BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Sierra Trading Post?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sierra Trading Post

Find a Location

Phone: (307) 775-8050 Fax: (307) 775-8389 5025 Campstool Rd, Cheyenne, WY 82007 http://www.SierraTradingPost.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Sierra Trading Post purchases brand name overstocks, closeouts and 2nds and offers 35-70% savings every day on gear, clothing, footwear and home goods.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sierra Trading Post meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sierra Trading Post include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 46 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

46 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 20 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 8
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 5
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 27
Total Closed Complaints 46

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Sierra Trading Post
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 02, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1986 Business started locally: 01/01/1986 Business incorporated: 02/25/2004 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bob Koehler, Customer Svc Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob Koehler, Customer Svc Director
Business Category

Online Retailer Catalog Showrooms Children's Clothing Stores Discount Stores Home Accessories Kitchen Accessory Suppliers Men's Clothing Stores Shoe Retailers Sporting Goods Stores Women's Apparel Retailers Clothing Stores Online Shopping Sites

Alternate Business Names
TJX Companies Inc
Products & Services

Asics, Asolo, Body Glove, Carhartt, Camari, Columbia Sportswear, Exoficio, Gramicci, Keen, Loren by Ralph Loren, Marmot, Merrell, Mountain Hardware, Oakley, Orca, Pearl Lzumi, Royal Robins, Smart Wool, Smith Optics, Tera, The North Face, White Sierra, Zoot Sports


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Sierra Trading Post has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: July 18, 2014, I am in sierratradingpost.com website $ 17.47 to buy the goods: **********. Order number: *********. But when I received the goods, I found this price to buy a new shirt, is actually broken then repaired! And yet there are two damaged parts, also are right in front of clothes, can not wear! ! But the site September 6, 2014 after receiving the comments I made??, is still not resolved! So, now you complaint XXX website selling defective products to deceive consumers, will you be coordinated to solve, thank you!

Desired Settlement: Because this product has serious repair marks, and can not wear, hoping to apply for a full refund, thank you!

Business Response: This is in response to ID claim ********
Our customer said that item arrived broken.  The customer purchased item that was marked as a 2nd on our website.   Our definition of a 2nd is, as described on our website.   “These are items with barely perceptible blemishes or slight irregularities that do not affect fit, performance or longevity such as an error in the stitching or a slight fading of the product’s color. Labels on 2nds are usually clipped or marked by the manufacturer, and 2nds are often offered at lower prices.”  We have 55 reviews from our customers on this shirt and the rating of 4.5 out of 5.  
In the future the customer will be expected to return any item that he is seeking reimbursement.  It is a risk and cost that customer needs to bear doing business internationally. Additionally, the customer chooses to ship to a freight forwarding company and assumes all liability of packages’ delivered to that address.
As a one-time courtesy the customer will refunded the $17.47 to the visa card.
Kind regards,
Sierra Trading Post.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Regards, ***** *******





BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Order ********* that had a return of socks, upon receiving the return, that department then on their own, charged my **** an additional $7.25 as a reconciliation. I did not get a heads up about this, an explanation of what a reconciliation charge is, not did they have my permission to charge my card. After talking to them on Live Chat this morning, they claim that I only mailed back one pair when two pairs were promised. As I have more of these socks that run small, I offered to mail them back one more pair and they declined to send me a label. They said they would talk to their Returns Dept. "and get back to me."

Desired Settlement: What they think is fair.

Business Response: We do not sell 3rd quality merchandise. The only way an item can get through that is not first or second quality would be if it was improperly inspected in our Returns process. We have tight quality controls in this area making this an unusual exception. As with any purchase, we offer a satisfaction guarantee and we will replace the item or provide a full refund including original and return shipping.
 
Obviously, Mr. ****** is having multiple concerns with the products he has received from Sierra Trading Post, which is very disappointing for us. We are very good at resolving these type of exceptions and we are sorry to hear that Mr. ****** feels Sierra Trading Post is not being responsive, requiring BBB assistance. At this juncture we do not want to make price adjustments or provide goodwill credits for defective claims, but would prefer to make it right by getting the items back, hand packing a replacement and insuring that everything is in perfect order.
 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 2 items online from this merchant. their website clearly states that if you enroll in DealFlyer you get an "extra" discount. I contacted their live help and ******* waited for the order to go through to verify that both discounts would be applied since I was not seeing them. After some back and forth she apologized and stated that the site did not honor both discounts, although it clearly reads otherwise. Extra means in addition to, not one discount or another. The marketing is misleading and you do not get the advertised extra discount after enrolling in the service. My purchase is missing an additional 30% discount.

Desired Settlement: Receive the extra 30% discount as advertised. Correct the language and be specific so other clients do not feel misled.

Business Response: Our DealFlyer offers cannot be combined with other keycode offers and the customer already had a discounted code associated with her order.  She received a total of $39.85 off the original discounted price, which is a great buy!
 On a daily basis Sierra Trading Post offers up to 70% off REGULAR retail prices.  When an “ Email Offer” is sent the discount is off Sierra’s regular discounted prices not in addition to “BarnBurner”” or “brand” sales on our website. We state our position on our website. 
Our employee attempted to explain the difference between the offers.  It can be confusing to know what offer is being applied to an order until one is familiar with the several types of sales and offers we have going on.  This situation could have been solved at the supervisory level.   
In any regard, a credit of $20.79 was issued to the customer’s account along with a $10.00 edeal for our customer to shop with us again.
 
Kind regards,
********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/21/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order (Order#: *********) in STP to buy a winter boots in last October, and pay my order via Paypal. But I returned the boots since the size of it is too small. (Return#: ***********). Based on the return po**cy shown in the STP website, http://www.sierratradingpost.com/lp2/exchange-return/ My return order will become "Instant Store Credit" in my account last 6 months. And after 6 months, this "Instant Store Credit" will be refund to my original payment method. So I have to wait until April 18 2014. I received an E-mail from STP. It mentioned that the STP will refund my return order as a "store merchandise credit". But I want to refund to my original payment method. So I sent an E-mail to their customer service. Followings are the response from their customer services (Reference number: ****************) “Thank you for contacting Sierra Trading Post. We apologize for any inconvenience this issue has caused. With our third party orders, such as with Pay Pal, we don't have access to your credit card information. The credits are either issued as a eDeal card, or as a refund check. Please contact us tomorrow, via telephone and provide us with your credit card number. We will be able to refund the eDeal card back to your credit card. ” Everything looks good. But when I dial their customer service telephone number (1-800-713-4534), they refused to refund my return order to my credit card. Their customer service only emphasize they can't refund to Paypal after 90 days of the payment, which obviously contradict to their return po**cy.

Desired Settlement: Refund my return order to my credit card or Sent me a check.

Business Response:

Our customer would **ke for us to refund to a PayPal account.  Unfortunately with PayPal there is a **mited of time in which an order can be refunded back to the PayPal account.  This is stated on our website. Here is a **nk that provides the details. http://www.sierratradingpost.com/lp2/po**cies/ Customers are informed that refunds after 6 months will be issued to a gift card. 

I was able to reach out to our PayPal account specia**st and they were able to issue a credit in this instance as a one-time courtesy.    The customer has been emailed the details of the credit.

It is my hope this meets the customers expectations.

With kind regards,

******** *******<

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** **

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought the Ice Breaker wool briefs and the orange waist band bled a pink color onto 2 pairs of white underwear, 1 white t-shirt and the briefs themselves. These are full cut items in tall. Not cheap. I followed the Care Label - machine wash & line dry.I asked their customer service folks if there are notes from this happening to other people. She said no and asked for pictures of the damaged items.I don't have a working camera right now that works with my computer.I asked her to compromise and she still refused.

Desired Settlement: Please send me a free pair of the same item in the other color that perhaps doesn't bleed.

Business Response:

We have been in contact with our customer and he provided us with pictures detailing the dye running on his undergarments.  We issued Mr. ****** a $20.00 edeal card to use on replacement and he has since placed an order.  He wrote to me stating I didn’t need to respond to the BBB as he was satisfied. We encourage our customers to ask to speak to a supervisor if they are not satisfied with the resolution they receive from one of our associates.  We want our customers to be satisfied within one contact.
Best regards,
******** *******
Customer Service Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello, I'm an old customer with STP and have purchased many items including shoes and cloths. But now, I have to file a claim for the missing problem of ORDER NO.*********, I've waited for more than one month, but I haven't received my order item! I think this maybe an accident, so I request you will issue a full refund to me in the amount of $$112.95. Please process my problem as soon as possible, and I'm waiting for your quick reply, thank you so much!

Desired Settlement: I request Sierra Trading Post will issue a full refund to me in the amount of $$112.95.

Business Response: Sierra Trading Post values customers and pride ourselves in customer satisfaction.  When we make errors we make it right with our customers. 
In researching this complaint for an order or reimbursement, Sierra is not at fault.
This order was shipped and shows delivered by our UPS tracking to the address the customer used when the order was placed.  This particular address is known as a “freight forwarding company”.  Often used to have oversees packages delivered without customs and duties. When the packages are delivered and signed for by the freight forwarding company they take possession of the package and Sierra Trading Post is not liable. The customer needs to seek their package from the company they addressed the package too.
Please see attached supporting documents.
Kind regards,
******** *******
Customer Service Manager
Sierra Trading Post

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: In fact, I really haven't received my package and I also have contacted with my forwarding company, but they told me that my package hadn't been delivered. I have purchased so many items on STP, and this is the first accident, so I wish STP can give me a perfect solution and issue a full refund to my credit card!

Regards,

***** ********

Business Response: In order for Sierra Trading Post to consider any type of reimbursement, the customer must contact the freight forwarding company to see if they can locate the package and supply Sierra Trading Post with written documentation that they inquired to the whereabouts of their package.  As mentioned in our previous response, the package shows delivered.  Sierra Trading Post should not be held liable when the package was shipped and delivered to where the customer specified. The customer is asking Sierra to refund money as well as losing merchandise.  This is not an equable resolution.   

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was cleaning out old bank statements and found two charges to my account in the amounts of $23.95and $35.38 to Sierra Trading Post. I have never ordered anything from this company. On their website their number is shown as 800-713-4534, and it is in Wyoming. I want my money refunded. This was on June 8, 2007.

Desired Settlement: Refund the money charged to my bank account, on purchases I did not make.

Business Response: Sierra Trading Post response to the complaint ******* by Mr. ******** on 3/4/14
 
There is a customer file for Mr. ******** that was set up in June of 2007.  The order contained a 21” sport duffle bag and the order total was $23.95 which includes shipping to the address on *** **** ***** address.  It shows delivered. This was the only charge on the account
The credit card is no longer accessible on our end to view other charges.
At this time there is no reason for Sierra to reimburse Mr. ******** as the charge was for an order placed to his home address.
Sierra Trading Post has emailed Mr. ******** for further information in efforts to resolve this matter.
 
Most kind regards,
 
******** *******
Customer Service Manager
Sierra Trading Post.
****************************** ************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sierra Trading Post (STP) discriminates based on the "return record" of a customer. I have been a customer of Sierra Trading Post for more than 10 years. I am subscribed to their "Deal Flyers" emails which provide additional discount and coupon codes. I haven't received a Deal Flyer email with discounts and promo codes for some time and contacted STP about it. I have been informed that I will no longer receive these codes because I have surpassed the "return rate threshold." This disingenuous return policy is not listed on their website in any way. I was never informed I was reaching "a threshold" that would allow the company to treat me differently from other customers. Basically they are telling me that I can continue to be a customer, but am not allowed the discounts that other customers are allowed to use due to some arbitrary and unpublished policy of penalizing the customer if their product return rate cuts into STP profits. If this were a grocery store, the person in line ahead of me uses a coupon, then when it is my turn to check out I am told that I cannot use the very same coupon because I don't make them enough money to be worthy of using the coupon. This is arbitrarily discriminatory. At the very least, customers need to be informed of this policy in advance of its application.

Desired Settlement: 1. I want to be treated equally to other STP customers.2. I want to receive the same deals and discounts offered to other Sierra Trading Post customers who sign up for their Deal Flyers emails.3. STP needs to modify their "100% Satisfaction Guarantee" statement by noting that a "return rate threshold" policy may be applied to a customer's account if they return too many items (thus contradicting STP's stated 100% satisfaction guarantee).

Business Response: Sierra Trading Post has a liberal exchange and refund policy.  We strive to meet our customers’ needs in products and price every day! 
 
We provide product reviews, sizing charts and buying guides on our website.  We also include an overview of each product item and specifications that help the customer make an informed decision.
 
We do have a systematic process which identifies customers who return a high percentile of their purchases.  Once a customer reaches this level the system automatically discontinues marketing and sales offers. Because, this impacts a very small percentage of our overall customer base, we feel it is unnecessary to publish this information. 
 
The return percentage is determined based on dollars/units sold and is measured as a rolling average over the previous five years.  Also when analyzing customer purchase history, we do take into account those which utilize our online instant credit exchange program and / or process exchanges. 
 
We realize that when a customer returns a high amount of merchandise we are failing them in meeting their expectations.  The relationship isn’t healthy.   We desire to move the return percentile towards a more mutually acceptable level starting with the account flag. 
 
The customer is able to use any discount on affiliate sites and our sales offers on our website. 

Our  Account Relation Specialist has already reached out to our customer.  

Best regards,
******** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/27/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a few complaints:1) If you review my CHAT history - an employee named **** snapped at me about 1 month ago.2) I have placed 11 orders with STP through ************ and have only received cash back for one.3) And in the last several months I have placed many orders and had exchanges and that generated a few free shipping offers becauuse it involved an Instant Credit. However, if these credits pile up in your account, and you use them combined later, you do not get the several free shipping offers. Their system defaults to favor them whereas it applies the full credit and gives you only the one free shipping - even though there may have been 3 exchanges and thus the value of 3 free shipping offers should be on the customer account. This morning, (I started my E-mail day with yet another blow-out sale from STP) I went to place my 12th order and I asked for one of the free shippings back and the CHAT operator once again seemed like a BOT and they get so easily confused and 99% of the time refuse to grant requests - even after they took my free shippings away - if you ask for one, they act like you're a masked robber. The operator asked me to go to the last page of the checkout - then, hung up on me - then, I got her back on CHAT and she was typing unrelated information like a BOT and then once I got her oriented, she simply argued with me and said no. I told her I would file a report with the BBB.

Desired Settlement: I would like a $100.00 STP Store Credit to be placed on my account for this loss of time, value and quality. I'd also like my ****** account to be credited with the cash back that they are keeping - which is about $30.32.

Business Response: have reviewed the complaint filed by Mr. ****** complaint # *******.   In reviewing his history using our online exchange program that provides Free Shipping on the exchange orders, he has not had to pay for shipping on any of them.    On the order he mentions chatted with **** with he did not pay for shipping.   Our system is operating correctly.  Mr. ****** has placed 11 orders and on 6 of these orders he has not paid for shipping. 
Sierra Trading Post does not have access to his *********** account, they would be responsible for any cashback awards.
I have read over the chat correspondence and I am disappointed in the associates exchange with our customer.  I will be using use this example as a learning opportunity for the employee.   I do apologize for the poor communication.
I would like to suggest if Mr. ****** has any questions to encourage him to reach out to our supervisory staff as they are able to assist him.  
As a good faith gesture, I have issued a $20.00 edeal card to his account that me may use on a future order.
 
Best regards,
 
******** *******
Customer Service Manager
Sierra Trading Post
****************************** ************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: November 29, 2013 In STP bought a triple Jackets .$165.96 Order #********* But received only liner.no shell. that the box was not opened, and was intact.Find the customer service is also unresolved. Attitude is not good.

Desired Settlement: I hope you will re-send a shell to me. Or refund the shell money.

Business Response: We are currently sold out of the jacket that customer ******** purchased.  As customer states there was no lining in the coat.  In order for us to make this right, the customer must return the portion of the jacket he has. When the jacket is returned to us in new condition the customer will be refunded. 
We have offered to pay for the returns shipping of the jacket.   We encourage the customer to send back the jacket he purchased so we may provide a refund.
The customer is welcome to contact me directly. 
 
 ******** *******
******************************
************

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I was in China,They said  do not pay shipping charge from China to the United States .

Regards,

**** **********

Business Response:

We have offered for the customer to return the jacket at OUR cost.  Customer needs to send us proof of the cost of the return and we will supply them credit.   They may keep the jacket as is for a price of $120.00.
We are sold out of the jacket we do not have any in stock nor do we expect to receive any in the future. It is not that we don’t want to provide a replaced jacket  or send the missing shell, we don’t have it.
 
Best regards,********

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:Mail did not reply.Lack of sincerity.

Regards,

**** **********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

2/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Sierra Trading Post on 10th Jan 3pm, and asked for a price adjustment refund because the ski pants that I had bought in Sep 2013 was on sale at 45% off the price I had paid. Instead of returning that pants, and purchasing the same pants at 45% off (the coupon expired 10th Jan), I called to see whether they could provide me with a price adjustment refund instead. The guy I spoke with agreed and he said he had refunded the $35 back into my credit card, since the item was less than 6 months old and could still be returned.However today 16th Jan, I called them back because I have not received my refund. The supervisor, named Bill, was so rude to me. He said that there is no way he can refund me for a 4 month old item, and that I am lying that the guy whom I spoke with last Friday would ever agree to do that. He said that he doesn't want to waste time arguing with me anymore, because I told him it reflects very badly on the company for agreeing to refund me but not doing so ultimately. I wanted to speak with his manager, ******** *******. He said he would get her to call me back. However, he continued lambasting me that there is no way he will do anything to help me. He even said that I am calling him a liar, and that he is not going to 'sit here and listen to you insulting me', when I did no such thing. This reflects very poorly on STP and I want to get my refund as agreed on 10th Jan.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get my $35 refund via cheque or via credit into my credit card which I used to purchase the Spyder ski pants in 21 Sep 2013.

Consumer Response: Hi
I had received a call from the manager, ******** *******, last Thursday 16th Jan.
She had apologized to me for the supervisor's misconduct, and provided me with a $20 store credit.
I would however, like to request from the company that they provide me with evidence that **** had been reprimanded and re trained in proper customer service. I need to know that he does not verbally abuse any other customer when he is still under STP's employment.
Once that is done, I will then drop this case.
Thanks.

Regards,
**********

Business Response: The STP customer sent a response that she wanted “evidence” that the supervisor was “reprimanded and re trained”.  The call occurred within hearing distance of my office.  After the call I spoke to the supervisor inquiring of the nature of the call, and specifics of the way the call unfolded.  I then called the customer, apologized, offered solution to the issue, which was accepted.  This all took place prior to receiving the initial complaint.  The discussions with the supervisor are confidential.  It is my hope that the customers trusts, that I would take the proper steps with any of my employees regarding a customer experience & service.  We take our customers and their experience very seriously.  We have an A + rating with the BBB which supports that we are serious about customer service and their satisfaction.
Best regards,
********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is conducting deceptive business practices, they are profiting from shipping items and refuse to refund this amount. I paid to have this item shipped to me and they will not credit this amount. Not only do they credit the incorrect amount but they are making a profit from a shipping charge in which i paid for.

Desired Settlement: I request the full amount paid for this item returned and this company should be investigated for fraud. This is blatant fraud. Although they state they do not cover return shipping, when a customer pays their own shipping this should be 100% refunded.Not acceptable!

Business Response: Customer ******* responded to a survey and mentioned that he was displeased we don’t refund the original shipping when an item is returned.  We reached out to him as a result of the survey issued him the out bound shipping on his boots.   This was their first order and as a gesture of good faith to give us another try a $10.00 edeal card was issued. 
If we can be of further assistance please don’t hesitate to contact us and ask for a supervisor if you’re unhappy with us.  We take a customer’s experience serious!

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm a customer from ********* and currently staying in *****. Recently, I purchased two Clarks shoes from Sierra Trading Post online and use a forwarder service to post to me. But at the time I receive the items, I found both shoes are USED. I've sent the pictures to Sierra Trading Post and request the refund with the shipping cost to be coverred by Sierra Trading Post. They insist the items are not used and tell me it's 'slight crease', while the picture can show clearly it will only happen when the shoes have been used for couple of months or more! My request was rejected by Sierra Trading Post.

Desired Settlement: I request the refund with the shipping cost to be coverred by Sierra Trading Post

Business Response:

We are sorry to hear that the item is not meeting your expectations, and we don’t want you to be unhappy with your purchase.  We have a satisfaction guarantee that if they customer is not satisfied they welcome to return the item for a full refund once the item is returned to us.  We offered the customer in-store credit with gift cards and it was denied.   We will this one time, refund the item, recognizing the customer is using a freight forwarding company, in the future items will need to returned for credit and the cost of the shipping is the customer’s responsibility. A credit has been issued to the customer’s account in the amount of $54.97.

We are regretful that the item was creased on the toe bed of one of the shoes.

 


BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Today, I placed an order online using an **** gift card for $50.00, the item was on sale and I used a UPS delivery day of two days for shipping. I thought it was taken care of, the extra amount went on my **** credit card. Though, I was informed by a customer service operator that she had to do $47.01 on the gift card and the rest on the credit card, leaving me $3.00 on the gift card and $5 charged on the credit card. Just a few minutes ago, I get an email from the online company that my purchase was not authorized and that they were holding it? So, I call the **** gift card again (the same # that I called to authorize the gift card) they said that sierratradingpost.com tried to over charge me! So, I call them up and canceled the purchase and they inform that I have to wait two days till I am credited??? I am sorry but, they made the error, and they did not apologize! Do, I have to wait??

Desired Settlement: Immediate refund! I am including the emailsDear ******,Thank you for your recent order. Order# *********Unfortunately, it is being delayed because: Your Credit Card Co. has declined your purchase of $47.01. This could be due to an error in the credit card number or expiration date. We will attempt to get an authorization over the next 7 days. However, if you wish to receive the merchandise you ordered more quickly, you may send a check, or call us toll free with a new credit card number.Credit card numbers should not be sent through email because it may not be secure.Please refer to your order number and your customer number when responding to this letter.Your merchandise will be held for 7 days. If we do not hear from you, we will cancel your order. If you have already taken care of this over the phone, please disregard this notice.We apologize for the delay, and look forward to hearing from you soon.Sincerely,Sierra Trading PostCustomer Service Department If you have questions, ple

Business Response: We have a system limitation when a Credit Card gift card is
used on our website, if the gift card does not have enough funds on it to pay
for the entire order including shipping the credit cards comes back as “denied”.   Our online
system doesn’t have the capabilities to use a “regular” credit card and a “purchased”
credit card with a limit in one order. 
We can do this over the phone.

We certainly apologize for the misinformation from our phone
employee and the frustration that this caused for our customer.   Both charges have already been reversed and
a $20.00 edeal card was issued on 12/3 as an apology.  In the future, situations like these issues
could easily be resolved by speaking to a Sierra Trading Post Supervisor.  


Best Regards,
******** Porlier 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sierra Trading Post cancelled my "Deal Flyer Subscription" - access to special offers via e-mailed coupon code - due to "my high return rate". Which I have no problem with if this rule was listed in terms and conditions on their website. Or if custommer service representative did notify me about the company not being happy with my business. Big part of the business is based on selling seconds - often regular size charts dont apply and quality of the items doesn't match 100% the description or picture. Logically, higher return rate should be expected. Or - again - customers should be notified about the consequenses of and what is understood under "high return rate". The total of my orders in the last 5 years is 5800 USD, the total of my returns is under 50%. There is no information in my return history in my account, so it is my estimate.

Desired Settlement: Reinstate my "deal flyer subscription and publish their penalty for high return rate on their website.

Business Response:

Sierra Trading Post process for addressing high returns is systematic when a return rate reaches  60% or higher.  When this level of return is reached it automatically delists the account from receiving sales offers.    Unfortunately, the process to evaluate when a customer returns is below 60% is not automatic.  We rely on the customer to contact us, and we can evaluate on a case by case basis.   In researching the chat correspondence and looking at Mr. Dalhaus account, we could have and should have reinstated his offers.
His return rate is not at the level it was when his offers where suspended.  And as a gesture of good faith, we also issued a $20.00 edeal card that he can use on a future order.
Please accept our apologies, for not handling this situation properly.  We do value you, as a  customer.
If we can be of further service, please don’t hesitate to call on us and if the situation warrants it to   ask for a supervisor.
Again our sincere apologies,
 
******** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I returned some items that I bought from http://www.sierratradingpost.com/. I have received emails confirming that they have sent the money back to my credit card. However, I haven't received the money yet. It's been more than 10 business days by now. According to the emails, it is processed on Sep 13th. I have called both sierratradingpost and my ** **** credit card company. Sierratradingpost said that they sent the money back, but ** **** said that they did not receive the money. I have been ticked back and forth. No one is really helping me to get my money back. I don't know where else to go to get my money back. I would really appreciate it if you could help me with the problem. According to sierratradingpost, the credit memo# is : ********** ($164.98)********** ($218.00)********** ($156.97)Thank you very much for your time and help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Thanks .*********

Desired Settlement: I would like to get my money back ASAP since my credit card company is charging me interest rate and late fees. Thanks a lot.*********

Business Response: Dear ***** *****,
 
This email is our response In reference to complaint filed, and assigned ID *******.
 
Upon our investigation our records show we credited all monies due to customer on 9-13-13.
 
********** $71.94  to the STP visa card ending in **** processor Reference # ********
 
********** $ 334.54 to the MC ending in **** processor Reference # ********
 
********** $33.14 to the MC ending in **** processor Reference # ********
 
********** $156.97 to the VISA ending in **** he ****s reference # for this transaction is -***********************
 
********** $218 to the VISA ending in **** the ****s reference # for this transaction is -***********************
 
********** $164.98 to the Visa ending in **** he ****s reference # for this transaction is -***********************
 
Customer is reminded all credits go back original form of payment used at time the original order was placed.
 
If we can be of any further assistance please feel free to contact me personally , my contact information is below.
 
Sincerely,
***** *********
Core Supervisor
Sierra Trading Post
Phone 307.775.8317 
kmaldonado@sierratradingpost.com
Socialize with us!
SierraTradingPost.com | Facebook | Twitter 
YouTube | Newsroom | Blog | Affiliates

Business Response: Dear ********* **,
I have personally reviewed your account, confirmed with our Bank, which is also ** Bank that the funds  have been credited to your ** Bank Visa ending in ****.
Credit **********  in the amount of $156.97 was credited on 9/13/2013 (this was for the return of Bonger snow ski pants  ************ ***** *********). 
Credit ********** in the amount of $218.00 was credited on 9/13/2013 (this was for the return of Bogner silia jacket *********** ***** *********).
Credit *********   $164.98 on 9/13/2013 (this was for the return of Bogner fire Jacket *********** on order **********).
Your order history indicates that you have another ** Bank Visa ending in ****.   
If you would please call the credit card company using the 800 number listed on the back of your credit card they will be able to confirm this.     I would also be happy to have a 3 way call with you and the credit card company.  If you would like to do this please call me at your convenience at
************.
 
Sincerely,
******** *******
Customer Service Manager
************
******************************
 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: STP customer service send me the **** transaction reference numbers and told me that they did request the **** transactions. And told me to call my credit card company. I did call my credit card company, and they told me they found the transaction reference numbers, but they don't know why the money did not show in my credit card. and they will look into that, and promised to call me by Friday. I waited till Friday, but no one called me yet. I still don't have my money back in my credit card. 

I have tried so many ways to get my money back, I don't know how to get them back. STP tole me that they requested the **** transaction to return my money, but now that my credit card company told me they will look into that, but I never hear from them again.  I have called STP, my credit card company many times. I don't understand why this could be so difficult. I don't know what else I could do to get my money back.  Could you please help me with that?  I very appreciate it. 

Regards,

********* **

Business Response: Dear ********
 
We would like to have a conference call with your ****.   Please contact me, ******** *******, Manager of Customer Service to settle the credit issue.   My hours are 8 am – 6 pm Monday – Friday MST.
If it would be better for me to call you, this can also be arranged.
You may call me at ************.
 
We look forward to resolving this issue together.
 
Most Sincerely,
******** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had an item on my wish list for about a week priced around 19.75. I put it in my cart today and studied the total. I returned two hours later and the price had jumped to over 23.00, but offered free shipping. This is bait & switch. I CHATTED twice with their operators here on a Saturday and it was like a auto-robot-reply - because they couldn't understand what I was saying. They didn't know what $19.75 was and then, of course didn't see the difference when it became $23.00. They kept repeating a message that seemed like it was for someone else - something like I had to manually click thru the discount...But this cannot be right. I already had it in my cart and just had to click ORDER. But the price jumped upwards.

Desired Settlement: I had a loss of value & time and because I'm a repeat customer who knows how to navigate your website - your company seems to have had a bad day.

Business Response: Dear ******,
My name is ******** *******, I am the Customer Service Manager at Sierra Trading Post.
 
When an Item is placed in a cart it doesn’t guarantee that it will stay that price.  People put things in the cart for days and weeks at a time.
There is couple of reasons why a price could increase while the item was in your cart.
The most common reason for an increase in price is due to an offer on the website or DealFlyer expiring.   If the item was placed on clearance it would also make the item ineligible for use with a “keycode”, which could increase the price.
 I  researched the chat correspondence and was disappointed that we did not research the item further. 
I would be happy, to provide the item to you at the price you had in your cart $19.75, as long as  the item is still available. I will need the item number, color and size.    In addition, as an apology I have placed a $10.00 edeal card to your account that you may use on your next order. 
 
 
Most Sincerely,
******** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hvae made an order :E17785051 at Set 11, 2013 When I received the box then i found 3 projects have problems, the other 2 are small problems, but a big problem is:Item 4194J-04-MExOfficio Storm Logic Jacket (For Men) Rosemary MIn www.sierratradingpost webpage is so specified above : Redefining versatility for travelers, ExOfficio's Storm Logic jacket features cozy PrimaLoft insulation under a wind-resistant, DWR-treated polyester shell that easily converts into a convenient pillow. Wind-resistant ripstop shell is treated with a DWR (Durable Water Repellent) finish Warm PrimaLoft One insulation throughout This is the product of the link:http://www.sierratradingpost.com/exofficio-storm-logic-jacket-for-men~p~4194j/I received clothes , types , size is correct , however , the material is not you describe , but the PrimaLoft sport.As everyone knows , PrimaLoft one and PrimaLoftsport in the thermal properties, calorific value, price, has the very big difference.and i found a few holes , on the collar ,this clothes , I'm disappointedThen, I and they conducted a number of communication, negotiation. First they think my photoss are not their products. When I suggest that they and their warehouse inventory after the comparison, their manager Barbara Cuevas , write to me, to confirm the consistent for photoss and product, no problem. But still avoid the quality problem of the product, to avoid because of their website description of the error cause I wrong purchase problem. I ask for a refund, they also do not agree.Because I am currently in China, I spent expensive freight to China, if I send back the US, originally the value of freight is much larger than the clothes.But this is because their product quality and the description of the error caused the present situation. So i shouldn't assume this responsibility, I request a full refund, apology.

Desired Settlement: 1.I demand a full refund, apology.2.Change the webpage description, not mislead consumers

Consumer Response: from: ?? <*******************>
to: ***** ***** <********************>
date: Tue, Oct 29, 2013 at 10:00 AM
subject: Re:Re: You have a New Message from BBB Regarding Complaint #*******

Hello  ***** *****:
When filing the complaint report,  I found only add a photo,attachment, So that, many photos have not submitted, give it to you now, they can prove the truth I say complaints.  
 Thank you!
Best Regards

Business Response: ---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: ******** ******* <******************************>
Date: Wed, Nov 6, 2013 at 3:59 PM
Subject: ID *******
To: ******************** ********************
 
Response to  ID *******
 
The item in question  (4194j), has been verified as a correct description through our Quality Assurance Department, prior to the submission to the Better Business Bureau.   Item 4194J has a 4 and ½ star rating out of five from customers who have purchased this item.  31 customers have rated this product.  Our return rate is less than 8 percent.  Based on these figures the coat is represented as it should be. 
I am sorry that the jacket has not met your satisfaction; you are welcome to return it for a full refund. 
We issued a 20.00 in gift card on 10/11 for this item not meeting expectations and it was accepted at  as an agreeable resolution.  It has already been redeemed. And as I mentioned, our Quality Assurance department has verified the information as correct, so there is no need to change our webpage description.
I have looked at the mailing address used on order E17785051 and it is a freight forwarding company that forwards parcels to international destinations.    International returns are the customers’ responsibility. 
We absolutely want our customers to be happy with their purchase.  It just needs to be sent back it along with any other item that does not meet expectations and we will be happy to supply a full refund.
If I can be of further assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly.
 
******** ******* | Customer Service Manager
Sierra Trading Post | 5025 Campstool Road | Cheyenne, WY 82007
p 307.775.8066| f 307.775.8040 | ******************************

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

When  filing the complaint  report ,    I found only add  a photo , attachment ,   So  that ,  many  photos have not  submitted ,  give it to you now,  they can  prove the truth  I say  complaints .    

The most important question is, Sierra Trading Post provides the wrong product information, lead me wrong purchase, they changed the webpage information after in my complaints . Attachment just I bought  time to leave snap. But in the mail between me and them, they all adhere to the product was correct, also admitted that the photos were correct. In fact, the product itself isdefective, in the collar position is provided with a plurality of small holes. So  Irequest a full refund, apology. This is no relation with where consumers  ,this is business ethics issues .

In addition, I do not receive a $20 refund, according to my query information,a $20 refund is about a pair of lowa shoes be used, and a Stick poles  the question of defective refund?
Thank you 

****** **

Business Response:

Respectfully, Sierra Trading Post, position on this situation has not changed.
If the customer would like a full refund on the jacket he will need to return the merchandise to us. We have inspected his claims and they are not factual.   Customer has place all  orders from 6/13- 10/13. In this time he has had received over $200.00 in credits for various reasons of dissatisfaction along with $40.00 in gift cards to make things right.   There will not any adjustments made to orders until the items are returned.  If Customer is unhappy with the shoes and Trekking Poles they too will need to be returned for credit.
 
Sincerely,
******** *******
Customer Service Manger
Sierra Trading Post

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
Your attention please, All refund before are because of defects in the products, I also have the relevant photos to prove that, you also see the photos confirmed product problems before the refund, this is a fact. Not one dollar not because of product defects, defect refund, is it right??
This only shows that you sell some products are defective, there are second quality product,this is a fact, You sell  second quality producs, but some of them you mark, so I won't ask for compensation, but no mark, product defects I must claim,  this is a fact,right?
Similarly, the jacket photos show the problem, but your error description leads to the wrong purchase this is a fact, although now you changed the web page description, but occurred before the transaction is already exists.There is no doubt,you should be responsible for  a description lead to of the err or problem, not prevarication.This is you have done something wrong, not me, but now I have to spend more time and you dispute over trifles, I am very dissatisfied, of course I request a refund!

Regards,

****** **

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

8/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received some wrong items from STP. I bought some poles form Sierra Trading Post. ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* It should be 10 pairs of ********($41.96 per pair) and 24 pairs of ********($55.96 per pair) . In fact, there are 10 pairs of ******** and 24 pairs of ********. Moreover, one of ******** have a flaw. I contacted sierra trading post after I found the issue. and then I Sent the photos to them as they asked. I hope they can check the transferring information and video and find a solution. They asked me to return these poles and then refund me. (Dear *** **** ***, Thank you for contacting Sierra Trading Post. We apologize for the inconvenience that this has caused you. Unfortunately, we do need those poles back in order to refund you the price you paid. Since you had the poles shipped to you via a forward address, we do need those returned from that address you had originally had the poles shipped to.) But I am a customers from *****.The trekking poles is in ********* ***** Now, not in US. So it is difficult to return the trekking poles to you! The international express fee and time is huge!

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a refund.I hope they can refund the price differences and defective items to me. 14*(55.96-41.96) = $196 41.96*0.5 = $20.98

Business Response: Dear Customer, 

Upon review of your account and the photos you included in your email, it is clear you received the incorrect item, also a defective item. We have immediately credited your credit card in the amount of $216.98 # ********.
We sincerely apologize for any frustration or confusion it is not our intent. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to make this right with you.

Sincerely,
Customer service Department.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: STP owes me $654.66 and $205.92. I told them on 5/3 the account it was charged on was closed. They have yet to return my funds to me. I contacted STP on 5/3/13 regarding two boxes of returns I sent to them. In each box, I put a note stating that the account on which the items was charged was closed so they needed to issue a check. They told me they would have to try to put the refund through first despite the fact that I told them I called US Bank to verify the account was closed. They said once they verified the account was closed, they would send me checks. I have received nothing to date. I contacted them again today and am now being told they submitted a credit for $655.66 (not even mentioning the other credit) on the closed account. Again, the account is closed. They are seriously giving me the run around about getting the %654.66 and $205.92 refunded to me. I would also point out that they engage in very deceptive trading practices. Every day, they have a different percent of their items. However, they change the price of the items so that the amount for the items is the same. In other words, if you looked at an item one day, it would be one price. The next day, it would be a different price. They decide what percent off to offer customers based on what they are charging that day for the items. This is just blatantly deceptive to its customers.

Desired Settlement: I want two checks issued to me today in the amounts of $654.66 and $205.92. I want them overnighted to me at STP's expense. I

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/30) */ Dear ***** *******, Upon review and investigation of this dispute, we have found the following actions were taken to resolve this issue with you. We showed we issued credit to the credit card as follows: XXXXXXXXXX XXXXXXXXXXX Credit -$654.66 05/02/2013 05/02/2013 XXXXXXXX K C-XXXXXXXX XXXXXXXXXX XXXXXXXXXXX Credit -$205.92 05/03/2013 05/03/2013 XXXXXXXX K C-XXXXXXXX Once you had contacted STP notifying the account had been closed. We contacted US Bank to inquire if they had rejected the credit. They responded that they had rejected the credit on 5/8/13, and a check was cut and mailed to you on 5-13-13, in the amount of $ $860.58. They also informed us that this was their procedure once an account has been closed. All monies owed to the customer will be sent a check. Please be assured all proper procedures and mandates were followed, in compliance with FDIC. We sincerely apologize for any confusion or frustration it is not our intent. In reference to your statement, concerning our discounts offered. Yes, prices do change from day to day but only because of the different discounts on our website sales, we also give discounts to our customers via deal flyers. Our prices may change depending on the particular sale of the day. We always state the original retail price and our price as well as the price reflected because of the sale. We truly do appreciate your business, in good faith and hopes to restore your faith in our company a $20 E-gift card has been issued to your account with us for you to use on your next purchase with us. Thank you, for your patience and understanding in this matter. Sincerely, ***** ********* Core Supervisor Sierra Trading Post Phone 307.775.8317 **********@sierratradingpost.com Socialize with us! SierraTradingPost.com Facebook Twitter YouTube Newsroom Blog Affiliates

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company has not responded to complaint issue and has e-mailed several irrelevant responses and is currently ignoring e-mails. An order from Sierra was charged duty of approximately $27.00. I contacted the shipper/broker (UPS) to ask why and was told that there was no NAFTA form included. As this has never happened before I contacted Sierra by phone and was told by the agent that she didn't know what I was talking about. I asked that the issue be escalated to someone familiar with their shipping/brokerage process for international shipping and to respond by e-mail. I have followed up repeatedly and have received responses that are unsatisfactory. Once response indicated that Sierra didn't accept NAFTA credits, one that indicated it was a young agent who didn't know any better and lately I've been placed on ignore. In spite of follow up e-mails I receive only generic form e-mails in response. I have tried to work through the company to have the issue addressed but have come to the conclusion that is not going to result in any kind of resolution of the issue and that further communication will continue to be ignored, therefore I'm filing this complaint.

Desired Settlement: I'm looking for some type of explanation and refund of duty charges if applicable. The fact that the companies' designated shipper/broker indicated that it was an error on their part regarding paperwork leads me to request the above. I am also aware that there are some legitimate reasons why duty may have been charged on the shipment and if that is the case then an explanation as to how this occured without prior notification to me that duty would be involved would be acceptable. Specifically in this regard I would like an explanation as to why they are selling non Nafta applicable goods without notification to foreign customers and a method in place to address this on their website.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/07) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@sierratradingpost.com Dear *******, I am writing in response to your complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau regarding the NAFTA agreement. I am very sorry to hear of frustration you have experienced regarding the taxes and duties charged on your recent order EXXXXXXXX. I have spoken with our International Liaison, our UPS rep and the Director of our Fulfillment Center regarding this situation. The NAFTA agreement is meant for items that were manufactured within the United States. In reviewing your order the only item that is made in the U.S. is item 5131D DC Shoes WONKERS COTTON STRIPE TANK TOP. In addition to the above research I also used a Canada Taxes and Duties estimator located at http://www.cbsa-asfc.gc.ca/travel-voyage/dte-acl/est-cal-eng.html to determine an approximate amount that Canada might charge. I entered the full merchandise amount of $155.61(US) and found that the duties and taxes would have been approximately $38.49 (CAN). The fact that you were only charged $27 would indicate that item 5131D was not included in these charges. Duties and Taxes that you may be charged are determined by your country's customs department. Sierra Trading Post does not collect any duties and taxes from other countries. These fees are usually based on your order total. I am unsure as to why you were not charged duties and taxes on your previous two orders. Your local customs office may be able to provide more information on that. As a gesture of good faith we are issuing you a $30 egift card to help cover the $27 in duties and taxes that you paid. Your gift card number is XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX and is available for use immediately. Please keep in mind this egift card does have an expiration date of: 9/5/13. Again, I sincerely apologize for the frustration this has caused and look forward to serving you again in the future. Sincerely, ******* ****** Customer Service Email/Chat Manager Sierra Trading Post Phone 307.772.8102 *******@sierratradingpost.com Socialize with us! SierraTradingPost.com Facebook Twitter YouTube Newsroom Blog Affiliates Dear ****** I am responding to the complaint filed by ******* ********* regarding NAFTA and the customs and duties he was charged by Canada. We are sorry to hear of the frustration that Mr. ********* experienced upon learning that Canadian customs was charging him $27 in duties and taxes. We have been in contact with our International Liaison, our UPS representative and our Director of Fulfillment regarding this complaint. In reviewing Mr. *********'s order we found that all the items with the exception of one (item 5131D) were imported items and thus were not covered by NAFTA. We used a tax and duty estimator located at http://www.cbsa-asfc.gc.ca/travel-voyage/dte-acl/est-cal-eng.html and found that if the full merchandise total of $155.61(US) had been taxed it would have been approximately $38.49(CAN) rather than the $27 that Mr. ********* was charged. As a gesture of good faith, we have issued an egift card in the amount of $30 to Mr. *********'s account to compensate for the taxes and duties he was charged. Again we apologize for the difficulties experienced by all parties involved. ******* ****** Customer Service Email/Chat Manager Sierra Trading Post Phone 307.772.8102 *******@sierratradingpost.com Socialize with us! SierraTradingPost.com Facebook Twitter YouTube Newsroom Blog Affiliates Consumer Response /* (-5, 6, 2013/06/07) */ Sierra has responded to me with an explanation for the charges and it is a perfectly acceptable explanation for the charges on the bill. I'm satisfied with this response. Thank you for your help in resolving this issue. **** *********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I place a order about Travelers Choice Tasmania Hard Case Spinner Luggage Set - 3-Piece, Expandable,the order number is EXXXXXXXXthe Shipped address is:*******************************************************************************.when i place the order,the item price is $155.97,the shipping price is $59.00.So i place the order.but now sierratradingpost give me a email say need authorization to charge $84.93 the additional shipping.i order the Luggage,Because I was approved $214.97so I do not agree with the additional cost. sierratradingpost explain to meOur website does state that oversized items can be charged an additional shipping charge. You can view this information at the following link.http://www.sierratradingpost.com/lp2/international-orders/ Your order will be cancelled and you will not be charged. I think when i palce a order,there is no such tips on order interface,so i think i need pay $214.97,I do not need to pay any additional transportation costsI think this is not my responsibility,and it is not my mistake. Product_Or_Service: Traveler?s Choice Tasmania Hard Case Spinner Lugga Order_Number: EXXXXXXXX Account_Number: EXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I don't agree to pay the additional costs of transportation, I require sierratradingpost commitment to transport this order. thank you for your help!

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/03) */ Dear *** ** In response to your complaint concerning actual shipping on your recent order. EXXXXXXXX. We sincerely apologize for any confusion or frustration it is not our intent. We currently have a manual process in place, and we alert our customers on the checkout page and again on our shipping page, which states some orders may be subject to additional shipping charges. As shown below: Oversize orders Extra shipping charges for oversize items and oversized orders are based upon the true cost of shipping, regardless of the order total. Reseller Policy Oversized orders will be charged shipping fees consistent with the true cost of shipping the order, regardless of order total. Ship-Alone Items Additional shipping charges may apply. Fees are consistent with the true cost of shipping the order, regardless of discounts or offers applied. Jin Yu, please know in our attempt to remain healthy, and profitable as a company we do not inflate our prices to include these shipping costs, as other companies do. Rather we strive to pass on our everyday savings to our customers by keeping our prices low. We do not profit from any shipping charges. In our efforts to continually improve the customer experience, we are working on a weight and measure process so we will be able to quote the actual shipping charge at the time of checkout. We look forward to this feature coming soon. Upon research I see we did communicate with you concerning this additional shipping charge and as a courtesy we allowed the order to ship without the extra charge. We are hopeful this will restore your faith in our company. We have also issues a $20 E-gift card XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX for you to use on your next purchase with us. Regards, Customer Service.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased 3 shirts online, received the package, opened one shirt it was defective, returned to Sierra, my credit did not include the cost of postage. I purchased 3 shirts from online Sierra Trading Inc. I received the package and removed one of the shirts. The shirt was torn at the sleeve/cuff. I immediately repackaged and returned the entire purchase without looking at the other items. Sierra Trading credited the purchase price but did not credit the initial shipping charge. It is my opinion that if a compay sends me faulty products they should not expect me to absorb the shipping cost. Customer # PXXXXXXXX Original Order # EXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: full credit of purchase including shipping.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/10) */ 4/10/113 Complaint Case #: XXXXXXXX Consumer: Mr ****** ****** Dear *****, I am responding to the complaint filed by Mr. ****** ****** complaint XXXXXXXX. Mr. ****** contacted Sierra Trading Post on 4/5/13 and a Sierra Trading Post employee issued a credit for the outbound shipping on his returned shirts. I have responded to Mr. ****** and I'm including it in my response to our office. In addition to providing him the credit he suggested in his complaint, I issued a $10.00 edeal card to use on a future order. He should not have received a defective item, and we want to keep our customers satisfied. Sierra Trading Post appreciates the opportunity of "making it right" to our customers. Sincerely ******** ******* Customer Service Manager *****@sierratradinpost.com From: ******** ******* Sent: Wednesday, April 10, 2013 5:01 PM To: '*****@gmail.com' Subject: Sierra Trading Post/Better Business Bureau Dear ******, My name is ******** *******; I am the Customer Service Manager at Sierra Trading Post. I am writing to you about case # XXXXXXXX that was filed with the Better Business Bureau. In your complaint you said that we had not refund the outbound shipping on your return because one of the shirts purchased was defective. Please accept our apology about the defective shirt! We do not normally refund outbound shipping although we invite our customers to contact us and let us know of any concerns. I reviewed your file and I see that you called in on April 5th and our agent did as I hoped she would and refunded your shipping of $10.95. We give our agents the ability to make these decisions so if you have any questions please give us a call. Since you are a new customer of ours you may not know that our returns department would also provide a credit under these conditions. They just needed to be alerted that the item was defective. As a good will gesture I have issued a $10.00 edeal card to use on a future order. You will receive a separate e-mail with details on how to redeem it. If I can be of further assistance please ******'t hesitate to contact me directly. Sincerely, ******** ******** ******* Customer Service Manager Sierra Trading Post 5025 Campstool Road Cheyenne, WY XXXXX p 307.775.8066 f 307.775.REDACT3130*****@sierratradinpost.com32REDACT

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This business refused to refund my money for merchandise I bought from them and later returned, as based on their stated Policy. On 3/14/2013 I returned the backback which was purchased on their website in 2010, order # EXXXXXXXX for $136.70. As I have never used the item, and had all the tags on, I decided to return it for a refund. Based on their Return Policy, there was no time constraint. On 3/31/13 I called their Customer Service and inquired about the status of my return. I was told the package was shipped back to me, because "due to a high return rate on my account, of 60% over a 3 year period, they refuse to accept anymore returns back from me". I replied this is a very subjective, prejudiced judgement they make on my part. How do they account for items that were wrongly advertised, mis-sized, or just didn't fit? How do they account for the overall amount that I spent? Why isn't this stated in their Sales/Return Policy? They did not make any efforts to give me an answer to my questions: "this is our decision" they said to end this topic of our conversation. The next topic of the conversation was about the whereabouts of my package. Based on the tracking # they gave me it turned out they have shipped my return package on 3/29/13 to an old address I had over a year back, although my account had been updated with my new address, my return package had my new address on it, and they had since delivered many other packages for items I had bought, to my new address. I called UPS and explained the problem and asked that they retrieve my package - but they said that this request has to come from the shipper. I called Sierra Trading Post back and told them what UPS said. A few calls later, STP called me and said that IT IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO ABOUT IT, OR ASSIST ME IN ANY WAY, and that I SHOULD GO AND KNOCK ON THE DOOR AT THAT ADDRESS AND HOPE THAT I GET MY PACKAGE BACK. I told them this is Unacceptable from a company like them to treat their good-faith Customers. Sierra Trading Post has to reimburse me for my return order without any further delay.

Desired Settlement: Without any further delay, Sierra Trading Post has to reimburse me for my return order, and apologize to me for the lack of respect demonstrated and for engaging in wrongful customer profiling activity.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/10) */ April 10, 2013 Dear *****, My name is ******** *******, I am contacting you regarding Complaint Case #: XXXXXXXX Consumer: Mrs ****** ******. We had contact Ms. ****** on three occasions regarding our concern about her high return rate. Our third correspondence, advised her of our decision to discontinue our relationship as it was not mutually agreeable. Sierra Trading Post has a systematic evaluation of customers who return more than 60% of their merchandise. We make two attempts to offer specialized services to help consumers make informed buying decisions. By the third communication we have come to realize that we are not meeting the customers' needs and communicate they have 30 days to return Sierra Merchandise. After the 30 days we will no longer accept returns. We sent this third letter to Ms. ****** on 5/9/11. However, as a good faith gesture we have made an exception, (although we don't have the product in hand) to provide a $136.70 onetime credit. I have explained to Ms. ******, we will no longer accept any returns or provide credits in the future. Sincerely, ******** ******* Customer Service Manager *****@sierratradinpost.com Reference: Better Business Bureau complaint case # XXXXXXXX Dear ******, Sierra Trading post received the complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau regarding a credit for a wheeled backpack. You mentioned in your complaint that you were advised that you had a high return rate which is why the item was returned to you. We notified you the first time of your return rate on 5/15/09, then again on 1/18/11 and third time on 5/9/11. In this letter we also advised you that you had 30 days to return any merchandise as we could no longer continue doing business with you as the relationship it not equitable for both parties. We could only come to one consultation you are simply not satisfied with our products. I will make an exception as a courtesy and provide you with the credit of $136.70, however, we will not be able to provide further credits on other merchandise going forward. If you have any questions please feel free to contact me directly. Sincerely, ******** ******* CC: Better Business Bureau

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought items returned by others and talked with customer service. They told me to pay shipping to get refund or exchange. I bought four Columbia jackets from http://www.sierratradingpost.com and when I received them on Jan XX XXXX, two of them came with no tags or packages at all. They were just wrapped in plastic bags and smelled funny. I doubted they were returned items and may have been worn by other. So I used their live chat and contacted the customer service. The customer representive told me that it was possible that they were returns from others and if I wanted to ship them back for refund or exchange, I needed to pay the shipping. I already paid $11 shipping to get the jackets and when I received them, two of them may have been worn by others. And if I wanted to return them, I still needed to pay the shipping? It was not my fault to get used items from your company. Your quality control department should not sell these items to other customers at the first place. I think it is the LAST time I will ever buy from this company again.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get refund or replacement for two items without tags. I don't think it is fair for me to pay more shipping fees.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/02/20) */ Reference: Reference Better Business Case # XXXXXXXX My name is ******** *******, I am the Customer Service Manager at Sierra Trading Post. I responded to ****** ****** on 2/18/13. We stand behind our 100% satisfaction guarantee, and customer ****** is welcome to send back the garments that are not meeting expectations. We would also be happy to replace them, but in the correspondence it wasn't mentioned which of the 4 items needed to be replaced. I made this offer in my email on the 2/18/13. I also issued a $20.00 edeal card that would essentially cover any shipping charges incurred by sending them back., as gesture of good faith. I provided all my contact information so that I could resolve I quickly as 1 of the items was almost sold out. Our agents should have been able to assist customer ****** on the first contact and I encourage using our supervisors when issues are solved satisfactorily. As of today 2/20/13 I have not heard customer ******. I am also attaching my email to ****** ******. Most Sincerely, Reference: Reference Better Business Case # XXXXXXXX Dear ******, My name is ******** *******, I am the Customer Service Manager at Sierra Trading Post. I received your complaint from the Better Business Bureau regarding 2 Columbia jackets that did not have tags and had a peculiar odor. I am sorry that they arrived in this condition. We stand behind our 100% satisfaction guarantee. You are welcome to return the items for a full refund if you use our prepaid label, we will not charge for its use. If you would like for us to replace the item we will do our best, however, we cannot guarantee this as two of the items are almost gone. I have issued a $20.00 edeal card to your account as a gesture of good faith, in hopes that you will continue to shop with us. You will receive a separate e-mail with how to redeem it. Please feel free to contact me directly so I can help resolve this quickly. Most sincerely, CC: Better Business Bureau of Northern Colorado and Wyoming

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/5/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order EXXXXXXXX on www.sierratradingpost.com. They give me a UPS number *****AXXXXXXXXXXXX on 12/26/2012.But I still not reveive it. I placed an order EXXXXXXXX on www.sierratradingpost.com. They give me a UPS number *****AXXXXXXXXXXXX on 12/26/2012.But 8 days passed, I have not reveive my package,and even can't get any more information from the UPS number *****AXXXXXXXXXXXX you give me except the label was created on 12/26/2012.

Desired Settlement: I request for another reshipment of my order. And they should give me the dilivery schedule。

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/01/24) */ Dear *** ******, Thank you for allowing us the opprotunity to address your issue. Please know you may contact us directly to have your issues resolved. We would be more than happy to help you. Your order *XXXXXXXX shows shipped XX-XX-XX using the tracking number you provided we show your order was delivered on 1-4-13 left at the front desk and signed for by a person named ****. Since this is a reshipper address it is the cusotmers responsibilty to contact them and ask them where you package is, which shows it was delivered at 10:08am on 1-4-13. If they are unable to locate this order we would be happy to replace this order for you. Please let us know, after you have contacted them,we can be reached toll free at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX or contact us via email or chat. Our address is *****@sierratradingpost.com. Thank you for your business it is appreciated.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/24/2013 Delivery Issues
1/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Returned an item via UPS, yet after 7 weeks, and multiple communications with CSR's still no refund, only general replies. I returned a pair of pants from the order EXXXXXXXX, item #*****-XX-XX-XX. The pants were mailed back on *ov 23rd via STP's UPS express return label #******XXXXXXXXXXXX . The package seems to have been lost/stolen and STP charged me $55.06 on Dec 5. I initiated the claim with the UPS, however, since STP is the shipper, the UPS agent told me that they will contact STP. This was on Dec 8th. The status of the UPS claim has *OT been updated since that time leading me to believe that STP didn't follow up on the claim. So on Dec 22nd, I contacted STP via chat messaging as well as the email. Their last communicate was on Dec 22: "We have started a trace on the return package for ***XXXXXXXX and hope to have the matter resolved quickly. If any further information is needed, we will contact you via email. We apologize for any inconvenience." However, any subsequent requests for updates went unanswered.

Desired Settlement: I just want the refund.

Business Response: Business Response /* (******000, 5, 20******3/0******/08) */ ******/8/******3 Reference: Better Business Complaint XXXXXXXX Dear ***** My name is ******** *******, and I am responding to the Better Business Bureau complaint filed on ******/7/******2. In reviewing ****** ****** file, I do see the discrepancy stems from an "online return" (******XXXXXXXX instant credit of $55.06) that was placed on ************/22/******2. When an "online return" is place it is important to use the UPS return service label from the original order or to print one during the "online return process". This provides us with the necessary tracking so that our system can track the UPS scans properly until reconciliation occurs. We do not show any tracking with the original label, ****** ****** didn't provided us with a UPS tracking number that indicates it was ever to us. Therefore, we have not been able to file a claim with them directly. We have not yet received the pants, (item ************-XX-XX-XX $55.06 ) which is why ****** ****** was charged $55.06 on ******2/5/******2. This was after the ******0 day reconciliation timeframe. Process of returns and exchanges are listed within this link. https://www.sierratradingpost.com/myaccount/returnexpress/ ****** ****** used the credit from this return (******XXXXXXXX) on order EXXXXXXXX for item ******XXXX-XX-m. The cost was of $54.95 plus shipping of $2.95 for a total of $ 57.90. ****** ****** may not recall that another order was placed and sent to another person at a different mailing address. ****** ****** used the $55.06 on this order and used a MC to pay the remaining $2.84. We have not received the return item back, and we in good faith extended the credit and it was used on the order mentioned above. Therefore, we don't owe a refund. However, I do recognize that ****** ****** has been a good customer and from time to time packages do get misdirected with any carrier. So as gesture of goodwill I will credit ****** ****** MC for the amount of $55.06. The credit will be posted to ****** ****** account with in the next 3 business days and it should appear on the next ****** or 2 billing statements depending on the billing cycle. If I can be of further service please don't hesitate to contact me directly. Sincerely, ******** ******* Customer Service Manager Sierra Trading Post. *****@sierratradingpost.com XXX-XXX-XXXX

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/17/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sierra Trading Post Canada (http://www.sierratradingpost.ca/) When I received my order I was asked to pay Duty on top. I had already paid shipping. http://www.sierratradingpost.ca/ Sierra trading Post portrait themselves as a company doing business in Canada but does business from the states and does not care if duty charges are added. They hide behind a disclaimer. If you go to their canadian site, there is no mention of additional shipping charge but if you click on Internationnal Shipping, you are redirected to their US site where the disclaimer is located. I purchased an Item for 40$ and paid 34$ shipping on top.Total amount was $74. When it was delivered to my house, an additionnal 24$ duty charge was added on the spot. So my 40$ ended up costing me 98$ which is more than double the price of the item. I obviously complained to STP but was redirected to that disclaimer (which does not appear on the canadian site technically). So my problem with this company is why do they have a Canadian web site at all if they are not setup to do business from Canada (having inventory local in Canada so that canadian customers are not treated like internationnal customers.) I think this is a flagrant case of mis-representation and I would like my $24 back.

Desired Settlement: I want 24$ back. If STP wants to do business in Canada, they should be setup for it. We are not a 3rd world country, we are the biggest trade partner of the United States. If you don't want to do this, then take down your canadian web site. You dont have a web site for Uganda?

Business Response: Consumer Response /* (-5, 2, 2012/11/29) */ Customer number PXXXXXXXX Order number EXXXXXXXX Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2012/12/03) */ Dear ****** ******, Thank you for your feedback via the Better Business Bureau. We appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns, regarding Canada shipments and extra shipping charges. Please accept our sincere apologies for any confusion or frustration it is not our intent. ******, in our attempt to make our website more user friendly, we have included a Canadian website as well as some others for our international customers. On these sites we have provided useful links to alert our customers to the extra shipping costs and to include customs. http://www.sierratradingpost.ca/international-faq-p30/. We also message duties, taxes, and custom fees throughout our checkout pages and process several times so this information is clearly outlined. We have included several forwarding services on our website which may be a better option for you to consider, when shipping from the USA to Canada. However, since we do not have a physical presence in these countries, and the product is imported to Canada, customs do remain the sole responsibility of the customer. In a statement of good faith we have refunded your $24 customs fee with our internal credit # F-XXXXXXXX to your visa card used on the order # EXXXXXXXX. We remain hopeful, this will restore your faith in our company. Sincerely,

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Recharging me for an item I returned for exact exchange. Refusing correct credit ($10) to my charge card by flubbing off an unwanted gift card. I ordered a shirt from Sierra Trading post and when it arrived I saw I already had the shirt in that color. I returned the shirt for an exact exchange in a different color abiding by the company's stated satisfaction guarantee that I could send back any pruchase for refund or exchange by original payment method within 6 months. With my exchange delivery was order #SXXXXXXX from Sierra Trading Post on 10/4/2012 for $12.95 stating I now owe them $8.90 for the above exact exchange on item ***********, the same shirt I had already paid $12.95 for on my ******** Card. There was an unexplained "$7.00 adjustment" on the bill which I still do not understand. I called the customer service person at the Trading Post and he said there it was a "fee for any returns that are not DEFECTIVE" and would not credit my account. Instead he sent me an unwanted gift order by email to settle my complaint. Proveably this Company has not made honest use of their exchange guarantee. They must provide me with a full credit of $10.00 to my ******** Card. Many thanks, ****** ******

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a credit of $10.00 to my ******** Card account from the Sierra Trading Post for double billing me on an exact exchange in spite of their advertised policy of easy returns and exchanges guaranteed. I paid originally $12.95 for a shirt. I returned that shirt one week later for an exact exchange of the same shirt in a different color and still at the same price. When the exact exchange shirt arrived it included a re-billing with a balance of $8.90. I was aware reading the fine print that it would cost me $2.95 to have the exact exchange sent to my home. With $12.95 already paid for the shirt, less $2.95 for the exchange delivery charge equals $10.00. That is the amount I wish to have credited to my ******** Card to settle this complaint. A gift card substitute for any amount will not satisfy my demand for a $10.00 credit to my account. Many thanks, ****** ******

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2012/10/11) */ Dear Consumer , We sincerly apologize for any confusion or frustration it is not our intent. Please note upon using the return exchange label to return the item for exchange there is a fee of $5.95. There is also a fee of $2.95 to send exhange out to you. We do state this on our website. The inbound and outbound exhange charges result in the amount of $8.90. Your item sent back for exchange was $12.95. After the $5.95 was deducted a credit balance of $7.00 remained to apply to the exchange order. The exhange order shipped out to you. It was invoiced as follows, $12.95 plus $2.95 return ship charge is a total for the order in the amount of $15.95. We subtracted the $7.00 credit which left an outstanding balance due of $8.90. As a courtesy and to make this right for our customer, we have voided the charges for the amount of $8.90. This is now showing as a straight exchange with no money owed to us or to the customer. We thank you, and truly appreciate the opportunity to make this right. The $10 E-gift card was applied to your account as a statement of good faith, and our efforts to restore your faith in our compnay. We appreciate your business, Sincerely, Core Supervisor, Sierra trading Post.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/9/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This business has been harrassing me for months. I never signed up to get emails from them yet they send me spam every day, sometimes 2x a day. I have clicked the unsubscribe button on their emails numerous times yet they keep harrassing me. I have tried to reply to their emails to request them to quit bothering me and they just won't stop! Emails are coming from: *****@sierratradingpost.com This is harrassment and I've considered contacting the authorities. I just want to be left alone!

Desired Settlement: Get me off their mailing list once and for all. NEVER contact me again. I never signed up for their emails and have never done business with them!

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2012/10/05) */ Date: 10/5/12 Reference: Case number XXXXXXXX Dear ******, This is in response to Ms. ****** ******* complaint about opting out of our e-mail marketing. In reviewing her account our records indicate that when the account was created on 2/29/12 that the "Opt In" for email marketing was activated by the account creator. It also shows that it was discontinued online by a web user on 9/17/12. Our email campaigns are predetermined a few days out so she may have continued to receive a few. However, she should not receive any more. Her record does not show any other attempts to be "Opted Out". We have not received other complaints about the "Opting Out" selection not working so it appears as this was an isolated situation, for which we do apologize. It certainly was not intentional. As a gesture of good faith I have issued her a $20.00 e-deal card to her account. It is good for 90 days. My hope is that she will give us another opportunity to serve her. If I also offered personal assistance should she need to do so, in my letter that I sent to her. It is also enclosed for your records. Best Regards, 10/5/12 Dear ******, My name is ******** *******, I am the Customer Service Manager at Sierra Trading Post. We received a Better Business Bureau complaint regarding our emailing marketing campaigns, that continued to be sent to you after you had repeatedly asked for them to be discontinued. We do aggressively market through email. So our customers have the best deals before them when they are ready to purchase. In reviewing your account our records indicate that when the account was created on 2/29/12 that the "Opt In" for email marketing was activated by the account creator. It also shows that it was discontinued online by a web user on 9/17/12. Our email campaigns are predetermined a few days out so you have continued to receive a few. However, you should not receive any more. Your record does not show any other attempts to be "Opted Out". We have not received other complaints about the "Opting Out" selection not working so it appears as this was an isolated situation, for which we do apologize. It certainly was not intentional. As a gesture of good faith I have issued a $20.00 e-deal card to your account. It is good for 90 days. It is my hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Another E-mail will be sent with the number and how to redeem it. If I can be of further assistance please don't hesitate to contact me directly. Best Regards,

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/3/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/29/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/10/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/10/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
2/8/2012 Delivery Issues
1/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/23/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/17/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/8/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
10/25/2011 Delivery Issues