BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Brent's Plumbing & Heating?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Brent's Plumbing & Heating

Phone: (307) 635-4421 Fax: (307) 778-8990 605 Manor Ln, Cheyenne, WY 82009

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Brent's Plumbing & Heating meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Brent's Plumbing & Heating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Brent's Plumbing & Heating
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 05, 2001 Business started: 11/01/1997 Business started locally: 11/01/1997 Business incorporated: 11/01/1997 in WY
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

City of Cheyenne
2101 O'Neil Ave, Cheyenne WY 82001
http://www.cheyennecity.org/
Phone Number: (307) 637-6200

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brent Groesbeck, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brent Groesbeck, Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Heating Air Conditioning Suppliers Heating Contractors

Industry Tips
HVAC Contractors : Hot & Cold Tips

Additional Locations

  • 605 Manor Ln

    Cheyenne, WY 82009 (307) 635-4421

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******'s did not complete the work to the specifications and price we discussed during the quote. I was originally quoted $200 to $250 to run a 3/4 inch line from my furnace outside to a built in grill with an extra "T" to run to a future outdoor fire place (I would have to get my own permit for this price). On the day of the install the Tech's showed up an hour late. Told me the job would cost $100 more than I was quoted by ******. We called ****** to clarify the price, he said it would take 1-2 hours and that was the price for the bigger 3/4 inch line. I felt this was a bait and switch he said he was only willing to install a smaller line to the grill for $250. I did not want to pay the extra $100 for a bigger line and a stub out to a future outdoor fireplace. I told him I was willing to pay the original amount we agreed upon but to scale back the project to run a smaller line just to my built-in grill (This was because I had the permit with his company listed and the inspector was scheduled to come in an hour and I already took the afternoon off of work). The techs left to go get more supplies (came back 50 min later). They started to work and the inspector showed up to verify the work that should have already been completed. He witnessed me telling the tech I needed the shutoff valve brought out to under the grill so it would be accessible through the doors directly under the grill. The techs ran it to just outside the house inside the cabinet but not the additional 5 feet to get the valve under the grill. I called ****** and told him that is not what we discussed. His answer was "that is what you get for $250". He was not willing to come back out and put the valve where we originally discussed during the bid (the same spot I told the tech in person to put it) without charging me an additional fee. Additionally they did not caulk around the exterior opening, I asked ****** about it. He said "they installed a flange on the inside and it is to code". I am concerned about water coming into my house when it rains! The two techs were at my house a total of 45 min and ran 1/2 inch flexible line 15-20 feet. They did not complete the job as requested/agreed to during the quote.

Desired Settlement: I would like the job completed like we dicussed during the quote or a refund.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/03/19) */ March 16, 2013 Case # XXXXXXXX Dear ***** ***** @BBB, In regards to the work done for Mr. ****** Fri. Mar. 8, 2013 and Wed. Mar. 13, 2013: I went to Mr. ******'s home on Mar.Bth to give him an estimate on a 30-35 ft. gas line for his grill. Halfway through the estimate when i had given him the estimated amount of $250, he asked if he could run a fire pit from the same gas line, in addition to the original work requested and included in the estimate. I explained to him that the line would have to be changed to a more expensive Y. in. pipe per code, instead of the Yz in. diameter pipe I had included in the estimate amount. I also explained that there would be additional material (including on additional 5 ft. of pipe, a tee and a 2"''shut off valve) and time/labor costs involved to safely convert the line for dual use. I then told him that the adjusted estimate would be $250-$350 dollars depending on his final decision at the time of ervice. When my employees arrived on Mar.13th to install the line, he told them he had been quoted $200 for the /4 in. gas line and connections to both the grill and future fire pit. l had not quoted him $200 at any time. They called me and I reminded him that the revised estimate had been $250-$350 depending on his final requests. He told me that he did not want to pay an additional $100. I explained to him that if he wanted both the original and additional work done, the price would be the higher estimate of $350. He said he did not want to pay what the work would cost, so I instructed my employees to not go ahead with the work. Mr. ****** called back and insisted that we do the work for the price he wanted to pay, so in trying to meet his needs, I told him I would run the original 30-35 ft. Y in. gas line only, for the original estimate price of $250. He agreed. Additional time was then required for my employees to return to our shop to trade out materials. The line was not extended the additional 5 feet under the grill because Mr. ****** refused to pay the additional cost. The exterior opening was in a built in cabinet and is not exposed to the weather. We would have been happy to caulk it, even though it wasn't required, but he did not request caulking until after the job was complete and my employees had left. Theinspector signed off on the work that everything was done correctly and to code. The inspector also instructed Mr. ****** that he would need to install an access panel to be able to reach the gas shut off valve. Mr. ****** called me later that day and demanded that I return to complete all of his requests at no additional cost. I told him that he received $250 worth of work, and I would be happy to do the additional work if he was willing to pay the additional cost. He declined. In reviewing my records I have documented $105 in labor (which does not include the hour spent waiting for his decision), and $188 in materials, for a total cost of $293 which I am happy to provide copies of. Mr. ****** paid $250 on completion of the work. I feel his desired resolution is not honest or fair. We completed the original work he requested at the original estimated amount per his insistence. The final numbers reflect that he actually paid $43 less than the labor and materials cost our company. If you need further clarification and/or documentation please let us know. We would sincerely appreciate your assistance in trying to resolve this matter. Since Mr. ****** has $188 dollars in new materials and has received the labor and service agreed to, as verified by the city inspector, we are at a loss to suggest a solution unless he is willing to compromise. Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/03/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) In regards to ******'s plumbing response to my complaint: I would like to start by stating that his account is not totally accurate. My main issue is with the installation location of the valve on the exterior wall of my house. At no time during the bid or during any conversation with ****** or his techs did I approve or ask for the line to be terminated at the house. It was always suppose to be installed under the grill. The only other option discussed was making a "T" under the grill to run a stub out for a possible future fire pit. In the end, as ****** stated I choose not to go ahead with that option due to the increased cost I was quoted on the day of service. Below is a more accurate timeline of the day's events as verified by my cell phone records. We had an appointment set for 1 PM on TUESDAY March 12th. 12:50-- I missed a call from ******'s 1:06-- I called them back and found out they were running late. Around 1:55 the techs showed up and informed me they would be charging me $350 at the time of service. (this is not what I was quoted so I asked them to hang on while I called ******) 2:03-- I called ****** and we discussed the issue. I was surprised that it wasn't just a miss understanding with his technicians but that was the actual price he was going to charge for both the grill and fire pit. (call time 1 min 25 sec). 2:06--I called him back to see if we could work something out. (I had the permit with his company on it and the inspector was scheduled for 3:00 P.M) We agreed to running a smaller flexible line to only the grill for $250. (Call time 3min 40sec) Following the call his techs left my house and returned approximately 50 minutes later. Shortly after they started to work the inspector arrived. Since it was his last job for the day he said he would wait. While the techs were outside by the grill, I told them where I needed the valve installed and this conversation was witnessed by Mark from the Cheyenne building department. As the techs worked Mark informed me that I could do the final hook-up on my electrical and he would also inspect it that day. As I was working my electrical connection in the basement ******'s techs said they were done and asked for payment. I had my check book in my pocket so I wrote the check on the spot. Upon returning outside with the inspector, I noted the valve location was not in the right spot. I went to the front of the house and found out the techs had left. 3:43--I called his tech's and they told me to call ******. (call time 2min 1 sec) 3:51--I called ****** and let him know that the valve was not installed in the correct location and was not caulked. This is where the conversation became heated as he refused to install the valve where I had requested. (call time 5min 13Sec) As indicated by my phone records it did not take me an hour to decide to continue with the install. Rather, I waited an hour for them to show up and then they left for 50 minutes to get supplies. I do not accept the response from ******'s plumbing but at this point they have been paid in full. I have no other formal recourse other than filing this complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1