Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Columbine Moving & Storage

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 925-2201 Fax: (970) 925-9558 View Additional Phone Numbers 411 Aspen Airport Business Ctr, Aspen, CO 81611 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.columbinemoving.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Columbine Moving & Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Columbine Moving & Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Columbine Moving & Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 10, 2002 Business started: 06/01/1979 Business started locally: 06/01/1979 Business incorporated 01/01/1979 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DORA - Colorado Public Utility Commission
1560 Broadway Ste 250, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us/
Phone Number: 303.894.2904
Fax Number: 303.894.2065
cliff.hinson@state.co.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. William Ortmann, President Mr. Chip Olejniczak, General Manager Mrs. Marilyn Ortmann, Sec/Treas
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Ortmann, President
Business Category

Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing Storage Units - Household & Commercial Moving & Storage Company


Additional Locations

  • 0930 Chambers Ave

    Eagle, CO 81631

  • 411 Aspen Airport Business Ctr

    Aspen, CO 81611 (970) 925-2201

  • PO Box 957

    Eagle, CO 81631 (970) 328-2008

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a contract with Columbine moving company for a delivery of my furniture from ***** Colorado to ******* **********. I was in a rush to leave and they were supposed to pick up my furniture the very next week. which they did. Then all hell and headaches break loose. I am supposed to receive my furniture 2 weeks from pick up date. I receive an email on the very last date my furniture is supposed to be delivered from the owner Mr. Bill O****** saying that the driver didn't bring a long enough truck and that only have of my furniture could leave that day. Which I would've been fine with. "Any furniture is better than NO furniture when you'd been sleeping on the floor for 3 weeks." But, Mr. O******* decides to make the Executive decision for ME a PAYING CLIENT with no contact what so ever to hold off on the move for another 2 weeks. I had been without furniture for over a month and a half and when I **ll to figure things out Mr. O******* gets an ATTITUDE with me and says it was his decision and only his decision. Then he has the nerve to say that they **NNOT do anything for me to get my furniture out quicker to ********** or decrease my rate on my bill. He was never apologetic until I **lled ****** *** ***** services and told them about the situation and that I would report these two companies to the BBB. I finally received my furniture after a month and half with some things s**red up from them packing my materials.

Desired Settlement: I believe that Columbine Moving Co. out of Aspen, Colorado should adjust my bill up to 50% off. They had the nerve to charge me $2,500.00 for the move that was supposed to take 2 weeks and then make the executive decision for a grown man and a VETERAN? I fought for this country and I don't deserve for people to make up decisions for myself and then charge me the same as it were for two weeks when it takes this company over a month.

Business Response: This client's goods were picked up on 10/16/2015 as agreed to. His delivery "window" was 10/23 to 11/3/2015. The truck to **. arrived on 10/28/2015 to load his items from our warehouse. This truck didn't have enough room, due to other customer's shipments already on the truck, taking up more space than estimated. If we only partially loaded some of his items on this truck, this would have necessitated a second truck with the extra items that didn't fit. I made the decision not to load a partial shipment & to keep the entire shipment together. As soon as I realized there was a problem, I notified the client via email on 10/29/2015, @ 8:42 a.m. about the delay, and giving him a new delivery "window" ending on 11/15/2015. His shipment did deliver on 11/15/2015. Unfortunately the size of the client's shipment, 1760 lbs. does not qualify for a delay claim. In order to qualify for a delay claim the shipment would have to weigh 3,500 lbs.  

7/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: No truck driver to move my belongins Charged my cc before receving my belongins Double charged my credit card $3764.55 on 06/10 and 06/11 The company tried to re-schedule because they couldn't find a truck driver to do the loading. They never mentioned to stored our belongins for another week in a storage which they did. Then they charged my credit card twice before even receving my belongins, which I was told that my credit card was supposed to be charge once receving them. Got 1 credit after my request and then charged me again four days later. Still waiting for a refund. My billing cycle is closed and the credit card company is asking for almost $8000 due to the moving company error.

Desired Settlement: Receive the $3764.55 credit due to me and their acknowledgment that the agreement was to charge my card after delivery. Due to all this mess I would also like a refund for the credit card fees they charged me. My concern is for future consumers who don't have a big credit line.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/11) */ Customer's goods were picked up on 6/10 per the contract by our local truck because there was no over the road truck assigned @ that time. His credit card was charged $3764.55 @ that time per industry policy.The shipment stayed in our warehouse @ no cost until 6/15. On 6/17 customer demanded that his c.c. charge of $3764.55 be reversed. Columbine reversed the charge. Shipment was scheduled for delivery on 6/22. Last day of delivery on the contract was 6/24. Columbine ran the c.c. for $3764.55 on 6/21 prior to delivery as is co. policy. On 7/4 the customer notified Columbine that his c.c. had been run twice for $3764.55. Due to the holiday weekend Columbine couldn't address that problem until 7/8 when businesses opened up. We discovered his card in fact had been run twice due to a malfunction with our credit card machine. Columbine issued a credit for $3764.55 to customer on 7/8 & provided him with all the documentation showing the credit being issued. The credit just hasn't "flowed through" to his account yet. As for payment after delivery, that is never the case in the moving industry. Payment is always due prior to the unloading. In fact, that is stated on the Bill of Lading, which is signed by the customer. We would never agree to charge his card after delivery due to the fact that there might not be enough of a credit limit on the credit card. I am happy to supply the BBB with a "paper trail" showing that the customer has been charged the proper amount & been credited the proper amount. His shipment was serviced with the contract dates of pick up 6/10 or 6/11 and delivery 6/15 to 6/24. I apologize for the inconvenience but the problem with the credit card was a defective machine in our office.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Columbine Moving & Storage
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)