BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of TruGreen Limited Partnership?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

TruGreen Limited Partnership

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 461-3087 Fax: (970) 461-3783 798 Denver Ave Unit 100, Loveland, CO 80537 http://www.trugreen.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Full service lawn and tree care for residential and commercial.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that TruGreen Limited Partnership meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for TruGreen Limited Partnership include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on TruGreen Limited Partnership
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 14, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1973 Business started locally: 01/01/1973 Business incorporated: 12/10/1990 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Darrin McLimans, Branch Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Darrin McLimans, Branch Manager
Business Category

Lawn Care Companies Tree Services


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2244 Colex Dr Ste C

    Grand Junction, CO 81505

  • 798 Denver Ave Unit 100

    Loveland, CO 80537 (970) 461-3087

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Business did not provide service as documented and failed to provide refund. District manager promised refund and it was not issued. Account XXXX-XXXXXXXXXX. I have a front yard in two sections on either side of the driveway: 1,000 sq ft. + 300 sq. ft. The back yard is 1,000 sq. ft. I pay to have 2300 square feet chemically treated during each visit. This year there have been 4 treatments. During the first one the entire lawn seems to have been serviced. The remaining 3 times, only the larger section of the front yard has been treated, and the backyard not at all. This information is based on: The service tech's service slips which show he was on the premises for 1 minute, 4 minutes, and 7 minutes, and used enough product each time for 1,000 sq. ft; a neighbor witnessing one of the treatments to the large section of the front yard only; and the poor condition of the obviously untreated areas. You can hardly walk across the lawn in one minute, and certainly can't provide any sort of treatment in that time. I have copies of all of the service slips. For each of the service visits I paid the entire amount of $52 by check, with the exception of the last visit on 7/2/13. Prior to that I didn't scrutinize the service slips because I believed I was dealing with an honest company and the expertise of a tech who does this for a living. For now, I require credit for all of the services I did not receive, which totals $26.00 x 3 for the backyard, and $8.67 x 3 for the untreated section of the front yard. That comes to $104.01. I did not pay the invoice for the most recent service on 7/2/13, so I will subtract that amount from the credit I am owed, which leaves $52.01. I detailed this information in an email to TruGreen on 7/5, and also spoke to the branch manager ****** or ********* 7/5. He claimed that the entire lawn could technically be treated in one minute (defying logic), but could not explain the use of only 1,000 sq. ft worth of chemical, as recorded by the service tech. The manager told me to expect a refund check within 2 weeks. A follow-up email I sent on 7/18 was ignored, as was a phone message I left with ***** at XXX-XXX-XXXX this morning, 7/25/13.

Desired Settlement: $52.01 refund for services not performed.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/26) */ *****, i believe that we have resolved your issue by telephone when I let you know that I had forgotten to send the refund promised. The request as I told you has been sent and I would remind you that we are an honest business and that you not getting the refund was an oversight on my part. ****** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: TruGreen applied an insecticide to my property without my desire or permission. On 5/16/2013, about 7 AM, I saw a TruGreen truck out front and an employee in my yard. I thought they were leaving a flyer, but when I checked the door, I found a notice that they had applied the insecticide Bifenthrin (which has a half-life in soil of between 7 days and 8 months) to evergreen trees on my property and to the perimeter of my house. I have never ordered services from nor had any kind of relationship with this company. They did this without even notifying us (even though we were home). The previous owner must have had a contract or something, but we moved in about 9 months ago. I have small children who now can't play in the yard when it is the prime season to be outside. Since I had mint and lettuce growing in pots next to the house, I also have to toss those, or risk pesticide ingestion.

Desired Settlement: $10 to replace the edible plants I had growing.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/06/06) */ Dear Mr ******, Please accept my apologies, the last occupant was using our services and did not let us know that she was moving. Our service continues in the spring for our customers for their convenience. Please be aware that it should be fine for your children to be out in the yard. We have had rain that will have watered this product down. and we would tell customers that it is fine for them to use the yard once the product has dried. Additionally I have no issue with giving you $10.00 to reimburse you for your plants. I will have this money dropped by or mailed to your house. Respectfully, ****** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Repeated attempts to close account. Requested account be closed 3 months ago, several times. Phone call today confirming service for the next day. Repeated robo calls. Account XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: My hourly rate is $24.50, I'm billing you for 1 hour. Close the account and stop calling.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/24) */ Dear Mr ******, Your account has been canceled and you are not a customer of Trugreens now. Sorry for your inconvenience. Respectfully, ****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They Killed my yard They killed my lawn last summer. I complained at that time and all they were willing to do was give me a bag of grass seed so I fired them. One of their sales people called me to see if I would like them to take care of my yard this summer and I gave them another chance to make it right, so I told him I would have them come back if they were willing to take care of the still dead portion of my grass. He just called back today and offered to aerate and reseed the dead area and fertilize for the summer for only $800.00!!!! I told him no because they burned it up to begin with. I should have sued last summer. Stay away! These people are terrible!

Desired Settlement: All they have to do is fix the dead area they killed and I will have them back for routine spray services.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/04/22) */ Dear Mr ******, I feel it important to remind you that we have not serviced your lawn since 2011. we were not on it last year. In the spring of 2011 it was noted that your lawn had been damaged by mites. We had done one visit and applied granular fertilizer that was a 25-0-5 with 50% sulfur coated urea to your lawn that was dormant at the time on March 26. your lawn showed this damage at that time. It is virtually impossibly that your lawn would have been burned by our application. As I look at satellite imagery of your lawn from last summer July 2012 it is clear that the lawn is extremely dry and does not get the water needed to develop a root sustem that will fill in sparse areas. Trugreen is not the cause of any current lawn issues you are having and we feel that you are not being reasonable with your request to us after we diagnosed and tried to assist you with the problem in the spring of 2011. Respectfully, ****** ****** TruGreen Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2013/04/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) You don't have to remind me when you were last here, I know that very well. I fired you in 2011 due to your slow, extremely inadequate solution of offering me grass seed to repair a problem you created. Your solution of offering me grass seed also brings a question to mind. Why did your company offer this as a solution if you didn't think it was your problem? Also of note, your representative who I spoke to at my house at the time of my complaint told me he didn't know what could be causing the problem, so I took it upon myself to have the forestry department from the city look at the issue. They took soil measurements and determined that chemical burn was, and is still the issue for one of the affected areas. Further, the damage to my yard was immediately after your visit, not gradual as it would have been if mites were the case. There was also no damage similar to this in the neighborhood. I am not aware of any visits from any other representatives from your company to inspect, or follow up, which is further evidence of your lack of understanding and attention to this matter. I should also note that the lawn prior to your visit and since has been watered on every watering day as necessary, and sometimes more often as needed. Since your dismissal, I have cared for the lawn on my own with fertilizer and appropriate pesticides and it is recovering very well in most areas except for a 1,000 square foot area where the chemical burn was so bad, that the soil can best be described as sterile at this point. It is interesting to me that you describe my complaint as "irresponsible" when your personal assessment of my yard is based on a photo taken FROM OUTER SPACE. I think that is irresponsible. Do you ever leave your office? I am only 20 minutes away. I have read other reviews from your customers all over the country, and the reviews from customers with problems very much like mine got the same "canned response" from your company which tells me much about your corporate culture. You guys have passed the buck and blamed me for a problem which you created. I am a extremely loyal consumer and you could have had me as your happy customer for years if you had taken care of your problem rather than doing what you did, which was nothing. I have dealt with your sales people who either don't read notes on file (or more likely, there aren't any notes as evidenced by your diagnosis of my situation with google earth view pictures) when they call me and ask why I am not using you anymore. I gave you a last chance to make it right again this spring, and more of the same is the response I am getting. I have neighbors who ask all of the time why "I let the lawn die" and it is embarrassing, and I have had it. My explanation to these questions will always be the same until this is resolved, which is that the experts in this field, TruGreen did this. Respectfully, A Former Customer of TruGreen.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was billed for two service calls that where never made. I signed up to use trugreen lawn service last year the heathy lawn plan and the tree and shrub plan. I have received call solicitations for additional services and refused them all. I had set my account on autopay and everything seemed to be fine on the billing till this winter I start receiving calls that I haven't paid. So I get online and look and find that I'm being billed for services in November and December. Well no services where rendered in those month they always leave a slip stating the services rendered and time of visit I have no such slips nor did we see them. I'm just glad the autopay failed so that I could look into what I was being billed for. On further review I noticed it was billed as customized plan and I had never agreed to any additional treatments that they tried to sale.

Desired Settlement: Removal of the charges for services never rendered and the discontinuance of any future services.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2013/04/23) */ MR ******, FIrst I would like to say I am sorry about this situation and I want to let you know that no services were added to your program. I believe that we did preform the services you were billed for but the last one was quite late in the season and perhaps should have been skipped. I will contact the collection people to have the discontinue the efforts they have been making to collect the amount of the two visits we did and your services have been canceled with TruGreen. Respectfully, ****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were contacted by Tru-Green to provide lawn service for the summer 2012. We were told that we would get 7 treatments, but only received 3. In the spring of 2012 we were contacted by Tru-Green to take care of fertilizing and spraying our lawn for weeds. We made a verbal agreement on the phone to provide the service and received no written contract, nor did we sign one. We paid $220 for the service and we were told that we would get 7 treatments over the summer, just like we had in past years. After the first 3 treatments, nobody would come over even after we called them multiple times to do so. At one point they agreed to refund $55 but no money ever came of it. Several phone calls were made to them over the fall with no replies. After discussing my frustrations with my son, he called Tru-Green on 10/29 and left a message that he wanted to discuss the situation with them, and if they didn't return his call in 24 hours, he would contact the BBB and file a complaint. The call was promptly returned and he was told that Tru-Green no longer offered the 7-application program that we were told we were getting, and what we got was a different service that we contracted for. My son asked if there was a written contract and was told that there was, so he asked for a copy of it to be e-mailed to him and Tru-Green agreed to do so. Three days later he still had not received the contract they told him I signed. In fact, we did not sign any contract and the terms of the service were communicated verbally. We have done business with Tru-Green in past years with no problems like this. Since no contract was provided in 3 days, my son again called Tru-Green on 11/1 and left a message (they don't answer their phone). He told them that since they refuse to provide a copy of our contract, and that since they seem to have a way of cheating seniors out of their money, that we wanted a full refund of everything we paid to them. He told them he was giving them until noon on 11/2 to contact him or myself to discuss the situation and come to a settlement, or to somehow make things right. Tru-Green apparently ignored his request, and didn't call either of us. Since they have been refusing to return calls to me or discuss the situation, I have no choice but to file a complaint against them. I tried to come to an agreement on service or get a refund, and they simply refused to do anything but keep our money.

Desired Settlement: FULL refund of the $220 we paid in the spring for care of our lawn. Even though we got some service, the lawn does not look very good, and we believe that the effort and frustration we have gone through trying to deal with this business warrants a FULL refund.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2012/12/14) */ Dear Mrs ******, after reviewing your complaint I feel like there was either some miscommunication on our part or you may have misunderstood our slaes person. The only program that Trugreen offered in 2012 for lawn care was a 5 visit Healthy Lawn plan (HLP). That is what your service was set up for and since were not starting the service until June your 1st visit was called a round 2. We were setting up services for one full year so the last would be in the Spring of 2013. Part of our presentation did point out that we would come out as many times as you need to take proper care of the lawn. You di have us come for one free visit during the season. I am sorry but we do not have records of other calls being made with regards to yuo getting seven visits. That was our old plan. With respect to your notes to send a contract I do not have any documentation that says that it was ever requested. You do recall I'm sure that you do not sign a contract and all we have is a verbal agreement. Because i do feel that you misunderstood the terms of our service and you feel that we had done something to you I will refund the full amount you paid us. I will tell you that this is not an admission of wrong doing on our part and that if we were not a reputable organization with the best of ethics we would not be refunding your money. Respectfully, ****** ****** Consumer Response /* (-5, 15, 2012/12/18) */ Mr. ******, I just reviewed the BBB file on this case and I think you should do the same. You were given three notices of this complaint, all of which you ignored (just like you ignored my mother). It wasn't until you received the certified letter warning you about your accreditation being at risk that you finally replied to the complaint. And you have the nerve to blame others for this irresponsible business behavior? I filed the complaint on 11/2/12. This is a record of what happened after that: 11/02/2012 Complaint Received by BBB 11/02/2012 EMAIL Inform Accredited Business of Complaint 11/20/2012 No response to first notice to Accredited Business 11/20/2012 Second Notice to Accredited Business 12/03/2012 No Response received from AB on 2nd Notice 12/05/2012 EMAIL PHONE CALL OR TIME EXTENSION : 12/11/2012 No Response received from AB on 2nd Notice 12/12/2012 AB Final Notice to Company- Certified 12/14/2012 RECEIVE BUSINESS RESPONSE Consumer Response /* (4200, 21, 2012/12/31) */ On 12/18 I accepted the settlement offer from Mr. McLimans of TruGreen for a FULL REFUND of the $220 we paid for their service. While I vehemently disagree with Mr. McLimans' refusal to accept any blame caused by his poor business practices and procrastination, I accepted the offer anyhow. The case was closed on 12/19. To date, almost 2 weeks later, we have received nothing nor have we heard anything from TruGreen or Mr. McLimans. Just as he did for six weeks from the date the complaint was filed, Mr. McLimans seems to be ignoring his responsibility to settle this matter again. We had given him 7 days to send a refund check, which I thought was sufficient since local mail takes one day to receive. But Mr. McLimas doesn't seem to take this issue seriously. If we don't RECEIVE the full refund by Friday, 1/4 I will be re-filing an additional complaint with the BBB, and posting our experience with TruGreen on the internet along with the other hubndreds of TruGreen complaints filed here and elsewhere: http://www.consumeraffairs.com/homeowners/trugreen.html http://trugreen.pissedconsumer.com/complaints.html http://www.syix.com/emu/html/tg1.html Also, shortly thereafter I will be filing a case in small claims court that will include a demand for the full $220 PLUS punitive damages to the extent allowable by law. Finally, I suggest that the BBB move ahead with gving Mr. McLimans' TruGreen business the "F" rating for this ongoing irresponsible business behavior, based on the poor response to this entire matter. They obviously deserve it.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/5/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/18/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/26/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1