customer for it. I was always willing to take part of the responsibility and at least pay to cover some of their time, but in this situation the contractors decision to take none of the responsibility for doing work that wasn't even code compliant and charging me full price is not right. I believe it's always any licensed contractors responsibility to perform work that meets the current local building code for the job they have agreed to do and bill you for.

Consumer Response: ***** **** ******* ************************* *** ************************ ************************ ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** *** **** ********* *** **** ********


 Since filing this complaint I have been able to resolve the issue with the contractor. i would like to close or cancel complaint #********
Thank You