BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Action Plumbing & Heating Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Action Plumbing & Heating Inc

Phone: (970) 669-6093 Fax: (970) 203-9060 201 12th St SW, Loveland, CO 80537 http://www.actionplumbingandheating.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Action Plumbing & Heating Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Action Plumbing & Heating Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Action Plumbing & Heating Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 02, 1997 Business started: 11/17/1993 Business started locally: 11/17/1993
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Colorado Plumbing Board
1560 Broadway Ste 1500, Denver CO 80202
www.dora.state.co.us/plumbing
Phone Number: (303) 894-2300

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dick Zastrow, President Ms. Stephanie Sherwood, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dick Zastrow, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Plan Services Drain and Sewer Cleaners Water Heater Repair Stores Remodelers Basement - Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling Hydronic Heating Garbage Disposal Equipment Suppliers Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, and Supply Stores Water Heater Dealers Water Heater - Tankless Whirlpool Bath Equipment Suppliers Energy Conservation Stores Boiler Dealers Heating Equipment Suppliers Snow Melting System Providers Solar Energy Equipment Companies Water Heater Part Suppliers Sauna Equipment Suppliers Kitchen and Bath Remodelers Kitchen Remodeling Boiler Repair Cleaning Companies Contractor - Remodel & Repair Sump Pump Contractors Heat Pump Suppliers Heating Contractors Mechanical Contractors Pipe Thawing Services

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor

Additional Locations

  • 201 12th St SW

    Loveland, CO 80537 (970) 669-6093

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company sent a tech who created a problem that did not exist prior to his actions. Did not inform me that this would nullify the product warranty. I received your Invoice# XXXXX, dated 1/14/13, for service done on 1/11/13. I will not be paying this invoice for the following reasons: First, your company failed to properly inform me, both when I called and when the technician arrived, that having anybody other than a Rinnai authorized and certified technician perform any service on the Rinnai tankless water heater would nullify the remaining warranty. Second, since the technician did not follow correct professional, ethical practices and inform me about the warranty, and proceeded to work on the Rinnai tankless water heater, the action that he took created a new problem (the "funny noise" indicated on the invoice) that did not exist prior to his taking action. As a result, I have now had a Rinnai authorized and certified technician service the water heater, at a cost of $250, and he does not know what is causing the "funny noise" that was not an issue prior to the action that was taken by the technician from Action Plumbing and Heating Inc. I am sending a copy of this letter to the Colorado BBB. Your company needs to inform potential customers of the warranty compliance that can be nullified by your company providing service on equipment prior to doing anything. This is an ethical obligation as well as a good business practice.

Desired Settlement: The $88.00 invoice that was sent should be voided and no charge for this.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/01/23) */ From: ****** (mailto:*****@qwestoffice.net) Sent: Tuesday, January 22, 2013 11:32 AM To: *****@wynco.bbb.org Subject: Case #XXXXXXXX Good morning *****, Attached is our response to claim #XXXXXXXX from Ms. ****** ******. She is wanting us to void out our invoice for the work that we did. We believe it is a VERY valid bill and that all of her claims are false. If this is most important for her, we can void out that invoice but at this point we feel she is falsifying the information to avoid paying the bill. Let us know what you believe is to be in the best interest of taking care of this situation. I am attaching the Rinnai warranty showing that we are indeed qualified in handling this kind of service call. We also contacted their Representative in verifying our diagnosis while at the home. Our technician had been to Rinnai training several years ago, however we don't do a lot of service on Rinnai's as we do not install them as we feel it is an inferior product and have found that they are very problematic. Thus our Technician's call to their Representative to qualify our findings. She did not call us at any time to verify the information that she was claiming in her dispute. If she had done so, she could have avoided the $250.00 charge that she incurred. Let us know if you have further questions. Thank you! ****** ****** January 22, 2013 Better Business Bureau ***** ***** RE: Case ID: XXXXXXXX Dear *****, We have received the details of the complaint that ******* ****** filed against us. We were called to ************************** as their Rinnai tankless water heater was continuing to run hot and cold. She would re-set it and it would work. It was not working at the time. We did not install the water heater originally. We sent one or our licensed technicians, who has over 12 years' experience, to look at it. He had training several years ago with a Rinnai Representative . He arrived at the home and went through the diagnosis process. After the water heater would run for a minute it would kick off with a #10 error code which is a flue blockage/combustion issue. He called a Representative for Rinnai and went over the issues that we saw, to confirm our findings. He found that the unit was not set up for high altitude operation when it was originally installed. Again through the Rinnai's Representative's guidance, he adjusted the dip switches in the unit and it ran better. We found that it made a funny noise when going to high fire. It was not running at all when he arrived so he didn't know if it made a funny noise before we arrived or not. ****** was not there at the time and our Technician spoke with her parents who were there. He asked them to call us if it continued to give them problems and that we would check the gas and combustion with a manometer. He did not have a manometer on his truck at that time as it is a delicate instrument and we do not carry it with us at all times. The Technician was doing another call in ******** and was asked to do this call quickly as they had no hot water. We did not hear back from them and assumed everything was fine. We warranty our work for a year. If we would have been called to work on the above work because of continued problems they would have been charged only for additional parts that may have been needed. Certainly not $250.00 charged by the other company that was called after we had been there. In response to the nullification of any warranty, attached is the Rinnai warranty. The warranty states You must contact a licensed professional for the repair of a product under this limited warranty. " Our technician is a licensed professional. We do not know why ****** was given erroneous information on the warranty. We work very hard to make sure we are providing the best service possible to our customers. We did not receive any calls from ****** regarding questions about this call. In doing so this would have avoided all of the issues that she had concerns about. Our Technician had been to Rinnai training and he is a licensed professional and has over 12 years' experience as a Plumber. He is qualified to make these types of calls. Sincerely, **** ******, President Action Plumbing and Heating Inc. Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/01/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I believe the response indicates the company will void the invoice, which I agree with and accept. However, I do not accept their claims that I am intentionally falsifying my statements or that they are a Rinnai authorized service provider because they are not listed on the Rinnai website as authorized service providers. That is why I did not contact them again when the noise, which was NOT present prior to the Action Plumbing technician making adjustments to the water heater, continued. From the information I had from Rinnai, they were not approved and therefore had already nullified the warranty on the water heater by doing the work they had. I also did not feel confident that the technician knew what he was doing since whatever he did created a new issue. I accept the voiding of their invoice, however I want to make clear that I am not falsifying any of the other facts and details related to this complaint, based on the information that I had from Rinnai about the warranty and Action Plumbings qualifications to service the water heater under the warranty. Please confirm that the invoice is voided and no payment is due and that the business is aware that the noise referred to in their report was NOT present before their technician worked on the water heater, the only problem prior to that was the water going cold. Thank you ****** ****** Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/02/01) */ Better Business Bureau Attn: ***** ***** RE: Case ID: XXXXXXXX Dear *****, Following is our response to ****** ******'s response to the BBB on 1-24-13: We have contacted our Representative for Rinnai, ********** of ******** Winnelson regarding warranties and certifications (we can provide a phone number if necessary). As a Representative for Rinnai, Ed has the documentation that shows several of our employees have been certified with Rinnai for installations and for service. The technician that went out on the ****** call was one of them. We cannot address why our company is not on their website for being able to service their equipment. We do not purchase any Rinnai products and we are assuming that because we choose to not to do business with them, they do not list us on their website. Again, we are certified for installation and for service. As far as the invoice being voided, we have done so. However we feel that we did what we were asked to do when we went out on the call and that there was value in our being there. We were called out because they were not getting consistent hot water and the water heater was not on when we arrived at the call. We found that the water heater was installed incorrectly and we fixed that. We could not confirm if a noise was there or not as again, the water heater was down when we arrived. Our technician also told her parents that the noise could possibly be caused because of gas pressure. We needed another piece of equipment that we typically don't carry on our trucks because it is fragile. Our technician was already on another call in ******** and as we felt their call was urgent, he did not come back to our office for the equipment as he did not know if he would need it. He told her parents to call us if the noise continued and we would be back. In talking with our Rinnai Representative he verified that any work that we would have done on that water heater would not have been voided as we are certified. We and the Representative for Rinnai are most interested in knowing who gave ****** the false information. We don't even know if they resolved the problem. What did they do for the $250.00? Our understanding is that she still has the noise. We would have liked the opportunity to come back and take care of the problem. We feel that ******'s anger is misdirected at us. We feel that this complaint if unwarranted. We should have been given the opportunity to resolve the problem instead of her spending money on someone else needlessly. We have voided the invoice even though we feel that there was value in what we did as they had consistent hot water when we left. We had also asked them to call us if they continued to have problems. Sincerely, ****** ****** Office Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1