Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Allen Service?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Allen Service

Phone: (970) 484-4841 Fax: (970) 484-4448 View Additional Phone Numbers 101 S Link Ln, Fort Collins, CO 80524 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.allenservice.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Allen Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Allen Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Allen Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 7
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1983 Business started: 08/01/1962 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Colorado Plumbing Board
1560 Broadway Ste 1500, Denver CO 80202
www.dora.state.co.us/plumbing
Phone Number: (303) 894-2300

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mike Allen, President Ms. Carrie Allen, HR Manager Mr. Jeff Allen, CEO Ms. Donna Hoppal, Controller Mr. Dave Johnson, VP-Service Mr. Todd Price, VP-Construction Mr. Kendall Schmidt, Purchasing Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Allen, President
Business Category

Plumbers Drain and Sewer Cleaners Sewer Companies Water Heater Repair Stores Heating Air Conditioning Geo Thermal Heating and Cooling Companies Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Thermostats Water Heaters - Dealers Energy Conservation Stores Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Duct Cleaning Companies Pump Repairmen Boiler Dealers Humidifier Suppliers Snow Melting System Providers Solar Energy Equipment Repair Companies Furnace Sales and Repair Services Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Drainage Companies Heat Pumps Heating Contractors Pipe Thawing Services

Alternate Business Names
Allen Plumbing & Heating Inc. Allen Plumbing & Mechanical
Industry Tips
HVAC Contractors : Hot & Cold Tips Shedding Light on Residential Solar Panels

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Allen Service has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 101 S Link Ln

    Fort Collins, CO 80524 (970) 484-4841

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I asked Allen Service to complete a yearly maintenance on my furnace since I had purchased a service agreement with them previously. When the service person went to my home, he stated that he found a faulty heat exchanger with carbon monoxide leakage. He condemned the unit and proceeded to shut power and gas off stating that it would have to be repaired before it could be used. Being that this was winter time, of course I would be required to have the problem fixed immediately. Not long after the repairman left my house, a salesperson called me in order to arrange a fix for the problem...several thousand dollars for a brand new furnace! Instead, I decided to get a second opinion and contacted another local heating company. This repairman did NOT find any leaks, citing 0 ppm of carbon monoxide detected. He mentioned that the heat exchanger did have some wear on it (14 years old) but that the furnace was fully functional. He turned the gas and power back on for me. We have CO detectors throughout the house and have not had any issues (this occurred mid-September). The second heating company told me that what happened to me is not uncommon from Allen Service. In fact, he typically receives 1-2 calls each week asking for a second opinion for the exact same reasons that I did - and he NEVER finds a problem with the furnaces! Instead, this is Allen's way of scaring the customer into purchasing something very expensive, and completely unnecessary! In addition, there were service/maintenance issues that the second company found, that should have been repaired by Allen! What was the point of the service agreement?!

Desired Settlement: 1. I would like the BBB to stop these unethical business practices. 2. I would like the money that I paid for a maintenance agreement to Allen Service back - since they didn't do what they were supposed to, and I will NEVER use this company again.

Consumer Response:

***** *** ******************* *** ********************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** *** **** ********* *** **** ******** 

Please note: I mistakenly used the incorrect address. The address of this home (where the issue occurred) is: **** ****** ***** ****** **** ******** ** *****

My home address is: **** ****** ******* ******** ** ***** (the above address is a rental home).



****** ******

Business Response:

***** **** ******* ****************** *** ************************ ************************ ***** **** *** *** **** ** ***** ** ******** ********* ****** ******** 

Dear *****,

Allen Service ownership and management has reviewed the paperwork and history with Mr. ******** service call. We find that this call was fully documented, including photographs (attached to this e-mail) which are time-stamped for 9/18/14, the date Mr. ****** mentions. We are also sending a copy of our site survey paperwork, which clearly shows that he was also given the option to repair…not just replace, as stated in the complaint. Mr. ****** not only received this full documentation about his situation, but also a visit from an Allen Supervisor for a second opinion and further follow-up information.

Mr. ******** complaint failed to mention that it was not only a cracked heat exchanger, but also a cracked inducer motor housing, both are problematic and can both be seen in attached pictures.

Mr. ******** states that his evaluation from another “local heating company”,  does mention the heat exchanger being “worn” and that the furnace is also 14 years old. Our question is “what testing methods did this company use to show that the cracked heat exchanger is not a safety issue”?  Again, this is never mentioned, but later mentions in the complaint that the other company did say that the furnace has both age and heat exchanger issues.

Mr. ****** mentions that we informed him that carbon monoxide was present…our documentation shows that we did not. However, we did inform him of the potential safety issues regarding carbon monoxide due to the condition of his equipment by both our service technician and supervisor.

We take safety issues in our customer’s homes very seriously, and a large amount of time was spent evaluating Mr. ******** heating system. Allen Service believes his situation was presented and documented accurately, and that this complaint should be dismissed, based on this documentation.

We also feel that Mr. ******** accusation regarding “Unethical business practices”, to attempt to sell him a furnace that he didn’t need, are simply unjust and inaccurate.  We understand that Mr. ****** did not come to this conclusion wholly on his own, but with the help of some inaccurate, exaggerated and defaming comments made from the opinions of a “local heating company”. So with that, we request the name and contact of this company, as we intend to pursue legal action against that company for defamation of character due to their alleged derogatory comments made to Mr. ****** regarding our business practices.

In conclusion, and as can been seen in the photos, cracks in the heat exchanger and inducer housing can cause serious safety issues. With that, we encourage Mr. ****** to get a third opinion from another well respected and ethical HVAC service company to help rectify the situation in his mind. We look forward to their findings.

Respectfully,
**** *******
Customer Service Manager
Allen Service Inc.
************

Attachments area
Preview attachment ****** Pics.msg

Binary File
****** Pics.msg

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

How many certified HVAC companies must I enlist to verify these faulty findings?!

i will not be using Allen for any further business and would like my maintance agreement payment returned to me in full. 
Regards,

****** ******

Business Response:

***** **** ******* ****************** *** *********** ******** *** *** **** * *** ******* **** *** ********* ********* ********************** ************************

date: Tue, Dec 23, 2014 at 10:11 AM

 Hi *****,

We have discussed Mr ******** response. If he will drop the complaint, we are more than willing to refund
his Maintenance Agreement payment. The choice is up to him.
Thank you for your cooperation.
 
Sincerely,
 
**** *******
Customer Service Manager
Allen Service Inc
************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ******

Consumer Response:

***** ****** ******************* *** ************************ ************************ ***** **** *** *** **** ** ***** ** ******** *** *** **** * *** ******* **** *** ********* ********* ********* 

I have not yet received a refund check from Allen Service. 

****** ******
************

Business Response:

***** **** ******* ****************** *** ************************ ************************ ***** **** *** *** **** ** ***** ** ******** ********* ********* ****** 

Hi Again *****,
There was some confusion on whether his refund would be a check or back to his credit card.
To move things along, I had a check issued, and put it in the mail myself today.
Thank you and sorry for the delay.

Sincerely,

**** *******
Call Center Manager
Allen Service Inc
970-494-7615

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ******

11/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: One of the service techs had a condescending bordering on rude demeanor when he asked why they were coming out a week later on a problem that was noticed a week earlier & why was I just calling about this problem. When I explained I had called a week before & was told no one was available to come out until a week later. When I made the appointment on the phone I was transferred to a couple of different women until one was able to figure out a time someone could come out & see what the problem was...at no time did any of these women indicate that there would be a fee to have someone come out-quite the contrary-I was informed that I would not be charged nor would any work be done w/o my consent. When I called to speak to the service manager ****, he immediately went into why they were not at fault before I even had a chance to explain why I was calling. As I tried to explain what my issue was he kept interrupting me to say none of his employees were at fault...I'm not sure how or why he could state this when he never gave me the opportunity to truly state why I was calling. His attitude was unnecessary not to mention disappointing! And because of his attitude & constant interruptions nothing was resolved.

Desired Settlement: I just want to make sure other customers are not treated with such disrespect in the future.

Business Response:

***** **** ******* ****************** *** ************************ ************************ ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** ********* ********* 

Dear *****,
I wanted to get back to you immediately, as I spoke to Ms. ***** personally.
She was a very rude individual who actually has never paid her outstanding
invoice, even though she agreed to it with a signature. Although we were
still owed money by her, I attempted to offer her, a cancellation of that
bill, (even though her service issue was not related to any work we previously did)
but she wouldn’t give me an opportunity to even speak to her, and actually
hung up on me during the conversation.
So in conclusion: She refused to pay when she agreed to, wouldn’t listen to
my offer to cancel that bill, agreed that the service call wasn’t related to
previous work, and hung up on me.
All things considered, I don’t believe I could offer anything more to make
Ms. ***** happy, and we still have an open offer for her.
Thank you for your assistance on this matter.

Sincerely,

**** *******
Call Center Manager
Allen Service Inc
************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I can't honestly say that this response is satisfactory-I didn't realize an apology would be such a difficult resolution.  It has taken me a little while to respond frankly because I just didn't know what to say about Mr. *******'s response, except that I feel for him. 
His statement regarding a refusal on my part to pay is incorrect.  If it was a matter of me not wanting to pay a bill, then I would have asked for that to be my desired outcome. 
I am saddened by Mr. *******'s difficulty in offering an apology and therefore, I guess I am left to take his offer to cancel the $49.00 bill.
I appreciate the BBB's time and energy spent on this complaint-thank you!

Regards,

******** *****

3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Since 12/24/13 our boiler (allen service installed) has been down. We have taken all measures in trying to get it resolved. Allen responded with a reponse stating it had been weather related. We contacted multiple other contractors and our insurance agent to see what the cause of the defect. Everyone stated it wasnt weather related and it was a faulty installation. The insurance company hired a third party engineering firm to write a detailed report prooving this. All party's with exception of Allen has agreed upon cause. Allen has been aware of this situation and has the engineered report and has not reponded after multiple calls to supervisor"s phone with voicemails. We have used there service for over 20 years and we are extremely dissapointed in there dealings with this situation. As a family we are concerned for our health and well being. The boiler has extremly high carbon monoxide output numbers (2 children and 2 adults with in a small area) We have experienced pnemonia and acute bronchitus over the last month. The months of Jan and Feb have been extremely cold and have caused us serious inconvenience due to lack of heat and hot water.

Desired Settlement: Due to the initial investment and report stating inaccurate installation of boiler. We want Allen Service to back up there reputation and follow through with replacement or fixing of the problem correctly per engineered specs. We expect a response quickly

Business Response: ***** **** ******* **************** *** ***** ***** ********************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** *** ********* ******** ***********

Hi *****,
Per our Service Manager, **** ******, on 2/24/14, an agreement has been made with the ************. This agreement, is to install
a new boiler on or around 3/3/14, and to compensate for their concerns, the boiler will be at no charge. Further details on the installation
will be detailed in the installation contract that the ************ will review, and have to sign off on, to begin and complete the boiler
installation.
Based on this agreement, we at Allen Service, consider the matter closed. Any questions can be addressed to **** ****** at ************ ** ******************
 
Sincerely,
 
**** *******
Customer Service Manager
Allen Service Inc
************

10/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I called to ask for a routine furnace cleaning, the girl who answered the phone said that the one-inch filters usually provided were included but that "they have other sizes on the truck." When I asked if other sizes were included, she did not make it clear to me that there would be an extra charge, in this case over $40.00. I am very upset to learn that this company, which we thought to be one of the better ones in our area, does not make their charges clear when services are discussed before appearing at one's home. When I called, I made sure the girl understood that our furnace requires a 20X25X5 filter and even gave her the brand we currently have, although I said that other brands would be okay.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund . . . an an apology wouldn't be out of line.

Business Response:

Dear *****,

I read Mr ******** complaint, and was very surprised initially, since he never gave me the opportunity to discuss the matter

with him. I address all complaints and concerns, and like to do so personally, since it is easier to take care of.

In this case, due to probable miscommunication or misunderstanding, I am more than willing to send Mr ****** his check

back, and let his furnace check and service be on us, including a free filter. His satisfaction is more important. If this

is satisfactory to Mr. ******, the check will be returned immediately. Thanks!

With regard,

 

**** *******

Customer Service Manager

Allen Service Inc

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:
 who
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   Your serviceman, *****, noted that we will soon need a new water heater.  I plan to contact you about this matter after checking to see if your price is competitive.  ***** seemed to think it would be about $1,800.00, but this may have been merely an estimate.  We would need to know a total, "out-the-door" price in the event we decide to use your company. 

Thanks for your understanding concerning the matter of the filter.  Because I had talked with other companies who stated up-front that all filters (other than one inch) were extra, I was very aware that this might be an issue by the time I talked with someone at your firm on the phone.  I asked about that matter and gave the lady the dimensions of our filter at that time. 

Regards,

****** ******

7/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After service, I desired a breakdown of the cost of service which, upon investigation, was exorbitant. On April 12th, 2013 representatives from Allen visited our home as per our request for service. One of our toilets had been leaking around the wax ring and we sought to have that issue addressed as well as adding a main shut off valve to our plumbing system. Prior to the visit, I had done no research regarding the possible price of this service or of a toilet replacement. After examining our problem (without yet pulling the toilet) ****** ****** (the service tech) pulled together a list of alternatives for addressing the work that ranged from $280 (to simply reset the toilet and add the shut-off valve) to over $2000 to replace both of our toilets with **** premium toilets and add the shut-off valve. The different options included replacement of one or both toilets with either of two models of toilet. The second toilet was referred to as a "standard" toilet. All of these prices could then be discounted if we signed up for an annual service plan. The **** brand was emphasized as the right one for our family as it alone had a glazed trapway and state-of-the-art flushing technology. Prior to any work being done (including pulling the toilet to examine the actual problem) we were told we would need to decide which service we would choose. It was explained to us that Allen did not bill according to "time and materials" but instead they used a no haggle flat-rate price system. We understood that and assumed that their pricing may be slightly more expensive but reasonable. After discussion with my wife, we chose to replace both of our toilets with "standard" toilets. After agreeing to the annual service plan, the discounted price to replace the two toilets and add a shut-off valve was $1541. Following the service, I checked into a possible rebate from the City of Fort Collins for replacing our 3.5 gpf toilets with a 1.6gpf toilet. The rebate required documentation of the toilet model (of which we had none) and other proof of the switch. This investigation also led me to do some research regarding the cost service we received. This led me to contact the customer service department of Allen to get two things: 1) documentation of the replacement that would satisfy the city and 2) an explanation of the cost breakdown of the service (mostly to set my conscience at ease that we had not been radically overcharged). After several back-and-forth emails that dodged the request, I finally received only a specification sheet of the toilets that we had purchased. The toilets were made by ****** and the make was "The ***** (17" High, elongated bowl)." Not only was this not adequate documentation of our replacement (it was only a spec sheet), the specifications noted that these toilets had a glazed trapway and our service man distinctly told use that they did not (it was one of the reasons he felt we should purchase the **** model). The ***** retails for $325 at ********* website *************************************************** So the parts would have been, at most, $750 + the price of a valve. I still don't understand where the remaining nearly $750 went in this installation (which took about 5 hours, with a lunch). My biggest desire is that, if there is exorbitant pricing here or deceptive practices, that they are stopped. I recognize that I should not have trusted their word but done my own research so I am not looking for any monetary compensation (though the price is hard to handle).

Desired Settlement: The settlement I seek is that I get better paperwork to help me file for the City of Fort Collins rebate (http://www.fcgov.com/utilities/residential/conserve/water-efficiency/toilet-rebates) and that I get either some sense of the cost breakdown of the service or a refund to bring the cost to a reasonable fair-market value for the service.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/15) */ May 14, 2013 Better Business Bureau Dispute Resolution Department Attn: ***** ***** 8020 S County Road 5, Suite 100 Fort Collins, CO 80528 ******@wynco.bbb.org RE: Complaint Report Case #XXXXXXXX Dear *****: On April 12th, 2013, our technician was sent to the home of Mr ** *******, on **** ****** *** This was in response to a leaking toilet. The technician recorded in his paperwork, that the toilet had been leaking for some time, and that the customer wanted a new shut off valve as well. Our technician provided 6 different options for the customer to choose from. Mr and Mrs *******, both chose the option of having 2 comfort height, ****** toilets, with all complete components, and a new, main shut off valve. Both customers signed off approval of pricing and work, with no issues brought up to the technician. 3 days later, on April 15th, Mr ******* e-mailed me, saying he had questions regarding the work done. The technician gave him a call same day, but reported that the customer had a pricing issue (after the work was completed) and wanted more info on the toilets, to use for the City of Ft Collins rebate. I contacted Mr ******* by e mail on the 16th, to confirm exactly, what info he required. He had asked for a job breakdown of some kind, but was not specific. I asked what type of breakdown he needed, and mentioned that we are a flat rate pricing company, and not time and material. He did not respond until April 24th (I have the e mail records of this) at that time he was more specific. At his request, I sent a ****** line sheet with the info requested. Mr *******, at this time, admitted he had a price issue with the job done, even though had had authorized the pricing and the work. Again, I informed him that we are not a time and material company, and price by the job (flat rate) which he approved. Sincerely, ***** ******* Customer Service Manager Allen Service Inc. XXX-XXX-XXXX ****@allenph.com Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/05/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) To whom it may concern, Prior to this filing, I rece***d similar responses to the one dated May 14th addressing this complaint. It is the nature of that response that led to this complaint. My original problem was that the invoice for the work was insufficient for applying for the Fort Collins rebate for replacing 3.5gpf toilets with a low flow toilet. (Invoice can be found here: *******************************************************************) A link to the city website describing the requirements for the rebate was included in my correspondence with *****. I simply needed paperwork that had enough detail to verify that this replacement had been made. What I have rece***d from ***** Service is simply a specification sheet for the installed toilets. The response was not helpful. The subsequent problem was that, after the service and while investigating toilet replacement costs, I discovered that the total cost of the work I had rece***d was high (see ************************************************************ ). This concerned me and I wanted to know the details of the charge. Along with the two toilets, there was also a shut-off valve installation. What was the cost of the shut-off valve installation? How much were the toilets? If ***** Service is a flat service company and the cost cannot be broken into time and materials, what then is the flat-rate structure for the different services? What is the flat-rate for a premium toilet replacement versus a standard toilet replacement? When the costs were explained to me, several options were written down on a piece of paper (************************************************************************). How am I to know that these costs actually represent the official flat-rate ***** structure of the company? I'm simply looking for any explanation of the costs that will ease my sense of being overcharged. ***** Service has a customer who feels overcharged and their customer service department has done nothing to help that customer feel at ease about the charges. In fact, they have done quite the opposite and shifted the blame back on the customer who has concerns "even though had had authorized the pricing and the work." ***** Service has my money. It is clear that regardless of the actual value of the work (whatever that might be) that I should not expect any portion of that to return. What ***** Service does not have is my trust. A little less defens*** customer service may have prevented that. If this response is the only thing I can expect from *****, I am left to conclude that the exchange of money for trust is one they are willing to make. Sincerely, ***** ******* Consumer Response /* (-5, 12, 2013/05/24) */ from: ***** ******* <********@**********.com> to: ******@wynco.bbb.org date: Fri, May 24, 2013 at 11:18 AM subject: Fwd: ************** ***** ******* <********@**********.com> 11:18 AM (46 minutes ago) to me Images are not displayed. Display images below - Always display images from ********@**********.com Ms. *****, The email thread for complaint case #: ******** (dealing with ***** Service Inc in Fort Collins, CO) is below. I am also sending another email that I rece***d from them during my inquiries. Thank you so much for your assistance in the matter. I trust the BBB will bring a resolution in a fair and equitable manner. Grace and peace, Begin forwarded message: From: **** ******* <****@allenph.com> Date: April 24, 2013 12:03:52 PM MDT To: '***** *******' <********@**********.com> Subject: RE: ************** Hi *****, I will look into the specs for your toilets, to get the info for you. Again, I was not clear on what type of breakdown you are looking for, (other than how it was separated on the invoice) if it is a parts, labor, etc. breakdown you are looking for, we are not a time and material company, we are flat rate, one job one *****, so we don't breakdown jobs this way, as stated on the back of the invoice. From: ***** ******* (mailto:********@**********.com) Sent: Wednesday, April 24, XXXX XX:XX AM To: **** ******* Subject: Re: ************** ****, Just a quick check-in to see if I can get the following: 1) something in paper that shows the model number and specs on our new toilets and that they replaced our 3.5 gpf toilets (for the City rebate) and 2) something that helps me see the ***** breakdown for the services at our home. Thank you, ***** ============================== ****, I understand that. My investigation began when I started pursuing the City of Fort Collins rebate. They need verification of some specifics (model number, gpf, etc). When I looked through my materials, I didn't find any specific information - so I contacted you. ****** did contact us this morning with a model name but that still doesn't help. I need something in paper. The difficulty I'm having with this request has caused me to look into the pricing. Unfortunately that hasn't helped my sense of peace about the cost of the work. There are several ****** ****** (this is the model info we rece***d from ******) out there and, the best I can tell, they range from $290 - $325 retail. It would help me feel better to understand where the rest of the $1541 went (knowing, of course, that some of it went to add a shut-off valve). I recognize your no haggle policy and respect it. It is my fault that I didn't do more research prior to getting the work done (I tend to be fairly trusting of professionals - especially in areas I am not educated). If ***** is simply more expens***, that's fine. The problem that I am having, after looking into things, is that the ***** seems exorbitant. This back and forth reinforces my unease. I hope that makes sense. Thanks for your time, On Apr 16, 2013, at 1:09 PM, **** ******* wrote: Hi *****, I'm not sure exactly what type of breakdown you need, (if it was beyond what ****** could g*** you) If you are looking for a time and material breakdown, we don't ***** jobs that way, we are a flat rate pricing company and have been for about 13 years. Unlike a time and material company, where the ***** goes up as time increases on the job, we g*** a flat rate ***** that doesn't change as the job moves forward. The work also has to be pre authorized and signed for by the customer, or we will not proceed. I hope that helps. From: ***** ******* (mailto:********@**********.com) Sent: Tuesday, April 16, XXXX XX:XX AM To: **** ******* Subject: Re: ************** ****, ****** called this morning and said he doesn't have an itemized billing but that you might. Could you help me get this? On Apr 15, 2013, at 10:23 AM, **** ******* wrote: I'm being told ****** ****** was your tech. He is off today but I will have him contact you regarding your questions. Thanks! From: ***** ******* (mailto:********@**********.com) Sent: Monday, April 15, XXXX XX:XX AM To: **** ******* Subject: Re: ************** Also, We are looking into this rebate with the city: http://www.fcgov.com/utilities/residential/conserve/water-efficiency/toilet-rebates It looks like we may need some paperwork verifying the switch in toilets and that our old toilets were properly disposed of. Could you help me with that? Grace and peace, ***** twitter.com/************ On Apr 15, 2013, at 9:35 AM, **** ******* <****@allenph.com> wrote: Hi *****, Thank you for your e mail. Since the technician that was at your home, has the details, I will have him contact you as soon as possible. Thank you again for the inquiry. Sincerely, **** ******* Customer Service Manager ***** Service Inc To Whom It May Concern, Yesterday, ***** replaced two toilets and installed a shut-off valve in my home at ***************** (XXXXX). When I arr***d home after the repairs, I did not find a detailed billing statement. The total bill was $1541 and I would like to get a better sense of the breakdown between toilets, toilet removal, valve and labor. Would that be possible? Consumer Response /* (-5, 13, 2013/05/24) */ from: ***** ******* <********@**********.com> to: ******@wynco.bbb.org date: Fri, May 24, 2013 at 11:19 AM subject: Fwd: ****** water closet spec sheet ***** ******* <********@**********.com> 11:19 AM (49 minutes ago) to me Ms. *****, Here is the second email I reference earlier. Thank you, Begin forwarded message: From: ****** ****** <******@allenph.com> Date: April 24, 2013 3:31:10 PM MDT To: "'********@**********.com'" <********@**********.com> Subject: ****** water closet spec sheet Hello *****, Please find attached the spec sheet for the ****** ***** water closet as requested. Thank you for your time. Kind regards, ****** CSR, ***** Service XXX-XXX-XXXX 2 attachments - Download all attachments Consumer Response /* (3000, 16, 2013/06/20) */ from: ***** ******* <********@**********.com> to: ***** ***** <******@wynco.bbb.org> date: Wed, Jun 19, 2013 at 9:26 AM subject: Re: Dispute Review Committee (DRC) requests additional information ***** ******* 9:26 AM (23 hours ago) to me Ms. *****, Thanks so much for the consideration in this matter. We have not rece***d the rebate from the city. The City of Fort Collins website (www.fcgov.com/utilities/residential/conserve/water-efficiency/toilet-rebates) lists the following requirements: Must be replacing existing toilets; new homes and new construction not eligible Copy of receipt must include model number, purchase ***** and date of purchase Recycling must be verified on application or by voucher Subject to available funding Grace and peace, ***** ******* twitter.com/************ Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2013/07/09) */ from: ****** ****** <******@allenph.com> to: "******@wynco.bbb.org" <******@wynco.bbb.org> date: Tue, Jul 9, 2013 at 3:53 PM subject: *******; **** ******* ***** *****, Please find attached the copy of the invoice for work done which has listed the model numbers of the water closets installed and the information from the City of Fort Collins website for the rebate program on low flush water closets. Upon review should there be any further questions, **** ******* can be reached at his direct line XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank you for your time. Kind regards, ****** ***** Service, CSR XXX-XXX-XXXX Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2013/07/09) */ **** ******* 1:27 PM (2 hours ago) to me, **** Hi *****, Hey, new development. I was putting together the info we discussed, when it occurred to me, the reason why Mr ******* didn't rece*** a receipt for the recycling. Per City of Ft Collins requirements, it is the responsibility of the homeowner to take the old toilets (minus the interior parts) to one of two recycling centers. They do not allow the contractor to do this. I followed up with our fixture rebate girl, ****** ******, and she informed me that Mr ******* was notified of this by her, and yet he had them disposed of by ***** Service. I don't believe poor planning on his part, (by Mr ******* wanting us to attempt to recycle the fixtures) is our fault. I will send you a scan of the City of Ft Collins regulations and the invoice receipt with the model numbers. Thank you in advance! Sincerely, **** ******* Customer Service Manager ***** Service Inc XXX-XXX-XXXX

10/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service