BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming

This Business is not BBB accredited

Cycle Central

Phone: (970) 461-9466 Fax: (970) 461-3148 1601 N Lincoln Ave, Loveland, CO 80538 http://cyclecentralinc.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers motorcycle parts, accessories, sales, service and auto pawn.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cycle Central include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cycle Central
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 28, 2003 Business started: 04/10/1998 Business started locally: 04/10/1998 Business incorporated: 03/23/1999 in CO
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Auto Division-CO
140 W 6th Ave Rm 109, Denver CO 80204
Phone Number: (303) 205-5696

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Debbie Knight, Manager Mr. Justin Cran, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Debbie Knight, Manager
Business Category

Motorcycle Dealerships Motorcycle Repair Shops Motorcycle Part Suppliers Used Car Dealerships Boat Dealers

Service Area
Nationwide and Worldwide

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1601 N Lincoln Ave

    Loveland, CO 80538 (970) 461-9466

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Did not previously disclose a bike was damaged or a final price before taking a non-refundable deposit. I called to Cycle Central Saturday, Feb. 23, 2013 to check if a motorcycle was still available for sale. They told me it was, but that other people had been looking at it and it would go fast. They requested deposit of $300 to hold the bike until I could make the 2 hour drive to see it. I gave them my credit card number. When I showed up on Tuesday, Feb. 26, 2013 to see the bike I realized the bike was not in excellent condition as it was stated on their website and advertising. At this point they informed me that the deposit was non-refundable and that the price was now non-negotiable also. I felt pressured to sign an agreement to purchase the bike, because I thought they already had my credit card number. So, I signed a deposit contract. I went home that afternoon and did research on the bike, it's condition and how to get a loan for amount requested by the dealer. ****, my bank, informed me that the bike was only worth $2155 in the condition it was in. I called ****** immediately, to let him know that I could not purchase the bike for twice what the book value was or what could be insurable. He refused every reasonable offer that day and refused to return my deposit 4 hours after I was forced to sign a documents. On Wednesday, Feb. 27, 2013, The co-signer of my loan (my mother, ****** Reed)called ****** to try to get a reasonable price or my deposit refunded. He told her my inexperience was not his problem. She asked if he would consider store credit, he laughed. He stated the deposit was for loss of marketing, but at no time was the bike removed from their website, or from the show room floor. I requested that they please sell the bike to anybody else, less than 24 hours of them taking my signature for the deposit. If I would have known that they had not already charged my card I would have never signed. It was unfair sales tactics and pressure. I just want my $300 deposit refunded. I informed them less than 24 hours after realizing that they were over pricing the bike by double to me.

Desired Settlement: I want my $300 deposit back. If they told me the bike had been dropped and was not in good condition, I would have never given them my credit card over the phone.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/03/01) */ As it has been stated, the customer called on 2/23/13 and wanted to put a hold on a bike we have for sale. She wanted to hold it with a credit card. I agreed to hold the bike with the credit card # but would not actually run the card until Tuesday 2/26/13 when the customer said she would be in to check the bike out. The customer arrived as planned on that Tuesday. The customer and guests inspected the bike, they noticed a couple of scrapes, but decided to go forward with the purchase of the bike. She did not have the full amount for the purchase and stated she was needing to get financing, and asked if we would hold the bike so she could proceed with that. At that point we filled out the Deposit form which clearly states the agreed upon price with taxes, the bike, how long we can hold the bike, the amount of deposit and that the deposit is non refundable. The bike was taken off the sales floor and put in our service dept. for hold. At this point the bike can not be available for anyone else to purchase. We use this form so there is no confusion. The following day we received a call from the customer saying that the bank would not loan on the bike. (We have no way of knowing exactly why she was not able to get the loan) We agreed to drop the price an additional $300.00 off the already agreed to amount to help her be able to get the bike. We also offered to transfer the deposit to another bike in stock! I would like to state that the advertisement of this bike did not say it was in excellent condition. Also this bike is 12 years old. I will forward the advertisement if needed. We do not force people to do anything. How can anyone do that? That is just simply ridiculous! Which is obvious, because she needed to find financing and wanted to hold the bike. It was her decision to have us hold the bike, she signed the form and the credit card receipt freely. This is just a prime example of someone not doing their due diligence and could not follow through with the purchase for whatever reason and putting the blame on Cycle Central! This bike is currently still on hold in our Service Dept. until the agreed upon date. Which makes it unavailable for anyone else to purchase. I am attaching all the signed documents and will be happy to forward the advertisement and photos if needed. Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/03/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The issue was not that I did not get a loan. I did in fact get preapproved for a motorcycle loan through **** for up to 3000 dollars (I can verify this through bank records). The bank would not loan for that specific bike because the minimum loan they would give is $2500 and the bike was only worth $2200 at most through the NADA guides which are what most banks and insurance companies use to value bikes. This makes me wonder where this dealership got their pricing from. The bank was trying to protect me and their interests as well when they informed me that if I bought that bike I would be at least 2000 dollars upside down if anything happened to the bike right off the lot. If the bike is 12 years old why would anyone try to sell it for twice what it is worth? There is no way they paid more than 2000 dollars for the bike. When I mentioned that there was at least $600 dollars' worth of damage to parts on the bike and that we would pay full price if they fixed it, they said they would not because I was a "new rider". They have no way of knowing that information, not to mention it's insulting to any customer and irrelevant to why they should not fix the damage. The parts broken were: a broken kill switch ($140), huge chunk out of cylinder head cover ($275), and scrapes to chrome mirror ($100) (the bike was clearly dropped which they failed to mention before they to take my card information over the phone) (and with the scraped mirror- they even admitted to doing the damage "getting it in and out of the door"). The statement made, "This bike is currently still on hold in our Service Dept. until the agreed upon date. Which makes it unavailable for anyone else to purchase, "is fraudulent. We decided we did not want the bike since they would not come down at all on their ridiculous price, (Nowhere on the document does it say that the price is non-negotiable) so they told my co-signer (mother) if I gave them my permission to sell the bike while on hold, that if anyone came in and tried to buy it, they would give me my deposit back. So did they really lose advertising time on the bike and was it really on hold when I gave them my permission to sell it? No. An eye witness (******* *****) came up on Saturday, March 2nd, 2013, (bike was still on hold that day) to give them 300 dollars so that I could get my deposit refunded and saw the bike not in their service department but on the show room floor. This dealership is a prime example of one that deals in greed and fraud, when they set their prices way too high and are people who will try and scam any dime they can get out of a customer. Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/03/19) */ As stated In our 1st response, this young lady WANTED this bike! We did take her credit card number over the phone, but did not run it until AFTER she inspected the bike and the condition it is in. This bike is 12 years old, so yes it is not in perfect shape, but in very good condition for its age. If someone wants to purchase something that has no wear and tear, then this person should be purchasing an item that is brand new, not used! This customer willingly signed our Sales with deposit form as well as the credit card form, because she wanted this bike and she needed time to get the financing in place and did not want us to sell it to anyone else. She left our shop happy. In regards to the Bank and financing for the bike, in our experience (we have been in business for 14 years) All banks/Credit Unions and other financial institutions are different in the way they finance(especially on Luxury items!), the percentages they charge, and the Guide books they use etc etc. There are several different "GUIDE" books that are used by these institutions, The Kelly Blue Book (KBB), NADA guides and sometimes the Black book. None of these guides have the same values for vehicles. I looked up this particular bike on the NADA and KBB guides and the value varied from $2250.00 to $4520.00. Thats a huge difference! When we value our bikes we look at both of these guides as well as doing research on the internet(such as cycle trader) to see what other similar bikes are selling for. Based on all this information, we determine our pricing. We priced this bike to be competitive with others on the market. As we do with all our bikes. So how can any Dealer/seller use only one book to determine how to price their merchandise. It just does not make sense. After finding out the bank would not loan enough on this bike(she still wanted the bike, in its condition that she approved of) she offered $3500.00. We told her we could come down $300.00 on the already agreed to price. We unfortunately could not come to a deal on this bike. We offered to let her use the deposit on any other bike in the showroom. Which, I guess she did not want to do. In regards to the "eye witness" who came up the very day that we agreed to hold the bike until. The customer was not going to be there that day and wasn't going to buy the bike so we put it back on the floor. I spoke to this person (eye witness) that day regarding the deposit and the customer this is regarding. She came up from Colorado Springs to be "anonymous" and pay the deposit for her. She said this young lady had some hard times in her life and that she felt sorry for her and the customer really couldn't afford to loose her money. She wanted to pay the $300.00 deposit so we would credit the customers credit card. We hesitated, because we really wanted to get this BBB situation worked out first. I tried to explain the situation as best I could. She told me she drove all the way here and just wanted to do this for the customer. We agreed to let her pay the $300.00 and credit the customers credit card. I also told her I still wanted to get this worked out through BBB, because we do not believe we have done anything wrong. So we credited this customer $300.00 to her credit card and the eye witness paid the $300.00 for the deposit. In closing, we did not do anything fraudulent as this customer has stated. This customer was extremely excited about the possibility of owning the bike and just because we would not come down in price to where she wanted us to be, or what the bank would finance this bike for, so she could purchase it, does not make us fraudulent or greedy. She signed a Sales with deposit form that states the deposit is non refundable. She did this willingly. Thank You Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/03/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The Business stated the reason to keep the $300 was because they lost valuable advertising in taking the bike off the floor until the date on the signed agreement. The business is fraudulently stating they took the bike off the floor. They never did. They should refund the money. Consumer Response /* (-5, 12, 2013/03/25) */ My name is ******* *****. The statement made by Cycle World on March 1, 2013, " This bike is currently still on hold in our Service Dept. until the agreed upon date. Which makes it unavailable for anyone else to purchase. " is fraudulent. I went to the store, in person, to request they refund Ashley's money. The bike was on display out front for purchase. They should do the right thing and refund the $300. To any future consumer: If they lie about putting the bike in the back to keep it on hold for a customer, and bicker and quibble over a $300 deposit (from a 19 year old girl), I can't help but wonder what other shady/fraudulent business practices they will be willing to commit in the name of making a dollar. Will they also lie about a service they are asked to perform on a motorcycle? Will they add extra charges to a service you request they perform? They are definitely in the business of squeezing the very last dime out of every customer, no matter what. Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2013/03/28) */ The FACT is this customer signed an agreement, with the intent to purchase, pending her getting financed. We did take the bike off the floor. We told anyone who was interested in this bike that called etc. that the bike was sold. There were potential other buyers that were turned away. We did put the bike on the floor on March 2nd, it was a Saturday, this complaint was already under way and we knew the customer was not going to purchase the bike. So from Tuesday February 26th until the morning of Saturday March 2nd, this bike was unavailable for sale. This customer is fraudulent in stating we took a non refundable deposit and a final price before she looked at this bike personally. We in FACT did not take the deposit until this customer came to our shop, looked the bike over, saw whatever minimal damage/scrapes this bike had and decided she wanted this bike as is! It was fully HER CHOICE to sign our Sales with deposit form and the credit card receipt, then proceeded to go to get financing for this bike! She couldn't get this bike financed, we offered to switch the deposit to another bike, she choose against it. She wanted this bike bad enough to want us not to sell it to anyone else. Plain and simple! We did absolutely nothing wrong.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1