BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Natural Aspen?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Natural Aspen

Phone: (970) 309-1261 PO Box 8819, Aspen, CO 81612 http://www.naturalaspen.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Natural Aspen meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Natural Aspen include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Natural Aspen
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 25, 2008 Business started: 01/01/2005 Business started locally: 01/01/2005
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Justin Hanson, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Justin Hanson, Owner
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Landscape Designers


Additional Locations

  • PO Box 8819

    Aspen, CO 81612

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Continual repairs of a large irrigation pump over a 4 year period resulting in $1000's. Pump should have had a $80 pressure valve installed on day 1. In 2010 the pump was sent out for major repairs. This email was sent to Natural Aspen on Sept 2, 2010: "irrigation pump -- we understand that you had issues with the irrigation pump this season and hired Aqua Tech 2x. It is imperative that the motor minder is set properly and the pump and irrigation system are regularly checked. ****** has not been involved with the irrigation pump in over a year and it is our understanding that Natural Aspen is responsible for the pump. (I recall hearing about communications between you and ****** regarding a plan for continual testing of the irrigation system -- and you providing something in writing stating what that plan would be; not sure if that ever happened.) Please make sure that the pump is and will be addressed properly -- it's a rather new, expensive piece of equipment that the ******* should not continue to incur additional expense for negligence on the part of Natural Aspen." And this email on Sept 7, 2010: "******* -- ****** reminded me that we still do not have an answer regarding if the motor minder has been set on the irrigation system. Please inform us in writing if someone from your organization has set the motor minder and when they did so. If someone from your organization is not familiar with how to set the motor minder, we would suggest that you contact ****** at **** Electric to come do so. Thanks, ****" We never received a response from Natural Aspen. More than two years later we are still being invoiced to repair the pump, not once, but three times! It is apparent to me that the ****** irrigation system has not been properly addressed over the years. Had the pressure relieve valve been installed three or four years ago, we would not be having this conversation today. Additionally, the smart box issue (as indicated above and again in my Oct 7th email remains an unknown). And, by the way, I provided ******* with the motor specs during the first year Natural Aspen was servicing this account.

Desired Settlement: Two Thousand Dollars ($2000.00) refunded to Mr. ****** for unnecessary repairs to the pump and main irrigation system.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/02/27) */ -----Original Message----- From: Natural Aspen (mailto:*****@yahoo.com) Sent: Wednesday, February 27, 2013 10:57 AM To: *****@wynco.bbb.org; ****** ****** Subject: Natural ASpeN responds In response to complaint number Fwd: BBB Complaint Case#XXXXXXXX(Ref#REDACT3131*****@yahoo.com3130*****@yahoo.com3132REDACT) The following is natural aspens response to the above complaint number. 1. All of the work mentioned in the complaint was performed by a subcontractor by the name of ****** *******-management. ****** was completely responsible for all the work that was done on the property in fact I've only been up there probably four times over the last 5 1/2 years. Natural Aspen will supply all of the tax returns applicable that will prove that ****** was paid as a subcontractor. 2. Also the current system on the property is extremely old and outdated and the elk run through the property constantly breaking lines all over the place. They are trying to hold us directly responsible for an inconsistent malfunctioning system it would be like going to a mechanic with a car with 300,000 miles on it and the muffler falls off and then telling the mechanic he's responsible for replacing the muffler because he was fixing it. In addition we had a final agreement in writing that they would pay the final $2000 to ******* and I would be happy to pay the $900 remaining balance and then they reneged on that promise and try to extrapolate the money for me through the Better Business Bureau. ****** REDACT3133*****@yahoo.com3133REDACT NASPEN ASPEN Landscape by Design REDACT39*****@yahoo.com39*****@yahoo.com39*****@yahoo.com39*****@yahoo.com39*****@yahoo.com39*****@yahoo.com39REDACT---- REDACT3133*****@yahoo.com3133REDACT **************** _____ Natural Aspen XXXXX ***************** ******************* ** XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX _____ Natural Aspen 731 South Mill st. Aspen CO XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX _____ Mailing address Natural Aspen PO Box 8819 Aspen ** XXXXX Email *****@yahoo.com Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/03/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Natural Aspen's response does not address our complaint. We have conducted business with Natural Aspen for only four years (not 5 1/2 years as suggested by Mr. ******). Natural Aspen's response indicates that the ******'s had some sort of subcontractor business arrangement with ****** *******-management. At no time (in a four year period) were we notified (in writing or verbally) we would be dealing with this sub-contractor (or any other landscaping contractor). Furthermore, Mr. ****** visited the ****** property in question hundreds of times over the four year span; and, in each case, he arrived in a vehicle with "Natural Aspen" stenciled on the side of the vehicle. Additionally, each and every invoice (for services rendered) was received via PayPal request from ****** ****** and Natural Aspen; and, each and every payment was made payable to Natural Aspen. Mr. ******'s metaphor about elk traffic and auto repairs does not address our complaint, and is totally irrelevant to this case. Finally, we paid ******* $******** as agreed: "On Thu, Feb 21, 2013 at 1:59 PM, LISA <*****@aol.com> wrote: Yes ****** we recieved your check, thank you." Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2013/04/04) */ From: Natural Aspen (mailto:*****@yahoo.com) Sent: Wednesday, April 03, 2013 9:01 AM To: *****@wynco.bbb.org Subject: Natural Aspen- response Case ID#: XXXXXXXX Consumer: Mr. ****** Hi ***** I am resending the complaint I left you a voicemail yesterday please let me know that you got the email because it got sent back to me also at your earliest convenience please call me I wanted to verbally discuss a couple of issues with you XXX-XXX-XXXX thank you very much hope you had a nice vacation Case ID#: XXXXXXXX Consumer: Mr. ****** 1. ****** ******* project-management performed all the work on the site I had not visited the site but only a few times in the course of four years 2.REDACT3133*****@yahoo.com3133REDACTNatural Aspen has already paid the $2000 ******* there should be no further financial resolution. 3. I don't think the proposed solution by the customer is appropriate but I could suggest something that potentially could be an amicable resolution 4. We could perform services on the property up to the amount of $2000 I think this would be a fair way of resolving the problem and we could take care of that and literally one or two visits for spring cleanup? Thanks. ****** Email *****@yahoo.com ******'s cell. XXX-XXX-XXXX Consumer Response /* (-5, 26, 2013/04/09) */ From: ****** ****** (mailto:*****@gmail.com) Sent: Tuesday, April 09, 2013 9:58 AM To: ***** Sharf Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case#XXXXXXXX(Ref#REDACT3131*****@yahoo.com3130*****@yahoo.com3231REDACT) Hi *****, We thought, basis Mr. ******'s 04/03/13 offer to provide $******** worth of spring cleanup that this issue was over. Apparently, ****** changed his mind? Regarding this unfortunate change, we should reiterate what I have already stated in this complaint: 1. ****** ****** was represented as an employee of Natural Aspen from day one. 2. ****** ****** drove vehicles with "Natural Aspen" stenciled on the side. 3. ****** ****** was never paid a dime for services rendered. Furthermore, every invoice was paid directly to Natural Aspen. 4. We received and sent hundreds of emails to ****** ****** at: ******.*****@yahoo.com No, we do not have a written contract with Natural Aspen. Best regards, ****** ****** Consumer Response /* (-5, 28, 2013/04/10) */ From: ****** ****** (mailto:*****@gmail.com) Sent: Wednesday, April 10, 2013 7:20 AM To: Better Business Bureau Subject: Fwd: Receipt for your payment Hi ***** I am going to forward a payment from each year commencing in 2009 and ending in 2012 for Natural Aspen. As indicated, we never conducted business with ****** Property Management, nor did we have a separate understanding or contract with ******. Regards, ****** REDACT39*****@yahoo.com39REDACT Forwarded message REDACT39*****@yahoo.com39REDACT From: *****@paypal.com <*****@paypal.com> Date: Tue, Aug 11, 2009 at 7:34 AM Subject: Receipt for your payment To: ****** ****** <*****@gmail.com> Hello ****** ******, This email confirms that you sent a payment for $********* USD to *****@yahoo.com. ________________________________________ Payment details ________________________________________ Amount: $********* USD Subject: PayPal money request from Natural Aspen ________________________________________ This payment was sent using your credit card. For your future payments, try using Instant Transfer instead! - Pay instantly and securely - Faster than paying with checks - Pay directly from your bank account - purchases won't show up on bills at the end of the month. ________________________________________ Thanks, PayPal Please do not reply to this email. This mailbox is not monitored and you will not receive a response. For assistance, log in to your PayPal account and click the Help link in the top right corner of any PayPal page. To receive email notifications in plain text instead of HTML, update your preferences. PayPal Email ID PP116 -- Thank you and Have a Great Day! ****** ****** cell: XXX-XXX-XXXX fax: XXX-XXX-XXXX Consumer Response /* (-5, 29, 2013/04/10) */ From: ****** ****** (mailto:*****@gmail.com) Sent: Wednesday, April 10, 2013 7:21 AM To: Better Business Bureau Subject: Fwd: You just sent a payment to Natural Aspen REDACT39*****@yahoo.com39REDACT Forwarded message REDACT39*****@yahoo.com39REDACT From: *****@paypal.com <*****@paypal.com> Date: Wed, Jul 21, 2010 at 5:27 PM Subject: You just sent a payment to Natural Aspen To: ****** ****** <*****@gmail.com> Jul 21, 2010 16:27:44 PDT Transaction ID: 6WXXXXXXXYXXXXXXK Hello ****** ******, You just sent a payment to Natural Aspen for $******** USD Merchant Natural Aspen *****@yahoo.com Shipping information PO Box 10 Aspen, CO XXXXX United States Description Amount Service $******** Total $******** USD Questions? Go to the Help Center at: https://www.paypal.com/us/help Please do not reply to this email. This mailbox is not monitored and you will not receive a response. For assistance, log in to your PayPal account and click Help in the top right corner of any PayPal page. To receive email notifications in plain text instead of HTML, log in to your PayPal account, go to your Profile, and click Notifications. PayPal Email ID PP1526 -- Thank you and Have a Great Day! ****** ****** cell: XXX-XXX-XXXX fax: XXX-XXX-XXXX Consumer Response /* (-5, 30, 2013/04/10) */ From: ****** ****** (mailto:*****@gmail.com) Sent: Wednesday, April 10, 2013 7:22 AM To: Better Business Bureau Subject: Fwd: PayPal money request from Natural Aspen REDACT39*****@yahoo.com39REDACT Forwarded message REDACT39*****@yahoo.com39REDACT From: *****@paypal.com <*****@paypal.com> Date: Mon, Mar 21, 2011 at 3:43 PM Subject: PayPal money request from Natural Aspen To: ****** ****** <*****@gmail.com> Mar 21, 2011 14:43:46 PDT Hello ****** ******, Natural Aspen would like to be paid through PayPal. Merchant Natural Aspen *****@yahoo.com Note from merchant Thank you , Description Amount Service $******** USD Total $******** USD Pay with PayPal Natural Aspen would like you to use PayPal - the safer, easier way to pay and get paid online. Click the Pay Now to continue. Questions? Go to the Help Center at: https://www.paypal.com/us/help Please do not reply to this email. This mailbox is not monitored and you will not receive a response. For assistance, log in to your PayPal account and click Help in the top right corner of any PayPal page. You can receive plain text emails instead of HTML emails. To change your Notifications preferences, log in to your account, go to your Profile, and click My settings. PayPal Email ID PP1525 -- Thank you and Have a Great Day! ****** ****** cell: XXX-XXX-XXXX fax: XXX-XXX-XXXX Consumer Response /* (-5, 31, 2013/04/10) */ From: ****** ****** (mailto:*****@gmail.com) Sent: Wednesday, April 10, 2013 7:22 AM To: Better Business Bureau Subject: Fwd: You just sent a payment to Natural Aspen REDACT39*****@yahoo.com39REDACT Forwarded message REDACT39*****@yahoo.com39REDACT From: *****@paypal.com <*****@paypal.com> Date: Thu, Dec 13, 2012 at 6:11 PM Subject: You just sent a payment to Natural Aspen To: ****** ****** <*****@gmail.com> You just sent a payment Transaction ID: 3GXXXXXXCXXXXXXXX Hello ****** ******, Thanks for using PayPal. It may take a few moments for this transaction to appear in your account. Merchant Natural Aspen *****@yahoo.com Note to Natural Aspen You haven't sent a note. Shipping address - confirmed PO Box 10 Aspen, CO XXXXX United States Total $******** USD Payment $******** USD Charge will appear on your credit card statement as PAYPAL *NATURALASPE Payment sent to Natural Aspen Help Center - Resolution Center - Security Center Please don't reply to this email. It'll just confuse the computer that sent it and you won't get a response. Copyright © 2012 PayPal, Inc. All rights reserved. PayPal is located at 2211 N. First St., San Jose, ** XXXXX. PayPal Email ID PP1526 -- Thank you and Have a Great Day! ****** ****** cell: XXX-XXX-XXXX fax: XXX-XXX-XXXX Consumer Response /* (-5, 32, 2013/04/10) */ From: ****** ****** (mailto:*****@gmail.com) Sent: Wednesday, April 10, 2013 10:50 AM To: ***** Sharf Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case#XXXXXXXX(Ref#REDACT3131*****@yahoo.com3130*****@yahoo.com3231REDACT) *****, In respect to Mr. ******'s 04/03/13 comment regarding ******** payment, please find attached our cancelled check to ******** for $********. It is unfortunate that Mr. ****** feels he needs to perjure himself in this matter. Best regards, ****** Consumer Response /* (-5, 33, 2013/04/11) */ From: ****** ****** (mailto:*****@gmail.com) Sent: Wednesday, April 10, 2013 4:40 PM To: Better Business Bureau Subject: Fwd: Natural Aspen Issue *****, Kindly add this forwarded email to the prior emails to be reviewed by the dispute committee. Thanks again, ****** REDACT39*****@yahoo.com39REDACT Forwarded message REDACT39*****@yahoo.com39REDACT From: ****** ****** <*****@yahoo.com> Date: Wed, Apr 10, 2013 at 1:17 PM Subject: Re: Natural Aspen Issue To: ****** ****** <*****@gmail.com> ******, In response to your request for information, ****** ******* Management (VPM) does not have a sub-contractor agreement on file for either Natural Aspen or The ****** residence in Starwood. Pay for myself and Natural Aspen's work force has always been funded by Natural Aspen / ****** ******. Let me know if you need anything else. Thank you, ****** ****** XXX-XXX-XXXX www.vitariprojectmgt.com ________________________________________ From: ****** ****** <*****@gmail.com> To: *****@yahoo.com; ****** <*****@gmail.com> Sent: Tuesday, April 9, 2013 10:05 AM Subject: Natural Aspen Issue Hi ****** Please provide any "sub-contractor) documentation that ****** Property Management may have on file; regarding your business relationship with Natural Aspen and/or your relationship with the ****** account in Starwood. Also, please specify in your response who cut checks for the laborers who worked on the ****** job during your tenure with Natural Aspen. -- Thank you and Have a Great Day! ****** ****** cell: XXX-XXX-XXXX fax: XXX-XXX-XXXX

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1