Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Jiffy Lube

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 226-5823 Fax: (970) 226-5839 View Additional Phone Numbers 3703 S Timberline Rd, Fort Collins, CO 80525 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.jiffylube.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jiffy Lube meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Jiffy Lube include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Jiffy Lube
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 14, 2008 Business started: 01/01/1978 Business started locally: 01/01/1978 Business incorporated 09/01/2008 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Mindy Myers, Owner Mr. Mark Howell, Operations Manager Mr. Pete Myers, Owner Mr. Ken Stillwell, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Mark Howell, Operations Manager
Principal: Ms. Mindy Myers, Owner
Business Category

Car Lubrication Shops Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Auto Services Auto Services - Oil & Lube Storage Battery Retailers Auto Repair

Alternate Business Names
Enitor Enterprises LLC Jiffy Lube - Service Center #17
Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Jiffy Lube has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 121 Kensington Dr

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (970) 282-0770

  • 2549 S College Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (970) 482-4033

  • 2549 S. College

    Fort Collins, CO 80525

  • 3703 S Timberline Rd

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (970) 226-5823 (970) 237-0102 (970) 214-8599

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Monday, March 30, 2015 I took my 2001 ****** ****** in to Jiffy Lube # 17, located on College Avenue in Fort Collins, CO, for an oil change. Being new to the area and not knowing the best places to go, I decided to look under the hood and check the various hoses and fluid levels before going to the place of choice. This is why I know everything was intact when I arrived at Jiffy Lube. There were no signs of any leakage of any kind in my garage or driveway before taking the car to Jiffy Lube. The technician took the car in for the requested oil change. The car was not steaming and there was nothing leaking from the car. The technician brought the car back saying the service was complete and casually mentioned a few minor needed repairs including a loose radiator hose that only needed to be tightened. I drove straight home (5+ miles) and as I entered my driveway noticed the car seemed to be running hot and something was leaking. When I lifted the hood, I saw steam, spattered fluid and the lip of the radiator pipe to which the hose connected was completely broken off from the top of the radiator. The plastic piping appeared to have been cut. Unable to drive that car, I immediately got into our other car and went back to inform them of what happened. I was told it was already loose needing to be tightened by one person and another said it was already broken off when the hood was raised. If it was completely broken, why wasn’t fluid spewing and dripping as I talked with the technician requesting the oil change service and when the hood was opened? Common sense would tell them to inform the customer immediately if something like a completely broken radiator pipe lip with a detached hose is seen when you open the hood of a car. This would automatically avoid any misunderstandings. I drove more than 5 plus miles to get to this shop without any problems and only had problems when I returned home to find a completely disconnected hose broken at the radiator lip. No apology was given, just the name of a repair place suggested. Is this a buddy business that will do more damage to the car? Based upon the response to my complaint I am contacting the Better Business Bureau.

Desired Settlement: The car repaired. The truth, an apology and a refund would also go a long way in restoring my faith and trust in this company.

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

After speaking with the crew members and watching the video surveillance of this service, everything happened the way our manager stated it did. During our final safety inspection, his elbow brushed up against the radiator hose and it popped off. We explained it to the customer as soon as it happened, and we don't feel that this was due to any negligence on our part. We are not going to refund the service or apologize for lying, since its not the case. 

1/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I arrived at Jiffy Lube at apprx. 11:20am to have my 2011 ****** ****** Serviced. I told the Service writer to "be sure to grease the drive train."I returned at approx. 12:10pm and the truck was not done being serviced. At that time, I walked out into the shop and reminded the same service writer again "not to forget to grease the drive train and that it was very important." He said it would be done. I left the shop at approx. 12:30pm. During check-out the Service writer assured me that the vehicle had been greased. I got home and crawled under the truck and found that the drive train grease zerks had not been greased. I immediately returned to Jiffy lube and asked the same service writer to look under my truck and confirm that the vehicle had not been greased - he refused. He offered to grease the vehicle, but the wait time would have made me late for work. Also worth noting - the "maintenance required" service light had NOT been reset. As we parted, I reminded the service writer how important this procedure was and that I depended on his honestly and work ethic to perform the services as promised.

Desired Settlement: When my schedule allows, I am going back to have the vehicle greased and have the maintenance light reset. This will be my third trip to Jiffy lube. I believe I should get a full service free for my time. I ALSO THINK THE PERSON GREASING THE VEHICLE SHOULD GET A PERFORMANCE WRITE-UP AND ADDITIONAL TRAINING.

Business Response: Sir,

I am so sorry that you had this experience in my service center. I will handle the team appropriately, I assure you. Please go in and speak with our manager, ****, and he will take great care of you. I will send you a free oil change for your next service. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your experience. 

Sincerely,

**** ******
Operations Manager
************

10/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We brought our car in last yr to get our oil changed and the technician failed to replace the cap resulting in catastrophic damage. The company refused to pay for any repairs but promised us a free oil change next time. Obviously we've been hesitant to bring our new car in, but decided we'd give Jiffy Lube one more shot. To my surprise they kept no record of our free oil change. They claimed there was nothing they could do about it and charged us for it, anyway.

Desired Settlement: There are are numerous complaints from this store alone about people's cars being ruined by Jiffy Lube. Ideally I wish they'd cover the thousands of dollars caused by their negligence. At the very least I'd like my money back for the oil change.

Business Response: We will gladly refund the cost of the service and I am terribly sorry that our management didn't take care of this issue in the store. I will have our office send a check for the $21. 

4/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 18, 2014 I went to Jiffy Lube ***** ** ******* for an oil change. At that time, I was told by the customer service person rep in the shop that I also needed my front and rear diff fluid changed as well as my transmission fluid. I was given a sheet that listed when these services were due that says "manufacturer recommendations." The invoice for this service is #**** *******, Transaction No ************** Employees: ***** ***** **** **** **** **** opted to have the oil change and the front and rear differential done at that time. I said to the customer service rep that checked me in "Do they know what they are doing with the differential? I know on a Subaru it can be tricky." He said yes, they knew what they were doing. I said "ok, because my husband has told me it's confusing." He assured me again they knew what they were doing.The next day, March 19, I was driving from my home in ********* Co to ********, WY for work. I was heading north bound on I-25 in northern Colorado when my AT Oil Temp light came on. I immediately pulled over and shut the car down, letting it cool off. While it was cooling, I looked up the closest Jiffy Lube which was store #** in ** *******, CO. I drove straight there.I explained to the customer service rep what had happened and showed him the pages I received the day before showing the work done and work recommended. He said we would ask them to check the diff fluid and said they could do the transmission fluid change. I agreed to have that done, based on the recommendations given to me the day before.He assured me the tech checked the differential fluid and they were fine. The tech then changed the transmission fluid. Invoice #** *******, Transaction No. ************** Employees: ***** ***** ***** **** ***** *****I left and finished my trip to ******** and back home. On Saturday, March 22, my family (me, my husband and 3 kids) left for *** *****. We were driving the Subaru. We were driving West on I70 and at around 8:30-8:45pm around mile marker 192 we were going up a slight incline when suddenly I saw my mpg indicator shoot all the way up and noticed that when I pushed down on the accelerator it was working. I immediately started pulling over to the shoulder. At some point during the initial noticing of the mpg surge and before I came to a complete stop, there was a thunk. We pulled over as far as we could onto the shoulder and put the car into park. The car was still running, but when put into drive, it would not move.We called for the nearest tow truck in the nearest town which was ***** *****, Utah. Our main concern was that I had 3 children sitting in a car on the side of a freeway with no lights, no buildings around and semi trucks speeding past at 80mph. We were able to reach ***** ***** Towing ***** ******** and have the car towed (and us transported) to *** ****** Auto in ***** *****. The tow truck driver told us that *** ****** Auto would not be able to work on a 2012 Subaru. But we left it there because there was no where else to go in ***** *****. We stayed at a hotel that night in ***** *****. The tow charge to *** ****** Auto was $200. During this tow (and possibly the next) my car's skid plate was scratched and the front bumper was damaged. There is yellow paint and scratches that were not there previously. We know it was not there because my husband regularly checks my car for leaks because I drive so much.Since *** ****** Auto could not service this 2012 Subaru, we arranged to have the car towed to ***** ******** Subaru. The nearest Subaru dealer. This tow was $525. We had to hire a shuttle to take us to ***** ******** ($200) to rent a car. There was nothing open on Sunday to wait for the car to be repaired. We rented a car in ***** ******** ($387).The car was towed to ***** ******** Subaru and upon doing the initial inspection, they discovered the front differential was empty and now the CVT transmission needs to be replaced. Further, I found out that my transmission fluid should NOT have been replaced until 100,000 miles. The "manufacture's recommendations" given to me were wrong.

Desired Settlement: I am now out:$200 initial tow$200 shuttle service to ***** ********$387 car rental$525 second tow$241 for the transmission fluid change that did not need to be done for another 40,000 miles$1553PLUS the initial estimate of $8855 (attached) to repair the car. PLUS the damage done to the skid plate/bumper.

Business Response: To whom it may concern, 

I have already been informed of this claim and have been working closely with the manager of store ** to get all the details. Unfortunately, this claim is NOT related to the service we performed. We simply replaced the transmission fluid. The fluid in the transmission is still full and the reason the transmission needs to be replaced is because the final drive was never filled properly by the first Jiffy Lube service center to work on it the day prior. This store is not part of our franchise, and therefore this claim needs to be forwarded to them. The final drive can not be replaced without replacing the entire transmission on these vehicles, but again we had nothing to do with the front differential or the service of it. Please forward this BBB complaint to: ******* **** **** ***********. They are franchise owner of the location that did not fill the differential up when they serviced in the day before it came to us. 

I am very sorry that we can not help you further with this claim. 

Sincerely, 

**** ******

Consumer Response: Had this location in Fort Collins checked the front differential fluid like they said (and like I asked them to) this situation would have ended there. They obviously did not check it or some how drained it. They were the LAST place to touch the car.

Business Response: The customer came in after only driving 90 miles since the service was done at the prior Jiffy Lube and complained that the check engine light was on. She asked that we check it (which we did) and asked us to check the differential (not the final drive). We did check the rear differential which was full. Beyond that, it was NOT our responsibility to check anything above and beyond the transmission after we serviced it. Obviously, there was an issue with the original service hence the reason the check engine light came on. Why would we do anything when we were not the people to create the mistake? How does that make any sense? The original Jiffy Lube did not fill your final drive enough or at all, and it burned up as you drove. They were the ones to completely drain it and were supposed to fill it back up to a certain level (which is where I believe the mistake was made). We can not accept responsibility for their error. This is where we stand on this situation- and our position is firm. This NEEDS to be taken to someone in a higher level position in the ******* **** **** ***********. 

Regards, 

**** ******

Consumer Response: If only I could get SOMEONE to talk to me there!! Their response is attached.

Both locations blame each other. Corporate is impossible to communicate with.

I will be contacting a litigation attorney and naming both locations today.


12/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 1992 Honda Civic into the Jiffy Lube for an oil change, and they recommended I have the radiator flushed which I agreed. This was done on July 1, 2013. After one month the car started over-heating. I took the car back, and they reflushed the radiator. After another month the car started to over heat again. I took the car in again and they said the car was low on coolant. They added the necessary coolant.After another month the car started over-heating again. I took the car to Fort Collins Collison and Radiator Repair, and they checked it and said the overflow tubing was disconnected and replaced it for around $111.I drove the car for three weeks, and it started over-heating. I took the car back to them, and they found the head gaskett had failed.They repaired the car and charged $1277. When I picked the car up, they stated they thought, when Jiffy Lube flushed the system, they left an air pocket in the system and it led to the head gasket failure. I contacted Jiffy Lube and they were not willing to do anything for me as to the cost of this expensive repair. I feel Jiffy Lube was negligent in the process of flushing the system, since I had had no problems with the car over-heating before I had it flushed at their business. I believe they should have to take responsiblity for their mistake and pay for the cost of the repair.Respectfully****** ** ******

Desired Settlement: I request Jiffy Lube to pay for the expensive cost of this repair.

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

When we investigated this claim a month or so ago we called an ASE master mechanic and asked him his opinion regarding our cooling system service and whether or not it could lead to a head gasket failure. We explained that our service is simply a fluid exchange- not a flush- so there is only 18-20psi used to pull coolant from the system through the radiator cap. The machines we use will not allow a system to under fill or leave an "air pocket" after service. If coolant is being lost it is from a leak (sometimes a leaking head gasket) or the radiator cap is no longer functioning to its proper rating. 

An internal combustion engine produces over 200psi while its running- that is the constant pressure that the head gasket is under EVERY time the engine is turned on and running. Our machine running 18-20psi will NEVER create head gasket failure. The only thing that can happen is that our service can uncover pre existing head gasket issues when coolant is removed and sludge/varnish deposits are freed from the head gasket. Our service is preventative maintenance- and the cooling system should be serviced every 2 years or 30,000 miles (whichever comes first). If these regular services are not done, this sludge can build up over time. Any cooling system service would have uncovered the problem that was already there. Again, we are not a repair facility- and we can not look inside an engine or cooling system to see any pre existing issues before we perform a service. 

Unfortunately we can not accept any liability in this claim when an unbiased 3rd party professional mechanic stated and provided us documentation that our service simply COULD NOT cause this type of damage, only uncover something that would have failed in a matter of time. 

Please contact me if you need any further information.

Regards, 

**** ******
Operations Manager- ****** ***********
********************

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  Number one their ASE Master technician, although they know a lot about car repair, they are not necessarily an expert in all cooling systems on all vehicles.  After the the first and second drain and fill of my cooling system, I experienced over-heating.  I paid Jiffy Lube for a new radiator cap.  The first time the vehicle started over-heating after the over-heating I took it back and they made no mention of a leak of any kind.  The second time it started tp over-heat, I took the car back and they said the over flow was low on fluid and topped it off with coolant,  They wanted to charge me for this, but I argued that I had had the service performed there, and they should not charge me.  After the vehicle started to over-heat again. I took it to a reputable radiator repair shop for an investigation of the problem.  They initially said the tubing to the overflow canister was kinked and disconnected from the cap, which Jiffy Lube should have seen during their inspection  They fixed this problem, but a few weeks later it began to over-heat again.  I took it back, and they said the head gasket had blown.  They replaced the head gasket and I haven't had any issues since.   I have a letter from the repair shop stating, in their opinion, the cause of the failure was due to an air pocket that occurred during the drain and fill process at Jiffy Lube.  Since I was not experiencing any over-heating problems before the Jiffy Lube service, I feel their inexperienced tech failed to make sure there were not air pockets left in the system which probably led to the head gasket failure.  For Jiffy Lubes ASE mechanic to state that there system of draining and filling the radiator could never lead to an air pocket formation is pure speculation at best.  I would put much more faith in an expert radiator repair shop which specializes in this type of repair than the inexperienced techs who are paid low wages to do this type of work.  It is just as possible for the air pocket to have blown the head gasket as for the sledge and varnish to have been the cause of the failure.  I, therefore, reject this unconfirmed explanation and request compensation for Jiffy Lubes negligence.

Respectfully,

****** ******

Regards,

****** ******

Business Response: Again, our service is NOT a drain and fill. We use a sophisticated machine that pulls the coolant and replaces only exactly what came out- making it impossible to leave an air pocket. I question the supposed radiator shop the customer went to if the only way they know how to service a cooling system is a 10 year outdated process. It is obvious that we are not going to resolve this issue in this forum. We are still denying any liability in this matter and that will not change. 

Regards,

**** ******



Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  Since your system of removing and replacing the coolant uses very low pressure, I seriously doubt that it would be strong enough to remove any sledge or varnish away from the sealed head gasket and create the failure.  Since I have spoken to several mechanics and done research on the internet, I have come to the conclusion there are many reasons for a head gasket failure.  One of those reasons is an air pocket, which would cause the engine to overheat, therefore, cause the gasket to fail.  Since I cannot prove this was the case, I will not seek relief in small claims court.  However, there is one action I can take, and that is to not use Jiffy Lube for any future services on my vehicles.


Regards,

****** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Jiffy Lube
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart