Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Watson Moving and Storage

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 586-6683 Fax: (970) 577-8234 View Additional Phone Numbers 930 Juniper Ln # B, Estes Park, CO 80517 http://www.nocomovers.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Watson Moving and Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Watson Moving and Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Watson Moving and Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1957 Business started locally: 01/01/1957 Business incorporated 05/16/2008 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DORA - Colorado Public Utility Commission
1560 Broadway Ste 250, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us/
Phone Number: 303.894.2904
Fax Number: 303.894.2065
cliff.hinson@state.co.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Joel Gilliland, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joel Gilliland, Owner
Business Category

Movers Packing and Crating Companies Storage Units - Household & Commercial Paper Box Suppliers Warehouses


Additional Locations

  • 200 12th St SW Ste 106

    Loveland, CO 80537 (970) 669-8001

  • 930 Juniper Ln # B

    Estes Park, CO 80517 (970) 586-6683

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/16/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are filing a complaint against Watson Moving and Storage located in Estes Park, CO (and also with an office in Loveland) because they quoted (and later confirmed) us a price for moving a piano, and then raised the price twice when we were in a compromised position of having no other options. We are asking to be charged the originally quoted price, and to have subsequently added-on charges refunded. We initially contacted Watson Moving and Storage at their Estes Park phone number (given to us by a local realtor) on 8/20/15 to ask about pricing and scheduling for moving a small upright piano from a rented moving truck into our house in Estes Park. Regarding pricing, we were told the cost would be $185 for a minimum of one hour to move the piano. Regarding scheduling, we were told there were no openings on either 8/28 or 8/29 when we would have the truck here, but that they might have an opening on 8/30. We were subsequently able to extend our truck rental through 8/30, so we again called Watson Moving and Storage in Estes Park, whereby we were told that "after 2:30 p.m." on 8/30 was indeed available. We also confirmed the price of $185 for one hour to move the piano. The Watson Moving and Storage person subsequently called us again on 8/28 to re-confirm the time of after 2:30 p.m. On 8/30 at 12:36 p.m., the piano movers called to tell us they had become available two hours earlier than planned. We told them to come over, and the two of them showed up with a surprisingly large truck. Before moving the piano into the house, they presented us with a bill for $230 for two hours of work. We told them we had been quoted $185 for one hour, and they called somebody (presumably the owner of the company). Then they told us there was another increase and the new bill would be $370 for two hours! We asked for an explanation for why the cost would go up twice, and the lead mover said we initially got wrong information, and then they were given wrong paperwork for the original markup; and now we would have to sign an amended paper and approve the newest changed price before they would move the piano. We are both 70 and being treated for cancer, so we could not possibly have moved the piano ourselves, and they had us in a compromised situation where we had to return the truck. (We also had to be in Boulder for cancer treatment the next day.) We signed under duress, and moving the piano (which was already on a dolly and wrapped and ready to go) took about 15-20 minutes. We called the company the next day to ask for the overcharges back, so we would pay the initially quoted and confirmed price of $185 (with the added-on $185 returned); and we were told the owner would call us back. Today, we called again and were told the owner had no intention of calling us back. The person we spoke with said she had informed us there would be a "transportation charge" for driving to Estes Park from their office in Loveland. She did no such thing, either in our initial contact or in subsequent confirmation of the charges or scheduling. When we signed up for a piano move, we were not even aware the company has an office in Loveland, as well as in Estes Park. Assuming the movers did drive to Estes Park from Loveland, the circumstances that they were driving a large truck (not necessary to move a piano) and that they became available two hours earlier than scheduled suggest that they were actually in Estes Park primarily for another reason, and we should not have been required to pay extra if that job did not work out. Also, if there was a lack of proper communication in our initial contacts with the company and "wrong paperwork" in the first mark-up, those were not our fault either. We have informed Watson Moving and Storage that we are filing this complaint with the Better Business Bureau in order to have the price increase of $185 returned, so we would pay only the initially agreed upon price of $185 for moving the piano.

Desired Settlement: We are asking to have the price increase of $185 returned, so we would pay only the initially agreed upon price of $185 for moving the piano.

Business Response:

***** ********************* *** ********************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** ******** 

*****,

I just wanted to let you know that we refunded $185 to the customer. As far as we are concerned, the issue has been resolved. Please let me know if there is anything else that we need to do.

Thank you,

December L******* 
Office Manager
Watson Moving & Storage
************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* *********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Watson Moving and Storage
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)