Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Spotlight Music Inc

Phone: (970) 377-8066 Fax: (970) 377-8068 4606 S Mason St, Fort Collins, CO 80525

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Spotlight Music is a family owned and operated full service music store with a cafe and stage.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Spotlight Music Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Spotlight Music Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 19, 2003 Business started: 03/01/2000 Business started locally: 03/01/2000 Business incorporated 01/01/2002 in CO
Business Management
Mr. Rob Curci, President Ms. Jen Curci Ms. JoAnn Curci, Sec/Treas
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jen Curci
Principal: Mr. Rob Curci, President
Business Category

Musical Instrument Stores Musical Instrument Repair Shops Musical Instrument Accessory Suppliers Music Instruction - Instrumental Coffee and Tea Shops

Refund and Exchange Policy
Refunds are for store credit only. They must be done with in 7 days of date of purchase.
Products & Services

guitars, keyboards, drum equipment, and recording equipment. products include: Fender, Squire, Taylor, Roland, Orange, PRS, Charvel, Gretsch, Line 6, Boss, Seagull, Art & Lutherie, Ibanez

Additional Locations


    4606 S Mason St

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (970) 377-8066


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 6 July 2014 I bought a Ukulele and accessories at Spotlight Music Store. I am disabled and I discussed this with the two salesmen who helped me (***** and *******). I have a neurological condition that causes severe pain in my limbs. When we left the store the receipt was not in the bag, which we didn't notice until we got home. My husband called the store and was told that it would be a the register, we could pick it up any time. In the last week-and-a-half, I have had severe trouble with pain in my hands - to the point that I couldn't even pick up the Ukulele to try it. I realized that I would not be able to play the instrument, and today I returned to the store to return it. I was told that I could not return it, since it had been more than six days since I bought it. No one, at any time, told me or my husband the store's return policy. It is printed on the receipt, which we didn't get - and which was not available to the register. (A salesman had to search through the store's receipts for the prior two weeks to find their copy.) I asked to speak to a manager about my situation, being unable to play because of my disability. Instead, a salesman talked to the manager and returned to tell me that there are no exceptions. This afternoon my husband called the store to discuss this with a manager. He was told that the manager was busy, but would return his call. This did not happen. I find this unacceptable for a store that claims on their on-line store: "Spotlight Music is the place to buy your gear because we are committed to give you the best customer service ever!". I have barely had the instrument out of the case to look at it, and have not played it at all. Six days is a very short time to make a return, especially if you were not informed of the policy. Their on-line store policy is a 14 day return from the date of delivery - more than twice the time allowed for in-store purchases.

Desired Settlement: I would like to return the Ukulele and accessories to the store for a refund. The salesman said that if I had brought it in within the six days, I would have received a store credit - not a refund. This was never mentioned to us. I don't want a credit I can't use, I want to get my money back. I am on a limited income and have lots of medical bills. The bottom line is: they did not get the receipt in the bag and we were not informed of their policies.

Consumer Response: My name is ***** ****, disabled in all 4 limbs and I just filed a complaint tonight against Spotlight Music for not giving me a total REFUND since my condition is not predictable and they knew that, the salesman.  Just another case of ma**** a disabled personal feel embarrassed and ashamed. I told the two salesman my whole medical problems and how even though I have an implant I’m still in pain every single morning!  Please call me as they should make an exception for my situation esp. since NO ONE told us the return policy esp they made the first mistake by not putting it in the bag.  Due to my situation or not they should have mentioned when my husband called “by the way Mr. **** the return policy is”. that is very bad business.  And finally I did check the waiver to authorize you to communicate my complaint with the business yet it didn’t check!!!
Please help me as since I can’t play it I really need the  $202.15 and my husband also bought a guitar and accessories which made the total:  $364.31.  I stood at the counter for 10 min while the saleman Mark who was rude to me took to fine the receipt.  By watching him sift through the sales and an online business and people coming in constantly my husband and I think they are doing very well!  I asked to speak to the Manager and he didn’t come out he talked to the salesman Mark who relayed everything to me.  There is nothing I need or could even use in the store with a life credit and they realize this esp. *******, the medical student sitting there the whole time!  ******* did say he was sorry they couldn't give me a refund and he felt bad!
Thank you for your time.  Once again the disabled person always gets treated like dirt!
Regards, ***** ****   Home ***** *** ****.  I also have documentation for my disability, esp in the top limbs the nerve damage is fingertips to shoulder joints. Please help me!

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:
In response to this complaint I submit the following:
1.      Please see the attached.  Note our BBB listing clearly states our return policy.  Note the receipt clearly states our return policy.  Finally, note the BIG YELLOW signs on our counters at the point of sale.  This is where ***** or her husband Phil signed her credit card receipt.  Please see how consistent our policy is:  REFUNDS ARE FOR STORE CREDIT ONLY AND MUST BE DONE WITHIN 7 DAYS.

2.      Mrs. ***** ***** **** had the product from July 6th through July 17th.  This is clearly over 7 days.  We actually stated to her that we would take back the merchandise on JULY 17th – FOR STORE CREDIT.  She demanded her money back.  Anyhow, this was our first attempt to work with Mrs. ****.

3.      Please note:  Mrs. **** called the store at some point after her sale but prior to the 17th, and asked us to print out her receipt.  We did this and we had her receipt waiting by the register for numerous days.  By the way, finding a receipt takes less than one minute to find as the sale is under her name in our computer.  After days had passed, I threw it in the garbage – if she had requested I email it or send it in the mail – I would have.  However Mrs. **** did not.  Anyhow, if she had ever come in to request her receipt again – it would have taken less than a minute.

4.      At the time of the sale, my employee handed them the receipt – they left it on the counter next to the BIG YELLOW SIGN.

5.      On July 17th, my manager who assisted Mrs. **** – told Mrs. **** that I would call her in the morning.  I did call Mrs. **** on Friday, July 18 in the morning.  I spoke with her and explained that we were ma**** an exception and would take the ukulele back on JULY 18th – but it would be for store credit.  This was our second attempt to work with Mrs. ****. 

Today is the 24th – Mrs. **** has not come back, and my offer is not valid any longer.  Now it has been almost 20 days. 

6.      Return times are different on my web site because the instrument must travel 3-7 days to get to a customer.  They do not walk out of my store with the instrument in their hands.

We have been in business for 14 years.  There are many products in our store Mrs. **** could have used the credit for – we even discussed at least one of them on the morning of the 18th when I did call her back.


*** *****

Spotlight Music

Spotlight Music
4606 South Mason St
Fort Collins, CO 80525
(970) 377-8066