BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Burke Moving & Storage?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Burke Moving & Storage

Phone: (307) 635-3608 Fax: (307) 635-3126 View Additional Phone Numbers 220 Evelyn ST, Cheyenne, WY 82007 http://www.burkemoving.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Burke Moving & Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Burke Moving & Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Burke Moving & Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 16, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1936 Business started locally: 01/01/1936 Business incorporated: 05/04/2006 in WY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bryan Scadden, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bryan Scadden, Owner
Business Category

Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Equipment Suppliers Packing and Crating Companies Piano Movers Storage Units Paper Box Suppliers Packaging Material Companies Warehouses Office Record Storage Services

Alternate Business Names
Scadbert Inc

Additional Locations

  • 220 Evelyn ST

    Cheyenne, WY 82007 (307) 635-3608 (800) 987-3608

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 987-3608(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a complaint about the questionable estimate tactics used to give an accurate quote by Burke. Burke was able to come over to our former place of residence and walk through our home and evaluate how much of our personal items we have that they would have to move. Burke gave us an estimate of $2105.0 to move all of our items to a new location. We paid Burke this amount after they moved us into the **** trailer that was located at our home. Not to mention Burke did not even have to use their own trucks to move us. **** mobile rented us a 57 foot trailer which was used to store and move our items. I even called ****** ****** about his quote and questioned him about the cost of the move. ****** assured me that we would not be paying much more then what was quoted on his quote. Then on the final day of our move one of his guys called someone at Burke and we were told that we owe Burke another 1792.0 dollars. I am was never given any justification for this extra amount or even shown a bill. I even called ****** ****** about this issue and I have yet to see a bill. Please help me to understand their billing process. I am still not sure what we were paying for in the first place. Not to mention his movers lost the hardware to our nice wooden queen size bed and also the hardware for a book shelve we own. This issue was just ignored by the movers and we were left to fend for ourselves. The movers are hard working nice people who need to the accountability for things that are lost during a move. We need help with this issue or I am going on line to let everyone know the issue we ae having with Burke. Please help us recover some money back. Thanks

Desired Settlement: We would like most of the money back from the 1792 dollars. We feel this was never justified in any billing statement at all.

Business Response:

September 20, 2013

 

Dear *****:  We are in receipt of your email regarding the ******** move. The parameters changed on this move thus the price went up accordingly.

 

  1. Mr. ********* did not go direct to his new home. He rented a trailer for us to load and did not let us know before we got to his home. We had to send men back to the office to get storage pads and a ramp to load the trailer.  Because it was a freight trailer and not a moving trailer we had to secure the items differently as we could not use our straps. Our company uses straight trucks and had three available to do this move. 

2. He moved from a very large home to one about half the size. The new home is on a  very narrow street. When we arrived to unload his trailer we had to wait for people to move their cars so we could open the doors and put our ramp down. The way the trailer was situated the ramp was at an angle into the street. Our dollies had to go up over the curb and on to the sidewalk. 3. The entrance into the new home is on the side of the house, and once in the home difficult to maneuver items.  I had estimated that they had approx 18000 lb. Our men did the best they could to get all items into the home and placed where they wanted them. Again this was made more difficult due to the size of the home. 

  1. I stopped by the day of  delivery and visited with Mrs ********—she thanked me for the crew and how hard they had worked. Said they may be moving again to ********* ******* and wanted our same crew. 
  1. I got a call from Mr. ******** a week or so after the move and was asked about the cost I walked him thru the reasons the cost was more and he seemed satisfied at that time. He said he may call me and have me come over with the breakdown of hours and I said I would be happy to do so. I never got that call. 
  1. Your email is the first I know anything about the hardware missing. If he had to purchase hardware we will get him a claim form.

     6. This move was difficult for the Bauchmann’s as they had to postpone several times. He almost lost the sale of his home due to the postponements. We moved the new family into the home that is how I am aware of that situation.  I feel            bad for them but we did not cause the issue.

If you have any questions please give me a call at *** *** ****.

Regards,

******  ******

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/9/2012 Delivery Issues
12/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service