BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Bishop Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bishop Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 925-8610 Fax: (970) 920-3358 5080 County Road 154, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601 http://www.bishopplumbing247.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bishop Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bishop Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bishop Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 23, 2000 Business started: 01/01/2000 Business started locally: 01/01/2000 Business incorporated: 01/01/2000 in CO
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Colorado Plumbing Board
1560 Broadway Ste 1500, Denver CO 80202
www.dora.state.co.us/plumbing
Phone Number: (303) 894-2300

Business Management
Ms. Kristin Ferreira, Vice President Mr. Sam Harbottle, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kristin Ferreira, Vice President
Business Category

Plumbers Heating Air Conditioning Suppliers Water Conditioning Equipment Stores Water Treatment Equipment Companies Water Filtration & Purification Equipment Heating Contractors

Industry Tips
HVAC Contractors : Hot & Cold Tips

Additional Locations

  • 201 14th St Unit 121

    Glenwood Springs, CO 81601

  • 407 Abc Ste A

    Aspen, CO 81611

  • 5080 County Road 154

    Glenwood Springs, CO 81601

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/26/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called Bishop to replace hot water heater. Estimate was around $200.00 for replacement @ $110.00/hr. The bill ended up being close to $1,000.00. I was initially told that changing out our hot water heater would be around $200.00-$250.00. Unfortunately, the plumber twice ordered the wrong hot water heater and replaced an unnecessary part on the old hot water heater as well. When we received the invoice it was almost 5 times what they quoted. It seems we are being charged for our plumbers incompetence and the resulting time increase and as a result invoice increase. resulting in an exorbitant invoice amount. When I called to try to reconcile the invoice, the person in charge of billing blamed it on *****.

Desired Settlement: Complaint filed

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2012/11/14) */ On 10/29/12 the husband called and was concerned about the time we charged on our invoice for the installation of a water heater. He wanted us to check with our technician about the time spent at his home. We checked and confirmed with our technician that the time was correct. We also confirmed that time with our GPS system that is in all of our service vehicles and found it to be correct. On 10/31/12, we called the husband back and fully explained what our technician had said and what the GPS confirmed. He seemed happy with our explanation and agreed to pay half of the invoice right away, and the balance the first week of December. On 11/12/12, we received a call from the wife. She was expressed that she was upset about the bill. We explained to the wife that we had worked out the invoice and payment schedule with the husband. The wife said "she was there" and knew what had happened. We reviewed the conversation we had with her husband but she didn't want to consider that agreement at all. They were in need of a new water heater and wanted to purchase the item herself from *****. She is under the impression that our technician called ***** and gave them incorrect information; however, our technician maintains that he provided the correct info. In this case, ***** was not able to match the part number but still supplied a water heater that would not work in this home. On two occasions, the wife called us out to install the water heater she had purchased. On both occasions our technician determined that the water heater she had purchased was not the correct unit. Our technician then called our local supplier with the same part number we had given to *****, and our local supplier sold and provided the correct water heater to the wife, which our technician installed. Had the wife asked us to provide the water heater in the original call, we would have had the correct part, and the time spent on the job would have been a lot less. If our supplier had provided us with the wrong part we would have not charged the customer for the time to retrieve the correct water heater. However, being that we did not provide the water heater she was charged for our visits to her home to start the installation but instead found the unit was wrong. As far as a quote given, we do not have a quote in our system for this job. We do provide written quotes, but in this case we did not provide a quote. Typically a water heater installation will take 3-4 hours plus connections, so a quote of $200 does not make sense as our rates are $110 per hour. Lastly, our technician did make a repair on the water heater to see if it would work instead of the expense of a new water heater as she expressed to that she wanted to try and get more time out of the unit. When it did not hold, the next step was replacement.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1