Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

College Pro Painters Ltd

Phone: (800) 327-2468 Please call or email for service, Fort Collins, CO 80525 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.collegepro.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers painting and pressure washing.  College students are the employees of this company. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that College Pro Painters Ltd meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for College Pro Painters Ltd include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on College Pro Painters Ltd
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 2011 Business started: 04/01/1992 in CO Business started locally: 08/01/2011
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Alex Calof, Vice President Mr. Scott A. Shaw, Regional Business Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Alex Calof, Vice President
Customer Contact: Mr. Scott A. Shaw, Regional Business Manager
Business Category

Painters Painters - Commercial or Residential Pressure Washers Painting and Wall Covering Contractors (NAICS: 238320)

Service Area
Northern Colorado / Wyoming
Industry Tips
Tips for Getting a Professional Paint Job Watch Out for These Red Flags

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

College Pro Painters Ltd has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • Please call or email for service

    Fort Collins, CO 80525

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid for College Pro Painters to paint the exterior of my home. The job was done horribly and it took 2 weeks to complete. The contract stated power wash yet I do not have any proof that was actually done. Peeling, cracking paint was still on the eves, spider webs were still on the downstairs back of house under the deck. They also stated that ALL holes and cracks would be caulked. That also did not happen until after the "first" coat of paint was put on and I stated that I could still see the holes and cracks and told them they needed to do that. There are still many holes that are not filled but yet the job is done. Scraping of paint chips, loose paint and cracking was also to be removed prior to painting. Again, after the "first" coat of paint, I had to tell them to scrap the paint on the soffit pieces. I paid for a two coat paint job. There are still a few areas where the chipped, peeling paint is just painted over. There were numerous places where you could still see the original paint thru the "second coat" of the paint. I pointed that out and they stated they would "touch it up". They removed all the downspouts but only painted the fronts of them and then put them back up. I also brought this up and to a degree, they did fix part of them but not all as they only painted what they could reach as the downspouts where already back up. There was an area that needed to be repaired in the soffit and trim. The soffit was fixed but the trim was not and it was not even sanded or scrapped. It was painted right over with all the loose and rotten wood sticking out. After doing a walk thru on pretty much a daily basis, they still were unable to complete all the fixes. I happened to get on a ladder in the front of the house and noticed most of the front part of the house above the garage was still showing thru with the old paint. I painted this myself at this point as I had already signed off on the job. I do not think I should have paid the FULL price for this. Clearly, I paid for 2 coats and that did not happen and because I was not getting up on a ladder and checking each section of the house, I got taken for the fact that they said it was 2 coats. I have never seen a painting company have the homeowner check on a ladder each section of the house. If I paid for 2 coats, brush and roll, then that is what I should have gotten and I clearly did not. The original paint should never show thru on a 2 coat brush and roll. This clearly did not happen or the old paint would not be showing thru!! The employees were college students and I should have known this may not have been a good situation. They were talking about partying and drugs and only one would work while the others sat around and watched. They had little to NO supervision and completely slacked and screwed off and did not give a care of how they were painting. They ended up getting trim paint on the house, house paint on the trim, fingerprints of paint, spots of paint. Most of these touch ups did get done but we are still continuing to find places where it did not get fixed. Had it not been for Elizabeth (owner/manager) promising me that this would be all fixed, I would have stopped the service from them and not paid. Unfortunately, it was not "all fixed" as I continue to find show thru spots around the house and areas where there is no paint. I feel that I was taken advantage of because I would not be "checking" each and every spot without going up on a ladder so they were able to slack in those areas. That is not fair to me as a consumer to have half the job done. Again, myself and my fiancé have fixed all this painting that we have found so far and still continue to fix and find more issues. I want it done correctly and that is why I have done it.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed for a portion of the payment I paid. I do have a new paint job on the house so I am not asking for all the money back. But what I paid for is not what I received and therefore I think it is reasonable to ask for a partial refund. I also have done the work myself so why should I pay full price for the service when I had to complete some of the work and still continue to complete fixes that keep appearing. This service was something that I paid for but did not receive. There is no real way for me to ever know if 2 coats were used but I guarantee that in some areas, it was not done or I would not be seeing show thru areas and in turn filing this complaint. I am very disappointed in the amount of money and the product that was produced in the end, especially since I am having to do the work to fix it. Again, it is only fair to have a partial refund for the services that were clearly not completed to the degree the contract stated.

Business Response:

College Pro cares tremendously about customer experience.  We have reviewed this message and our General Manager in Colorado will be stepping into working with the customer on a resolution. Our General Manager will be calling the customer today 7/12 to schedule a meeting at the job site when he can get to this part of the state on Thursday 7/14. At that time, he will be able to speak to the customer and view the issues to work through a resolution.

Alex C****

Vice PresidentCollege Pro*********************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business.  They have come to my house and are going to fix the issues.  I am satisfied with this action as long as it gets completed as stated, which I believe it will.  Thanks!

Regards,

******** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on College Pro Painters Ltd
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart