BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Northern Colorado Plumbing & Drain Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Northern Colorado Plumbing & Drain Inc

Phone: (970) 221-0872 Fax: (970) 221-0879 View Additional Phone Numbers 220 E Mulberry St Unit 6, Fort Collins, CO 80524 http://www.nocoplumbers.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Northern Colorado Plumbing & Drain Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Northern Colorado Plumbing & Drain Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Northern Colorado Plumbing & Drain Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 30, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1958 Business started locally: 01/01/1958 Business incorporated: 02/24/2006 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies
1560 Broadway, Suite 110, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us
Phone Number: (303) 894-7855
Fax Number: (303) 894-7885

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rod Henrichsen, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rod Henrichsen, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Plan Services Drain and Sewer Cleaners Sewer Companies Underground Utility Locators Water Heater Repair Stores Water Main Installation Companies Remodelers Basement - Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling Hydronic Heating Garbage Disposal Equipment Suppliers Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, and Supply Stores Water Heater Dealers Appliances - Installation Boiler Dealers Boiler Part Suppliers Pipe Cutting and Threading Equipment Suppliers Snow Melting System Providers Kitchen and Bath Remodelers Kitchen Remodeling Boiler Repair Cleaning Companies Contractor - Remodel & Repair Drainage Companies Sump Pump Contractors Excavating Contractors Pipe Thawing Services

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Northern Colorado Plumbing & Drain Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 220 E Mulberry St Unit 6

    Fort Collins, CO 80524 (970) 221-0872 (970) 443-3936

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (970) 443-3936(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On or around Dec.4, 2013 this company Northern CO Plumbing & Drain Service was recommended to my mother for an urgent plumbing issue. She had a person replace the bathroom vanity due to leaking around the sink faucets. Shortly after that was done it got extremely cold and the pipes froze causing one to burst and flooding her bathroom with around 2 inches of water. Northern CO Plumbing & Drain came into her home on an off hour emergency to stop the water and help get it up and running. Well, they apparently didn't get it totally fixed, said they had to go to town for parts would be back(never came back the same night). This was the boss *** who decided to take off. *** had my mother, who is an elderly, stressed and under duress person due to her health and her husband's health to sign a contract that was an outrageous amt. to repair not even knowing what all had to be done, looking into pricing or giving her an option of a second opinion. Eventually, his techs got her temporarily up and running, but had to put piping thru her hall, bedrooms, living room and kitchen for her to have running water. The company(including the boss ***) kept telling her they would be out a certain day, but never showed up. *** had her write a check out for $3779.00 and told her that it was a partial payment and she would have to pay another $2,000 making the total $5,779. I got a licensed inspector, talked to many other plumbers, got a second opinion and all said this company took advantage of my mother. ***(the boss) went on vacation the next day after he cashed my mother's check of $3,779, but he claims his vacation was already planned. Here is the boss leaving my elderly mother with an unfinished job of his. It took this company nearly 2 months to complete the job. *** lied to us about many things. The tubing thru the home was a hazard and the water stopped running causing her to move out for 3-4 days due to unsanitary conditions. ***** was the best tech and did everything to get the job finished up.

Desired Settlement: This company(including boss ***) will "NOT" be collecting anymore money from my elderly mother for a job that was overcharged and unfinished in a mannerly time. They will also send a copy of the invoice with a stamp of "PAID IN FULL", "NO FURTHER CHARGES." If we can not make this work for this elderly person, then the next step would be to hire a lawyer. I personally feel this man runs a shady company targeting elderly people.

Business Response: ******** *********
***** ******* * ************* ** ****** ***** * **** ******** ** ******* *********

Ms ******* is the daughter of Ms. ***** and resides in ****.  She was not fully informed of the job involvement, scope, and cost of work performed at her parent’s home in Colorado.
This began with a service call made by Ms ***** stating she had no water supply to the kitchen faucet.  Before work started – I advised ****** her water line was frozen would continue to occur throughout her mobile home as modular homes are poorly insulated and with record breaking temperatures - to eliminate the concern, the home needs:
o to be re-piped with  non-burst water supply lines above and below the home 
o a heat cord 
o pipe insulation needs to be attached to the lines exposed to the weather
Ms. ***** understood then agreed that this is the solution to prevent additional problems.  
We proceeded to unthaw the hot/cold lines that supplied the kitchen sink faucet.  After de-thawing the lines, we found the copper lines to be split.  We isolated both lines so they could not leak below the home.  I advised ******, we would return the following day and provide the cost for the complete re-pipe and start the work.   
That same evening, we received an “emergency” call that in another part of the home (the bathroom)  the water was flooding below the vanity.  She asked if we could return tonight to repair the problem and stop the flooding?  We did.  We restored the water supply and restoration by extracting the water from the flooring/carpet.  
I, then, wrote up the agreement that included the specifications/cost for the re-pipe that included the emergency service performed that evening.  ****** signed the agreement and provided a check deposit.  
We returned the following day, and restored the hot/cold water lines to the kitchen sink.   The complete re-pipe was to be performed in 2 days with 3 guys - however, it took us 2 ½ weeks.  The subzero weather kept us from completing the job in a timely manner however, the job was completed.  
****** phoned the following Saturday to thank the guys at NCPD for doing a nice job.  I said I was happy to know she was pleased and wanted to drop off a holiday basket for her and pickup the remaining balance the following Monday.  
At the time I visited Ms ***** – ****** was advised by ***** not to pay the remaining balance due to the weather delays and scheduling miscommunication…not to mention:  she added that a handyman and/or inspector in **** could do the work for a lesser amount.  
Later, ***** phoned and informed me to send a “paid in full” receipt and she would recommend us.
We want our customers more than happy.  We discounted Ms ******* bill $2,607.00 for the re-pipe and de-thawing/restoration process.      

I wish Ms. ******* would have called me direct with the cell phone number I provided - with your concerns.

Sincerely,
*** **********
Owner
Northern Colorado Plumbing & Drain Service

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was not given a bid on the repairs/replacement. I was asked to sign a statement that was incomplete/incorrect delivered by the manager. I called this company about a leaking toilet which caused ice to form through the ceiling of the garage below. Two young men came who did not seem to know what to do. They called the owner/manager who came, along with another fellow who later did some deconstruction to remove an elevated floor - $185. The toilet was removed and the floor taken out. I was not given a separate charge for the plumbing and the deconstruction. Just this one entry $298.00. Two different young men came to "replace the closet flange and closet bend. $183.00. There should be a separate charge for labor and supplies. Am I paying for two guys when one could do the job? The next note on the statement "opened the wall and shut house supply off in order to land supply line down and install new shut off valve." $137.00. ( The wall had been opened by the fellow that did the deconstruction, earlier.) I had decided to install floor tile in the bath room so this job was interrupted until later in February. So far I have received no idea of the cost of the work. I was feeling like this plumbing operation was not run well. In February, after the tile floor was complete, a young man and an older fellow came to install a new low flush toilet. This young fellow was in training and older fellow just watched and commented on his work. After they left, there was water on the floor around the toilet. I wiped it up but it continued so I called the office. They returned and corrected the problem. The older fellow said, "you will just have to jiggle the handle a little" Again, there were no details as to the the costs of supplies and separate labor charges. $398.00. ("One tech flat rate $120.00." was at the bottom of the statement) The next day, I was called to say the owner/manager wqs coming to check the work and present the bill. He decided to shorten the tube on the water supply. He presented me with a bill and an page of hand written notes that were hard to read. I was ask to sign this sheet which read: I HEREBY AUTHORIZE YOU TO PROCEEED WITH THE ABOVE WORK AT THE TOTAL FEE OF $1260. I was shocked at the price and poor bookkeeping. The start date was entered as 1/23/13. It was January 14th. This was an intimidating situation. As I am a small single woman and he is a big burly guy. Why did he choose to bring the bill and not mail it. Later, I found there to be water all over my downstairs bath floor. He had to go down there to shut of the water to replace the tube for the water supply. Evidently, he turned on the water in the sink to check that the water was turned off. Well, there was cloth in the sink. When he return and turned the water back on the sink had over flowed and there was a lot of water which he did not clean up. When I called the office to inquire about the mess. He did not apologize. He just said three was a rag in the sink and it caused the mess. I have sent a letter to the business. There has been so response so I leave it to the BBB. I do not think this is a good example of quality service. He seems to use untrained employees so he sends two when one should be enough if they were trained and licensed.

Desired Settlement: I have had plumbers replace several regular toilets with the low flush varieties, since I have rental properties. The only difference between this replacement and the others was the deconstruction of the raised floor (took about 45 minute) and the replacement of a 'broken flange and the closet bend portion". Since there were no supplies listed on the statement, one could guess they were not too expensive. I would suggest that the $320.00 was mostly labor. The changing the the water supply was not really necessary since none of the other jobs required it. I feel am due $450.00

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/05/13) */ from: ****** ****** <*****@gmail.com> to: Better Business Bureau <*****@wynco.bbb.org> date: Mon, May 13, 2013 at 10:31 AM subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case#XXXXXXXX(Ref#REDACT34*****@gmail.com33*****@gmail.com35REDACT) ****** ****** 10:31 AM (52 minutes ago) to me Marcy, I spoke with *** ****** around the middle of April concerning these issues. After speaking with ***, I agreed to refund her $500 for any problems or misunderstandings there might have been. She agreed to this and stated that she was satisfied with the settlement. She has been a long time customer and we did not want her to feel she couldn't trust us or our service. ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved